“This is a first for Swisscom”

Marco Hochstrasser managed the Swisscom Application Cloud developer team of 45. In an interview, he explains why he prefers the telecommunications giant as an employer over any start-up.

Hansjörg Honegger

The Swisscom Application Cloud was recently launched. What target market does Swisscom have in mind with this solution?

The Public Application Cloud is aimed at software developers, which is a new customer segment for us. 


You have ambitious goals.

Yes, we do. The public offering that was published in October is just the first step. We look forward to receiving feedback from customers – critical feedback included, of course. This helps us drive forward the sophistication of the product. Our next goal will be to approach our business customers with the enhanced Virtual Private Application Cloud. 


The competition – especially on the international market – is huge. Why should companies and developers come to Swisscom?

We are a local partner with close proximity to the customer and provide a good developer experience on a par with the competition. However, the key point is that our solution is not proprietary. We work with Cloud Foundry. This is an open standard that is now firmly established in the industry. So it makes no difference for a customer whether he has us operate one instance and operates another himself in parallel, for example. He can develop an app with us at any time and then switch to his own system, or vice versa, for example to be able to produce faster or more cheaply.

“We are observing the market in Silicon Valley closely and know what to expect in two to three years.”

There are many standards. Why should this one be more successful?

The technology that adapts best to the market always wins, and this is precisely the case with Cloud Foundry. Major players are involved: SAP, IBM, HP, EMC, VMware and Intel. SAP is planning to base its entire portfolio on Cloud Foundry, which will lend a whole new significance to the interoperability of applications in a cloud. This is a major advantage for our customers, which they currently do not have with Microsoft, Amazon or Google, for example. 


What market share are we talking about here?

Among business customers worldwide, the market share of solutions built on Cloud Foundry is already just under 40 per cent. This is also why we believe so firmly in the success of this standard. The critical mass has been achieved.


Where are the weak points of your solution?

We are not as big as IBM and thus cannot, for example, provide the same range of services. However, we are fast and agile and specialise in a few key – often for the Swiss market as well – services and then implement these really well. 


How do you know which services will be important?

We are in Silicon Valley with a team and are observing the market closely. Everything that is hot there right now will reach Switzerland in two to three years. A good example is Mongo DB (a modern, non-transactional database). That was the totally hyped database in Silicon Valley three or four years ago. Now everybody here is also crying out for MongoDB. But in the Valley, itʼs already out again. In addition, of course, we regularly keep up to date with our customers – both start-ups and business customers.


1/5 Relaxation at sunrise: Marco Hochstrasser jogs in the Standford Dish hills in Silicon Valley.

2/5 Marco Hochstrasser enjoys a coffee in Blue Bottle Coffee in Palo Alto – in his opinion, the best coffee in the Valley.

3/5 Always online. The spirit of the Valley can also be felt in Blue Bottle Coffee: no one here takes a break without their digital assistant.

4/5 At the Swisscom outpost in Silicon Valley, Marco Hochstrasser was able to drive forward the Application Cloud project.

5/5 App cloud launch at HackZurich: the 29-year-old recently returned to Switzerland, to be closer to his team, the partners and the customers.

1/5 Relaxation at sunrise: Marco Hochstrasser jogs in the Standford Dish hills in Silicon Valley.
Swisscom is a member of the Cloud Foundry Foundation Board, together with experts from major software service providers and software providers. Swisscom is presumably quite a small fish in comparison.

Swisscom has an extremely important position in the Cloud Foundry community. Both as a provider of feedback and because we are extremely close to our customers, for example banks, and can therefore pass on very clear requirements. Our European roots are also valued greatly. Swisscom was selected by the 18 gold members and appointed to the board. The community chose Swisscom because we have been active in the community right from the very start and are thus regarded as extremely competent and trustworthy. 


You are still very young and are a member of the board. There are probably representatives who are a lot older and more experienced than you. How does it feel to be the youngest member of the family?

There are some very impressive people involved, like the founders of companies that are now worth millions, CTOs, development managers, and so on. Iʼm learning a lot, but I have my say as an equal. The cultural context there is different. Age is not important. In Silicon Valley, at 30, I am always met with respect. After all, I could be the one that gets the next big thing rolling. Nobody here talks about the “young one”. There are simply too many extremely successful founders who are under 30 and conquering the world right now with their start-ups. 


That is not the case in Switzerland.

Unfortunately, that’s true. Among industry veterans, age is quickly mistaken for skill, and some older colleagues make sure you know this as well. 


You have been living in Silicon Valley for some time.

Yes, I’ve been living in California for the past two and a half years. Now I’m coming back to Switzerland to be closer to our team, our partners and our customers. 


A difficult step?

It is definitely different, and I need to get used to it again first. But Switzerland is beautiful no matter where you’re from. 


What is the main difference? What is better in the Valley?

People are much more direct, which I like. They get straight to the point if something doesn’t make much sense. Then the question quickly arises: Do we want to be successful together, or else why are we here? In Switzerland, people have a tendency to skirt around such issues. Ultimately, the aim is to be successful. 


Are people also quicker to shut down things that are not working?

Absolutely, nobody is above that. It doesn’t work? Okay, away with it and we’ll try something new. 


In Switzerland, we deal with failure differently than in the USA.

Hardly anybody in the US takes failure personally. If a project fails, the person hasn’t failed. Here in Switzerland, people think more long-term and more politically. People think about how the solution will still work in 20 years time. But we’re working in an environment in which technology will become obsolete in three to five years.

“In the US, people want to conquer the world with a start-up. You don’t win any investors with more modest goals.”

Why didn’t you found a start-up of your own with your skills? Instead, you manage a team in a major company. Doesn’t that contradict the spirit of Silicon Valley?

Swisscom offers me something that many major companies do not: great freedom. In the past few years, I have often felt as though I was at a start-up. We work relatively autonomously, and our team, which now has 48 people, is very young, international and really diverse. The management team gives innovative topics a chance. In a newly founded start-up, I would never have the possibilities and resources that I have at Swisscom now. 


Were there that many people on the team from the start?

No, we started out in 2013 with three people and were able to develop in this way because Swisscom believes in the vision of a cloud for Switzerland and is firmly committed to this idea. From my perspective, this is an essential step towards digitising Switzerland. 


As enthusiastic as you are – there are also things that are not so great in Silicon Valley, aren’t there? Absurdly high wages and equally absurdly high demands on employees. Not a problem for you?

On the contrary, I am actually quite critical of these excesses. At start-ups, the six-day week is a given, and you get maybe two weeks’ holiday a year. I had applicants who asked whether they would have to work 100 hours a week. They couldn’t believe it when we said it was fifty hours maximum. Many companies keep their employees very close: the entire social network revolves solely around the company. 


Not so great when you have a family.

It’s a bachelor’s world. Many people who work in the Valley don’t even have their family with them. Viewed from the outside, this may seem unhealthy, but as long as all those involved are happy it’s somehow okay, isn’t it?


What would have to be done differently in Switzerland to make us more competitive? Money, knowledge and training are available, after all.

We are less prepared to take risks. For example, many start-up founders still work at other companies simultaneously and earn their money there. No investor in the US would accept that. There is less social monitoring in the Valley: many people have moved there, from Germany, India, Sweden. Their mothers never ask at the weekend how exactly they earn their money. That increases the willingness to take risks. Investors are also extremely prepared to take risks. They assume from the start that nine out of ten investments will fail. 


They have a lavish attitude?

In Switzerland, company founders think about how they can manage a small team and quickly become profitable so that they can feed their children. Here, 50 per cent of start-ups survive – a good number to strengthen the SME market. In the US, on the other hand, people want to conquer the world. You don’t win any investors with more modest goals. That’s why 90 per cent of start-ups fail.


Maybe Switzerland is just too small for such projects.

Our domestic market is certainly a disadvantage. In the US, there are a good 300 million potential customers. In Switzerland, there are maybe 7 million. An example: a colleague in the Valley has a start-up with extremely nerdy children’s gadgets. His calculation is simple: there are 5 million geeks in the Valley. If I gain one per cent of them as customers, I will earn money. Scaled down to Switzerland, that would be maybe 50 potential customers. 


What would have to be done to give start-ups in Switzerland a better chance?

We would have to make the European market directly accessible to start-ups, with no major legal obstacles. At present, the focus is still too much on the major companies. Language barriers also make things more difficult. 


Despite this, Swisscom now has a product that is subject to major international competition. Aren’t you afraid that the domestic market is too small?

Yes, of course. Which is why we’re launching the Application Cloud as a Service in twenty countries simultaneously worldwide. This is a first for Swisscom. When we set ourselves this goal a year ago, nobody believed that we would achieve it. But we have achieved it – the product has been on the market since October.


Marco Hochstrasser

The software developer has been Head of Application Cloud at Swisscom since April 2014. The 29-year-old completed training as a computer scientist at the Federal Office of Information Technology, Systems and Telecommunication and gained a Bachelor’s degree in computer science at Berne University of Applied Sciences. This was followed by five years as an SAP consultant at Swisscom. As part of the Young Talent programme at Swisscom, he spent six weeks at the Swisscom outpost in Palo Alto, where he caught the Silicon Valley bug. The software developer joined the Swisscom Cloud team in 2013. His hobbies are jogging and skiing.

Further Focus articles

Application Platform as a Service

On cloud PaaS: get new software quickly and flexibly

Application Platform as a Service (PaaS for short) is the tool of the moment. But what does this mean for the future of software development?


Ready, set, develop!

More fun for developers, low costs, flexible and scalable – Swisscom tested its own PaaS solution for the first time at HackZurich.

Column by Andreas Heer

Bringing Shadow IT into the light

Do shadow IT users belong in prison at once? On security, trench warfare and the reigns of IT.

Interview

«Das hat Swisscom überhaupt noch nie gemacht»

Marco Hochstrasser leitete das 45-köpfige Entwicklerteam der Swisscom Application Cloud. Warum er den Telekom-Riesen als Arbeitgeber jedem Start-up vorzieht, erklärt er im Interview.

Hansjörg Honegger

Die Swisscom Application Cloud wurde kürzlich lanciert. Welches Zielpublikum hat Swisscom mit diesem Angebot im Auge?

Wir sprechen mit der Public Application Cloud ein für uns neues Kundensegment an: die Software-Entwickler. 

 

Ihr habt ehrgeizige Ziele.

Ja, das stimmt. Das im Oktober veröffentlichte Public Offering ist nur der erste Schritt. Wir freuen uns auf das Feedback der Kunden – auch kritisches natürlich. Das hilft uns, die Maturität des Produkts voranzutreiben. Unser nächstes Ziel wird sein, mit der weiterentwickelten Virtual Private Application Cloud an unsere Geschäftskunden heranzutreten. 

 

Die Konkurrenz – speziell auf dem internationalen Markt – ist riesig. Warum sollten Firmen und Entwickler zu Swisscom kommen?

Wir sind ein lokaler Partner mit grosser Nähe zum Kunden und bieten eine gute Developer Experience auf Augenhöhe mit den Wettbewerbern. Das Wichtigste ist aber, dass unsere Lösung nicht proprietär ist. Wir arbeiten mit Cloud Foundry. Das ist ein offener und mittlerweile in der Industrie stark etablierter Standard. Es spielt also für den Kunden keine Rolle, ob er beispielsweise eine Instanz von uns betreiben lässt und parallel eine selbst betreibt. Er kann jederzeit eine App bei uns entwickeln und dann ins eigene System wechseln oder umgekehrt, um zum Beispiel kostengünstiger oder schneller produzieren zu können.

«Wir beobachten den Markt im Silicon Valley genau und wissen so, was in zwei bis drei Jahren auf uns zukommt»

Standards gibt es viele. Warum soll dieser erfolgreicher sein?

Es gewinnt immer die Technologie mit der grössten Adaption im Markt. Und genau das ist mit Cloud Foundry der Fall. Es spielen die ganz Grossen mit: SAP, IBM, HP, EMC, VMware oder Intel. SAP wird sein ganzes Portfolio auf Cloud Foundry aufbauen, was der Interoperabilität von Applikationen in einer Cloud eine ganz neue Bedeutung gibt. Das ist ein Riesenvorteil für unsere Kunden, den sie beispielsweise bei Microsoft, Amazon oder Google heute nicht haben. 

 

Von welchem Marktanteil reden wir?

Bei Geschäftskunden weltweit liegt heute der Marktanteil von Lösungen, die auf Cloud Foundry aufbauen, bereits bei knapp 40 Prozent. Darum glauben wir auch so fest an den Erfolg dieses Standards. Die kritische Masse ist erreicht.

 

Wo liegen die Schwächen eurer Lösung?

Wir haben nicht die Grösse einer IBM und können darum zum Beispiel nicht dieselbe Breite an Services anbieten. Aber wir sind schnell und agil und spezialisieren uns auf einige – oftmals auch für den Schweizer Markt – wichtige Services und setzen die dann richtig gut um. 

 

Woher wissen Sie, welche Services wichtig sein werden?

Wir sind im Silicon Valley mit einem Team vor Ort und beobachten den Markt genau. Alles, was da heute heiss ist, wird in zwei bis drei Jahren auch in der Schweiz aufschlagen. Ein sehr gutes Beispiel ist Mongo DB (moderne nicht-transaktionale Datenbank). Das war vor drei bis vier Jahren die absolute Hype-Datenbank im Valley. Jetzt schreit hier auch jeder nach Mongo DB. Im Valley ist das allerdings schon wieder out. Zusätzlich spüren wir natürlich auch regelmässig den Puls unserer Kunden – sowohl der Start-ups als auch der Geschäftskunden.

 

1/5 Entspannung bei Sonnenaufgang: Marco Hochstrasser joggt in den Hügeln von Standford Dish im Silicon Valley.

2/5 Im Blue Bottle Coffee in Palo Alto geniesst Marco Hochstrasser den seiner Meinung nach besten Kaffee des Valleys.

3/5 Immer online: Auch im Blue Bottle Coffee ist der Geist des Valleys zu spüren: Pause ohne digitale Helfer macht hier keiner.

4/5 Im Swisscom Outpost im Silicon Valley konnte Marco Hochstrasser das Projekt Application Cloud vorantreiben.

5/5 Launch App Cloud am HackZurich: Seit kurzem ist der 29-Jährige zurück in der Schweiz, um näher bei seinem Team, den Partnern und den Kunden zu sein.

1/5 Entspannung bei Sonnenaufgang: Marco Hochstrasser joggt in den Hügeln von Standford Dish im Silicon Valley.
Swisscom ist Mitglied des Cloud Foundry Foundation Board, gemeinsam mit Fachleuten von ganz grossen Software-Dienstleistern und -Anbietern. Da ist Swisscom vermutlich ein ziemlich kleiner Fisch.

Swisscom hat einen sehr hohen Stellenwert in der Community von Cloud Foundry. Sowohl als Feedback-Geber als auch weil wir sehr nah an unseren Kunden, beispielsweise den Banken, sind und somit sehr klare Anforderungen wiedergeben können. Auch unsere europäischen Wurzeln werden sehr geschätzt. Swisscom wurde von den 18 Gold-Mitgliedern gewählt und ins Board geschickt. Die Community wählte Swisscom, weil wir seit der ersten Minute aktiv sind in der Community und damit mit viel Kompetenz und Vertrauen auftreten. 

 

Sie sind noch recht jung und sitzen im Board ein. Da hat es vermutlich Vertreter, die einiges älter und erfahrener sind. Wie fühlt sich die Rolle des Kükens an?

Es hat schon einige sehr beeindruckende Typen dabei, Gründer von Firmen, die heute Milliarden wert sind. CTOs, Entwicklungsleiter und so weiter. Ich lerne viel, rede aber auf Augenhöhe mit. Denn: Der kulturelle Kontext ist ein anderer. Alter ist unwichtig. Im Silicon Valley begegnet man mir als 30-Jährigem immer mit Respekt. Ich könnte ja derjenige sein, der das nächste grosse Ding ins Rollen bringt. Niemand spricht da von einem Küken. Dafür gibt es zu viele extrem erfolgreiche Gründer unter 30, die aktuell die Welt mit ihren Start-ups erobern. 

 

Das ist in der Schweiz nicht so.

Das ist leider so. In einer Altherrenrunde wird schnell Alter mit Können verwechselt und der eine oder andere ältere Kollege lässt einen das auch spüren. 

 

Sie lebten einige Zeit im Silicon Valley.

Ja, ich lebte die letzten zweieinhalb Jahre in Kalifornien. Jetzt komme ich in die Schweiz zurück, um näher bei unserem Team, unseren Partnern sowie unseren Kunden zu sein. 

 

Ein schwieriger Schritt?

Es ist schon anders und ich muss mich erst wieder daran gewöhnen. Aber die Schweiz ist schön, egal von wo man kommt. 

 

Wo liegt der Hauptunterschied, was ist besser im Valley?

Man ist sehr viel direkter, was ich sehr mag. Man kommt sehr schnell auf den Punkt, wenn etwas nicht viel Sinn ergibt. Schnell steht dann die Frage im Raum: Wollen wir jetzt zusammen erfolgreich sein oder wozu sind wir hier? In der Schweiz eiert man viel stärker um solche Fragen herum. Es geht letztlich doch darum, Erfolg zu haben. 

 

Man schiesst auch schneller mal was ab, das nicht funktioniert?

Absolut, da ist sich niemand zu schade. Es funktioniert nicht? O.K., weg damit, versuchen wir etwas Neues. 

 

Der Umgang mit Scheitern ist bei uns in der Schweiz ein anderer als in den USA.

Scheitern nimmt in den USA kaum jemand persönlich. Wenn ein Projekt scheitert, ist nicht die Person gescheitert. Hier in der Schweiz überlegt man langfristiger und politischer. Man macht sich Gedanken darüber, wie die Lösung auch in 20 Jahren noch funktioniert. Wir arbeiten aber in einem Umfeld, in dem Technologie nach drei bis fünf Jahren überholt ist.

«In den USA will man mit einem Start-up die Welt erobern. Mit bescheideneren Zielen gewinnt man keine Investoren»
Warum gründeten Sie mit Ihren Fähigkeiten nicht selbst ein Start-up? Stattdessen leiten Sie ein Team in einem Grossunternehmen. Das widerspricht doch dem Geist des Silicon Valleys.

Swisscom bietet mir etwas, das viele Grossfirmen nicht bieten: grosse Freiräume. Ich fühlte mich in den letzten Jahren oft wie bei einem Start-up. Wir sind relativ autonom unterwegs, unser Team von mittlerweile 48 Leuten ist sehr jung, international und bunt gemischt. Das Management gibt den innovativen Themen eine Chance. In einem neu gegründeten Start-up hätte ich niemals die Möglichkeiten und Ressourcen, die ich heute bei Swisscom habe. 

 

Waren von Anfang an so viele Leute im Team?

Nein, wir starteten 2013 mit drei Leuten und konnten uns derart entwickeln, weil Swisscom an die Vision einer Cloud für die Schweiz glaubt und daran festhält. Aus meiner Sicht ein essenzieller Schritt für die Digitalisierung der Schweiz. 

 

Bei aller Begeisterung – es gibt doch auch einiges, das nicht so gut läuft im Valley. Absurd hohe Löhne und ebenso absurd hohe Anforderungen an die Angestellten. Kein Problem für Sie?

Doch, ich bin diesen Auswüchsen gegenüber durchaus kritisch eingestellt. Bei Start-ups herrscht ganz selbstverständlich die 6-Tage-Woche, Urlaub gibt’s vielleicht zwei Wochen im Jahr. Ich hatte Bewerber, die fragten, ob sie 100 Stunden in der Woche arbeiten müssten. Sie reagierten ungläubig, als wir sagten, es seien maximal 50 Stunden. Viele Firmen binden ihre Angestellten sehr nah an sich: Das ganze soziale Netz dreht sich nur noch um die Firma. 

 

Mit einer Familie ist das nicht so toll.

Es ist eine Junggesellenwelt. Viele, die im Valley arbeiten, haben ihre Familie gar nicht dabei. Von aussen gesehen ist das vielleicht ungesund. Aber solange alle Beteiligten glücklich sind, ist es doch irgendwie in Ordnung, oder?

 

Was müsste in der Schweiz anders laufen, damit wir konkurrenzfähiger wären? Geld, Wissen und Ausbildung wären ja vorhanden.

Wir sind weniger risikobereit. So arbeiten zum Beispiel viele Start-up-Gründer noch parallel in einer anderen Firma und verdienen da ihr Geld. Das würde kein Investor in den USA akzeptieren. Die soziale Kontrolle ist kleiner im Valley: Viele sind zugezogen, von Deutschland, Indien, Schweden. Da fragt die Mutter am Wochenende nicht, womit du genau dein Geld verdienst. Das erhöht die Risikobereitschaft. Ausserdem sind die Investoren sehr risikofreudig. Die rechnen von Anfang an damit, dass neun von zehn Investments scheitern. 

 

Es wird mit der grossen Kelle angerichtet?

In der Schweiz überlegen Firmengründer, wie sie ein kleines Team führen und schnell rentabel werden, um ihre Kinder zu ernähren. Hier überleben 50 Prozent der Start-ups, eine sehr gute Zahl, um den KMU-Markt zu stärken. In den USA will man aber die Welt erobern. Mit bescheideneren Zielen gewinnt man keine Investoren. Darum scheitern auch 90 Prozent der Start-ups.

 

Vielleicht ist die Schweiz einfach zu klein für solche Vorhaben.

Unser Heimmarkt ist sicherlich ein Nachteil. In den USA gibt es gut 300 Millionen potenzielle Kunden. In der Schweiz sind es vielleicht sieben Millionen. Ein Beispiel: Ein Kollege im Valley hat ein Start-up mit extrem nerdigen Kinder-Gadgets. Seine Rechnung ist einfach: Im Valley gibt’s fünf Millionen Geeks. Wenn ich ein Prozent davon als Kunden gewinne, verdiene ich Geld. In der Schweiz wären das heruntergerechnet vielleicht gerade mal 50 potenzielle Kunden. 

 

Was müsste man tun, um den Start-ups in der Schweiz bessere Chancen zu geben?

Man müsste für Start-ups den europäischen Markt direkt und ohne grosse rechtliche Hürden erschliessbar machen. Im Moment liegt dieser Fokus noch zu stark auf den grossen Firmen. Erschwerend kommen die Sprachbarrieren dazu. 

 

Trotzdem kommt Swisscom jetzt mit einem Produkt, das international grosser Konkurrenz ausgesetzt ist. Keine Angst vor dem zu kleinen Heimmarkt?

Doch, natürlich. Darum lancierten wir die Application Cloud als Service international in 20 Ländern gleichzeitig. Das hat Swisscom noch überhaupt nie gemacht. Als wir uns vor einem Jahr dieses Ziel gesetzt hatten, glaubte niemand, dass wir das schaffen würden. Aber wir haben es geschafft – das Produkt ist seit Oktober am Markt.

 

Agile IT aus der Cloud

Schneller am Markt mit der Swisscom Application Cloud

Zu den Angeboten

Marco Hochstrasser

Der Software-Entwickler ist seit April 2014 Head of Application Cloud bei Swisscom. Der 29-Jährige absolvierte eine Lehre als Informatiker beim Bundesamt für Informatik und schloss ein Bachelorstudium in Informatik an der Berner Fachhochschule ab. Darauf folgten fünf Jahre als SAP-Berater bei Swisscom. Im Rahmen des Young-Talent-Programms der Swisscom konnte er einen sechswöchigen Einsatz im Swisscom Outpost in Palo Alto absolvieren, wo bei ihm das Silicon-Valley-Fieber ausbrach. Der Software-Entwickler stiess 2013 zum Swisscom-Cloud-Team. Seine Hobbys sind Joggen und Skifahren.

Weitere Fokusartikel

Titelthema: Application Cloud

Auf Wolke PaaS: Flexibel und schnell zur neuen Software

Application-Platform-as-a-Service-Angebote (kurz PaaS) sind die Werkzeuge der Stunde. Doch was bedeutet das für die Zukunft der Software-Entwicklung?

HackZurich

Achtung, fertig, entwickeln!

Mehr Spass für Entwickler, tiefe Kosten, flexibel und skalierbar – Swisscom hat am HackZurich erstmals ein eigenes PaaS-Angebot getestet.

Kolumne von Andreas Heer

Ins Licht mit der Schatten-IT

Gehören Benutzer von «Schatten-IT» umgehend ins Gefängnis? Über Sicherheit, Grabenkämpfe und das Gängelband der IT.