dorma+kaba

From the product to the services business

dorma+kaba relies on the Swisscom Application Cloud to develop new, high-availability access solutions with greater agility and bring them to market more quickly.

Ann-Kristin Koch

The dorma+kaba Group is one of the world’s leading providers of security and access solutions. The Group has been a pioneer in digitisation for years. With exivo, Kaba will be launching an Internet-based access solution for small and medium-sized enterprises in spring 2016. exivo allows access systems to be planned, configured, ordered, and installed with ease; and rights can be assigned dynamically.  

 

The solution, which is designed for mechanical as well as electronic applications, runs on a central platform. Sales partners and end users procure the required functions as Software as a Service. Patrik Eigenmann, Program Manager exivo, explains: “exivo is revolutionising our business model: away from the product towards the services business. This calls for all those involved to have a rethink, but it also provides opportunities.” At present, faults would primarily trigger customer contact. In the future, you could take a proactive approach, have direct contact with the customer and develop new services with the customer in mind. The focus is then not on new technical features, but on the security needs of the customers. For the first time, the partners, of which there are approximately 40, can provide their own services on the platform and secure recurring sales, for example by controlling escape routes themselves or directly providing fire safety measures.

 

Application development in the Swisscom Application Cloud

The security services provider is developing the new solutions in the Swisscom Application Cloud. The development team can concentrate fully on developing attractive application functions on the Platform as a Service (PaaS) environment. The Swisscom Cloud Service in a private environment takes care of all the inconvenient administration and configuration tasks for the customer. Thanks to PaaS, dorma+kaba achieves the required agility and plans to launch new features on the market on a monthly basis. 

 

Tailored architecture and pricing model

A decisive factor for dorma+kaba is that the Swisscom PaaS environment is tailored to its own architecture. Andreas Häberli, CTO of the dorma+kaba Group, says: “Our developers speak the same language and we were able to influence the technical framework.” Swisscom uses modern software design methods, such as the functional breakdown of software into loosely coupled cloud-native microservices that can be scaled horizontally and adjusted with ease. Furthermore, with Cloud Foundry, Swisscom uses the de facto standard for cloud-native, open-source platforms.

“exivo is revolutionising our business model: away from the product towards the services business. This calls for all those involved to have a rethink, but it also provides opportunities.”

Swisscom’s billing model is also persuasive. Andreas Häberli: “Swisscom simply provides clear, linear scaling pricing. This is the best fit for our business model and protects us from expensive hardware investments.” Data storage in Switzerland and security were also a crucial deciding factor. Small and medium-sized enterprises could hardly achieve the security level of a continuously managed cloud with their local networks, says Andreas Häberli, addressing potential security concerns that the SME partners and customers might have.

 

Mutual benefits

The partnership is beneficial to both sides. While dorma+kaba can rely on state-of-the-art Swisscom technology and expertise, Swisscom benefits from its industry expertise and can expand its own cloud offering. Marcel Walker, Head of Cloud & Datacenter Services at Swisscom Enterprise Customers, says: “As a traditional Swiss company, we share the same values, have the same drive for innovation leadership and want to offer our customers simple, inspiring and secure solutions. The collaboration ensures that a value-adding ecosystem of users, developers and providers emerges on the Swisscom Cloud.”

 

On cloud PaaS: get new software quickly and flexibly

Application Platform as a Service (PaaS for short) is the tool of the moment. But what does this mean for the future of software development?

Go to article

Further Focus articles

Application Platform as a Service

On cloud PaaS: get new software quickly and flexibly

Application Platform as a Service (PaaS for short) is the tool of the moment. But what does this mean for the future of software development?

HackZurich

Ready, set, develop!

More fun for developers, low costs, flexible and scalable – Swisscom tested its own PaaS solution for the first time at HackZurich.

Column by Andreas Heer

Bringing Shadow IT into the light

Do shadow IT users belong in prison at once? On security, trench warfare and the reigns of IT.

Erfolgsgeschichte

Weg vom Produkt, hin zum Servicegeschäft

dorma+kaba setzt auf die Swisscom Application Cloud, um neue, hochverfügbare Zutrittslösungen agiler zu entwickeln und schneller an den Markt zu bringen.

Ann-Kristin Koch

Die dorma+kaba Gruppe ist eine weltweit führende Anbieterin von Sicherheits- und Zutrittslösungen. Der Konzern ist seit Jahren Vorreiter in der Digitalisierung. Kaba bringt im Frühjahr 2016 mit exivo eine internetbasierte Zutrittslösung für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen auf den Markt. Mit exivo lässt sich ein Zutrittssystem einfach planen, konfigurieren, bestellen, individualisieren, installieren und Rechte lassen sich dynamisch vergeben. 

 

Die Lösung, welche sowohl für mechanische wie auch elektronische Anwendungen konzipiert ist, läuft auf einer zentralen Plattform. Vertriebspartner und Endanwender beziehen die gewünschten Funktionalitäten als Software as a Service. Patrik Eigenmann, Programm Manager exivo, erklärt: «exivo revolutioniert unser Geschäftsmodell: weg vom Produkt hin zum Servicegeschäft. Das erfordert ein Umdenken bei allen Beteiligten, bringt aber auch Chancen.» So würden heute primär Störungen den Kundenkontakt auslösen. In Zukunft könne man proaktiv agieren, habe den direkten Draht zum Endkunden und könne vom Kunden her neue Services entwickeln. Im Fokus stehen dann nicht neue technische Features, sondern die Sicherheitsbedürfnisse der Kunden. Erstmals können die rund 40 Partner eigene Services auf der Plattform mitanbieten und sich wiederkehrenden Umsatz sichern, etwa indem sie Fluchtwege selbst kontrollieren oder direkt Brandschutzmassnahmen anbieten.

 

Anwendungsentwicklung in der Swisscom Application Cloud

Die neuen Lösungen entwickelt der Sicherheitsdienstleister in der Swisscom Application Cloud. Auf der Platform-as-a-Service-Umgebung (PaaS) kann sichdas Entwicklungsteam vollständig der Entwicklung attraktiver Anwendungsfunktionen widmen. Der Cloud Service von Swisscom in einer privaten Umgebung nimmt dem Kunden alle lästigen Administrations- und Konfigurationsaufgaben ab. dorma+kaba erhält dank PaaS die nötige Agilität und will im Monatsrhythmus mit neuen Features auf den Markt. 

 

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Drei Learnings von Andreas Häberli, CTO von dorma+kaba

 
Passgenaue Architektur und Preismodell

Entscheidend für die Zusammenarbeit ist für dorma+kaba die Passgenauigkeit der Swisscom PaaS-Umgebung zu ihrer eigenen Architektur. Andreas Häberli, CTO der dorma+kaba Gruppe, sagt: «Unsere Entwickler sprechen die gleiche Sprache und wir konnten den technischen Rahmen mitbeeinflussen.» Swisscom setzt auf moderne Software-Design-Methoden wie die funktionelle Zerlegung von Software in lose gekoppelte, Cloud-native Microservices, die sich alle horizontal skalieren und einfach anpassen lassen. Zudem nutzt Swisscom mit Cloud Foundry den De-facto-Standard bei Cloud-nativen Open-Source-Plattformen.

«exivo revolutioniert unser Geschäftsmodell: weg vom Produkt hin zum Servicegeschäft. Das erfordert ein Umdenken bei allen Beteiligten, bietet aber auch Chancen»

Auch beim Abrechnungsmodell überzeugt Swisscom. Andreas Häberli: «Swisscom bietet einfach verständliche, linear skalierende Preise an. Das passt am besten zu unserem Business-Modell und schützt uns vor teuren Hardware-Investitionen.» Matchentscheidend waren zudem die Datenhaltung in der Schweiz und die Sicherheit. Kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen könnten mit ihren lokalen Netzwerken kaum das Sicherheitsniveau einer durchgängig gemanagten Cloud erreichen, so Andreas Häberli zu möglichen Sicherheitsbedenken der KMU-Partner und Kunden.

Gegenseitiger Gewinn

Die Partnerschaft ist für beide Seiten ein Gewinn. Während dorma+kaba auf modernste Technologie und Know-how von Swisscom setzen kann, profitiert Swisscom von ihrer Branchen-expertise und kann das eigene Cloud-Angebot ausbauen. Marcel Walker, Head of Cloud & Datacenter Services bei Swisscom Enterprise Customers, sagt: «Als Schweizer Traditionsunternehmen teilen wir die gleichen Werte, haben den Drang nach Innovationsführerschaft und wollen unseren Kunden einfache, inspirierende und sichere Lösungen bieten. Die Zusammenarbeit sorgt dafür, dass ein mehrwertstiftendes Ökosystem aus Nutzern, Entwicklern und Anbietern auf der Swisscom Cloud entsteht.»

 

Auf Wolke PaaS: So sieht Software-Entwicklung der Zukunft aus.

Application-Platform-as-a-Service-Angebote (aPaaS oder kurz PaaS) sind die Werkzeuge der Stunde. Doch was bedeutet das für die Zukunft der Software-Entwicklung?

Zum Artikel

Agile IT aus der Cloud

Schneller am Markt mit der Swisscom Application Cloud

Zu den Angeboten

Weitere Fokusartikel

Titelthema: Application Cloud

Auf Wolke PaaS: Flexibel und schnell zur neuen Software

Application-Platform-as-a-Service-Angebote (kurz PaaS) sind die Werkzeuge der Stunde. Doch was bedeutet das für die Zukunft der Software-Entwicklung?

HackZurich

Achtung, fertig, entwickeln!

Mehr Spass für Entwickler, tiefe Kosten, flexibel und skalierbar – Swisscom hat am HackZurich erstmals ein eigenes PaaS-Angebot getestet.

Kolumne von Andreas Heer

Ins Licht mit der Schatten-IT

Gehören Benutzer von «Schatten-IT» umgehend ins Gefängnis? Über Sicherheit, Grabenkämpfe und das Gängelband der IT.