Column

Bringing Shadow IT into the light

Do shadow IT users belong in prison at once? On security, trench warfare and the reigns of IT.

Andreas Heer

The handcuffs snapped shut with a metallic “click”. The police officer who led me to a civilian police car was muttering something about “risk of absconding”. In the meantime, his colleague was struggling to carry my big monitor – 34 inch, curved – down the steps of the stairwell.

 

In the car that drove me to the police station, my three laptops had already been neatly packed in the boot. The police officer took off my handcuffs in the car. I rubbed my wrists and began to rack my brain. Was it the product presentation for the planned innovative new development? Or the business plan that I had secretly passed on to my colleague via my private online storage space? 

 

It all began so innocently. Shortly after I had started my new job in product marketing, it became too much effort to establish a VPN connection on the move every time I wanted to store the documents for the planned new introduction on the internal company server. It was much more convenient to work straight from my private online storage space. And I could do it in the evening on my stylish private design laptop and not on the old clatter box, as I had christened my company laptop. 

“Outdated technology and generally, those not using these modern cloud services are done for anyway, said the young colleague from IT.”

Appointments, to-dos and even business e-mails were also much easier to process when I used my cloud account. A young colleague from IT had shown me the tool. After four beers on that Monday evening, he had poured his heart out to me about how boring his day-to-day life was. Outdated technology and generally, how those not using these modern cloud services were done for anyway. And over our final schnapps, he showed me how he believed people nowadays should work.

 

When he got fired a couple of months later, I had long forgotten that I had released a few confidential documents for him on my online storage space to try out the sharing function and joint document editing. I could not have known that he had secretly passed on these documents to his new employer – our biggest competitor. The first I heard about it was from the investigating officer who revealed to me in a starkly furnished office room that legal proceedings had been initiated against me for industrial espionage.

 

“No, that’s far too drastic”, I thought as I saved my presentation for the internal security workshop. I decided to think up a more positive story the next day. I would discuss the idea first thing in the morning with the Chief Security Officer via a chat on the cloud service that we both used a lot as it was very user friendly. I also resolved to initiate a discussion straight away about how we could better support users of this shadow IT in the future. It is better to loosen the reigns of IT than to end up in handcuffs for real.

Andreas Heer

As an experienced IT journalist, he is familiar with the various shades of business IT and currently supports the Swisscom SME Business World. He is convinced that his life would be much more complicated without cloud services.

Further Focus articles

Interview

“This is a first for Swisscom”

The Swisscom Application Cloud is an ambitious project. It was set up by 29-year-old Marco Hochstrasser in Silicon Valley.

HackZurich

Ready, set, develop!

More fun for developers, low costs, flexible and scalable – Swisscom tested its own PaaS solution for the first time at HackZurich.

dorma+kaba

From the product to the services business

dorma+kaba relies on the Swisscom Application Cloud to develop new, high-availability access solutions with greater agility and bring them to market more quickly.

Kolumne

Ins Licht mit der Schatten-IT

Gehören Benutzer von «Schatten-IT» umgehend ins Gefängnis? Über Sicherheit, Grabenkämpfe und das Gängelband der IT.

Andreas Heer

Mit einem metallenen «Klick» schnappten die Handschellen zu. Der Polizist, der mich zum zivilen Dienstauto führte, murmelte etwas von «Fluchtgefahr». Sein Kollege mühte sich derweil damit ab, meinen grossen Monitor – 34 Zoll, gebogen – die Stufen des Treppenhauses hinunterzuschleppen.

 

Im Auto, das mich zum Polizeiposten fuhr, lagen bereits meine drei Notebooks säuberlich verpackt im Kofferraum. Im Auto nahm mir der Polizist die Handschellen ab. Ich rieb meine Handgelenke und liess die Gedanken kreisen. War es die Produktepräsentation zur geplanten innovativen Neuentwicklung? Oder doch der Businessplan, den ich heimlich meinem Kollegen über meinen privaten Online-Speicher zugespielt hatte? 

 

Dabei hatte alles so harmlos begonnen. Kurz, nachdem ich meinen neuen Job im Produktemarketing begonnen hatte, war es mir zu mühsam geworden, von unterwegs immer eine VPN-Verbindung aufzubauen, um die Unterlagen zur geplanten Neueinführung auf dem internen Firmen-Server abzulegen. Wie viel bequemer war es doch, direkt über meinen privaten Online-Speicher zu arbeiten. Und das am Abend über mein schickes privates Design-Notebook und nicht auf der alten Schepperkiste, wie ich mein Geschäfts-Notebook getauft hatte. 

«Veraltete Technik und überhaupt, wer nicht auf diese modernen Cloud-Dienste setze, sei ohnehin verloren, sagte der junge Kollege von der IT.»

Und überhaupt, Termine, Todos und sogar geschäftliche Mails waren viel leichter zu bearbeiten, wenn ich sie über mein Cloud-Konto erledigte. Das Tool hatte mir mein junger Kollege von der IT gezeigt. Nach dem vierten Bier an jenem Montagabend hatte er sich bei mir darüber ausgeweint, wie langweilig doch sein Alltag sei. Veraltete Technik und überhaupt, wer nicht auf diese modernen Cloud-Dienste setze, sei ohnehin verloren. Und mir beim abschliessenden Schnaps gezeigt, wie man heute arbeiten müsste – seiner Vorstellung nach.

 

Als ihm einige Monate später gekündigt wurde, hatte ich längst vergessen, dass ich ihm ein paar der vertraulichen Dokumente auf meinem Online-Speicher freigegeben hatte, um die Sharing-Funktion und das gemeinsame Bearbeiten von Dokumenten auszuprobieren. Ich konnte ja nicht wissen, dass er diese Unterlagen heimlich seinem neuen Arbeitgeber – unserem wichtigsten Konkurrenten – weitergeleitet hatte. Das erfuhr ich erst vom Untersuchungsbeamten, der mir in einem kahl eingerichteten Büroraum eröffnete, dass gegen mich ein Verfahren wegen Wirtschaftsspionage eingeleitet worden sei.

 

«Nein, das ist viel zu drastisch», ging es mir durch den Kopf, als ich mein Referat für den internen Security-Workshop speicherte. Ich beschloss, mir morgen eine etwas positivere Geschichte auszudenken. Die Idee dazu würde ich gleich am Vormittag mit dem Chief Security Officer per Chat auf dem Cloud-Dienst diskutieren, den wir wegen seiner Benutzerfreundlichkeit beide intensiv nutzten. Ich nahm mir vor, dabei auch gleich die Diskussion anzustossen, wie wir Benutzer dieser «Schatten-IT» künftig besser unterstützen könnten. Lieber das Gängelband der IT etwas lockern, als wirklich in Handschellen zu enden.

Andreas Heer

Hat als langjähriger IT-Journalist die verschiedenen Schattierungen der Business-IT kennengelernt und betreut heute die Swisscom KMU Business World. Ohne Cloud-Dienste wäre sein Leben wesentlich komplizierter, davon ist er überzeugt.

Weitere Fokusartikel

Interview

«Das hat Swisscom überhaupt noch nie gemacht»

Die Swisscom Application Cloud ist ein ehrgeiziges Projekt. Aufgebaut wurde es vom 29-jährigen Marco Hochstrasser im Silicon Valley.

HackZurich

Achtung, fertig, entwickeln!

Mehr Spass für Entwickler, tiefe Kosten, flexibel und skalierbar – Swisscom hat am HackZurich erstmals ein eigenes PaaS-Angebot getestet.

dorma+kaba

Weg vom Produkt, hin zum Servicegeschäft

dorma+kaba setzt auf die Swisscom Application Cloud, um neue, hochverfügbare Zutrittslösungen agiler zu entwickeln und schneller an den Markt zu bringen.