Title topic: Application Cloud

On cloud PaaS: get new software quickly and flexibly

Application Platform as a Service (PaaS for short) is the tool of the moment. But what does this mean for the future of software development?

Urs Binder

The need for a quick market launch is increasingly also being felt in software development. Application Platform as a Service (PaaS for short) is therefore the tool of the moment. The cloud-based solutions provide a complete platform for developing and executing software applications, complete with an operating system, middleware and runtime environment. The user companies do not need to create their own infrastructure and gain time and reliability at lower costs. Despite this, for a long time PaaS services were a niche product. But this has now changed.

 

Christof Marti, lecturer and Technical Lead of Cloud Platforms at the ICCLab of the ZHAW School of Engineering, notes: “PaaS services have not been used frequently in Swiss business until now. We have been receiving more enquiries about PaaS for a good year. Previously, companies were primarily interested in infrastructure services when it came to cloud computing. Now they are asking themselves how they can bring their applications directly to the cloud.” His colleague Michael Bohnert, Head of Service Engineering at the Institute of Applied Information Technology, confirms: “At the ZHAW School of engineering, around 30 people work on cloud computing. Research into the topic of infrastructure is almost complete. Platforms are also closer to adding value for software providers and users – money is being earned through applications, and no longer through the infrastructure.”

 

Platforms en route to success

PaaS platforms are therefore used more broadly today and increasingly also for operating the developed software. For example, at AXA Winterthur, as Urs Stoob reports: “AXA is in the process of setting up PaaS capability for Java and .Net applications to relieve the software developers of administrative tasks.” As Director of Sales & Digital Business Applications, Urs Stoob is responsible for around 100 applications.

 

Until now, AXA Winterthur operated the PaaS platform as a private PaaS in its own data center. “Generally, I am seeing a real transition today: Thanks to the providers of public PaaS services, Platform as a Service is becoming commonplace. The question is: Should you do it yourself or rely on a provider?” According to Stoob, for data-protection reasons, in reality a hybrid approach is often used, combining PaaS services from the company’s own private cloud and the public cloud. A general challenge with all variants is the integration with core IT.

 

The provider – be it the company’s own data center or a cloud provider – has sole responsibility for managing, maintaining and operating a PaaS environment and the underlying infrastructure. The developer can concentrate fully on his core competences and immediately put his project into practice. He configures the required environment via a self-service portal in just a few clicks. The platform provides the required resources automatically. All the developer needs on site is a computer with a Web browser and an Internet connection.

 

Benefits for companies

From the company’s perspective, PaaS supports modern, combined development and operation concepts such as DevOps and continuous delivery. Improvements and adjustments to the software are continuously brought into operation with the aid of automated test and provision procedures. This benefits agility, accelerates the time to market, promotes the standardisation and transparency of the development and operating processes and ultimately also reduces costs.

 

Investments in the infrastructure are no longer necessary. The PaaS services are paid for based on the current need for resources, in accordance with the pay-per-use principle. This makes PaaS particularly attractive for start-ups, which do not have the budget for their own infrastructure with high availability and scalability.

“PaaS platforms have so many benefits that we simply cannot be indifferent to them”

Urs Stoob, Director of Sales & Digital Business Applications, AXA Winterthur

Urs Stoob’s conclusion: “The key is not to use cloud computing to tease out a few efficiency benefits, as we did in the past. It’s about providing real application platforms. The actual value will only emerge through the automated mechanisms.”

 

Christof Marti highlights another aspect: “With PaaS, you can try out new things very quickly and return to the previous version without problems if something doesn’t work. The entire innovation cycle is shortened, because you no longer have to take care of the infrastructure and can concentrate entirely on the functionality of the software.” Marti sees a need to enhance the tools that are required for monitoring, operating, production handover and updating the applications: “When it comes to tooling, the PaaS providers are still in the development phase. This is also an interesting topic for us, in research. And it has market potential for developers who provide such tools.”

“Platforms are also closer to adding value – money is being earned through applications, and not through the infrastructure”

Prof. Thomas Michael Bohnert, ZHAW School of Engineering 

The future of software development

Market researchers see a rosy future for PaaS solutions in general – as well as aPaaS, integration and governance platforms (iPaaS) are also provided as cloud services. IDC, for example, forecasts revenues of 14 billion dollars for 2017, based on an annual increase of 30 percent. More than 10 percent of the total expenses for developing and operating applications are expected to be spent on PaaS services. In its “Cloud Vendor Benchmark 2015 ”, the Experton Group came to the conclusion that aPaaS was the hotspot for 2014 and will become a commodity faster than expected.

 

“After gathering initial experience regarding what PaaS means for application development, we are planning an aggressive migration strategy for the coming year,” says Urs Stoob, describing AXA’s plans. “PaaS is more fun for the developers, has a positive effect on costs, and is more flexible and scalable – these cloud platforms have so many benefits that we simply cannot be indifferent to them.” The forecast from the university is similar: “In five years, more than half of newly developed software will run on the basis of PaaS,” says Christof Marti. 

 

The cloud within the cloud

Swisscom operates an integrated cloud platform with infrastructure services (IaaS), such as processor capacity, memory, network and security elements, which serves as a basis for a number of managed services. The basis for the PaaS services of the Swisscom Application Cloud is a Cloud Foundry environment, which itself is based on Swisscom infrastructure services. As the largest Swiss provider of telecommunications and cloud services, Swisscom can provide its customers with a complete technology platform from a single source.

The Application Cloud is the first Swisscom cloud product that is also specifically aimed at developers and start-ups from Switzerland and across Europe. The company is thus serving a new customer segment. As is usual with other PaaS providers, the Application Cloud services can be ordered via a Web portal with ease and paid for by credit card – a first for Swisscom. As of 2016, corporate customers will also be able to use the Application Cloud in a virtual, private version with an individual portal and the option to pay upon receipt of an invoice.

 
Agile IT from the cloud

Zero time to market

Find out more about the Application Cloud

Workshop: free introduction to the topic of the cloud

Gain an insight into the current cloud solutions offered by Swisscom, experience a live demonstration of a data center in action and discover concrete application possibilities for your own company.

Find out more and make an appointment now

Cloud Knowledge Center

Current study result, exciting trends, practical application examples and checklists relating to the cloud are available to download free of charge in our Knowledge Center.

Go to the Knowledge Center

Further Focus articles

HackZurich

Ready, set, develop!

More fun for developers, low costs, flexible and scalable – Swisscom tested its own PaaS solution for the first time at HackZurich.

dorma+kaba

From the product to the services business

dorma+kaba relies on the Swisscom Application Cloud to develop new, high-availability access solutions with greater agility and bring them to market more quickly.

Portrait

The heart and soul of the Swiss start-up scene

Beat Schillig has been influencing the Swiss start-up scene for 25 years. A look at his CV shows why.

Titelthema: Application Cloud

Auf Wolke PaaS: Flexibel und schnell zur neuen Software

Application-Platform-as-a-Service-Angebote (PaaS) sind die Werkzeuge der Stunde. Doch was bedeutet das für die Zukunft der Software-Entwicklung?

Urs Binder

Schnell am Markt – diese Forderung schlägt zunehmend auch auf die Software-Entwicklung durch. Application-Platform-as-a-Service-Angebote (PaaS) sind daher das Werkzeug der Stunde. Die cloudbasierten Dienste bieten eine komplette Plattform für Entwicklung und Ausführung von Software-Anwendungen samt Betriebssystem, Middleware und Runtime-Umgebung. Der Aufbau einer eigenen Infrastruktur entfällt, die Anwenderfirmen gewinnen Zeit und Zuverlässigkeit zu tieferen Kosten. Trotzdem fristeten PaaS-Dienste lange Zeit ein Nischendasein. Das hat sich jedoch geändert.

 

Christof Marti, Dozent und technischer Leiter des Themas Cloud-Plattformen im ICCLab der ZHAW School of Engineering, stellt fest: «In der Schweizer Wirtschaft wurden PaaS-Dienste bisher nicht stark genutzt. Seit gut einem Jahr erhalten wir nun mehr Anfragen nach PaaS. Früher interessierten sich die Unternehmen punkto Cloud Computing vor allem für Infrastrukturdienste. Jetzt fragen sie sich, wie sie ihre Anwendungen direkt in die Cloud bringen können.» Sein Kollege Thomas Michael Bohnert, Schwerpunktleiter Service Engineering am Institut für angewandte Informationstechnologie, bestätigt: «In der ZHAW befassen sich rund 30 Leute mit Cloud Computing. Das Thema Infrastruktur ist in der Forschung nahezu abgearbeitet. Plattformen sind zudem für Software-Anbieter und - Anwender näher an der Wertschöpfung – Geld wird mit Applikationen verdient und nicht mit der Infrastruktur.»

 

Plattformen auf Erfolgskurs

PaaS-Plattformen werden demnach heute breiter und zunehmend auch zum Betrieb der entwickelten Software genutzt. So etwa bei AXA Winterthur, wie Urs Stoob berichtet: «Die AXA ist daran, für Java- und .NET-Anwendungen eine PaaS-Capability aufzubauen, um die Software-Entwickler von administrativen Tätigkeiten zu entlasten.» Stoob ist als Director Sales & Digital Business Applications für rund 100 Anwendungen zuständig.

 

AXA Winterthur betrieb ihre PaaS-Plattform bisher als Private PaaS im eigenen Rechenzentrum. «Generell sehe ich heute aber einen eigentlichen Umbruch: Durch die Anbieter von Public-PaaS-Diensten wird Platform as a Service gang und gäbe. Die Frage ist: Macht man es noch selbst oder setzt man auf einen Provider.» Aus datenschutzrechtlichen Gründen, so Stoob weiter, komme indes oft eher ein hybrider Ansatz mit PaaS-Diensten kombiniert aus der eigenen Private und der Public Cloud zum Einsatz. Als generelle Herausforderung bleibe bei allen Varianten die Integration mit der Core-IT.

 

Für das Management, die Pflege und den Betrieb einer PaaS-Umgebung und der zugrundeliegenden Infrastruktur ist ausschliesslich der Anbieter zuständig, sei es das eigene Rechenzentrum oder ein Cloud-Provider. Der Entwickler kann sich voll und ganz auf seine Kernkompetenzen konzentrieren und sein Projekt sofort in die Tat umsetzen. Die gewünschte Umgebung konfiguriert er über ein Self-Service-Portal mit wenigen Mausklicks. Die Plattform provisioniert die benötigten Ressourcen automatisch. Vor Ort braucht der Entwickler nur einen Computer mit Webbrowser und Internet-Anschluss.

 

Unternehmen im Vorteil

Aus Unternehmenssicht unterstützt PaaS moderne kombinierte Entwicklungs- und Betriebskonzepte wie DevOps und Continuous Delivery. Verbesserungen und Anpassungen der Software werden dabei mithilfe von automatisierten Test- und Bereitstellungsverfahren laufend in den Betrieb übernommen. Das kommt der Agilität zugute, beschleunigt die Time-to-Market, fördert die Standardisierung und die Transparenz der Entwicklungs- und Betriebsprozesse und senkt letztlich auch die Kosten.

 

Investitionen in die Infrastruktur entfallen. Die PaaS-Dienste werden nach dem Pay-per-Use-Prinzip gemäss dem aktuellen Ressourcenbedarf bezahlt. Das macht PaaS gerade für Start-ups attraktiv, die kein Budget für eine eigene Infrastruktur mit hoher Verfügbarkeit und Skalierbarkeit haben.

«PaaS-Plattformen haben so viele Vorteile, dass man sich ihnen nicht verschliessen kann»

Urs Stoob, Director Sales & Digital Business Applications, AXA Winterthur

Das Fazit von Urs Stoob: «Der Schlüssel liegt nicht darin, mit Cloud Computing wie in der Vergangenheit ein paar Effizienzvorteile auf Infrastrukturebene herauszukitzeln. Es geht darum, echte Anwendungsplattformen bereitzustellen. Der eigentliche Wert kommt erst durch die automatisierten Mechanismen.»

 

Christof Marti betont einen weiteren Aspekt: «Man kann mit PaaS sehr schnell Neues ausprobieren und problemlos wieder auf die vorherige Version zurückgehen, wenn etwas nicht klappt. Der ganze Innovationszyklus wird verkürzt, weil man sich nicht mehr um die Infrastruktur kümmern muss und sich ganz der Funktionalität der Software widmen kann.» Ausbaubedarf sieht Marti bei den Werkzeugen, die für Überwachung, Betrieb, Produktionsübergabe und Aktualisierung der Anwendungen benötigt werden: «Beim Tooling sind die PaaS-Anbieter noch in der Entwicklungsphase. Auch für uns in der Forschung ist das ein interessantes Thema. Und es hat Marktpotenzial für Entwickler, die solche Tools anbieten.»

«Plattformen sind näher an der Wertschöpfung – Geld wird mit Applikationen verdient und nicht mit der Infrastruktur»

Prof. Thomas Michael Bohnert, ZHAW School of Engineering 

Die Zukunft der Software-Entwicklung

Marktforscher sehen für PaaS-Angebote allgemein – neben PaaS werden auch Integrations- und Governance-Plattformen (iPaaS) als Cloud-Dienste angeboten – eine erfreuliche Zukunft. IDC zum Beispiel prognostiziert bei einer jährlichen Steigerung von 30 Prozent für 2017 Umsätze von 14 Milliarden Dollar weltweit. Über 10 Prozent der gesamten Ausgaben für Entwicklung und Betrieb von Anwendungen sollen dann auf PaaS-Dienste entfallen. Die Experton Group zieht in ihrem «Cloud Vendor Benchmark 2015» den Schluss, PaaS werde Hotspot 2014 und werde schneller Commodity als erwartet.

 

«Nachdem wir erste Erfahrungen gemacht haben, was PaaS für die Anwendungsentwicklung bedeutet, nehmen wir uns für die kommenden Jahre eine aggressive Migrationsstrategie vor», schildert Urs Stoob die Pläne der AXA. «PaaS macht den Entwicklern mehr Spass, wirkt sich günstig auf die Kosten aus, ist flexibler und skalierbarer – diese Cloud-Plattformen haben so viele Vorteile, dass man sich ihnen nicht verschliessen kann.» Die Prognose aus der Hochschule geht in dieselbe Richtung: «In fünf Jahren wird mehr als die Hälfte der neu entwickelten Software auf PaaS-Basis laufen», so Christof Marti. 

 

Die Cloud in der Cloud

Swisscom betreibt eine integrierte Cloud-Plattform mit Infrastrukturdiensten (IaaS) wie Prozessorleistung, Speicher, Netzwerk und Sicherheitselemente, die als Basis für zahlreiche Managed Services dient. Auch die Cloud-Foundry-Umgebung, die ihrerseits die Grundlage für die PaaS-Dienste bildet, setzt auf der Swisscom Cloud auf. Als grösster Schweizer Anbieter von Telekommunikations- und Cloud-Diensten kann Swisscom den Kunden eine komplette Technologieplattform aus einer Hand anbieten.

Die Application Cloud ist das erste Cloud-Produkt von Swisscom, das sich ausdrücklich auch an Entwickler und Start-ups aus der Schweiz und aus ganz Europa richtet. Das Unternehmen bedient damit ein neues Kundensegment. Die Dienste der Application Cloud können, wie bei anderen PaaS-Anbietern üblich, unkompliziert über ein Webportal bestellt und mit Kreditkarte bezahlt werden – für Swisscom ein Novum. Unternehmenskunden können die Application Cloud ab 2016 auch in einer Virtual-Private-Ausprägung mit individuellem Portal und Kostenabrechnung per Rechnung nutzen.

 
Agile IT aus der Cloud

Schneller am Markt mit der Swisscom Application Cloud

Zu den Angeboten

Agile IT aus der Cloud

Schneller am Markt mit der Swisscom Application Cloud

Zu den Angeboten

Workshop: Kostenloser Einstieg ins Thema Cloud

Lassen Sie sich einen Einblick in die aktuellen Cloud-Lösungen von Swisscom geben, erleben Sie eine Live-Demo eines Data Centers im Einsatz und erkennen Sie konkrete Anwendungsmöglichkeiten für Ihr Unternehmen.

Jetzt mehr erfahren und Termin vereinbaren

Knowledge Center Cloud

Aktuelle Studienresultate, spannende Trends, praktische Anwendungsbeispiele und Checklisten rund um das Thema Cloud gibt’s kostenlos in unserem Knowledge Center zum Download.

Zum Knowledge Center

Weitere Fokusartikel

HackZurich

Achtung, fertig, entwickeln!

Mehr Spass für Entwickler, tiefe Kosten, flexibel und skalierbar – Swisscom hat am HackZurich erstmals ein eigenes PaaS-Angebot getestet.

dorma+kaba

Weg vom Produkt, hin zum Servicegeschäft

dorma+kaba setzt auf die Swisscom Application Cloud, um neue, hochverfügbare Zutrittslösungen agiler zu entwickeln und schneller an den Markt zu bringen.

Porträt

Herz und Seele der Schweizer Start-up-Szene

Beat Schillig prägt seit 25 Jahren die Schweizer Start-up-Szene. Warum das so ist, zeigt ein Blick in seinen Lebenslauf.