Caught our eye

Help for hi-fi enthusiasts and poor linguists


Chromecast Audio

Wi-Fi for hi-fi enthusiasts

Following the success of the first Chromecast sticks – by its own account, Google has sold more than 20 million of them – the second generation is now available. As well as the improved Chromecast 2, which makes “mindless” TV devices Wi-Fi capable and feeds them with Internet offers, Google is now bringing out a very interesting twin, Chromecast Audio. This transforms older but high-quality hi-fi systems into intelligently networked music terminals. It can be connected to a receiver or speakers via a 3.5 mm jack plug, a conventional audio cable or an optical cable.

Control via mobile devices

Chromecast Audio is controlled via Android or iOS-capable smartphones and tablets with the corresponding Chromecast app. Windows laptops and, of course, Google’s own Chromebooks are also supported. A key point is the price: at 39 francs, Chromecast Audio is significantly cheaper than alternatives, for example from Apple (Airplay) and Sonos (Connect).

The new Chromecast Audio Video


Drone technology

Drones are reforesting

The start-up BioCarbon has set itself the goal of planting up to one billion trees per year for the purpose of reforestation – fully automatically. This corresponds to around one tenth of the trees that are felled or fall victim to fire clearance each year across the world.

Many regions of the planet that are in need of reforestation are extremely difficult to reach. BioCarbon’s drone-controlled initiative first plans to gather data regarding the topography, nutrient content of the soil and biodiversity using reconnaissance drones. This information will be fed into a self-learning algorithm to generate a “precision planting platform”.

The precision planting itself will be performed by remote-controlled quadrocopters that have been fed the results of these calculations. They will sow germinated seeds embedded in a biodegradable, nutrition-rich gel. According to BioCarbon, the nutritional gel guarantees a greater chance of success for the seedlings than dry planting by hand, for example.

Automatic reforestation: here is how it works


Mobile payment

“Mobile payment is the beginning of completely new shopping experiences.”

People carry their smartphones with them all the time and they are often closer to hand than their wallets. So it seems logical that paying via smartphone is fast becoming commonplace. All you need is an app such as Paymit, which SIX, UBS, ZKB and Swisscom want to develop jointly as a mobile payment standard. At present, Paymit can be used to transfer money between private individuals. Payment is charged directly to the individual’s bank account. The solution is impressive: at this year’s Best of Swiss Apps Award, the jury and public gave the app multiple awards. Starting in 2016, it will also be possible to use it to make retail payments.

Why will Paymit be successful on the Swiss mobile payment market?

Simon Zwahlen, Head of Paymit Initiatives, Swisscom: because the open system and broad-based support from SIX, Swisscom and the banks – currently UBS, ZKB and soon also Raiffeisen as well as the Geneva, Lucerne and Vaud cantonal banks – guarantee widespread use very quickly. We have 140,000 Paymit users already. Furthermore, we pay close attention to the user experience during development. Paymit should be simple, fast and secure for private users – and in the future for the retail trade, too. An example: Paymit payments should be charged directly to the user’s bank account. The title “Master of Swiss Apps” confirmed to us that we are well on the right track in terms of user experience.

Why do we need mobile payment solutions – are cash and credit cards not enough?

Mobile payment will not replace cash and credit cards, it will supplement them. We want to create a convenient alternative for payments that are primarily made in cash. People always have their smartphones with them and mobile payment is faster than paying by cash or card. For example, if we think of a self-service farm shop or a mobile snack stand that serves dozens of customers at lunchtime: up to now, cash has been a necessary but inconvenient evil. Furthermore, offline and online purchases are merging together more and more. We can simplify these processes with Paymit, too. Mobile payment is the beginning of completely new customer experiences. 

Paymit has been a P2P solution up to now. Will this continue?

From early 2016, we will be gradually bringing out Paymit solutions for retail. We will be starting with retailers that previously worked without payment terminals. Later in the year, we will add to the offering for retailers and online retailers on an ongoing basis. The payment function will then be enhanced to include functions that mediate between retailers and customers. These will be location-based, customised offers or collecting loyalty points. Back to the farm shop example: a farmer may not even know me now, but in the future, he will be able to communicate with me directly when my favourite jam is back in stock.

More about Paymit  


El Capitan and iOS 9

Focus on business customers

Apple CEO Tim Cook assured his company at the last dazzling presentation that he does not have any plans to merge the desktop and laptop operating system OS X with the mobile driver iOS. This may be true, and goes against the strategy of arch-rival Microsoft, who have declared Windows 10 the benchmark for all hardware platforms. However, the fact is that the latest version of OS X, named after the prominent cliff El Capitan in California’s Yosemite Park, clearly borrows from the iOS inventory and that El Capitan and the latest version of the mobile operating system, iOS 9, are working ever more closely together.

Attack on Microsoft

The “apple growers” from Cupertino are no longer focussing on home users who are used to luxury or the creative types who work with graphics, film and sound. Tim Cook came straight to the point when presenting the iPad Pro: with this tablet, it is already possible to complete 80 per cent of the business tasks that can also be performed on a PC – but more flexibly, creatively and having more fun in the process. It may remain to be seen whether this typical Apple vocabulary is still up to date – but it is clear that the i-manufacturer is directly targeting Microsoft and its Windows-10-based Surface tablets with this strategy. Moreover, the interaction of the iWorks productivity suite across El Capitan, iOS 9 and iCloud does indeed push Apple closer towards the business world.

New features of the El Capitan OS
The new functions of iOS 9 Video


Digital transformation

The six digitisation trends to focus on in 2016

In 2015, new digitisation projects were launched, digital strategies formulated, mobile apps designed and new Web experiences created. According to PAC, digital transformation will really gather momentum in 2016. It is important for companies to develop fundamentally new business models, which may cannibalise previous models, and make basic adjustments to the organisation and corporate culture.

PAC forecasts the following six developments for 2016:

1. Analysis of customer interaction will move towards data-based business models.

2. The Internet of Things will make integrated cyber security strategies vital in 2016.

3. Customer experiences will become more holistic in 2016.

4. Processes are likely to become less driven by efficiency, but more agile and customer oriented.

5. Organisational structures with divisions of labour will become collaborative working worlds.

6. And last, but not least: rigid control mechanisms will be replaced by lively and learning company cultures.

You can download the entire report here (only in German and French)  


Skype Translator

Do you speak Mandarin?

Users of Skype for Windows 7, 8.x and 10 can now enjoy the simultaneous translation function Skype Translator. The software add-on is being integrated automatically in phases via updates, so if you see a globe symbol in the top right of the screen following an update, this means you have the interpreting app. Skype Translator initially supports live calls in German, English, French, Italian, Mandarin and Spanish, in both directions. Further languages are to follow.

Not perfect – but capable of learning

Lilian Rincon, who is responsible for the development of Skype Translator at Microsoft, admits that the results are sometimes funny during the live translation. However, she emphasises that the system is capable of learning and will thus become more and more reliable through continuous use. Admittedly, the pauses that the speaker has to insert to allow the Translator to follow take some getting used to, and German-speaking Swiss people are advised to use the high German that they learned at school. And this is set to remain the case: there are no plans to include Swiss German.

Key information on Skype Translator Video

Aufgefallen

Hilfe für Hi-Fi-Nostalgiker und für Sprachfaule

01

Chromecast Audio

Wi-Fi für Hi-Fi-Nostalgiker

Nach dem Erfolg des ersten Chromecast-Sticks – Google hat nach eigenen Angaben über 20 Millionen Stück verkauft – ist jetzt die zweite Generation erhältlich. Neben dem verbesserten Chromecast 2, der wie sein Vorgänger «stumpfsinnige» TV-Geräte Wi-Fi-fähig macht und mit Internet-Angeboten füttert, bringt Google nun mit dem Chromecast Audio einen sehr interessanten Zwilling. Dieser verwandelt in die Jahre gekommene, aber qualitativ hochstehende Hi-Fi-Anlagen in intelligent vernetzte Musikterminals. Anschliessen lässt er sich an Receiver oder Boxen über einen 3,5-mm-Klinkenstecker, über herkömmliche Audiokabel oder über ein optisches Kabel.

Steuerung über mobile Geräte

Gesteuert wird der Chromecast Audio über Android- oder iOS-fähige Smartphones und Tablets mit der entsprechenden Chromecast-App. Ebenfalls unterstützt werden Windows-Notebooks und selbstverständlich die hauseigenen Chromebooks. Ein wichtiger Punkt ist der Preis: Mit 39 Franken ist der Chromecast Audio um einiges günstiger als Alternativen etwa von Apple (Airplay) und Sonos (Connect).

Der neue Chromecast Audio Video

04

Drohnen-Technologie

Drohnen forsten auf

Das Start-up BioCarbon hat sich vorgenommen, weltweit jährlich bis zu einer Milliarde Bäume zwecks Wiederaufforstung zu pflanzen – vollautomatisch. Das entspricht etwa einem Zehntel der Bäume, die pro Jahr global gefällt werden oder Brandrodungen zum Opfer fallen.

Viele aufforstungsbedürftige Regionen auf dem Planeten sind äusserst schwer zugänglich. Das drohnengesteuerte Vorhaben von BioCarbon sieht vor, zuerst mit Aufklärungsdrohnen Daten zu Topografie, Nährstoffgehalt des Bodens und Biodiversität zu erheben. Diese Informationen werden in einen selbstlernenden Algorithmus eingespeist, um eine sogenannte «precision planting platform» zu generieren.

Die Präzisionspflanzung selbst übernehmen die mit den Resultaten dieser Berechnungen gefütterten, ferngesteuerten Quadrokopter. Sie säen in ein biologisch abbaubares Nährgel eingebettete Pflanzenkeimlinge aus. Laut BioCarbon garantiert das Nährgel viel grössere Erfolgschancen fürs Keimen als etwa die Trockenaussaaten von Hand.

Automatische Aufforstung: So soll es gehen

06

Mobile Payment

«Mobiles Zahlen ist der Anfang ganz neuer Einkaufserlebnisse.»

Das Handy ist ständig dabei und oft näher zur Hand als die Brieftasche. Es scheint geradezu logisch, dass sich das Zahlen mit dem Handy rasch etablieren wird. Dafür braucht es lediglich eine App wie Paymit, die SIX, UBS, ZKB und Swisscom gemeinsam zum mobilen Bezahlstandard entwickeln wollen. Heute kann Paymit Geld zwischen Privatpersonen transferieren. Die Zahlung wird dabei direkt dem Bankkonto verbucht. Die Lösung überzeugt: Beim diesjährigen Best of Swiss Apps Award kürten die Jury und das Publikum die App gleich mehrfach. Ab 2016 wird nun auch das Bezahlen im Handel möglich.

Warum wird sich Paymit auf dem Schweizer Mobile-Payment-Markt behaupten?

Simon Zwahlen, Head of Paymit Initiatives, Swisscom: Weil das offene System und die breite Trägerschaft durch SIX, Swisscom und die Banken – aktuell UBS, ZKB und bald auch Raiffeisen sowie die Kantonalbanken Genf, Luzern und Waadt – eine schnelle Verbreitung garantieren. Heute zählen wir bereits 140 000 Paymit-Nutzer. Zudem legen wir bei der Entwicklung viel Wert auf das Benutzererlebnis. Paymit soll für Privatnutzer – in Zukunft auch für den Handel – einfach, schnell und sicher sein. Ein Beispiel: Paymit-Zahlungen sollen direkt dem Konto verbucht werden. Der Titel «Master of Swiss Apps» hat uns bestätigt, dass wir bezüglich Benutzererlebnis gut unterwegs sind.

Wofür benötigen wir Mobile-Payment-Lösungen – reichen Bargeld und Kreditkarten nicht aus?

Mobile Payment wird Bargeld und Kreditkarten nicht ersetzen, sondern ergänzen. Wir wollen für Zahlungen, die heute vorwiegend per Bargeld erfolgen, eine bequeme Alternative schaffen. Das Handy ist immer dabei und mobiles Zahlen geht schneller als Cash oder Karte. Denken wir beispielsweise an einen Bauernhof-Selbstbedienungsladen oder eine mobile Imbiss-Bude, die zur Mittagszeit Dutzende von Kunden bedient: Bargeld war hier bisher ein notwendiges, im Umgang aber umständliches Übel. Zudem verschmelzen der Offline- und der Online-Einkauf immer mehr. Auch diese Prozesse können wir mit Paymit vereinfachen. Mobiles Zahlen ist der Anfang ganz neuer Kundenerlebnisse. 

Bis jetzt ist Paymit eine P2P-Lösung. Wie geht’s weiter?

Ab Anfang 2016 bringen wir schrittweise Paymit-Lösungen für den Handel. Wir starten mit Händlern, die bisher ohne Zahl-Terminal funktionierten. Im weiteren Jahresverlauf ergänzen wir dann laufend das Angebot für grössere Händler und auch für den Online-Handel. Die Zahlfunktion wird dann mit Funktionen, die zwischen Händler und Kunde vermitteln, erweitert. Dabei geht es um standortbezogene und individualisierte Angebote oder das Sammeln von Treuepunkten. Zurück zum Bauernhof-Beispiel: Während mich der Bauer heute vielleicht noch nicht mal kennt, kann er mich in Zukunft direkt ansprechen, wenn meine Lieblingskonfi wieder erhältlich ist. 

Mehr zu Paymit 

02

El Capitan und iOS 9

Business-Kunden im Fokus

Apple-CEO Tim Cook hat anlässlich des letzten Präsentations-feuerwerks seines Unternehmens versichert, dass er keine Pläne hege, das Desktop- und Notebook-Betriebssystem OS X mit dem mobilen Antreiber iOS zu verschmelzen. Das mag stimmen und der Strategie des Erzkonkurrenten Microsoft entgegenlaufen, der Windows 10 erklärtermassen zum Mass aller Dinge auf sämtlichen Hardware-Plattformen erhoben hat. Tatsache ist allerdings, dass sich die neuste Version von OS X, nach dem markanten Felsen El Capitan im kalifornischen Yosemite-Nationalpark getauft, ziemlich freimütig beim Inventar von iOS bedient und dass El Capitan und die jüngste Version des mobilen Betriebssystems, iOS 9, immer enger zusammenarbeiten.

Attacke auf Microsoft

Im Fokus haben die Apfelbauer aus Cupertino dabei beileibe nicht mehr nur den an Luxuriöses gewöhnten Heimanwender oder die Kreativen in Sachen Grafik, Film und Sound. Tim Cook brachte es bei der Präsentation des iPad Pro auf den Punkt: Mit diesem Tablet könne man bereits 80 Prozent der Business-Aufgaben erledigen, die man auch am PC tun kann – bloss flexibler, kreativer und mit mehr Spass. Es mag dahingestellt bleiben, ob dieser Apple-typische Wortschatz immer noch up to date ist – klar ist aber, dass der i-Hersteller mit seiner Strategie direkt auf Microsoft und seine Windows-10-basierten Surface-Tablets zielt. Und in der Tat verleiht das Zusammenspiel der Produktivitätssuite iWorks über El Capitan, iOS 9 und iCloud hinweg Apple einen beachtlichen zusätzlichen Schub in Richtung Business-Welt.

Das ist neu am  OS El Capitan
Die neuen Funktionen von iOS 9 Video

03

Digitale Transformation

Diese 6 Digitalisierungstrends beschäftigen uns 2016

2015 wurden neue Digitalisierungs-Projekte ins Leben gerufen, Digitalstrategien formuliert, mobile Apps konzipiert und neue Web-Experiences geschaffen. Laut PAC geht es 2016 punkto digitale Transformation ans Eingemachte. Es geht für Unternehmen darum, fundamental neue Geschäftsmodelle zu entwickeln, die vielleicht bisherige Modelle kannibalisieren, und grundlegende Anpassungen der Organisation und Veränderungen in der Unternehmenskultur vorzunehmen.

Diese 6 Entwicklungen sieht PAC für 2016:

1. Von der Analyse der Kundeninteraktion geht es hin zu datenbasierten Geschäftsmodellen.

2. Durch das Internet der Dinge werden integrierte Cyber-Security-Strategien 2016 unerlässlich.

3. Kundenerlebnisse werden 2016 ganzheitlicher.

4. Prozesse sollen weniger effizienzgetrieben, dafür agiler und kundenorientierter werden.

5. Arbeitsteilige Organisationsstrukturen werden zu kollaborativen Arbeitswelten.

6. Und last, but not least: Rigide Steuerungsmechanismen werden abgelöst von lebendigen, lernenden Unternehmenskulturen.

Hier können Sie den gesamten Bericht herunterladen 

05

Skype Translator

Können Sie Mandarin?

Die Anwender von Skype für Windows 7, 8.x und 10 kommen ab sofort in den Genuss der Simultanübersetzer-Funktion Skype Translator. Der Software-Zusatz wird phasenweise und automatisch mittels Updates integriert, was bedeutet: Wer nach seinem Update oben rechts ein Weltkugel-Symbol erblickt, hat die Dolmetscher-App. Vorerst unterstützt Skype Translator Live-Telefonate in Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Mandarin und Spanisch in beiden Richtungen. Weitere Sprachen sollen folgen.

Noch nicht perfekt – aber lernfähig

Lilian Rincon, bei Microsoft für die Entwicklung von Skype Translator zuständig, räumt zwar ein, dass immer mal wieder lustige Resultate bei der Live-Übersetzung herauskommen. Sie betont aber, dass das System lernfähig sei und deshalb bei kontinuierlicher Nutzung immer zuverlässiger werde. Etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig sind sicher die Pausen, welche die Sprecher einlegen müssen, damit der Translator folgen kann. Und Deutschschweizer sind angehalten, ihr schulisches Hochgermanisch zu verwenden. Das dürfte auch so bleiben: Schwiizertütsch ist nicht vorgesehen.

Alles Wichtige zu Skype Translator Video