The pressure to be smart

Singapore is the world leader when it comes to “smart cities”. But the Lion City on the equator is not resting on its laurels because of this – on the contrary, it is already planning the next steps.

Beat Hochuli

Fifty years since the island, which lacks raw materials and is located at the southern corner of the Malaysian peninsula, gained its independence, Singapore is now a model when it comes to the concept of the “smart city”. This is astonishing when one considers that, in 1965, the city was poor and underdeveloped – and thus did not want to leave the newly created state of Malaysia, which had gained independence from Great Britain in 1963. On the contrary: disagreements with the government in Kuala Lumpur led to Singapore being expelled against its will in 1965.


Number one in the world

That was the history. Let us now look at the present and to the future prospects, not only for Singapore, but for all cities that have placed the word “smart” on their agendas – and that is just about all of them; after all, no urban centre wants to be known as “not smart”. Today, that would be synonymous with underdeveloped. 

Singapore wants to clearly define the term smart city – in its own interests as well

The fact is, Singapore has made it. In their recently published study on the smart city situation in the Asia-Pacific region, analysts from the American market research company IDC came to an unambiguous conclusion: Singapore is clearly number one. They are followed by the Chinese mainland cities Hangzhou, Chengdu and Hong Kong. Further places are occupied by Taipei (Taiwan), Christchurch and Auckland in New Zealand and Gold Coast City in eastern Australia.


What are the reasons for the Lion City State’s exceptionally good performance? IDC lists the following: the intelligent transport systems initiative (traffic and transport category), smart water sensors for fresh water and waste water management, smart mapping for the prevention and control of the dangerous tropical disease dengue fever (land use and environmental management) and the Future Schools initiative (education). 

Education and traffic

The latter was launched in 2006 by the Infocomm Development Authority (IDA), which is responsible for ICT development and promotion. The strategy involves integrating as many public, semi-public and private learning institutions as possible into the programme for the purpose of achieving performance-oriented education goals. Here, special emphasis is placed on ICT-based learning methods – in other words, e-learning, including multimedia skills and interactive methods. 


When it comes to traffic and transport, Singapore was already able to bring home the “C40 & Siemens Climate Leadership Award” in 2013 thanks to the results of the Intelligent Transport System (ITS). The top priority for those responsible for the ITS is to keep traffic moving as fluidly and with as few emissions as possible. This includes an electronic road-pricing and parking system, real-time traffic information and a highly integrated public transport network. As well as meticulous public transport planning, the basis for this includes GPS-based positioning systems and sensor-controlled information services. 


Good planning, GPS-based positioning systems and sensors make Singapore’s public transport system one of the best in the world.


Last but not least, the Singapore government relies on e-government “without limitations”. Of course, there are always limitations in this regard – but that’s just it: in the city state, people should only have to go to a counter when it’s absolutely necessary.


Developing criteria in a smart manner

These are certainly all helpful criteria for determining whether an urban space is more or less “smart”. However, what is really smart is the fact that Singapore is serious about implementing the label. After all, the expression “smart city” is currently more of a vague issue than a clearly defined term. And the IDA, mentioned above, knows this, too. The authority responsible for developing the ICT infrastructure, above all with regard to business interests, announced on 13 October this year that it would be participating in a two-year pilot project for the International Telecommunication Union. The goal of this international initiative is to work out verifiable criteria – known as key performance indicators (KPI) – which can be used as an aid for defining what a smart, sustainable city really is and what does not deserve this title.


The pressure to be smart

Speaking of sustainability: this label will certainly be subject to much misuse. Singapore is taking it seriously – also because it has to. The small island, which is home to a good seven million inhabitants, simply cannot afford to waste resources and pollute the environment. Thus, energy efficiency – and continuous improvement of this – is not simply a buzzword in Singapore, but a simple necessity. The Singaporeans know: just like with individuals, being smart is not a personality trait but an ongoing process.


Beat Hochuli

is a freelance ICT journalist and lives in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia.

Trendscout

Der Zwang, smart zu sein

Singapur ist in Sachen «Smart City» weltweiter Spitzenreiter. Die Löwenstadt am Äquator ruht sich deswegen nicht auf ihren Lorbeeren aus – im Gegenteil: Sie plant bereits die nächsten Schritte.

Beat Hochuli

Fünfzig Jahre nachdem die rohstoffarme kleine Insel am Südzipfel der malaiischen Halbinsel unabhängig wurde, steht Singapur als weltweites Vorbild da, wenn es um das Konzept der «Smart City» geht. Das ist insofern erstaunlich, als die Stadt 1965 arm und rückständig war – und den neuen Staat Malaysia, der 1963 seine Unabhängigkeit von Grossbritannien erlangte, deshalb gar nicht verlassen wollte. Im Gegenteil: Unstimmigkeiten mit der Regierung in Kuala Lumpur führten dazu, dass Singapur gegen seinen Willen 1965 ausgestossen wurde.

 

Internationale Spitze

Dies zur Geschichte. Und jetzt zur Gegenwart und zu den Zukunftsaussichten nicht nur von Singapur, sondern von allen Städten, die sich das Label «smart» auf ihre Fahnen geschrieben haben – und das sind so ziemlich alle, denn schliesslich will doch kein urbanes Zentrum als «nicht smart» bezeichnet werden. Das wäre heutzutage gleichbedeutend mit rückständig. 

«Singapur will den Begriff Smart City ganz klar definieren – auch im eigenen Interesse»

Tatsache ist, dass Singapur es geschafft hat. Die Analysten des US-amerikanischen Marktforschungsunternehmens IDC kommen in ihrer kürzlich veröffentlichten Studie zur Smart-City-Situation im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum zu einem unmissverständlichen Schluss: Singapur belegt klar Platz eins. Danach folgen die chinesischen Festlandstädte Hangzhou, Chengdu und Hongkong. Auf den weiteren Plätzen finden sich Taipeh (Taiwan), Christchurch und Auckland in Neuseeland sowie Gold Coast City in Ostaustralien.

 

Wo liegen die Gründe für das ausnahmemässig gute Abschneiden des Löwen-Stadtstaates? IDC führt auf: die Initiative für intelligente Transportsysteme (Kategorie Verkehr und Transport), smarte Wassersensoren für das Frischwasser- und Abwasser-Management, das Smart Mapping für die Prävention und die Kontrolle der gefährlichen Tropenkrankheit Dengue-Fieber (Landnutzungs- und Umwelt-Management) sowie die Future Schools Initiative (Bildungswesen). 

 
Bildung und Verkehr

Letztere wurde bereits 2006 von der Infocomm Development Authority (IDA), die für die ICT-Entwicklung und -Förderung zuständig ist, ins Leben gerufen. Die Strategie besteht darin, möglichst viele staatliche, halbstaatliche und private Lerninstitute zwecks leistungsorientierter Bildungsziele in das Programm einzubeziehen. Spezieller Nachdruck wird dabei auf ICT-basierte Lernmethoden gelegt – sprich E-Learning inklusive Multimedia-Skills und interaktiver Methoden. 

 

Punkto Verkehr und Transport konnte Singapur bereits 2013 den «C40 & Siemens Climate Leadership Award» aufgrund der Resultate des Intelligent Transport System (ITS) einheimsen. In erster Linie geht es den Verantwortlichen des ITS darum, den Verkehr möglichst flüssig und emissionsarm rollen zu lassen. Das schliesst ein elektronisches Road-Pricing-and-Parking-System, Echtzeit-Verkehrsinformationen und ein hochintegriertes ÖV-Netz ein. Grundlage dafür sind neben minutiöser ÖV-Planung GPS-basierte Ortungssysteme sowie sensorgesteuerte Informationsdienste. 

 

Eine gute Planung, GPS und Sensoren machen den öffentlichen Verkehr in Singapur zu einem der besten der Welt.

 

Last but not least baut die Singapurer Regierung auf E-Government «ohne Grenzen». Selbstverständlich gibt es diesbezüglich immer Grenzen – aber eben: Im Stadtstaat sollen die Leute nur noch dann einen Schalter aufsuchen müssen, wenn es absolut notwendig ist.

 

Kriterien smart herausarbeiten

Dies alles sind sicherlich hilfreiche Kriterien, anhand deren ein urbaner Raum als mehr oder weniger «smart» eingeschätzt werden kann. Wirklich smart mutet aber die Tatsache an, dass es Singapur ernst ist mit der Umsetzung des Labels. Denn noch ist der Ausdruck «Smart City» eher eine schwammige Angelegenheit als ein klar umrissener Begriff. Das weiss auch die oben erwähnte IDA. Die für die Entwicklung der ICT-Infrastruktur vor allem auch im Hinblick auf Business-Interessen zuständige Behörde hat am 13. Oktober dieses Jahres die Teilnahme an einem zweijährigen Pilotprojekt der International Telecommunication Union (ITU) bekannt gegeben. Ziel des internationalen Vorhabens ist es, belastbare Kriterien – sogenannte Key Performance Indicators (KPI) – herauszuarbeiten, mit deren Hilfe definiert werden kann, was eine smarte, nachhaltige Stadt wirklich ist und was diesen Namen nicht verdient.

 

Der Zwang, smart zu sein

Apropos Nachhaltigkeit: Gewiss wird mit diesem Label viel Schindluder getrieben. Singapur nimmt es ernst – auch weil es muss. Ressourcen-verschwendung und Umweltverschmutzung kann sich die kleine Insel mit immerhin gut sieben Millionen Einwohnern schlicht nicht leisten. Energieeffizienz ­– und deren stetige Verbesserung – ist deshalb in Singapur nicht bloss Schlagwort, sondern pure Notwendigkeit. Die Singapurer wissen: Smart zu sein ist – wie auch bei Einzelpersonen – keine Eigenschaft, sondern ein nie abgeschlossener Prozess.

 

0214_Tre_Tre_Aut
Beat Hochuli

ist freischaffender ICT-Journalist und lebt in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia.