Addressing customers digitally

The future of retail

The Loeb MAGGS stores address customers directly and in a personalised manner – thanks to a smartphone app, Bluetooth and iBeacons. However, how the technology is used is more important than the technology itself.

Urs Binder

Those who know Berne, know Loeb. The retail company has been operating one of Switzerland’s leading retail stores, located close to the train station, since 1881. “Today, there is no more room for growth with retail stores. Finding suitable locations alone is virtually impossible – but we want to grow,” stresses Ronald Christen, CEO of Loeb AG.


In search of the retail of the future, Loeb developed smaller, boutique-style store formats with a careful selection of products: the idea for the MAGGS stores was born. Since the first MAGGS store was opened in Berne in early 2013, further stores have been added in five cities from Aarau to Zurich. “The main target group is the modern urban lady who does not want to see mass-produced goods. We believe that these boutiques, with their exciting range of products, are the future,” says Christen.


Loeb also operates an online shop, which has a specially selected range of products. “Home, kitchen, tableware – the younger generation, in particular, are cooking a lot more themselves, and we have an expert homeware department, the like of which is hard to find these days. We can also also offer this expert service online.”


The customers of the future

Christen would like to reach his customers on all channels, which is why he is driving the digitisation of the retail environment. “In-store business is what we know best. But we can’t put our heads in the sand and pretend that online retail, mobile commerce and modern ways of addressing customers have nothing to do with us,” says Ronald Christen. “We want to offer our customers a unique shopping experience. Not only in stores, but also digitally.” According to Christen, it is important to understand how the future generation works: “They will shop a lot differently than we are used to. This will remain a real challenge for the retail trade.”


You can easily adjust your clothing size using an app


The MAGGS stores are an ideal testing ground for new forms of customer interaction. In a pilot project, Loeb uses the Swisscom Interact platform: “The technology is actually quite simple,” says Daniel Böhlen, who is responsible for coordinating online activities at Loeb. “A smartphone app communicates via Bluetooth with iBeacons that are installed in the store. This allows us to address customers and offer them vouchers and customised offers based on the location.”


Personalised shopping

To ensure that products have the right fit, the required clothing sizes can be entered in the app. The Stylecam adds a playful element. Customers can upload a stylish photo relating to subjects typical to MAGGS and win prizes in a community-judged competition. A personal fashion consultancy service can also be booked via the app. And customers can evaluate their purchases in the app, allowing sales assistants to get to know their customer base even better. The MAGGS app has been available since October 2015 and can also be used as a digital customer card for Loeb’s loyalty scheme: customers can collect gold points with it.


“We have thoroughly considered what digitisation should look like. The most important thing was always to find a way to merge in-store retail with digital elements to provide us and our customers with added value,” says Böhlen, outlining the motivation behind the Interact project.


To identify customer needs, Loeb relies on the proven expertise of the sales personnel. Daniel Böhlen: “Our sales assistants know their customers personally, are on first-name terms with some of them, and have good people skills. They know what customers want and how best to advise them. A lot of feedback from the sales team has been incorporated into the app.”


More than just technology

Loeb developed the concept for the app and the corresponding in-store solution with iPads for the sales personnel together with Swisscom Mobility Solutions. Partner company Smartfactory took care of programming the app. For Ronald Christen, it was a “stroke of luck that Swisscom invited us to take part in this pilot project – as an SME, we wouldn’t have the resources to realise something like this alone”. But he says that Swisscom also benefits: “We contribute our retail expertise.”

“We want to reward customers, not monitor them.”

Ronald Christen, CEO at Loeb AG

After all, technology does little good on its own. How it improves the shopping experience is the crucial factor – and this depends on how you use it. “The spectrum is huge,” says Daniel Böhlen enthusiastically. “For example, personalised offers that appear on a screen in the store window when a customer approaches the store. We want to get to grips with these possibilities and gain expertise so that we are equipped for future requirements.”


However, the private sphere is also crucial to the shopping experience. “We want to reward customers, not monitor them. This is why we don’t track their movements in the store – customers would hardly accept this, and it is also too intimate for us,” stresses CEO Ronald Christen.


The Loeb subsidiary MAGGS operates six concept stores across Switzerland.

Digitale Kundenansprache

Die Zukunft des Detailhandels

Die MAGGS-Stores von Loeb sprechen die Kunden direkt und personalisiert an – dank Smartphone-App, Bluetooth und iBeacons. Wichtiger als die Technik ist jedoch, wie man sie einsetzt.

Urs Binder

Wer Bern kennt, kennt Loeb. Das Detailhandelsunternehmen betreibt in direkter Bahnhofsnähe seit 1881 eines der führenden Warenhäuser der Schweiz. «Mit Warenhäusern können wir heute nicht mehr wachsen. Nur schon geeignete Standorte zu finden, ist fast unmöglich – aber wachsen wollen wir», betont Ronald Christen, CEO der Loeb AG.

 

Auf der Suche nach dem künftigen Detailhandel entwickelte Loeb kleinere Ladenformate im Boutique-Stil mit kuratiertem Sortiment: Die Idee der MAGGS-Stores war geboren. Seit der Eröffnung des ersten MAGGS in Bern Anfang 2013 sind weitere Stores in fünf Städten von Aarau bis Zürich hinzugekommen. «Hauptzielgruppe ist die modische urbane Dame, die keine Massenware sehen möchte. In solchen Kleinstwarenhäusern mit spannendem Sortiment sehen wir die Zukunft», hält Christen fest.

 

Loeb betreibt ausserdem einen Online-Shop und setzt auch dabei auf ein fokussiertes Sortiment. «Haushalt, Küche, gedeckter Tisch – gerade die junge Generation kocht wieder viel öfter selbst, und wir haben im Warenhaus eine sehr kompetente Haushaltabteilung, wie man sie sonst fast nicht mehr findet. Diese Kompetenz können wir auch online ausspielen.»

 

Die Kunden der Zukunft

Christen möchte seine Kundschaft auf allen Kanälen erreichen und treibt deshalb auch die Digitalisierung des Verkaufsumfelds voran. «Das stationäre Business verstehen wir bestens. Wir können aber nicht den Kopf in den Sand stecken und meinen, Online-Handel, M-Commerce und moderne Kundenansprache gehen uns nichts an», meint Ronald Christen. «Wir wollen dem Kunden ein einzigartiges Shopping-Erlebnis bieten. Nicht nur im Geschäft, sondern auch digital.» Es gehe auch darum, zu verstehen, wie die kommende Generation funktioniert: «Die werden ganz anders einkaufen, als wir es uns gewohnt sind. Das wird den Detailhandel noch ziemlich herausfordern.»

 

Via App kann man ganz einfach seine Kleidergrösse anpassen

 

Als Experimentierfeld für neue Kundeninteraktionsformen sind die MAGGS-Stores geradezu prädestiniert. In einem Pilotprojekt nutzt Loeb die Interact-Plattform von Swisscom: «Die Technik ist eigentlich einfach», meint Daniel Böhlen, der bei Loeb für die Koordination der Online-Aktivitäten zuständig ist. «Eine Smartphone-App kommuniziert via Bluetooth mit iBeacons, die im Store installiert sind. So können wir die Kunden ortsabhängig ansprechen und ihnen Gutscheine und massgeschneiderte Angebote offerieren.»

 

Personalisiertes Einkaufen

Damit die Angebote auch wirklich passen, lassen sich in der App die bevorzugten Kleidergrössen erfassen. Mit der «Stylecam» kommt ein spielerisches Element hinzu. Kunden können ein stilvolles Foto zu MAGGS-typischen Themen hochladen und in einem Community-bewerteten Wettbewerb Preise gewinnen. Über die App kann ausserdem eine persönliche Modeberatung gebucht werden. Und die Kunden können ihren Einkauf in der App bewerten. Die Verkäuferinnen lernen so ihre Kundschaft noch besser kennen. Die MAGGS-App ist seit Oktober 2015 erhältlich und dient gleichzeitig als digitale Kundenkarte für das Loyalty-Programm von Loeb: Man kann mit ihr Goldpunkte sammeln.

 

«Wir haben uns ausführlich gefragt, wie Digitalisierung aussehen soll. Am wichtigsten war dabei immer, wie wir den stationären Handel so mit digitalen Elementen verschmelzen können, dass sich für die Kunden und auch für uns ein Mehrwert ergibt», schildert Böhlen die Motivation hinter dem Interact-Projekt.

 

Um die Kundenbedürfnisse zu ermitteln, setzt Loeb auf die bewährte Kompetenz des Verkaufspersonals. Daniel Böhlen: «Unsere Verkäuferinnen kennen ihre Kunden persönlich, sind mit manchen per Du und haben gute Menschenkenntnis. Sie wissen, was die Kunden wollen und wie man sie am besten betreut. In die App ist viel Feedback von der Verkaufsfront eingeflossen.»

 

Mehr als bloss Technik

Das Konzept für die App sowie die zugehörige In-Store-Lösung mit iPads für das Verkaufspersonal hat Loeb zusammen mit Swisscom Mobility Solutions entwickelt. Die Programmierung der App hat das Partnerunternehmen Smartfactory übernommen. Für Ronald Christen war es «ein Glücksfall, dass Swisscom uns zu diesem Pilotprojekt eingeladen hat – allein hätten wir als KMU nicht die Ressourcen, so etwas zu realisieren». Aber auch Swisscom profitiere: «Wir bringen das Know-how aus dem Detailhandel mit.»

«Wir wollen die Kunden nicht überwachen, sondern belohnen.»

Ronald Christen, CEO Loeb AG

Denn Technik allein bringt wenig. Entscheidend ist, wie sie das Einkaufserlebnis verbessert – und dies hängt davon ab, wie man sie einsetzt. «Das Spektrum ist riesig», zeigt sich Daniel Böhlen begeistert. «Zum Beispiel personalisierte Angebote, die auf einem Bildschirm im Schaufenster erscheinen, wenn ein Kunde sich dem Store nähert. In solche Möglichkeiten wollen wir uns hineinspüren und uns Know-how aneignen, damit wir für künftige Bedürfnisse gerüstet sind.»

 

Für ein positives Einkaufserlebnis ist jedoch auch die Privatsphäre entscheidend. «Wir wollen die Kunden nicht überwachen, sondern belohnen. Deshalb tracken wir ihre Bewegungen im Store nicht – das würde von den Kunden kaum akzeptiert und ist auch uns zu intim», betont CEO Ronald Christen.

MAGGS

Das Loeb-Tochterunternehmen MAGGS betreibt schweizweit sechs Concept-Stores.

www.maggs.ch