more information Close

Login/account box

Meta navigation

  • Language switch

Global navigation

Global search

Vlad Trifa

Portrait Egon Steinkasserer

Vlad Trifa, PhD

Head of Digital Lab


Vlad is leading Swisscom's Digital Lab at EPFL, a competence center in entreprise digitalisation where customers can rapidly prototype end-to-end digital solutions and products using the latest technologies such as Internet of Things, big data, or artificial intelligence.
An acknowledged expert in the Internet of Things, he worked for the last decade as an author, entrepreneur, practitioner, and researcher in in this field. In 2011, he co-founded EVRYTHNG and was the company's first Chief Product Officer, overseeing the design and delivery of an award-winning IoT platform used by numerous customers such as Coca-Cola, DIAGEO, GE, Unilever, or LVMH.
Previously, he built distributed microphone arrays to help biologists study bird communication in the forests of Mexico and California while at UCLA; neural models for sensory-motor coordination of humanoid robots in Japan; adaptive factory lines and ERP applications at SAP; and smart city cloud platforms that collect and analyze massive amounts of real-time data in Cambridge and Singapore at MIT.
Vlad graduated with a PhD in distributed computing from ETH Zurich and a MsC in robotics and machine learning from EPFL.

Meta Navigation

Vlad Trifa

Portrait Egon Steinkasserer

Vlad Trifa, PhD

Leiter Digital Lab

 

Seit Juni 2016 führt Vlad das Swisscom Digital Lab an der EPFL. Das Swisscom Digital Lab versteht sich als Kompetenzzentrum für die Digitalisierung im Enterprisegeschäft, welches Kunden die Möglichkeit für das Prototyping von digitalen End-to-End-Lösungen auf Basis der neusten Technologien wie dem Internet der Dinge, Big Data oder künstlicher Intelligenz ermöglicht.
 
Vlad ist ein anerkannter Experte im Internet der Dinge. Die letzten zehn Jahre hat er als Autor, Unternehmer, Praktiker und Forscher auf diesem Gebiet gearbeitet. Im Jahr 2011 war er Mitbegründer der Firma EVERYTHING und als Chief Product Officer des Unternehmens tätig. Dabei zeichnete er sich für das Design und die Abgabe einer preisgekrönten IoT-Plattform verantwortlich, die von zahlreichen Kunden wie Coca-Cola, DIAGEO, GE, Unilver oder LVMH genutzt wird.
 
Zuvor hat er während seiner Zeit an der UCLA Mikrophon-Arrays zur Unterstützung des Kommunikationsverhaltens von Vögeln in den Wäldern von Mexiko und Kalifornien entwickelt. Ausserdem hat er neuronale Modelle für die sensorisch-motorische Koordination von humanoiden Robotern in Japan sowie Applikationen für adaptive Fertigungslinien und ERP-Applikationen für SAP entwickelt. Des Weiteren hat Vlad am MIT in Cambridge und Singapore Smart City Cloud-Plattformen entwickelt, die grosse Mengen an Daten in Echtzeit sammeln und analysieren.
 
Vlad hält einen Doktortitel in Distributed Computing der ETH Zürich und einen Master of Science in den Bereichen Robotik und Machine Learning von der EPFL.