Meta navigation

Press release


Swisscom info and facts

Statement on the ComCo investigation

Berne, 19 July 2013




Swisscom contract of 2008 for networking Swiss Post locations

Swisscom is surprised that the Competition Commission has launched an investigation. The telecoms market is competitive, and Swisscom's rivals can win tenders for major projects. We reject the claim that Swisscom is illegally restricting competition. Swisscom is confident that the Competition Commission (ComCo) will reach the same conclusion in the course of its investigation.

The background to the case:

Swiss Post issued a call for tenders to network its offices and awarded Swisscom the corresponding contract back in 2008. In the more than four years since May 2009, we have repeatedly made statements in response to questions by ComCo. However, preliminary clarification wasn't undertaken until July 2012, when ComCo sent Swisscom another list of questions.

A complaint submitted by Sunrise in 2009 claimed we had abused our dominant position on the market in the aforementioned case. In our view, Sunrise could very well have made Swiss Post a competitive offer based on the initial services we had provided.




Clarification

Swisscom asserts in particular that Sunrise could have made Swiss Post an offer under which Sunrise would have conducted 65% of the work involved (rather than just 20%) and would have had to procure initial services relating to only 35% (rather than 80%) of the total from Swisscom. This would have enabled Sunrise to make Swiss Post an offer that would have covered its expenses. 

Swisscom asserts furthermore that Sunrise failed to reveal its requirements in a timely manner. As a result, Swisscom Wholesale was not in a position to make Sunrise an optimal offer. This clearly led to Sunrise being unable to make Swiss Post a competitive offer. Overall, Swisscom has come to the conclusion that Sunrise's claims are baseless.

Méta navigation

Communiqué de presse


Infos et faits de Swisscom

Prise de position relative à l'enquête de la COMCO

Berne, le 19 juillet 2013




Mandat Swisscom de 2008 pour la mise en réseau des sites de la Poste

Swisscom est surprise par l'ouverture d'une enquête. La concurrence fonctionne sur le marché des télécoms, les concurrents peuvent aussi acquérir des mandats pour des projets d'envergure. Nous rejetons le reproche fait à Swisscom d'entraver illégitimement la concurrence. Swisscom est persuadé que la commission de la concurrence (Comco) aboutira à la même conclusion au cours de l'enquête.

Dessous de la procédure:

L'appel d'offre de la Poste pour la mise en réseau de ses sites et l'attribution du mandat à Swisscom a eu lieu en 2008 déjà. Nous avons maintes fois pris position dès mai 2009 et pendant plus de quatre ans par rapport aux questions posées par la Comco. Ce n'est qu'en juillet 2012 qu'une enquête préliminaire formelle a été ouverte et une nouvelle liste de questions de la Comco envoyée à Swisscom.

Dans la plainte de 2009 relative au cas mentionné, Sunrise nous a reproché un abus de position dominante. De notre point de vue, Sunrise aurait pu, sur la base de nos travaux préliminaires, soumettre une offre concurrentielle à la Poste.




Précision

Swisscom fait surtout valoir que Sunrise aurait pu soumettre à La Poste une offre dans le cadre de laquelle elle aurait pu fournir 65% (au lieu de 20%) de prestations propres et n’aurait dû acheter que 35% (au lieu de 80%) de prestations préalables de Swisscom. Sunrise aurait ainsi pu soumettre à La Poste une offre couvrant ses frais.

Swisscom invoque également le fait que Sunrise n’a pas fait connaître ses besoins à temps, si bien que Swisscom Wholesale n’a pas été en mesure d’établir une offre optimale. De toute évidence, cela a eu pour conséquence que Sunrise n’a pas soumis d’offre compétitive à la Poste. Swisscom parvient donc à la conclusion que les accusations de Sunrise sont injustifiées.