Meta navigation

Press release


Swisscom info and facts

Protecting customer data has highest priority

Berne, 20 December 2013




On 18 September 2013 the Neue Zürcher Zeitung NZZ announced that its editorial office was in possession of four data tapes originating from Swisscom data centres. Swisscom immediately filed a criminal complaint against persons unknown. During the investigation, the NZZ refused to reveal its sources and in recent weeks has apparently analysed the data further and also disclosed individual customer names in a further article published on 20 December 2013, even though there is no public interest in the publication of such information. On the contrary, this amounts to a violation of the personal rights of customers. To protect the interests of its customers, Swisscom demands that the NZZ immediately release and destroy those data that are still in its possession and refrain from publishing any further articles; Swisscom is considering legal action against the newspaper.




According to an article published in the NZZ on 18 September 2013, the newspaper’s editorial office was in possession of four data tapes originating from Swisscom data centres. As Swisscom treats the protection of customer data as a matter of the highest priority, it immediately instigated legal proceedings against persons unknown and informed the Federal Data Protection Commissioner. It is still assumed that the act was motivated by criminal intent.

Over the course of the investigation, Swisscom received information about the stolen data tapes and their contents, or at least the data that were not damaged. The tapes contained only data backed up internally by Swisscom between 2008 and 2010. Swisscom was only able to retrieve three of the four stolen data tapes. A fourth tape was allegedly destroyed by whoever passed the others on. This much emerged from the investigations by the public prosecutor. Swisscom can therefore analyse the content of the fourth tape based on the meta data received from the NZZ but can no longer evaluate the individual datasets.




NZZ in breach of privacy rights with its publication

The NZZ is apparently still in possession of a copy of the data and has been evaluating the data further in the last few weeks. Swisscom sees NZZ’s publication as a violation of customers‘ privacy rights. There is no public interest in such publication. In publishing the article over three months after disclosure of the data theft, NZZ must accept that it has violated the privacy rights of Swisscom customers.

To protect its customers‘ interests, Swisscom demands that NZZ immediately hand over and destroy the data that are still in its possession and refrain from publishing names and information on persons that were identified and downloaded from the Swisscom data tapes that came into its possession illegally. To further underline its demands, Swisscom is considering legal action.




Security has been further improved

Swisscom immediately instigated measures aimed preventing a similar incident from recurring. Since 2012, data have been stored only on a variety of hard disks at distributed locations. Due to the fact that the data are distributed, each hard disk contains only individual fragments of data. It would therefore take a great deal of effort to extract any useable information from just one or a small number of hard disks. Additional measures have also been implemented to further increase security. These include installation of a screening system (metal detector and X-ray) in the new data centre in Wankdorf.

Méta navigation

Communiqué de presse


Infos et faits de Swisscom

La protection des données de la clientèle a la priorité absolue

Berne, le 20 decembre 2013




Le 18 septembre 2013 déjà, la Neue Zürcher Zeitung (NZZ) annonçait que sa rédaction était en possession de quatre bandes de données provenant des centres de calcul de Swisscom. Swisscom a immédiatement réagi en déposant une plainte pénale contre X. La NZZ, qui a invoqué la protection des sources lors de l’enquête, a poursuivi l’analyse des données ces dernières semaines puisqu’elle a publié les noms de certains clients dans un nouvel article publié le 20 décembre 2013. Une telle publication ne présente aucun intérêt pour le public. Au contraire, il s’agit d’une violation des droits de la personnalité des clients concernés. Afin de préserver les intérêts de ses clients, Swisscom exige de la NZZ qu’elle lui restitue et détruise immédiatement les données encore en sa possession et qu’elle renonce à toute autre publication. Elle envisage par ailleurs d’intenter une action en justice contre le journal.




Selon un article de la Neue Zürcher Zeitung (NZZ) paru le 18 septembre 2013, la rédaction était en possession de quatre bandes de données provenant de centres de calcul de Swisscom. Swisscom accorde une grande importance à la protection des données de ses clients. Aussi l’entreprise a-t-elle aussitôt déposé une plainte pénale contre X et informé le préposé fédéral à la protection des données. La piste d’un acte criminel est toujours envisagée.

Au cours de la procédure d’enquête, Swisscom est parvenue à recueillir des informations sur les bandes de données dérobées et sur leurs contenus lorsque ceux-ci n’étaient pas endommagés. Ces bandes ne contenaient que des données de sauvegarde de Swisscom datant des années 2008 à 2010. Swisscom n’a recouvré que trois des quatre bandes de données dérobées, la quatrième ayant été prétendument détruite par la source. C’est ce qu’ont indiqué les conclusions du Ministère public. Swisscom peut donc certes procéder à l’analyse des contenus sur la base des métadonnées obtenues de la NZZ, mais elle ne peut plus analyser les différents enregistrements.




En publiant des noms, la NZZ viole les droits de la personnalité des clients

La NZZ dispose visiblement toujours de copies des données dérobées, qu’elle a analysées plus en détail ces dernières semaines. De l’avis de Swisscom, la publication de noms par la NZZ viole les droits de la personnalité des clients et ne présente aucun intérêt pour le public. En publiant cet article trois mois après l’annonce du vol de données, la NZZ accepte de violer les droits de la personnalité des clients de Swisscom.

Pour préserver les intérêts de ses clients, Swisscom exige de la NZZ qu’elle lui restitue et détruise immédiatement les données encore à sa disposition et qu’elle cesse la publication d’informations analysées et de noms identifiés sur les bandes de données parvenues illégalement en sa possession. Elle envisage en outre d’intenter une action en justice contre la NZZ pour donner davantage de poids à ses exigences.




Sécurité encore améliorée

Swisscom a immédiatement pris les mesures nécessaires pour empêcher qu’un cas similaire ne se reproduise. Depuis 2012 déjà, les données sauvegardées dans ses centres de calcul sont toutes réparties sur un grand nombre de disques durs différents. Du fait de cette répartition, un disque dur ne contient que quelques fragments des données stockées. Or il est très difficile de tirer des données utilisables d’un seul disque dur ou de quelques-uns uniquement. D’autres mesures ont également été adoptées pour renforcer davantage encore la sécurité. A titre d’exemple, le nouveau centre de calcul de Wankdorf sera équipé d’un dispositif de contrôle (avec détecteur de métaux et système de rayons X).