Meta navigation

Press release


Swisscom info and facts

Swisscom implements its NATEL infinity Fair Usage Policy with a sense of proportion

Berne, 27 May 2014




Can Swisscom customers really call as much and for as long as they like?

After just two years since its launch, the infinity tarif and the worry-free experience it offers have already convinced more than 1.8 million Swisscom customers. They appreciate the fact that their bill is the same every month and they do not need to worry about how many minutes they are using. If, however, we are led to suspect that a customer’s usage is excessive or abusive, we will contact the customer in question by text message or in person. The vast majority of our customers, though, will never come in contact with this Fair Usage Policy (FUP). Over the course of any given year, we only contact one in a thousand customers




How many minutes can a customer use for phone calls on NATEL infinity?

If a customer uses his or her subscription for personal purposes and for mobile services, there is no defined limit. infinity customers tendto make calls totalling an average of three and a half hours per month. If then, for instance, a customer uses more than 50 or 100 times that in a month, we would consider that unusual. In such a scenario, it may be possible that this customer is using the mobile network for a permanent connection or our services for purposes other than intended, for example to resell them. We will, in such a case, contact the customer and alert him or her to the excessive usage. So far, we have virtually always been able to agree on a solution, such as changing the customer’s subscription to one that is more appropriate to his or her specific needs or offering him or her a landline solution.




Is it only the number of minutes a customer uses that matters?

It is not merelythe number of minutes used that is relevant, but more generally the pattern of use; i.e. whether the mobile network is being used for a permanent, fixed application such as video monitoring or SMS/MMS spamming. That is why we seek to contact the customersin question.


What is the Fair Usage Policy?

The NATEL infinity subscription is intended for normal, personal use. Swisscom reserves the right to cancel or restrict service provision or take other measures at any time,if usage deviates substantially from ordinary levels or there are indications that the SIM card is being used for special purposes (e.g. monitoring applications, machine-to-machine, direct dial-in or permanent connections).



Why does Swisscom have a Fair Usage Policy?

Despite the steady expansion of the mobile network, its capacity is not infinite. Swisscom wants to guarantee every customer network availability. For this to be possible within a shared medium, Swisscom reserves the right to contact customers if it detects or suspects excessive or abusive usage. The motivation behind Swisscom’s actions is primarily one of fairness towards our customers, as it is he only way we can ensure availability and that network quality remains consistently high for all customers.

 

 

How is this being communicated?

Our Fair Usage Policy has been in place since the launch of NATEL infinity and has always been communicated in an open and transparent manner via various channels (www.swisscom.ch/fup). The reason it is little known is because only very few customers are ever directly affected by it.

Méta navigation

Communiqué de presse


Infos et faits de Swisscom

Swisscom applique avec discernement des dispositions visant à garantir une utilisation équitable de NATEL infinity (Fair Usage Policy)

Berne, le 27 mai 2014




Les clients Swisscom sont-ils vraiment libres de téléphoner autant qu’ils le veulent?

Deux ans seulement après son lancement, plus de 1,8 million de clients Swisscom utilisent déjà le tarif infinity et goûtent le confort de cette solution.Ils apprécient le fait que le montant de leur facture soit le même chaque mois et qu’ils n’aient pas besoin de surveiller la durée de chaque conversation téléphonique. Si toutefois nous remarquons qu’un client fait un usage excessif, voire abusif de l’offre, nous prenons contact avec lui par SMS ou personnellement. L’immense majorité de nos clients ne sera cependant jamais concernée par cette Fair Usage Policy (FUP): en un an, nous n’avons contacté qu’un pour mille de nos clients.




Combien de temps un client peut-il téléphoner avec son abonnement NATEL infinity?

Il n’existe pas de limite fixe si le client se sert de son abonnement à des fins privées et pour l’utilisation mobile. Le client infinity téléphone en moyenne trois heures et demie par mois. Si un client téléphone par exemple 50 ou 100 fois plus par mois, c’est inhabituel. Il est alors possible que le client utilise le réseau mobile pour une connexion permanente ou qu’il détourne nos prestations pour les revendre, par exemple. Dans ce cas, nous prenons contact avec lui et lui signalons cette utilisation très supérieure à la moyenne. Jusqu’ici, nous avons presquetoujours trouvé une solution en discutant avec le client –notamment en lui proposant un abonnement plus approprié ou une solution réseau fixe.




Le temps passé à téléphoner par un client est-il le seul critère déterminant?

Le nombre de minutes passées au téléphone n’est pas le seul critère déterminant; nous tenons compte également de l’usage général que fait le client de l’abonnement, c’est-à-dire s’il utilise le réseau mobile pour des applications permanentes stationnaires, comme une vidéosurveillance ou un spamming par SMS/MMS. Voilà pourquoi nous recherchons le dialogue avec les clients concernés.




Que dit la Fair Usage Policy?

L’abonnement NATEL infinity s’applique à un usage personnel normal. Si Swisscom constate que la consommation diverge sensiblement d’une utilisation normale ou s’il y a des signes laissant supposer que la carte SIM est utilisée pour des applications spéciales (p.ex. applications de surveillance, communications entre machines, communications à sélection directe et liaisons permanentes), Swisscom se réserve à tout moment le droit d’interrompre ou de limiter la fourniture des prestations, ou de prendre toute autre mesure adéquate.



Pourquoi une Fair Usage Policy a-t-elle été mise en place?

Malgré l’extension continue du réseau mobile, sa capacité n’est pas illimitée. Swisscom souhaite toutefois garantir la disponibilité du réseau pour tous les clients. Afin que cela soit possible pour un «shared medium», Swisscom se réserve le droit de prendre contact avec le client en cas d’utilisation excessive, voire abusive. C’est principalement dans un esprit d’équité vis-à-vis de ses clients que Swisscom agit ainsi –en effet, c’est pour nous le seul moyen de garantir une qualité de réseau élevée et une disponibilité à tous nos clients.


Où ces informations sont-elles communiquées?

Notre clause de Fair Usage existe depuis le lancement de NATEL infinity et nous l’avons toujours communiquée de façon ouverte et transparente sur les différents canaux (www.swisscom.ch/fup). Si peu de gens la connaissent, c’est parce que les clients concernés sont très rares.