Meta navigation

Press Release


Swisscom info and facts

SBB on board with Low Power Network

Berne, 21 March 2018




SBB has joined forces with Swisscom and Swiss Post for the Internet of Things (IoT). As a cooperation partner in the Low Power Network (LPN), SBB is driving network expansion by bringing additional locations into the network – to the benefit of all network participants. The network already supplies 95 percent of the population.




Door contacts for access monitoring systems, in-room motion sensors and temperature measurements: with Swisscom's nationwide Low Power Network, information can be transmitted inexpensively and independently of the electricity grid. As a new cooperation partner, SBB will bring an additional 150 outdoor locations to the existing network.

 

The cooperation will also bring swift expansion into the 24 largest train stations; indoor coverage that will, in turn, open up new applications for Railcities’ tenants, real estate managers and other stakeholders. For SBB, the expansion of a shared radio network to complement the mobile network was preferable to separate initiatives. The Internet of Things represents an important foundation for the digital, connected future of the rail industry. SBB sees potential in different fields of application; for example, measurements, ordering or monitoring within train stations or on trains.

 

Rapid network expansion through incorporation of Swiss Post locations

The three partners will leverage synergies from the further expansion and operation of the Swisscom-managed IoT infrastructure. They are also working together to expand the IoT and LPN ecosystem – for the benefit of all network users. Swiss Post signed up as the first cooperation partner in 2017. With the additional Post locations, Swisscom was able to expand the network very rapidly and now supplies more than 95 percent of the population. Further cooperation partners are welcome.

 

The three major partners, Swiss Post, Swisscom and SBB, are today jointly investing in the nationwide LPN for Internet of Things applications and developing the ecosystem even further. According to Adrian Bolliger, Head of Mobile Business Services at Swisscom: “The denser the network, the greater the application opportunities for the development of new services. We are delighted to welcome SBB as our second cooperation partner. This will benefit all network participants, no matter whether a start-up, SME or large corporation.” By the end of 2017, 16 million messages were already being transmitted over the LPN every month.

 

The Low Power Network

The Low Power Network is a supplementary network for the Internet of Things. It combines a narrow bandwidth with a high range, and transmits data very energy efficiently, reducing connectivity costs. Depending on the application, battery-powered transmitters can transmit information independently of the electrical network. LPN is based on the open LoRaWAN industry standard. Swisscom has been a member of the LoRa Alliance since January 2015; Swiss Post has been a member since June 2016 (www.lora-alliance.org).

Méta navigation

Communiqué de presse


Infos et faits de Swisscom

Renforcement du Low Power Network par les CFF

Berne, le 21 mars 2018




Les CFF collaborent désormais avec Swisscom et La Poste Suisse dans le domaine de l’«Internet des objets» (IoT). Comme partenaire de coopération du réseau Low Power Network (LPN), les CFF offrent de nouveaux sites permettant l’extension du réseau, ce qui profitera à tous les usagers. Actuellement, le réseau couvre déjà 95% de la population.




Contacts de porte pour les contrôles d’accès, détecteurs de mouvement pour l’occupation des locaux ou mesures de température: le Low Power Network (LPN) à couverture nationale de Swisscom permet de transmettre des informations de façon économique et indépendante du réseau électrique. En tant que nouveau partenaire de coopération, les CFF enrichissent l’infrastructure existante d’au moins 150 sites extérieurs supplémentaires.

 

Cette collaboration permet une extension rapide dans les 24 plus grandes gares avec couverture réseau à l’intérieur, ouvrant ainsi de nouvelles perspectives d’applications pour les locataires, la gestion immobilière et d’autres intervenants dans le périmètre des RailCities. Pour les CFF, la mise en place d’un réseau radio commun, en complément du réseau mobile, s’avère plus judicieux que des initiatives individuelles. L’Internet des objets constitue une base importante pour l’avenir numérique et connecté des chemins de fer suisses. Les CFF voient du potentiel dans divers domaines d’application, pour les mesures, les commandes ou la surveillance dans les gares ou les trains.

 

Densification rapide grâce aux sites de La Poste

Les trois partenaires profitent de synergies grâce à l’extension et l’exploitation de l’infrastructure IoT, qui est assurée par Swisscom. De plus, ils développent ensemble l’écosystème autour de l’IoT et du LPN, ce qui profite à tous les utilisateurs du réseau. La Poste a été le premier partenaire de coopération en 2017. Grâce aux sites supplémentaires de La Poste, Swisscom a pu rapidement densifier le réseau pour couvrir aujourd’hui déjà plus de 95% de la population. De nouveaux partenaires de coopération sont les bienvenus.

 

Avec La Poste, Swisscom et les CFF, ce sont déjà trois partenaires majeurs qui misent sur un LPN à couverture nationale pour les applications de l’Internet des objets et qui poursuivent le développement de l’écosystème. Adrian Bolliger, Head of Mobile Business Services chez Swisscom, rappelle: «Plus le réseau est dense, plus les applications sont nombreuses pour développer de nouveaux services. Nous nous réjouissons beaucoup de ce deuxième partenaire de coopération que sont les CFF. Tous les usagers du réseau – start-up, PME ou grande entreprise – pourront en tirer profit.» Fin 2017, pas moins de 16 millions de messages étaient déjà transmis chaque mois via le réseau LPN.

 

Le Low Power Network

Le Low Power Network est un réseau complémentaire pour l’Internet des objets. Il offre une bande passante réduite mais une grande portée et nécessite très peu d’énergie pour la transmission des données, avec à la clé de faibles coûts de mise en réseau. Selon l’application, les émetteurs à batterie peuvent transmettre des informations durant plusieurs années sans raccordement au réseau électrique. Le réseau LPN est basé sur le standard ouvert LoRaWAN. Swisscom a rejoint la LoRa Alliance en janvier 2015, suivi par La Poste Suisse en juin 2016 (www.lora-alliance.org).