Meta navigation

Press release


Swisscom info and facts

Hoval opts for the Swisscom Cloud

Berne, 15. August 2018




Leading international heating and air conditioning expert Hoval has signed a five-year contract to have its server infrastructure and SAP Basis services operated from the Swisscom Cloud.




This represents a major step into the digital future. Hoval, whose heating systems are found in both the Tower of London and Buckingham Palace, has opted for the Swisscom Enterprise Cloud. The international commercial heating system supplier is to be migrated over to the Swisscom Cloud gradually. The five-year contract includes: Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS), SAP Basis operation and related project services for data centre migration. Through this move, Hoval is taking its first step towards full use of the cloud.




Efficiency and agility are essential in the face of a rapidly evolving sector

The energy sector is undergoing dramatic change. In response to this, Hoval set out on its digital journey some years ago and is gradually evolving from a product manufacturer to a service provider. Hoval was also faced with the decision of whether to modernise its two existing data centres or opt for sourcing and cloud services. As Erich Frick, IT Manager at Hoval says: "Finding a suitable partner for our journey into the cloud was intensive and challenging. Although set on this transformation, Hoval's project requirements were many and complex. Given that we are an international company that has grown over the years, our existing IT infrastructure is highly complex. Interface management, for example, will therefore play a key role. We also have to address various security and data protection requirements. In Swisscom, we have found a strong brand and trusted partner whom we can deal with on an equal footing. We are confident that our journey into the cloud will bring us many market and competitive advantages, enabling us to react to market fluctuations with greater efficiency, agility and flexibility."

 

Swisscom runs the infrastructure on the Enterprise Service Cloud with its advanced architecture for automated service provision and billing. For Hoval, Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) permits an agile alignment of memory capacity and processing power with resource requirements. The SAP Basis services run on the dedicated Swisscom SAP Service Cloud. Besides improved business agility and technical adaptability, it was the flexibility and the mutual trust inspired by long years of cooperation that tipped the scales in favour of Swisscom. The project will run from 1 August 2018 until the first half of 2020 and will be rolled out into the live environment gradually.




Shaping the future in the midst of transformation

In the past, Swisscom has performed many services for Hoval in the mobile, fixed-line and international WAN areas. According to Marcel Walker, Head of Infrastructure Solutions at Swisscom: "We are delighted to have been chosen by a long-standing customer such as Hoval to cover all aspects of their journey into the digital future. Hoval’s confidence in us confirms yet again that we are on the right track with our cloud strategy, which combines a global approach and integration with local personal support."




About Hoval

Hoval is a leading international provider of indoor climate solutions with more than 2,000 employees worldwide. It has been designing and supplying innovative system solutions for more than 70 years. The company exports integrated systems for heating, cooling and ventilation to more than 50 countries and is leading the field in solar-powered water heating and room heating with oil, gas, wood or a heat pump, delivering energy-saving, environmentally-friendly solutions.





Further information

Méta navigation

Communiqué de presse


Infos et faits de Swisscom

Hoval opte pour le Swisscom Cloud

Berne, le 15 août 2018




Dans les cinq prochaines années, le fabricant international de matériel de chauffage et climatisation Hoval utilisera le Swisscom Cloud pour l’infrastructure de serveurs et l’exploitation de SAP Basis.




Un grand pas vers l’avenir numérique: Hoval, qui est notamment chargée de la technique de chauffage de la Tour de Londres et de Buckingham Palace, opte pour le Swisscom Enterprise Cloud. Swisscom va migrer progressivement le prestataire industriel mondial vers le Swisscom Cloud. Le contrat de cinq ans couvre l’Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS), l’exploitation de SAP Basis et les prestations de projet correspondantes pour la migration des centres de calcul. Hoval franchit ainsi un premier pas vers une utilisation totale du cloud.




Les changements sectoriels exigent de l’efficacité et de l’agilité

Le secteur de l’énergie est actuellement en pleine mutation. C’est pourquoi Hoval a engagé sa transformation numérique il y a plusieurs années et passe un peu plus chaque jour d’un fabricant de produits à un prestataire de services. De plus, Hoval était face à une décision, à savoir renouveler elle-même ses deux centres de calcul existants ou s’appuyer sur des services de sourcing et de cloud computing. Erich Frick, responsable IT chez Hoval, déclare: «La recherche d’un partenaire approprié pour entrer dans le monde du cloud a été intense et complexe. Hoval était déterminée à entamer cette transformation, mais ses exigences sur le projet étaient nombreuses et complexes. Dans une entreprise internationale qui s’est développée au fil des ans, l’infrastructure IT existante est très sophistiquée. Par exemple, la gestion de l’interface jouera ici un rôle central. En parallèle, nous nous chargeons des exigences diverses en matière de sécurité et de protection des données. Avec Swisscom, nous avons trouvé une marque forte et un partenaire de confiance qui sait travailler d’égal à égal. Nous sommes convaincus que le passage au cloud nous apportera de nombreux avantages à long terme sur le marché et face à la concurrence: nous serons plus efficaces, plus agiles et plus flexibles pour réagir aux spécificités du marché.»

 

Swisscom exploite l’infrastructure sur l’Enterprise Service Cloud, dont l’architecture de pointe permet de fournir et facturer automatiquement les services. Grâce à l’Infrastructure as a Service, Hoval peut adapter avec agilité l’espace de stockage et la puissance de calcul à ses besoins en ressources. Les services d’exploitation SAP Basis s’exécutent sur le Swisscom SAP Service Cloud dédié. Outre l’amélioration de l’agilité commerciale et l’adaptabilité technologique, la collaboration de longue date d'Hoval avec Swisscom, la flexibilité et la confiance mutuelle ont été des facteurs décisifs. Le projet se déroulera du 1er août 2018 jusqu’au premier semestre 2020 et entrera progressivement en production.




Se transformer et façonner l’avenir

Par le passé, Swisscom a déjà fourni à Hoval de nombreuses prestations autour du mobile, du réseau fixe et du WAN international. Marcel Walker, Head of Infrastructure Solutions chez Swisscom, se confie: «Nous sommes ravis de pouvoir accompagner un client de longue date comme Hoval dans la transformation vers l’avenir numérique. La confiance que nous accorde Hoval confirme une fois de plus que nous sommes sur la bonne voie avec notre stratégie cloud: approches globales et intégration, avec un suivi personnel et local».




A propos de Hoval

Hoval compte parmi les leaders internationaux des solutions de climatisation intérieure et emploie 2000 collaborateurs dans le monde entier: solutions innovantes depuis plus de 70 ans, systèmes complets de chauffage, refroidissement et ventilation exportés dans plus de 50 pays, chauffage de l’eau à l’énergie solaire et chauffage des pièces au mazout, gaz et bois ou avec une pompe à chaleur, économies d’énergie et protection de l’environnement.





Informations complémentaires