Digitisation is no ready meal

How companies can tackle digital transformation

Digitisation is no ready meal

At first glance, digitisation is just another item on the to-do list for many companies. Only when they take a closer do they notice the opportunities it offers them for the future. But even those who are ready for digital transformation are faced with the question: how do we start?

Nicolas Fulpius, CDO, Swisscom Enterprise Customers, August 2016

Digitisation is nothing new. Many everyday applications have been digital for decades. What is new, however, is the speed of digitisation. An increasingly integral part of our everyday lives, digitisation is made possible by numerous high-performance networks and smart devices. People, things and machines are becoming more and more connected.

The reason for digitisation is simple: to make the most of the countless opportunities to use these new technologies within our own value chain:


  • in how we work: anytime, anywhere, thanks to Work Smart
  • in how we redefine business processes: fully digitised without media discontinuity
  • in how we create individual customer experiences: relevant information and everything from a single provider
  • in how we develop brand new business models: service instead of product – in other words, cleanliness instead of a road sweeper, mobility instead of vehicles

But what do companies need to do in order to use digitisation profitably?

Digitisation is no ready meal

Let’s be clear: there is no standard recipe for successful digitisation. The lightning speed of digitisation makes it almost impossible to come up with reliable, one-size-fits-all forecasts. What we know today can be old hat by tomorrow. This uncertainty is becoming part of our everyday lives. But that is no reason to give up. Instead, every company should ask itself how digitisation can be integrated into its own business model in a profitable way.

A good place to start is to examine value chains critically from a digital perspective. Whoever uses digitisation can simplify existing processes and offers, and build new services on top of existing ones. Anyone who thinks digitisation does not concern them is playing into the hands of their competitors, who these days are often from other sectors. A quick start is essential. Although they are no recipe for success, here are three practical steps to get started:

1. Digitisation is part of company strategy

Digitisation involves much more than just IT, affecting companies at every level, from process optimisation to employee skills. It therefore needs to be part of company strategy. Senior managers decide which parts of the business are suitable for digital transformation, what should be digitised and in which order of priority. Management must not cling onto past decisions and strategies, but must have the courage to change, even if it means abandoning a project and starting again. Orderly failure must be possible in order to learn. A dedicated team reports directly to senior management, with all relevant activities and measures orchestrated by the Chief Digital Officer.

2. Speed and iteration are essential

These days, it is simply no longer feasible for companies to keep working on a product behind closed doors until it is perfect. It is much better to implement projects using iterative methods and beta versions, make constant improvements and establish interfaces with new technologies. Fast prototyping is a promising strategy, enabling customer or user feedback to be quickly collated before the costs become too high. Time to market is also much shorter with this approach.

3. Promoting digital skills and transformation

Companies must involve their staff in digital transformation because it concerns everyone, from trainees to board members. It will substantially change employee requirements in the long term. Only companies that educate their staff early on and take them with them through the transformation process will be able to access the full potential of digitisation. The speed of the process and the iterative approach also require a complete rethink of the management system. Strict hierarchies and control systems are becoming a relic of the past, replaced by agile organisations and network leadership.


Anyone who wants to be a successful entrepreneur these days needs to be aware that digitisation affects all sectors. Anyone who wants to gain the greatest benefit for their company needs to start experimenting now, try new things and approach transformation in a holistic way. With the right support from management, an agile, adaptive structure and a “fail fast, fail cheap” approach, the move towards digitisation can be successful.

Nicolas Fulpius, Head of Digital Enterprise Solutions and CDO, Swisscom Enterprise Customers

After several years in private equity and venture capital, Nicolas Fulpius was appointed CEO of Veltigroup, which was bought by Swisscom in 2015. He became Chief Digitalization Officer at Swisscom Enterprise Customers in July 2015 and head of the Digital Enterprise Solutions department in June 2016. Nicolas Fulpius has an MBA from the University of St. Gallen and an MSc in engineering from Stanford University.

This might interest you too

Stay up to date at all times

Make use of Swisscom’s expertise and subscribe to our news, which covers the most important topics linked to digital transformation.


Get your company ready for the digital future

Discover how you can shape customer experiences, optimise processes, redefine business models and try new forms of collaboration.

La numérisation en perpétuelle évolution



Les entreprises et la transition numérique

La numérisation en perpétuelle évolution


De nombreuses entreprises considèrent d’abord la numérisation comme un simple passage obligatoire. Puis elles s’aperçoivent qu’il s’agit en fait d’une aubaine pour leur avenir. Même si elles se sentent prêtes à amorcer la transition, une question demeure: par où commencer?


Nicolas Fulpius, CDO Swisscom Enterprise Customers, août 2016


La numérisation ne date pas d’hier. Cela fait déjà plusieurs décennies que de nombreuses applications du quotidien sont numérisées. Ce qui est nouveau, c’est la vitesse à laquelle ce phénomène se propage dans nos vies, grâce aux nombreux réseaux performants et appareils intelligents. Les êtres humains, les objets et les machines sont de plus en plus interconnectés.

 

L’idée de la numérisation est simple. Il s’agit d’utiliser les nouvelles technologies dans sa propre chaîne de création de valeur à des fins diverses:

 

  • Pour notre mode de travail – sans contrainte géographique ni temporelle grâce à Work Smart.
  • Pour la redéfinition des processus commerciaux – entièrement numérisés et sans discontinuité.
  • Pour l’élaboration d’un vécu client personnalisé – contenu informatif pertinent et tout d’un seul tenant.
  • Pour la création de nouveaux modèles commerciaux – les services remplacent les produits: propreté plutôt que balayeuses, mobilité plutôt que véhicules.

Mais que doivent faire les entreprises pour exploiter la numérisation de façon rentable?


La numérisation en perpétuelle évolution

Autant le dire tout de suite: il n’existe aucune recette standard pour une numérisation réussie. Le phénomène évolue à une telle vitesse qu’il est presque impossible de formuler des pronostics fiables obéissant à une règle générale. Ce que nous savons aujourd’hui sera peut-être dépassé demain. Notre quotidien est donc fait d’incertitudes, mais il ne faut pas se décourager pour autant. Chaque entreprise devrait se demander comment intégrer la numérisation dans son modèle commercial de manière fructueuse.

 

Tout d’abord, il s’agit de remettre en question les chaînes de création de valeur en adoptant une perspective numérique. La numérisation permet de simplifier les processus et les offres, mais aussi de s’appuyer sur les prestations préexistantes pour en créer de nouvelles. Ceux qui ne se sentent pas concernés par la numérisation font le jeu de la concurrence, souvent issue d’autres secteurs. Il faut réagir immédiatement. Même s’il n’existe pas de recette miracle, voici trois points concrets pour commencer:

 


1. La numérisation fait partie de la stratégie d’entreprise

La numérisation ne touche pas uniquement l’informatique, mais se répercute à tous les niveaux de l’entreprise, de l’optimisation des processus aux compétences des collaborateurs. Elle doit donc faire partie intégrante de la stratégie d’entreprise. La direction détermine les domaines propices à une transition numérique et les priorités en la matière. Elle ne doit pas se reposer sur les décisions et stratégies déjà adoptées, mais avoir le courage d’affronter la nouveauté, même si cela signifie interrompre un projet et tout reprendre depuis le début. Un «échec ordonné» doit être possible à des fins d’apprentissage. Une équipe dédiée rend compte directement à la direction, tandis que le CDO organise toutes les activités et les mesures.


2. Les principes essentiels de vitesse et d’itération

Aujourd’hui, une entreprise ne peut tout simplement plus se permettre de peaufiner un produit à huis clos. Mieux vaut réaliser un projet en versions (bêta) itératives, l’améliorer en continu et créer les interfaces avec les nouvelles technologies. Le prototypage rapide est un concept prometteur qui permet d’obtenir rapidement le feedback du client ou de l’utilisateur et, ainsi, d’éviter des frais trop élevés. Il permet aussi de raccourcir fortement le délai de commercialisation.


3. La promotion des compétences et de la transition numériques

Les entreprises doivent intégrer tous leurs collaborateurs dans la transition, car celle-ci concerne aussi bien le stagiaire que les membres du conseil d’administration. Elle modifiera fortement et durablement le profil d’exigence des collaborateurs. Seules les entreprises qui sensibilisent à temps leurs collaborateurs au tournant numérique et les y associent peuvent exploiter tout le potentiel de la numérisation. La vitesse d’évolution et l’approche itérative supposent par ailleurs un changement de paradigme dans le système de gouvernance. Les hiérarchies et systèmes de contrôle stricts appartiennent désormais au passé. Les organisations souples et le leadership en réseau prennent leur essor.

 

Aujourd’hui, un entrepreneur qui veut réussir doit être conscient que la numérisation touche tous les secteurs. Pour tirer le meilleur parti de son entreprise, il faut expérimenter, oser affronter la nouveauté et aborder la numérisation dans son ensemble. Un management efficace, une organisation souple et ouverte à l’apprentissage ainsi qu’une approche «fail fast, fail cheap» sont les garants d’une transition numérique réussie.

Nicolas Fulpius, Responsable Digital Enterprise Solutions et CDO Swisscom Enterprise Customers

Après avoir travaillé plusieurs années dans les domaines Private Equity et Venture Capital, Nicolas Fulpius est devenu CEO chez Veltigroup, qui a été racheté par Swisscom en 2015. Il est CDO chez Swisscom Enterprise Customers depuis juillet 2015 et responsable Digital Enterprise Solutions depuis juin 2016. Détenteur d’un MBA de l’université de Saint-Gall, Nicolas Fulpius a fait un doctorat en ingénierie à l’université Stanford.



Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser

Restez en phase avec l’actualité

Abonnez-vous à nos news sur les principaux sujets liés à la transition numérique pour bénéficier de l’expertise de Swisscom.

 

Préparez votre entreprise à construire l’avenir numérique

Découvrez comment créer un vécu client, optimiser les processus, redéfinir les modèles commerciaux et développer de nouveaux modes de collaboration.

 

Documents à télécharger au sujet de la numérisation

Parcourez des articles, études et livres blancs intéressants pour approfondir vos connaissances sur la transition numérique.