Close more information

Login/account box

  • 🔎

    Global search

    Often searched

Interview with the expert Thomas Gfeller

Interview with the expert «Bringing IT into the cloud is no longer sorcery»

Interview with the expert

«Bringing IT into the cloud is no longer sorcery»

What exactly is needed to bring IT into the cloud and why no company can avoid using cloud services in a digitalised economy is something that Thomas Gfeller, the head of Product Management for Cloud Products at Swisscom, knows all about.


Why should a company rely on the cloud for its IT?

Thomas Gfeller: The most important reason: Expectations of the agility of the company are growing rapidly. Customer expectations are increasing and constantly evolving, and this means the speed at which business is done is increasing as well. New business models are required. This can only be managed by means of digitalisation and automation of business processes. IT is becoming more and more important, and needs to keep pace with business requirements – and this despite the often declining employee headcount. The best, if not an essential, basis for comprehensive digitalisation is flexibility, scalability and the reliability of the cloud.


Isn't bringing IT to the cloud a highly complex matter?

TG: The transition to a cloud-centred IT is no longer a matter of sorcery – providing that the software is suitable for cloud operation, and that IT is already using virtualised infrastructure. There are a multitude of tools that simplify migration. Infrastructure that still uses mainframes and other legacy systems does, however, make things more complicated. In cases like this, a hybrid approach is recommended. Overall, the cloud has grown out of its infancy: Cloud services are now stable to operate, and data security and confidentiality are guaranteed. It works. And certainly does so when you place your trust in the right provider. This is also demonstrated by the fact that renowned companies are now transferring their entire IT into the cloud, and are highly satisfied with the result.


«Cloud services are now stable to operate, and data security and confidentiality are guaranteed.»

Is the changeover also financially worthwhile?

TG: Investments in infrastructure, ongoing operating costs, certification costs, reserving additional capacities for release updates and test environments – the provider takes care of all of this in the cloud. This gives the employees in IT more time to pursue issues relevant to business instead of labouring over infrastructure and operation. And when you do the maths (TCO), the cloud is actually less expensive and involves fewer risks.


Do you see a trend to more migration into the cloud?

TG: Public Cloud Services are gaining in significance, just like the Virtual Private Cloud and Hybrid Cloud. More and more companies are realising that keeping their entire IT on premises just doesn't make sense. According to the Experton Group, the market for Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) in Switzerland is growing by 37 percent every year. At Swisscom, the demand is actually growing at even higher rates.



Which cloud services does Swisscom currently offer?

TG: We offer the most diverse variants, from IaaS to SaaS. IaaS services in the Public Cloud have been available on the market for some time now under the name of Dynamic Computing Services (DCS). The PaaS product Application Cloud was added in the autumn of 2015. They are today's draught horses, which thousands of customers and partners meanwhile rely on. However, we also implement projects in the private IaaS and private PaaS model, for example for SRG and Swiss Re. In the SaaS segment, I’d like to mention the backup and collaboration solutions Storebox, Dynamic CRM and Docsafe.


Which technical structure does the Swisscom cloud have?

TG: When someone decides to hand over their IT, the heart of the company, so to speak, to us, then robustness, stability and reliability are what matters. This is why we place our trust in established, top providers for our infrastructure services, and pursue a best-of-breed approach. When it comes to the Application Cloud, innovation plays a key role, and this is where we rely on diverse open-source solutions, maintain a close partnership with Cloud Foundry, and, last but not least, have access to the source of the latest developments due to our outpost in Silicon Valley. However, the data security and confidentiality are equally important. Our four Swiss data centres put us in a great position in this context: 70 percent of Swiss companies exclusively want “data storage in Switzerland”.


«Public Cloud Services are gaining in significance, just like the Virtual Private Cloud and Hybrid Cloud.»

Swisscom recently announced a “Dynamic Database” for the cloud. What exactly is this?

TG: This is a real innovation on the cloud market. There are hardly any other providers from which you can source Oracle databases from the cloud. Oracle's licence policy makes it difficult to licence Oracle databases on shared platforms inexpensively. Swisscom has signed a special agreement with Oracle allowing dynamic Oracle databases to be deployed on a virtual environment. Dynamic Database functions in a similar way to Dynamic Computing Services: The customer specifies the required volume on the web portal, and receives its database within a short time. The special feature is the shared infrastructure it is based on. It allows us to offer a dynamic and inexpensive service. This also allows customers to employ Dynamic Database for a temporary test installation and they no longer have to make extensive investments in hardware.


Innovations are also being regularly announced for the Application Cloud...

TG: That’s right, because the technology used for this is developing particularly quickly. We have had the monitoring and reporting service ELK on offer for a number of months now. The Application Cloud has also supported Docker containers based on the Diego runtime environment since May. And the in-memory database Redis has only recently become available in an Enterprise version. And we are the first PaaS provider worldwide to offer MongoDB and RabbitMQ Enterprise.

Thomas Gfeller

As Head of Product Management at Swisscom, Thomas Gfeller is responsible for cloud solutions in the corporate business segment. He completed his engineering degree in electrical engineering and complemented this with an MBA in an English-speaking country. He has 15 years of ICT experience in different functions: as a Telecommunications Project Manager, an IT Business Consultant, an IT Sourcing Advisor and a Cloud Services Project Manager. He likes to spend his spare time hiking or travelling with his family.

Latest news

The cloud as an accelerator for your digital transformation: 5 recommendations (PDF)


This might interest you too

Agile IT from the cloud

Cloud-based solutions make your IT more agile and more cost-effective. Flexible cloud-based services help you to tap new, previously unimagined innovation potential.

Swisscom Developer Portal

Learn more about the Application Cloud in the Swisscom Developer Portal: Detailed description of all available services, prices and the latest news from the developer community.

Free introduction for your company to the topic of the cloud

We will present our cloud solutions to you, provide a live demonstration of a data center in action and outline possible applications for your company.

Interview d'expert Thomas Gfeller



Interview d'expert

«Déplacer l'infrastructure IT vers le cloud est devenu facile»


Thomas Gfeller, responsable Swisscom de la gestion de produit pour les offres cloud, connaît les conditions précises du déplacement de l'infrastructure IT vers le cloud et sait pourquoi dans une économie numérisée aucune entreprise ne peut plus se passer des services cloud.

 

Pourquoi une entreprise doit-elle aujourd'hui miser sur le cloud pour son infrastructure IT?

Thomas Gfeller: La raison principale: les exigences à l'égard des entreprises en matière d'agilité augmentent très rapidement. Les attentes des clients grandissent et changent sans arrêt, et le métier évolue de plus en plus vite. De nouveaux modèles commerciaux sont nécessaires. Seule la numérisation et l'automatisation des processus permettent d'y répondre. L'informatique est de plus en plus importante et doit suivre les exigences commerciales malgré des effectifs souvent en baisse. La flexibilité, l'évolutivité et la fiabilité du cloud constituent la base optimale, voire indispensable, d'une numérisation complète.

 

Déplacer l'infrastructure IT vers le cloud n'est-il pas très compliqué?

TG: La transition vers une infrastructure IT basée sur le cloud est devenue facile à condition que les logiciels soient adaptés à une utilisation par cloud et que les bases de l'infrastructure IT soient déjà virtualisées. Il existe de nombreux outils facilitant la migration. Lorsque des mainframes et autres systèmes hérités sont encore utilisés, c'est plus difficile. Dans ces cas-là, une approche hybride est recommandée. Le cloud est globalement arrivé à maturité. Les services sur cloud fonctionnent de manière stable, la sécurité des données et la confidentialité sont garanties. Ça marche. Ou en tout cas, quand on fait confiance au bon fournisseur. Cela est confirmé par le fait que des entreprises de renom ont déjà déplacé la totalité de leur infrastructure IT vers le cloud et en sont très satisfaites.

 

«Les services sur cloud fonctionnent de manière stable, la sécurité des données et la confidentialité sont garanties.»


Le transfert est-il également intéressant financièrement?

TG: Les investissements en infrastructures, les coûts d'exploitation courants, les coûts de certification, la mise à disposition de capacités supplémentaires pour les changements de version et les environnements de test: avec le cloud, tout cela est assumé par le fournisseur. Cela laisse plus de temps aux collaborateurs IT pour s'occuper des aspects commerciaux au lieu de consacrer leur énergie à l'infrastructure et à l'exploitation. Après calcul (TCO), le cloud se révèle être moins cher et moins risqué.

 

Y a-t-il une tendance vers plus d'externalisations vers le cloud?

TG: Les Public Cloud Services gagnent en importance, de même que le Virtual Private Cloud et l'Hybrid Cloud. De plus en plus d'entreprises réalisent que garder toute l'infrastructure IT en interne n'a pas de sens. Selon l'Experton Group, le marché Infastructure-as-a-Service (Iaas) croît de 37% par an en Suisse. Chez Swisscom, la demande augmente encore beaucoup plus rapidement.

 

Quels sont les services cloud actuellement proposés par Swisscom?

TG: Nous proposons un grand nombre de variantes différentes allant du IaaS au SaaS. Les services IaaS du Public Cloud sont sur le marché depuis longtemps sous l'appellation «Dynamic Computing Services» (DCS). L'offre PaaS «Application Cloud» s'y est ajoutée à l'automne 2015. Ce sont nos principaux services, qui comptent aujourd'hui près de mille clients et partenaires. Nous réalisons également des projets sur des modèles Private IaaS et Private PaaS, par exemple pour SRG et Swiss Re. Dans le secteur du SaaS, je dois évoquer notre solution de sauvegarde et de collaboration Storebox, Dynamics CRM et Docsafe.

 

 

Quelle est la structure technique du Swisscom Cloud?

TG: Lorsque quelqu'un décide de nous transférer l'insfrastructure IT, c'est-à-dire le cœur de son entreprise, les facteurs essentiels sont la robustesse, la stabilité et la fiabilité. Nous choisissons donc pour nos services d'infrastructure des fournisseurs solidement établis et pratiquons une approche «Best of Breed». Pour l'Application Cloud, l'innovation est essentielle. Nous misons pour cela sur diverses solutions open source, avons un partenariat étroit avec Cloud Foundry et sommes présents à la source des derniers développements grâce à notre implantation dans la Silicon Valley. La sécurité et la confidentialité des données sont tout aussi importantes. Dans ce domaine, nous pouvons mettre en avant nos quatre centres de calcul en Suisse. 70% des entreprises suisses souhaitent que leurs données soient exclusivement conservées en Suisse.

 

Swisscom a récemment annoncé «Dynamic Database» pour le cloud. De quoi s'agit-il?

TG: C'est une véritable nouveauté sur le marché du cloud. Il n'existe quasiment aucun fournisseur permettant l'accès aux bases de données Oracle sur le cloud. La politique Oracle en matière de licence rend difficile de donner en licence les bases de données Oracle sur des plateformes Shared à coût raisonnable. Swisscom a conclu un accord spécial avec Oracle lui permettant de mettre à disposition des bases de données Oracle dans environnement virtuel de manière dynamique. Dynamic Database fonctionne de manière similaire aux Dynamic Computing Services: Le client indique la taille de son choix sur le portail web et reçoit rapidement sa base de données. La particularité est l'infrastructure Shared. Elle nous permet d'offrir ce service de manière dynamique et économique. Les clients peuvent ainsi utiliser Dynamic Database pour une installation de test provisoire sans devoir réaliser des investissements matériels importants.

 

«Les Public Cloud Services gagnent en importance, de même que le Virtual Private Cloud et l'Hybrid Cloud.»


Des nouveautés sont également annoncées continuellement pour Application Cloud...

TG: C'est exact car c'est un domaine où la technique évolue particulièrement vite. Depuis quelques mois, nous proposons le service de monitoring et de reporting ELK. Depuis mai, l'Application Cloud supporte également les conteneurs Docker sur la base de l'environnement runtime Diego. Dernière nouveauté: la base de données In-Memory Redis est désormais disponible dans sa variante Entreprise. Et nous sommes le premier fournisseur PaaS au monde à proposer MongoDB- et RabbitMQ Enterprise.


Thomas Gfeller

En tant que Head of Product Management de Swisscom, Thomas Gfeller est responsable des solutions cloud pour le segment de la clientèle commerciale. Il est titulaire d’un diplôme d’ingénieur en électrotechnique ainsi que d’un MBA anglophone acquis à l’étranger. Il dispose de 15 années d’expérience dans le secteur des TIC, dans lequel il a exercé les fonctions les plus variées: comme chef de projet télécommunications, IT Business Consultant, IT Sourcing Advisor et Manager Produit Cloud Services. Pendant ses loisirs, il part de préférence en randonnée ou en voyage avec sa famille.

Actualité

Le cloud comme accélérateur de votre transformation numérique: 5 recommandations (PDF)

Télécharger



Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser

Informatique agile depuis le Cloud

Les solutions basées sur le Cloud rendent votre informatique plus efficace et plus agile. Les prestations flexibles du Cloud vous ouvrent de nouvelles perspectives d’innovation insoupçonnées.

Swisscom Developer Portal

Swisscom Developer Portal En savoir plus sur l'Application Cloud sur le Swisscom Developer Portal: descriptions détaillées de l'ensemble des services disponibles, les prix et les dernières nouveautés de la communauté de développeurs.

Une introduction gratuite au thème du cloud pour votre entreprise

Nous vous présenterons nos solutions dans le cloud, nous ferons une démonstration en direct de l'utilisation d'un Data Center et nous vous présenterons les possibilités d'application pour votre entreprise.