Close more information

Login/account box

  • 🔎

    Global search

    Often searched

Success story Triemli Hospital

Success story Triemli Hospital

Success story

Comfort and safety for patients

Since March 2016, patients at the Triemli Hospital have been benefiting from Switzerland’s most advanced entertainment and information system. The new Patient Universal Terminal is based on a solution from Unify and was implemented with the support of Swisscom.


In March 2016, Zurich’s Triemli Hospital opened the most modern inpatient facility in Switzerland after seven years of construction: Rooms accommodating just two patients also for generally insured patients, friendly interior design with natural materials – and on each bed a multimedia terminal with an 18-inch touchscreen. “The existing telephone and television terminals from the old inpatient facility would need to be replaced anyway,” says Patrik Kaiser, Deputy Hospital Director and Head of IT at the Triemli Hospital. “We used the relocation to the new inpatient facility to launch a completely new solution.”


More than telephone and TV

The Triemli Hospital did not want to settle for mere replacement of old hardware. Together with physicians and nursing professionals, the team led by Patrik Kaiser pondered exactly what a hospital should offer a patient today in addition to medical and nursing care.

Entertainment offerings – TV, Internet access, and bedside phone calls – are of course still in demand, with a mounted screen and a proper telephone handset. This is especially important for elderly patients, says Kaiser, emphasising that a solution with a tablet and headset therefore did not come into question.

The Triemli Hospital goes a step further with the new PUT (Patient Universal Terminal): In addition to the television programme with 98 channels, the patients can enjoy more than 130 feature films as video-on-demand – the selection is constantly being expanded.

Another objective was to optimize the processes. In the conventional hospital, there is only the patient call button for all concerns. The nursing service does not know if the patient needs medical assistance or just wants to order a coffee. To avoid unnecessary trips, the new PUT offers a kiosk system that allows patients to order drinks directly from the hotel floor service, giving them more independence.

A pioneering achievement is the integration of the hospital information system: During a visit, the doctor can identify themselves at the terminal with a smart card and clearly explain to the patient the status of his or her treatment with X-ray images, lab results and other findings. The patient themselves is also registered with his or her card. This ensures that only one’s own record and not information of another patient can be seen.

The patient can view his or her record in detail only when their doctor is present. As to the general course of treatment – today a CT, tomorrow the operation, before that the conversation about anaesthesia – the patient may see additional information at any time on an intranet application. This reduces the number of questions asked of the nursing staff and gives the patient the feeling of being constantly informed.


“Thanks to the intensive cooperation, we were able to provide the most innovative hospital solution.”

Marcel Senn, Swisscom Project Manager

Complex project with many stakeholders

With these clear ideas in mind, Triemli Hospital sought the optimal solution in 2014. “The most important question was not what device to use. The decisive factor was the willingness of suppliers to contribute and help us in the integration of our systems,” Patrik Kaiser says. The contract was awarded to Swisscom with a solution from Unify based on the “HiMed Cockpit 18” from Siemens. The decision was made in October 2014. A year later a pilot installation with TV and telephony went into operation in the Maternity Ward of Triemli Hospital, and by February 2016 the majority of the remaining features had been added. With the relocation to the new inpatient facility, the new PUT was ready with extended features.

The project offered certain challenges. The integration with the telephone exchange and the billing system involved a great deal of development and configuration expenses. The link between the terminal and the hospital information system Medfolio required close collaboration between the hardware and software manufacturers. The good cooperation was also praised by Swisscom Project Manager Marcel Senn: “Through the intensive, solution-oriented cooperation between Triemli Hospital, Unify, aibIT and Swisscom, we were able to provide the most innovative solution for patients, caregivers and doctors.”

“Security was a complex task,” Patrik Kaiser adds. On the one hand, PUT is a PC with a direct connection to the Internet. On the other hand, it also accesses medical data that must be positioned and backed up in different network zones depending on the situation. It is operated by the patient and not by the staff – an additional security risk factor. The security demands required that manufacturers adapt their solutions accordingly.

Since the Triemli Hospital treats many elderly patients, particular attention was paid to ease of operation. With the help of a specialised company, the terminal and all applications were closely examined with elderly test persons and identified problem areas were eliminated before going live.


“Security was a complex task”

Patrik Kaiser, Head of IT, Triemli Hospital

Positive feedback

Patients are excited about the new PUT. On the survey questionnaire, 62 percent stated that the terminal had absolutely or somewhat increased comfort and convenience. Three quarters thought that the PUT is easy to operate. For 41% the availability of a PUT would play a role in the next choice of hospital. And the nursing service notes that the patients are more satisfied than before with the larger screen and the extensive TV selection. The doctors find bedside access to the patient record is a good tool.

“It is Switzerland’s first patient terminal to offer such comprehensive features,” says Patrick Kaiser. “We worked together closely with the doctors and nursing service from the outset – otherwise, we would not have been able to implement the project in the way we did. It is working today not just due to the IT.” And Marcel Senn gives a positive assessment: “A certain pride to have worked on this exciting project resonates in the entire team that helped with the implementation.”

But resting on its laurels is not an option for the Triemli Hospital. The solution is to be further developed on an ongoing basis. The response times when bringing up patient records could be even shorter. The integration of the appointment system is also on the roadmap, which would allow patients to look up their appointments, such as for X-ray or physiotherapy, directly on the screen.

Triemli provides care for 400,000 people

The Triemli Hospital is one of the largest and most modern hospitals in Switzerland, operating with 470 beds, 29 clinics, institutes and departments, 408 doctors and 753 nurses. As a central hospital of national importance, it provides state-of-the-art primary and emergency care for around 400,000 people. The recently opened new inpatient facility offers patient comfort – and breathtaking views of the city of Zurich and the nearby Üetliberg mountain.

Digital health for a healthy Switzerland

Thanks to innovative ICT-based solutions from Swisscom, doctors, hospitals and insurance companies can save valuable time and money. Patients gain an insight into their data and profit from efficient collaboration between their service providers.

Go to the solutions

Méta navigation

Success story hôpital Triemli



Success story

Confort et sécurité pour les patients


À l’hôpital de Triemli, les patients profitent depuis mars 2016 du système d’Entertainment et d’information le plus moderne dans toute la Suisse. Le nouveau terminal universel du patient est basé sur une solution d’Unify et a été implémenté avec le soutien de Swisscom.

 

En mars 2016, l’hôpital Triemli de la ville de Zurich a inauguré après sept ans de travaux de construction le pavillon le plus moderne de Suisse: des chambres à deux lits, y compris pour les patients ayant une couverture d’assurance de base, une organisation agréable de l’espace avec des matériaux naturels, et près de chaque lit un terminal multimédia avec un écran tactile 18 pouces. «Les terminaux téléphoniques et TV existants de l’ancien pavillon auraient de toute façon dû être remplacés», constate Patrik Kaiser, directeur adjoint et responsable du département Informatique de l’hôpital Triemli. «Nous avons profité du déménagement vers le nouveau pavillon pour lancer une solution inédite.»

 

Plus que le téléphone et la télévision

L’hôpital Triemli n’a pas voulu se contenter du simple remplacement des anciens matériels. L’équipe autour de Patrik Kaiser a réfléchi avec précision avec les médecins et les personnels soignants à ce qu’un hôpital devrait offrir aujourd’hui à un patient en complément du suivi médical et des soins.

L’offre d’Entertainment – télévision, accès Internet et téléphonie au chevet du patient – continue bien entendu à être demandée. Et ce avec un écran monté et un véritable écouteur téléphonique. Ceci est particulièrement important pour les patients âgés, indique Kaiser, qui souligne qu’une solution avec une tablette et un casque n’est pas envisageable pour cette raison.

L’hôpital Triemli va encore plus loin avec le nouveau TUP (Terminal Universel du Patient): outre le programme télévisé diffusant 98 chaînes, les patients peuvent réserver plus de 130 films en vidéo à la demande – avec une offre qui ne cesse de se développer.

L’optimisation des procédures constitue un autre objectif. Dans les hôpitaux classiques, les patients ne disposent que d’un seul appel pour toutes leurs demandes. Les personnels soignants ignorent alors si le patient a besoin d’une aide médicale ou s’il veut juste commander un café. Afin d’éviter les allées et venues inutiles, le nouveau TUP propose un système de kiosque permettant au patient de commander directement des boissons au service d’étage d’hôtellerie et d’être ainsi plus autonome.

L’intégration du système d’information de la clinique est pionnière: lors d’une visite, le médecin peut s’identifier par smartcard sur le terminal et expliquer au patient l’état de son traitement à l’aide des radiographies, des valeurs du laboratoire et d’autres résultats. Le patient lui-même est connecté avec sa propre carte. De cette manière, le patient peut toujours consulter son propre dossier au lieu des informations d’un autre patient.

Le patient ne consulte son dossier en détail que si son médecin est également présent. Concernant le déroulement général du traitement – aujourd’hui un CT, demain l’opération, auparavant la consultation d’anesthésie – le patient peut consulter à sa guise les informations supplémentaires via une application Intranet. Ceci évite de poser de nouvelles questions au personnel soignant et donne au patient le sentiment de rester informé en permanence.

 

 

«Le partenariat intense nous a permis de mettre en place la solution hospitalière la plus innovante.»

Marcel Senn, responsable de projet Swisscom


Des projets complexes avec de nombreux intervenants

L’hôpital Triemli a recherché en 2014 la solution optimale avec ces attentes claires. «La principale question n’était pas quel appareil devait être utilisé. Le facteur décisif concernait la capacité du fournisseur à s’impliquer et à nous soutenir dans l’intégration à nos systèmes», explique Patrick Kaiser. Swisscom a remporté le marché avec une solution d’Unify basée sur le «HiMed Cockpit 18» de Siemens. La décision a été prise en octobre 2014. L’année suivante, la maternité de l’hôpital Triemli a mis en service sa première installation pilote avec TV et téléphonie. Les autres fonctions ont été finalisées pour la plupart jusqu’en février 2016. Lors du transfert vers le nouveau pavillon, le nouveau TUP a été préparé avec des fonctions étendues.

Le projet présentait un certain nombre de défis. L’intégration avec la centrale téléphonique et le système de facturation a nécessité un certain nombre d’efforts de développement et de configuration. La liaison entre le terminal et le système d’information Medfolio de la clinique a imposé une collaboration étroite entre le fabricant du matériel et l’éditeur du logiciel. Le gestionnaire de projet Swisscom, Marcel Senn, se félicite également de la bonne coopération: «La collaboration intense et orientée solution entre l’hôpital municipal de Triemli, Unify, aibIT et Swisscom nous a permis de proposer la solution hospitalière la plus innovante pour les patients, le personnel soignant et les médecins.»

«La sécurité était une tâche complexe», ajoute Patrik Kaiser. Le TUP est d'une part un PC directement connecté à Internet. Il accède, d'autre part, à des données médicales, ce qui implique un positionnement et une sécurisation dans différentes zones réseau en fonction de la situation. Par ailleurs, le fait qu’il ne soit pas manipulé par les patients ni par le personnel constitue un facteur d’incertitude supplémentaire. Les contraintes de sécurité ont imposé notamment aux fabricants d’adapter leurs solutions.

Comme l’hôpital Triemli traite de nombreux patients âgés, la question de l’utilisation était très importante. Une entreprise spécialisée a été sollicitée pour tester de manière approfondie le terminal et toutes les applications sur des personnes âgées avant le «Going Live» effectif.

 

«La sécurité était une tâche complexe»

Patrik Kaiser, responsable Informatique, hôpital Triemli



Des retours positifs

Les patients sont enthousiasmés par le nouveau TUP. 62 pour cent d’entre eux ont indiqué, sur le formulaire qu’ils étaient invités à compléter, que le terminal avait amélioré de manière absolue ou en particulier leur confort. Les trois quart d’entre eux ont jugé que le TUP était simple à utiliser. 41% ont déclaré que la disponibilité d’un TUP serait un critère de choix de leur prochain hôpital. Les personnels soignants constatent par ailleurs que les patients sont plus satisfaits qu’ils ne l’étaient avant de l’écran plus grand et de l’offre TV plus riche. Les médecins considèrent que l’accès au dossier des patients alités constitue un bon instrument.

«C’est, dans toute la Suisse, le premier terminal de patient, proposant de telles solutions complètes», explique Patrik Kaiser. «Nous avons dès le début mis en place un partenariat étroit avec les médecins et le personnel soignant – une exigence indispensable pour faire avancer le projet. La bonne marche actuelle du dispositif n’est pas uniquement une question d’informatique.» Marcel Senn tire de ce projet un bilan réjouissant: «Toute l’équipe qui a aidé à la mise en œuvre est particulièrement fière d’avoir participé à ce projet intéressant.»

L’hôpital Triemli n’a toutefois pas l’intention de se reposer sur ses lauriers. Le développement de la solution doit se poursuivre. Les délais de réponse lors de la consultation des dossiers de patients pourraient être réduits encore plus. La roadmap prévoit par ailleurs l’intégration du système de rendez-vous afin de permettre aux patients de prendre connaissance directement sur l’écran de leurs rendez-vous, comme en radiologie ou en physiothérapie.


Triemli est responsable de 400 000 personnes

L’hôpital municipal de Triemli est l’un des plus grands et des plus modernes de Suisse. Avec ses 470 lits, ses 29 cliniques, instituts et départements, ses 408 médecins et son équipe de 753 personnels soignants, il constitue un hôpital central à rayonnement inter-régional et assure des prestations de base et d’urgence de très haut niveau médical pour près de 400 000 personnes. Le pavillon qui a été inauguré récemment offre aux patients un confort maximum – et un panorama époustouflant sur la ville de Zurich ou les proches environs.

Avec le Digital Health pour une Suisse en bonne santé

Les solutions novatrices de Swisscom basées sur la TIC font gagner du temps et de l’argent aux médecins, aux hôpitaux et aux assureurs. Les patients disposent d’un aperçu complet de leurs données et bénéficient de la collaboration efficace de leurs fournisseurs de prestations.

Accéder aux offres