Close more information

Login/account box

  • 🔎

    Global search

    Often searched



Success Story of Freiburger Kantonalbank

«In the first year we already achieved savings in excess of 8 percent.»

Christian Meixenberger,
director and head of the Service Center Division, Freiburger Kantonalbank

Intelligent workplaces, Variable unit prices, higher degree of flexibility

The Cantonal Bank of Fribourg (BCF) has outsourced its entire workplace management to Swisscom. It did so to lower the total cost of ownership (TCO) and be able to adapt more quickly to changing information technology requirements.

Initial situation

To any bank today, highperformance information technology is essential. But IT not only has to work, it also has to do so at an acceptable cost. As Christian Meixenberger, director and head of the Service Center Division at BCF, puts it: “The share of our expenditure for IT was 30% of total expenditures. The goal was to lower that to around 20%.” In July 2002 the bank decided to concentrate entirely on its core competencies and to outsource the decentralised IT areas to an external service provider.


Swisscom emerged from the ensuing evaluation as the clear winner. François Briguet, authorised signatory and Project Manager at BCF: “Swisscom responded to our requests from the very beginning.

For example, we had suggested defining a detailed catalogue of requirements per workplace; which enabled us to limit the frequency of our hardware updates, rather than systematically replacing all equipment every set of months. In addition, we had already worked for a long time with Swisscom and had had positive experiences. Most important, was that we felt understood and were able to develop and implement a new cost model together. This permits us to define a variable unit price for the workplaces.”

Transparent approach, transparent communication

Complete outsourcing of workplace management is not very common yet in the banking sector. Consequently, parts of the plan were called into question. Christian Meixenberger: “Because we expected criticism, we consistently integrated all affected parties into the process. For instance, by clearly communicating at all times the progress that the project was making and coordinating and agreeing on things with Swisscom on a regular basis.”

The division of tasks within the project also proved successful. BCF merely gave Swisscom the objectives; how those objectives were to be achieved was left up to the specialists. François Briguet: “We had defined, for example, that a printer with a print capacity of 4 pages per minute had to be within 20 meters of every employee. Instead of the 300 printers we previously had, there are now only 200, and a total of 15 models was reduced to three. That makes handling simpler, which is advantageous for both parties.”

The original plans called for a calculation based on services rendered. In the end, however, the decision was made to calculate a fixed price per year and workplace. François Briguet: “We calculated on the basis of five different computer workplaces; each one of these workplaces was assigned a hardware composition, a service level agreement and various software packages. Today the price per workplace is fixed, and the service as well: We are profiting from IT on demand.”

Future included, at a fixed price

The objection that the price of hardware is always falling and that the client pays too much for the selected outsourcing model is not justified. While it is true that hardware performance doubles every couple of months, prices more or less remain constant.

In addition, it was agreed that necessary upgrades would be included: For instance, the bank will soon be migrating to a new operating system; any resulting hardware changes are also covered by the annual fee. Christian Meixenberger: “Thanks to complete outsourcing we were not only relieved of unpleasant secondary tasks, but also of unnecessary costs. We plan to lower financial outlay for workplace management on the whole to 17.5%. In the first year we already achieved savings in excess of 8%. Today we no longer see Swisscom simply as a supplier but also as a strategic partner.”

Main Points in Brief

Full Outsourcing

The BCF has outsourced all of its workplace management services to Swisscom:

  • Client/server management
  • Network services
  • Software management
  • Office print services)
  • Problem Management System (PMS)
  • Order Management System (OMS
  • Hardware services

One model, many advantages

The BCF benefits from the applied complete outsourcing model in various ways:

  • Lower and clearly calculable total soct of ownership
  • Significantly improved performance thanks to components that are optimally tuned to one another (for instance, a new 100 MBit LAN)
  • Relief from having to perform secondary tasks and therefore more scope for concentrating on the core business
  • Assurance that with Swisscom, a futureoriented partner has been found for workplace management

These products are used by the Cantonal Bank of Fribourg

Connected Workplace Service

Holistic management solution for virtual workplaces including administration of business applications. Central data storage in the Swisscom data centre.

Managed Print Service (MPS)

Managed Print Service for optimum, economical operation of your entire printer and scanner infrastructure. With Switzerland-wide First Level Support and IMACD services.

Rich Workplace

Holistic management solution for client workplaces, including software distribution, software packaging, asset management and best-practice security.

IT Business Continuity

IT Business Continuity for protection in the event of IT downtime, by means of risk evaluation, prompt data recovery.

Dynamic Workplace Framework

Agile framework for your workplace environment at a fixed monthly price. Available for Rich Workplace and Connected Workplace platforms. Find out about Dynamic Workplace Framework now.

Would you like something similar? Contact us.

Your contact:

0800 800 900

BCF


Réussite chez BCF


«Dès la première année, nous sommes parvenus à réaliser des économies de plus de 8%.»

Christian Meixenberger,
directeur et responsable de la division Centre de service, BCF




Postes de travail intelligents, prix unitaires variables, flexibilité accrue


La Banque cantonale de Fribourg (BCF) a confié la gestion de tous ses postes de travail à Swisscom afin de faire baisser le Total Cost of Ownership (TCO) et de pouvoir réagir plus rapidement à l’évolution des exigences informatiques.



Situation initiale

Les banques sont tributaires d’une informatique performante. Mais cette dernière ne doit pas se contenter de bien fonctionner, elle doit également occasionner des coûts acceptables. Christian Meixenberger, directeur et responsable de la division Centre de service à la Banque cantonale de Fribourg: «La part dévolue à nos dépenses informatiques se montait à 30%. L’objectif consistait à faire baisser cette valeur d’un tiers.» En juillet 2002, la banque a ainsi décidé de se concentrer entièrement sur ses compétencesclés et de confier les secteurs informatiques décentralisés à un partenaire.



Evaluation

A l’issue d’une évaluation intensive, Swisscom a décroché le mandat. François Briguet, fondé de pouvoir et responsable de projet au sein de la Banque cantonale de Fribourg: «Dès le début, Swisscom s’est montrée prête à prendre en considération nos souhaits. Ainsi, nous avions par exemple suggéré de définir un catalogue d’exigences détaillé par poste de travail, afin d’éviter de devoir opter partout et systématiquement pour de nouveaux appareils. Parailleurs, nous collaborions depuis longtemps déjà avec Swisscom et avions déjà fait de bonnes expériences. Mais, avant tout, nous avions le sentiment d’être compris et étions convaincus de pouvoir, ensemble, développer un nouveau modèle de coûts nous permettant de définir un prix unitaire variable par poste de travail.»



Procédure et communication transparentes

L’externalisation complète de la gestion des postes de travail n’est pas encore monnaie courante dans le milieu bancaire. Ce projet a donc été partiellement remis en question. Christian Meixenberger: «Nous savions que nous nous exposerions à la critique, c’est pourquoi nous avons impliqué dans le processus toutes les parties concernées. Par exemple en communiquant en tout temps clairement l’évolution du projet et en accordant régulièrement nos violons avec Swisscom.»

La répartition des tâches au sein du projet a elle aussi fait ses preuves. La BCF s’est contentée d’indiquer ses objectifs à Swisscom, laissant le soin de leur réalisation aux spécialistes. François Briguet: «Nous avions par exemple précisé que chaque collaborateur devrait disposer d’une imprimante d’une capacité de 4 pages par minute dans un rayon de 20 mètres. Nous sommes ainsi passés de 300 à 200 imprimantes et de quinze à trois modèles. La gestion s’en trouve grandement simplifiée, un avantage pour les deux parties.»

Lors de la conception du projet, il était prévu d’effectuer un décompte par service fourni, mais finalement il a été décidé de calculer un prix fixe par année et par poste de travail. François Briguet: «Nous avons basé notre calcul sur cinq postes informatiques différents, après avoir attribué à chacun d’entre eux une composition matérielle, un Service Level Agreement et divers logiciels. Aujourd’hui, le prix par poste de travail est fixe, tout comme le service: nous profitons de la prestation .»



Un prix fixe à l’avenir aussi

Il est faux de prétendre que le matériel est de plus en plus avantageux et que, le cas échéant, le client paie trop cher le modèle d’externalisation choisi. Les performances du matériel doublent certes tous les deux mois, mais les prix restent à peu près identiques.

En l’occurrence, il a été convenu d’inclure les renouvellements nécessaires. Ainsi, le prochain passage de la BCF à un nouveau système d’exploitation est-il déjà compris dans le montant annuel. Christian Meixenberger: «L’externalisation complète (full outsourcing) ne nous a pas seulement déchargés de tâches annexes fastidieuses, mais nous a également évité – comme prévu – des coûts inutiles. Il est prévu de faire baisser les implications financières pour la gestion des postes de travail de 17,5% au total. Dès la première année, nous sommes parvenus à réaliser des économies de plus de 8%. De fournisseur, Swisscom est devenu pour nous un partenaire stratégique.»





L'essentiel en bref

Full Outsourcing

La Banque cantonale de Fribourg a confié à Swisscom tous les services en relation avec la gestion des postes de travail:

  • Gestion client/serveur
  • Network Services
  • Software Management
  • Office Print Services
  • Order Management System (OMS)
  • Hardware Services

Un seul modèle, de nombreux avantages

La BCF profite à plusieurs titres du modèle d’externalisation complet appliqué:

  • Total Cost of Ownership réduit et clairement calculable
  • Nette amélioration de la perfor-mance grâce à des composants parfaitement harmonisés (par exemple avec un nouveau LAN de 100 Mbit/s)
  • Allègement de tâches annexes et dès lors, augmentation de la marge de manœuvre dévolue à l’activité principale
  • Certitude d’avoir trouvé en Swisscom un parte-naire tourné vers l’avenir pour la gestion des postes de travail




Ces produits sont utilisés par la Banque cantonale de Fribourg


Connected Workplace Service

Solution globale de gestion des postes de travail virtuels et des applications métier. Les données sont stockées de manière centralisée dans le centre de calcul de Swisscom.


Rich Workplace

Solution globale de gestion des postes de travail clients, avec déploiement des logiciels, packaging des logiciels, gestion des ressources et sécurité respectant les bonnes pratiques.


Managed Print Service (MPS)

Managed Print Service vous garantit l'exploitation optimale de votre infrastructure d'imprimantes et de scanners. Avec assistance dans toute la Suisse et services IMACD.


IT Business Continuity

IT Business Continuity pour une protection contre les pannes informatiques, au moyen d'évaluation des risques, restauration rapide des données.


Dynamic Workplace Framework

Infrastructure agile pour vos postes de travail à un prix mensuel fixe. Disponible pour les plates-formes Rich Workplace et Connected Workplace. Informez-vous dès maintenant sur Dynamic Workplace Framework.




Vous souhaitez vous aussi en bénéficier? Alors n’hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Conseil

Téléphone

0800 800 900

Nous répondons à votre appel de 7h30 à 17h30.