Core banking platform from Leveris

Core Banking Radar

Leveris: Banking support is central to the digital ecosystem


The Irish manufacturer Leveris has built a new core banking platform from scratch. This platform, which is presented here by the Core Banking Radar of Swisscom and the Business Engineering Institute St. Gallen (BEI), puts banks at the core of digital ecosystems, thus paving the way for new, data-based business models.


Text: Matthias Niklowitz, Images: Zense, 23 august 2018




For many less affluent customers, the account management fees are one of the most important arguments speaking for or against a banking relationship: In these times of low interest rates, customers are feeling the impact of these fees, and consumer protection organisations and broadcasts also regularly focus on this topic. From the bank's perspective, the income generated by the account management fees must cover the costs of customer acquisition and customer retention. Quite often, these fees can also replace the income lost on interest operations.

But the latest developments are blowing up this connection, paving the way for a new solution to the problem of high fees chasing customers away: The targeted (and hopefully discreet) use of customer data as a source of revenue.

This does not refer to the kind of data usage exercised by Google and Facebook, but rather to the management of customer data within a bank and customers' explicit participation in the usage of their data, which is handled in compliance with the most recent European regulations and data privacy obligations.


Banking for end customers

It is becoming clear that the introduction of systems such as the Leveris solution will allow bank customers to choose whether they wish to be compensated for the usage of their data with a lower account management fee. If the databases are exploited in full, it might even be possible for bank customers to earn (small) amounts in the form of additional interest or digital vouchers for selected offers.

That Swiss banks are not yet actively focusing on the usage of their data in order to create a new business model is not necessarily due to a lack of motivation or understanding of the opportunities on the part of their top management teams. Rather, they often do not have the IT systems they would need for such a step. Open API approaches can solve some of the immediate technological challenges of linking powerful data processing and analytics systems to a bank's core banking system, ensuring the basic technical viability of the kind of data usage described above against suitable compensation for the customers. But there are still fundamental hurdles when using common core banking systems, such as time- and resource-consuming release cycles, taxing innovation projects, expensive upgrades and scalability restrictions.


Challenges for manufacturers

The selected strategic challenges facing manufacturers of core banking systems in further developing their own systems to meet the needs of their customers' future business models include the following:

 

  1. Keeping the total cost of ownership (TCO) down: Implementation of an end-to-end standard solution that can be applied for all customer banks while still allowing for individualisation where the customer bank requires differentiation. Achievement of a high STP (straight through processing) rate and avoidance of manual intervention, through automation whenever possible.
  2. Modernisation: Binding strategy and manageable road map for refreshing the current system landscape. This means, among others, selecting the right modular structure and entering into partnerships, as adjustments to the current system prevent consistent restructuring and lead to growing complexity (complexity trap).
  3. Market positioning: Consideration of end customers with new concepts such as customer journeys (understanding of and support for customer requirements and activities) and the focused expansion of added-value services with selected partners so that the own system support does not degenerate into an exchangeable service (lock-in by creating an ecosystem).

Back to the gearshifts

Leveris, a provider of core banking systems from Ireland, has its own approach to finding solutions for these challenges.

Keeping TCO down: For example, Leveris reduces the operating costs by consistently processing transactions in real time, which eliminates the need for batch processes. The decoupling of modules in the Leveris architecture and the continuous software delivery process eliminate expensive release and regression tests.

Modernisation: Leveris follows the approach of a lean core banking system offering the most important core functions while all other services are provided via APIs. This even applies to near-core functions such as securities handling, which is done by freely chosen peripheral systems. The core itself and the peripheral systems offered by Leveris have a modular structure, while a microservice architecture ensures that they are decoupled from one another.

Market positioning: The Irish company, which by now employs more than 150 people, defines its role as an enabler for banks, which should be made the centre of digital ecosystems and market places. Through its central data storage Leveris enables hook-ups with customer journeys or the actual ongoing activities of customers and the direct interlinking of end customer requirements. To this end, banks' cooperation with other banks and fintechs should be simplified across the industry. The bank at the same time retains one of its most valuable assets: Access to customers and their data via Leveris's data lake – sort of a large data pool that integrates internal and external data.



Leveris verwertet interne und externe Daten aus ihrem Data Lake.

Leveris processes internal and external data from its data lake.



Five essential modules

The main features of the Leveris approach are implemented via five modules in the retail banking suite:

  • Banking core: The central posting engine providing the basic functions for a retail bank comprises a master data model and offers a uniform customer view. The core is based on an Oracle database. The central logic of Leveris is written in PL SQL, a program language for these databases. Leveris explains this choice with the unique stability and performance of the Oracle solution. From the perspective of the Core Banking Radar it is interesting that the technology which has been used in the core by Avaloq and Finnova for many years was also selected for a neo-core banking system.
  • Payment hub: In contrast to other providers, Leveris classifies payments as an important feature which a bank definitely should control itself, but not necessarily process itself (also because it enables further services and data analyses). The module stands outside the core system, is linked via API, and with its parallel synchronous processing architecture it can also process large volumes of data.
  • Data science hub: Leveris sees the collection and adequate usage of data as a core competency. Transactions and other events are stored in real time as a copy of the core master data in the data science hub for analysis purposes and are processed in real time via artificial intelligence and machine learning.
  • Operational excellence: Based on the data science hub, this allows the measurement of processes, simulation of scenarios (e.g. the impact of digital marketing measures) and business results; can also be linked to the components or services of third-party providers.
  • Channels/interfaces: This is the instance used to link third-party systems via APIs in order to offer customers pleasant experiences with integrated bank services.

These five modules can be freely combined in accordance with the bank's wishes and requirements, but the core is always part of the solution.


Comparison with popular systems in Switzerland

For the Core Banking Radar, the Business Engineering Institute St. Gallen and Swisscom Banking compared the Leveris offer (without peripheral systems) with the systems that were investigated in spring 2018. They identified some functions where the Leveris solution is further ahead than other providers. These include:

  • Integration and operating costs: The integration costs are very low in a comparison, while the operating costs (comprising the licence and service fees) are judged to be "very low" by the Core Banking Radar. However, the integration complexity and the fact that many external providers still have to be linked could drive up these costs.
  • IT security: There are permanent security tests, and all customer-related data can be anonymised without exception.
  • IT architecture/interfaces: The interface concept is very mature, the open API concepts have been fully implemented, the tests can be run entirely automatically, and the performance and scalability are judged to be "very high".

 



Das Leveris-Angebot (ohne Umsysteme) im Vergleich mit den bereits im Frühjahr 2018 untersuchten Systemen.

The Leveris solution (without peripheral systems) compared to the systems that were investigated in spring 2018. 



The following are below the average for other providers:

  • Sales and advisory support. As Leveris relies on the integration of current providers, it receives lower marks for its proprietary system.
  • Execution and processing: The execution and processing of payments and loans are covered by the standard system. Securities processing is done by peripheral systems.
  • Transactions (including cross-transactions): The core functions of a retail banking system (items and accounts) are handled very well by the payments and financing modules. Investments are processed via peripheral systems.

 

 

In general, Leveris specifically favours the docking of peripheral systems in areas where it currently (and partly also in future) does not offer its own modules, (also) because these do not promise any added value.

Users of Leveris solutions therefore have to accept that some topics are covered by third-party providers, which makes it more difficult to compare the total costs of the solutions offered by the different manufacturers. This in particular includes the investments module, as Leveris with its system designed for Anglo-Saxon retail banks does not anticipate the in-house processing of securities transactions.

However, Leveris is working with a large solution provider to develop an integrated investment solution.

 


Accumulating expertise

At present, Leveris is earning a financial income from implementation and software-as-a-service fees. In future, fees should also be earned for the integration of third-party products (for the marketplace approach) and the monetisation of data.

According to its own statement, Leveris will earn revenues in the lower double-digit millions in euro this year, and this is expected to more than double in 2019. The first two implementations of the Leveris system is a P2P platform in the Czech Republic and a mortgage platform in the Netherlands.

At present, a digital private bank based in a country in Western Europe which intends to expand into five further European markets after it goes live in Q1/2019 and an Austrian digital private bank are being implement. Leveris is also working on a fully digital loan and mortgage application process for the UK and Irish markets. More banks are showing great interest.

According to its own statement, Leveris has global ambition and wants to become one of the top ten providers of core banking systems. Its target groups include all banks (incumbents, challengers, neobanks). Customers can choose whether and how they operate their Leveris solution (e.g. on premise, in private clouds or on the public clouds of Amazon Web Services (AWS) or Microsoft (Azure)).

 

The adaptation of the Leveris system to the specific requirements of Swiss customers is not very advanced yet: At present there are no developer resources or reference installations in Switzerland (or the DACH region). Because of its flexible and open architecture which simplifies the modular integration of local solutions as well as the experiences made with three nationalisation projects to date (EU / SEPA countries), Leveris itself expects manageable additional expenditure for tailoring its core banking solution to Swiss requirements. Leveris is also actively marketing its product in Switzerland and indicates that discussions with prospects in Switzerland are in an advanced stage.



Hervorstehende Merkmale von Leveris.

Outstanding features of Leveris.



This allows the following conclusion: From the perspective of Swisscom Banking and BEI, Leveris is a promising upcoming provider of a core banking solution that convinces with a mix of innovative technologies (microservices, real-time system, open API and data lake) and traditional approaches (Oracle and PL SQL technologies). The consistent integration of third-party providers is a forward-looking approach in view of a possible future development where ever more functions will be covered by peripheral systems and the core banking system will primarily be a posting system.

A unique feature is the importance given to the data level, which is expressed by the storage of data at a central point and the event-based real-time integration options in the customer journey. With this new campaign management organisation, Leveris wants to help banks take centre stage in the digital world as an integration platform rather than having to play a subordinate role as processor on the outskirts of digital ecosystems.


Effective usage scenarios

Other strong points include the modular approach which allows a fast pace of development and the acceptance of various future banking concepts, e.g. a marketplace bank or a mobile bank. It should be noted, however, that the integration complexity has to be actively managed here if the targeted low total cost of ownership (TCO) should not be jeopardised by a high degree of architectural complexity.

The open architecture means that the bank must have an expanded architectural perspective and IT expertise in order to manage the interfaces. This also includes knowledge of the processes and developments in the digital ecosystem outside the banking world. This is the only way in which a platform like this one developed by Leveris can be meaningfully exploited in full.

The establishment and management of the end-customer relationship will become ever more important for a bank's business success in future. At present, a tool such as Leveris cannot replace any existing core banking system in Switzerland on a one-to-one basis.

However, Core Banking Radar recognises two scenarios where this solution can be used effectively: First, to replace some functions for current banks, which could initiate a progressive change. And second, for a new bank or some business lines in the form of focused new start-up business models, expanded by incentives for the progressive migration of the customers to a neobank.

Core Banking Radar will keep a close eye on future developments.


Company profile:


Name:
Leveris

Founded:
2014

Head office:
Dublin, Ireland

CEO:
Connor Fennelly

Employees:
More than 150

Other development sites:
Prague, Czech Republic and Minsk, Belarus

First delivery:
May 2017

Revenue sources:
Integration, licence and service fees

Development phase:
2014 to 2017: Development
2017 to 2019: Various B2B implementations
From 2019: Scaling by implementations in strategic partnerships with typical system integrators (B2SI)

Shareholders:
Privately owned company
A serie-A round took place in 2Q18



Swisscom and the Business Engineering Institute in St. Gallen (BEI) have been in partnership for many years within the framework of the "Sourcing in the Financial Industry" expertise centre. The centre works with topics such as ecosystems, digitalisation, transformation and matters pertaining to the future structure of the financial industry. Along with its research activities, the BEI runs projects designing and implementing innovative, cross-industry business models.

> Core Banking Radar method


Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Plateforme de core-banking de Leveris

Core Banking Radar

Leveris: soutien de la banque au cœur de l’écosystème numérique


Le fabricant irlandais Leveris a construit à partir de zéro une nouvelle plateforme de core-banking. Cette plateforme, qui est présentée ici dans le cadre du radar de core-banking de Swisscom et du Business Engineering Institute Saint-Gall (BEI), place les banques au centre des écosystèmes numériques et permet ainsi de nouveaux modèles commerciaux basés sur des données.


Texte: Matthias Niklowitz, Images: Zense, 23 août 2018




Les tarifs de tenue de compte figurent, pour de nombreux consommateurs non fortunés parmi les principaux arguments pour ou contre une relation bancaire: à une époque où les intérêts sont bas, ces tarifs ont atteint un niveau perceptible pour les clients, et des organisations et émissions de protection des consommateurs abordent ces thèmes à intervalles réguliers. Du point de vue de la banque, les recettes découlant des tarifs de tenue de compte doivent être opposées au prix de l’acquisition de clientèle et aux charges pour la retenue d’un client. Ces tarifs peuvent souvent remplacer également les produits supprimés de l’activité de différences d’intérêts.

Mais les plus récents développements dépassent cette connexion et ouvrent une nouvelle solution pour le dilemme entre le montant des tarifs et la défection des clients: l’utilisation ciblée (et on l’espère minutieuse) des données du client comme source de chiffre d’affaires.

Il ne s’agit pas des formes d’utilisation de données, telles que les applique Google ou Facebook, mais plutôt du traitement des données du client au sein d’une banque et de la participation des clients à l’utilisation de leurs données, telle qu’elle est aussi conforme aux plus récentes obligations européennes en matière de réglementation et de traitement des données.


Banking pour les clients finaux

Concrètement, la tendance qui se dessine est que, avec le lancement de systèmes comme celui de Leveris, les clients auront le choix d’être indemnisés pour l’utilisation de leurs données avec un tarif de tenue de compte plus bas. Avec une utilisation complète des données stockées, il est même envisageable que les clients des banques reçoivent des recettes (minimes) sous la forme d’intérêts supplémentaires ou de bons utilisables numériquement pour des offres sélectionnées.

Si les banques suisses n’abordent pas à ce jour activement l’utilisation de leurs données en s’ouvrant ainsi un nouveau modèle commercial, ce n’est pas forcément dû au manque de volonté ou de compréhension des possibilités de leur top management. Il manque souvent les systèmes informatiques nécessaires pour une telle mesure. Les approches Open API déclenchent certes quelques-unes des exigences technologiques immédiates de la connexion de puissants systèmes d’analyse de données au système bancaire central d’une banque et permettent ainsi en principe une faisabilité technique de l’utilisation de données mentionnée plus haut ainsi qu’une indemnité adéquate à la clientèle. Mais il reste des obstacles fondamentaux à l’utilisation des systèmes bancaires centraux courants, comme les cycles de release chronophages et pillant les ressources, les projets d’innovation coûteux, les modernisations et restrictions onéreuses dans la modularité.


Défis pour les fabricants

Des défis stratégiques sélectionnés auxquels se voient confrontés les fabricants de systèmes bancaires centraux dans le perfectionnement de leurs propres systèmes pour les futurs modèles commerciaux de leurs clients sont les suivants:

 

  1. Maintenir bas l’ensemble de frais (TCO): Mise en œuvre d’une standardisation dans tout le système (end-to-end), qui soit applicable pour toutes les banques de clients, avec une individualisation simultanée là où une différenciation de la banque du client est demandée. Atteindre un taux élevé de STP (Straight Through Processing, traitement global des données) et éviter les interventions manuelles, dans la mesure du possible par une automatisation.
  2. Modernisation: Stratégie contraignante et roadmap acceptable pour la transformation du paysage de système existant. Cela signifie notamment la modularisation correcte et la conclusion de partenariats, parce que les adaptations au système existant rendent impossible une réorientation cohérente et entraînent une complexité croissante (cas de complexité).
  3. Positionnement sur le marché: Prise en compte des clients finaux au moyen de nouveaux concepts comme les Customer Journeys (compréhension et soutien des besoins et activités des clients) ainsi qu’une extension focalisée de prestations de service à valeur ajoutée avec des partenaires sélectionnés, afin que le propre soutien de système ne se transforme pas en une prestation échangeable (lock-in du fait de la formation d’un écosystème).

Retour aux leviers de commande

Leveris est un fournisseur irlandais de systèmes bancaires centraux, qui propose ses propres approches de solutions pour ces défis.

Maintenir bas le TCO: Leveris réduit par exemple les charges dans l’exploitation, en traitement systématiquement les transactions en temps réel et permettant ainsi de renoncer entièrement aux processus de batch. Le découplage des modules de l’architecture Leveris ainsi que le processus continu de livraison de logiciels permettent de supprimer les tests onéreux de release et de régression.

Modernisation: Leveris poursuit ce faisant l’approche consistant à proposer un système bancaire central de conception compacte, avec les principales fonctionnalités de base, et de rattacher tous les autres services par le biais d’API. Cela s’applique même aux fonctions aussi proches du core que le traitement des titres, qui sont prises en charge par des sous-systèmes au libre choix. Le cœur même et les sous-systèmes mis à disposition par Leveris sont de construction modulaire et découplés l’un de l’autre sur la base d’une architecture de micro-service.

Positionnement sur le marché: L’entreprise irlandaise, qui emploie désormais plus de 150 personnes, considère son rôle comme celui d’un ‘enabler’ pour les banques: celles-ci doivent être placées au centre des écosystèmes et marchés numériques. Du fait de sa conservation centrale des données, Leveris permet l’encliquetage dans les Customer Journeys ou les activités de clients qui se déroulent effectivement ainsi que la liaison directe des besoins des clients finaux entre eux. À cet effet, la collaboration des banques entre elles, avec les fintechs et dans toute l’industrie doit être simplifiée. En même temps la banque reste en possession de l’un de ses biens les plus précieux: l’accès à la clientèle et à ses données par le biais de Leveris’ Data Lake – une espèce de grand pool de données, qui intègre des données internes et externes.



Leveris verwertet interne und externe Daten aus ihrem Data Lake.

Leveris traite des données internes et externes de son Data Lake.



Les cinq modules décisifs

Les éléments essentiels de l’approche de Leveris sont mis en œuvre dans la Retail Banking Suite avec les cinq modules:

  • Banking Core: Le moteur central de comptabilisation couvre des fonctions fondamentales pour une retail bank; il englobe un modèle de Master Data et communique ainsi une vue uniforme de la clientèle. Le core se base sur une banque de données Oracle. La logique centrale de Leveris est illustrée en PLSQL, une langue de programmation pour ces bases de données. Leveris le justifie par la stabilité et la performance exceptionnelles de la solution Oracle. Du point de vue du radar central des banques, il est passionnant de voir que la technologie, qui est également utilisée par Avaloq et Finnova depuis des années déjà, a également été choisie par un système bancaire central récent.
  • Payment Hub: Contrairement à d’autres fournisseurs, Leveris considère les paiements comme un élément important, qu’une banque devrait absolument contrôler elle-même, mais pas forcément exécuter elle-même (également parce que cela permet d’autres services et analyses de données). Le module est conçu en dehors du système central, connecté via API et grâce à une architecture d’exécution parallèle synchrone, également en mesure de traiter des volumes importants.
  • Data Science Hub: Leveris considère la collecte et l’utilisation adéquate de données comme une compétence centrale. Les transactions et autres événements sont sauvegardés en copie des données master dans le core en temps réel dans le Data Science Hub à des fins d’analyse, et valorisés en temps réel au moyen de l’intelligence artificielle et de Machine Learning.
  • Excellence opérationnelle: Sur la base du Data Science Hub, elle permet la mesure de processus, les simulations de scénarios (par exemple l’effet de mesures de marketing numériques) et de résultats commerciaux; peut également être reliée aux composants ou services d’opérateurs tiers.
  • Channels/Interfaces: C’est l’instance par laquelle des systèmes tiers sont raccordés via API, pour permettre aux clients des expériences confortables avec des services bancaires intégrés.

Ces cinq éléments peuvent être combinés librement selon le souhait et les besoins de la banque, et le core fait toujours partie intégrante de la solution.


Comparaison avec les systèmes courants en Suisse

Le Business Engineering Institute Saint-Gall et Swisscom Banking ont comparé dans le cadre du radar de Core Banking l’offre de Leveris (sans les sous-systèmes) aux systèmes déjà examinés au printemps 2018. Certaines fonctions se révèlent ainsi dans lesquelles la solution de Leveris est plus avancée que celle d’autres fournisseurs. En font partie:

  • Frais d’intégration et d’exploitation: Les frais d’intégration sont très bas en comparaison, les coûts d’exploitation (composés de frais de licence et de service) sont estimés dans le radar Core Banking «très bas». Toutefois, la complexité de l’intégration et le fait que de nombreux fournisseurs externes doivent encore être intégrés vont augmenter ces coûts.
  • Sécurité informatique: Il y a des tests de sécurité permanents et les données des clients peuvent être rendues anonymes, sans exception.
  • Architecture/interfaces informatiques: Le concept d’interfaces est très sophistiqué, les concepts OPEN API sont entièrement mis en œuvre, les tests peuvent être effectués de manière entièrement automatique et la performance, tout comme la modularité, sont considérées comme «très élevées».


Das Leveris-Angebot (ohne Umsysteme) im Vergleich mit den bereits im Frühjahr 2018 untersuchten Systemen.

L’offre Leveris (sans les sous-systèmes) en comparaison avec les systèmes examinés déjà au printemps 2018. 



Sont inférieures à la moyenne en comparaison avec d’autres fournisseurs:

  • l’assistance à la distribution et au conseil. Ici Leveris mise sur l’intégration de fournisseurs existants et obtient donc moins de points pour son système breveté.
  • l’exécution et traitement: L’exécution et le traitement des paiements et crédits est couvert dans le standard. Le traitement des titres a lieu dans les sous-systèmes.
  • les transactions (également inter-opérations): Les fonctionnalités centrales d’un système de retail banking (positions et comptes) sont très bien couvertes dans les secteurs Paiements et Financements. Le secteur Placement est traité par des sous-systèmes.

 

 

De façon générale, la société Leveris favorise sciemment l’amarrage de sous-systèmes dans les secteurs où elle ne propose pas ses propres modules présentement (et en partie à l’avenir aussi), (également) parce que l’on n’attend aucune valeur ajoutée de ceux-ci.

Les exploitants de solutions Leveris doivent donc se préparer à ce que certains thèmes soient couverts par des fournisseurs tiers, ce qui à son tour rend plus difficile la comparaison des coûts globaux entre les solutions des différents fabricants. Ceci englobe notamment le secteur des placements, car Leveris, en tant que système conçu pour les banques retail selon le modèle anglo-saxon, ne prévoit pas en interne l’exécution de transactions de titres.

Mais Leveris collabore notamment dans le domaine des titres avec un grand fournisseur de solutions à une solution intégrée pour le secteur Placements. 


Développer les compétences

Le revenu financier de la société Leveris est actuellement réalisé par des implémentations et des tarifs Software-as-a-Service. À l’avenir des frais seront ajoutés pour l’intégration de produits tiers (avec l’approche place de marché) et la monétisation de données.

Déjà cette année, Leveris réalise selon ses propres indications un chiffre d’affaires de quelques dizaines de millions d’euros, et pour 2019 il est prévu que ce chiffre sera plus du double. Les deux premières implémentations du système Leveris sont une plateforme P2P de la République tchèque et une plateforme d’hypothèques des Pays-Bas.

Actuellement, une banque privée numérique basée dans un pays d’Europe occidentale, qui veut s’étendre après le Go-Live au T1/2019 à cinq autres marchés européens, ainsi qu’une banque privée numérique d’Europe de l’Est sont en cours d’implémentation. Par ailleurs, Leveris travaille à un processus d’application de crédit et d’hypothèques entièrement numérique pour les marchés britannique et indien. D’autres banques sont très intéressées.

Selon ses propres indications, Leveris nourrit des ambitions mondiales et veut se hisser parmi les 10 meilleurs des fournisseurs de systèmes bancaires centraux.. Parmi ses groupes-cibles figurent toutes les banques (Incubents, Challengers, Néo-banques). Les clients peuvent choisir si et comment ils exploitent leur solution Leveris (p. ex. on premise, dans des Private Clouds ou sur les Public Clouds d’Amazon Web Services (AWS) ou de Microsoft (Azure)).

 

L’helvétisation du système Leveris n’a pas beaucoup progressé jusqu’ici: il n’existe actuellement ni ressources de développeurs ni installations de référence en Suisse (ou dans la région DACH). Leveris elle-même part du principe, en raison de son architecture flexible et ouverte, qui simplifie l’intégration modulaire de solutions locales, et sur la base des expériences de trois projets de nationalisation entrepris désormais (UE ou pays de la SEPA), de dépenses supplémentaires gérables pour une helvétisation de sa solution bancaire centrale. Leveris prospecte aussi activement le marché suisse et selon ses propres informations elle a déjà beaucoup avancé dans les discussions avec des prospects en Suisse. 



Hervorstehende Merkmale von Leveris.

Caractéristiques principales de Leveris.



Cela permet aussi de dresser un bilan: Du point de vue de Swisscom Banking et de BEI, Leveris est un fournisseur prometteur et émergent d’une solution de core-banking, qui séduit par un mélange d’innovations (microservices, système en temps réal, Open-API et Data Lake) et d’approches ordinaires (technologies Oracle et PLSQL). L’intégration systématique de fournisseurs tiers est prévoyante en vue d’un développement futur possible lors duquel toujours plus de fonctions sont couvertes dans les sous-systèmes et le système bancaire central est surtout un système de comptabilisation.

Une caractéristique distinctive claire est la grande importance du niveau des données, ce qui se révèle en temps réel dans la conservation des données à un point central et dans les possibilités d’intégration basées sur les événements dans le Customer Journey. Avec cette nouvelle organisation de management de campagnes, on a la prétention d’aider les banques à figurer au centre du monde numérique en tant que plateforme d’intégration – et à ne pas avoir à jouer un rôle d’exécutant subordonné en marge d’écosystèmes numériques.


Scénarios d’utilisation efficaces

D’autres points positifs solides sont l’approche modulaire et le rythme de développement rapide qu’elle permet, ainsi que l’ouverture à différents concepts de banking d’avenir comme celui de banque de place de marché ou de banque mobile. Il faut toutefois noter que de cette manière la complexité d’intégration doit être contrôlée activement pour ne pas mettre en danger à nouveau le Total Cost of Ownership (TCO) bas visé, en raison d’une complexité architecturale élevée.

L’architecture ouverte nécessite un point de vue architectonique complété et des connaissances informatiques de la part de la banque pour garantir le management des interfaces. Cela englobe surtout les connaissances des processus et développements dans les écosystèmes numériques en dehors du banking. En effet, ce n’est que de cette manière qu’une plateforme comme celle développée par Leveris peut être utilisée pleinement de façon judicieuse.

La fabrication et la gestion de la relation de client final seront encore plus importantes à l’avenir pour le succès commercial d’une banque. Actuellement, un outil comme Leveris ne permet pas de remplacer à 100% un système bancaire central existant en Suisse.

Mais du point de vue du radar de Core Banking, il existe deux scénarios pour une utilisation efficace de la solution présentée ici: D’une part le remplacement de différentes fonctionnalités de banques existantes – pouvant entraîner un changement progressif. D’autre part, pour une nouvelle banque ou différentes Business Lines sous la forme de nouveaux modèles commerciaux focalisés de start-up, complétés par des incitations à la migration progressive des clients à une néobanque.

Le radar de Core Banking observera de près la suite du développement.


Fiche signalétique de la société:


Nom:
Leveris

Fondation:
2014

Siège principal:
Dublin / Irlande

CEO:
Connor Fennelly

Employés:
Plus de 150

Autres sites de développement:
Prague / République tchèque, Minsk / Biélorussie

Première livraison:
Mai 2017

Sources de chiffre d’affaires:
Frais d’intégration, de licence et de service

Stade de développement:
de 2014 à 2017: Développement
de 2017 à 2019: différentes implémentations B2B
À partir de 2019: Graduation par implémentations dans des partenariats stratégiques avec des intégrateurs de systèmes typiques (B2SI)

Rapports de propriété:
en propriété privée
Au T218 a eu lieu un tour de série A



Swisscom et le Business Engineering Institute (BEI) de Saint-Gall développent un partenariat sur le long terme dans le cadre du centre de compétences «Sourcing dans l’industrie financière». Celui-ci traite notamment des thèmes en lien avec les écosystèmes, la numérisation, la transformation ainsi que les questions portant sur la future organisation de l’industrie financière. Parallèlement aux activités de recherche, le BEI réalise des projets pour la conception et la mise en œuvre de modèles commerciaux innovants et intersectoriels.

> Méthodologie Core Banking Radar


Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème