Enterprise Search

Enterprise Search

No need to panic after Google quits

In 2018, Google’s Search Appliance is being taken off the market. This would force corporate customers to search for internal company data via the Google cloud. Just in time, a completely Swiss solution has arrived.

Text: Hansjörg Honegger, 20 February 2018

Company data is the new crude oil. But this ostensible promise from big data gurus also contains the implicit problem: Like all other resources, data is not easy to extract. On the one hand, you have the sheer volume – which is doubling every two years. And on the other, most data is not stored centrally, but is kept in unstructured form on the widest range of data carriers: one’s own hard disk, a mailbox, a cloud memory or a shared memory such as Microsoft SharePoint. And to top it all, the data is also stored in a variety of file formats.

Unsatisfactory solutions

Equally varied are the approaches drawn upon for evaluating and searching for the data. Very often it is the actual employees who take it upon themselves to go looking for information – or rather for the needle in the haystack. An expensive business, with employees spending up to 20% per cent of their working hours searching for information, often unsuccessfully.

Many companies have recognised this problem and are trying to counteract it. Some are turning to comprehensive data management systems, but these demand a lot of organisational work and discipline when documents are being created. Others rely on existing central or local search solutions. However, many of these products are not deployed due to their user-unfriendliness or the restrictions put on employees. Because every search is inevitably measured against the major role model: Is it as easy, fast and reliable as Google?

The end of Google Search Appliance

It’s a fact that the search engine giant has been providing a solution for company data since 2009 with its Google Search Appliance. The big advantage: With the Appliance, the data remains in the company and Google has no access to it. However, the US corporation has adjusted its strategy and already stopped marketing this solution in 2017, with existing licences expiring from 2018 onwards. Google’s new solution approach: In the future, Enterprise Search will run via the Google cloud.  

The Swiss alternative

And just in time to pick up where Google is leaving off, Swisscom, in collaboration with the search engine specialist from Thurgau, Hulbee AG, is offering a fully-fledged replacement: Enterprise Search is a completely Swiss software solution that can be operated either in the company’s own IT system landscape or, alternatively, within the Swisscom Cloud.


The advantages of the Enterprise Search are obvious:


  • Employees can use the central, intuitively operated solution from any browser to find relevant content at the usual internal and external file storage locations.
  • Semantic searches that actively help employees to find the correct information.
  • An extremely wide range of file formats can be searched via a full-text search: e-mails, documents, archive formats, hypertext files, source code, images etc.
  • On request, text content is automatically summarised, enabling users to make quicker decisions about the relevance of documents.
  • If necessary, the search can be extended to the internet and the intranet.
  • The file volume is not limited and is scaled to meet the growing requirements of companies.
  • Enterprise Search searches in every language in the world.
  • The solution can be flexibly adapted to the user’s own needs, as Enterprise Search can be integrated into other systems via API.
  • Access to the data can be regulated precisely. Administrators retain control over access via user management that is regulated by an active directory.



Enterprise Search

Enables an intelligent, company-wide search of all data – whether on the premises or in the Cloud.

Go to offer


Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.

More on the topic

Enterprise Search

Enterprise Search

Fin de la solution Google? Pas de panique


En 2018 «Google Search Appliance» disparaîtra du marché. Les clients commerciaux seront alors obligés de rechercher des données internes à l’entreprise via Google Cloud. Heureusement, une solution 100% suisse arrive juste à temps sur le marché.


Texte: Hansjörg Honegger, 20 février 2018




Les données d’entreprise sont le nouveau pétrole. Cette promesse proclamée par les gourous du big data porte en elle-même le cœur du problème: les données, comme les matières premières, ne sont pas faciles à extraire. Tout d'abord, leur quantité, déjà impressionnante, se multiplie par deux tous les deux ans. En outre, pour la plupart, les données ne sont pas stockées de manière centralisée mais enregistrées de manière non structurée sur les supports de données les plus divers. Il peut s’agir d’un disque dur, d’une mailbox, d’un espace de stockage dans le cloud ou d’une archive commune comme Microsoft SharePoint. Pour couronner le tout, les données sont enregistrées sous toutes sortes de formats différents.


Des approches non satisfaisantes

Les solutions proposées pour analyser et rechercher des données sont donc très complexes. Souvent, ce sont finalement les collaborateurs qui doivent rechercher ces données par leurs propres moyens, autant dire chercher une aiguille dans une botte de foin. Sans parler des coûts engendrés: les collaborateurs consacrent jusqu’à 20 pour cent de leur temps de travail à la recherche, souvent infructueuse, d’informations diverses.

De nombreuses entreprises ont pris conscience de ce problème et cherchent des solutions. Certaines jouent la carte des systèmes exhaustifs de gestion des documents qui demandent cependant un travail d’organisation énorme et beaucoup de discipline au moment de la création des documents. D’autres s'appuient sur des solutions existantes de recherche centralisée ou décentralisée. Un bon nombre de ces solutions manquent cependant de convivialité et sont très restrictives, et ne sont donc pas utilisées par les collaborateurs. En effet, toute tentative de recherche amène inévitablement une comparaison avec la référence bien connue: la recherche ne serait-elle pas plus simple, plus rapide et plus précise avec Google?


La fin de «Google Search Appliance»

Le géant du moteur de recherche propose depuis 2009 une solution pour les données d'entreprise, à savoir la «Google Search Appliance». Son avantage notable: avec l’application, les données restent dans l’entreprise. Google n’y a pas accès. Le groupe américain a cependant changé de stratégie et cessé la commercialisation de sa solution en 2017. Les licences existantes prendront fin dès 2018. La nouvelle approche de Google est la suivante: Enterprise Search fonctionnera désormais via Google-Cloud. 


La solution de rechange de fabrication suisse

À point nommé, Swisscom et Hulbee AG, le spécialiste des moteurs de recherche du canton de Thurgovie, proposent désormais une solution de remplacement exhaustive au produit retiré du marché par Google. «Enterprise Search» est une solution logicielle entièrement suisse qui peut être utilisée soit exclusivement dans l’environnement informatique propre à l’entreprise, soit au sein du Swisscom Cloud.

Les avantages d’«Enterprise Search» sont évidents:

 

  • avec cette solution centralisée et intuitive, les collaborateurs peuvent rechercher des contenus pertinents à partir de n’importe quel navigateur sur les supports de stockage internes et externes courants.
  • la recherche sémantique soutient activement les collaborateurs pendant la recherche d’informations exactes.
  • la recherche plein texte peut être effectuée sur un nombre impressionnant de formats de données: e-mails, documents, formats d’archivage, fichiers hypertexte, code source, images, etc.
  • sur demande, les contenus des textes sont résumés automatiquement pour permettre aux utilisateurs de mieux évaluer la pertinence des différents documents.
  • si besoin est, la recherche peut être élargie à l’Internet et à l’Intranet.
  • la quantité de fichiers n’est pas limitée et s’étend au fur et à mesure de l’augmentation des besoins de l’entreprise.
  • «Enterprise Search» effectue ses recherches dans toutes les langues du monde
  • la solution s’adapte facilement aux besoins individuels dans la mesure où Enterprise Search peut être intégrée à d’autres systèmes via API
  • l’accès aux données peut être réglementé de manière très précise. Les administrateurs gardent le contrôle des accès grâce à une gestion des utilisateurs contrôlée par Active Directory.  

   

Enterprise Search

Permet la recherche intelligente de toutes les données à l’échelle de l’entreprise, que ce soit sur place ou dans le cloud.

Vers l'offre




Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème