Industry standard for PaaS





Cloud Foundry Foundation

An alliance for cloud applications


Cloud Foundry standardises PaaS products, making it particularly developer-friendly. Renowned IT industry names are members of the foundation, and are involved in shaping the open-source platform standard. This includes Swisscom and this with great success.





They are all considered major players in the global IT landscape: In this market, companies such as Cisco, IBM, Dell EMC, Suse or SAP are all involved in a relentless battle for customers and market share – and ultimately for the leading position in the IT business. This makes it all the more astounding when these companies suddenly join forces to work together on new platform standards for the software development of today.

And exactly this is the case at the Cloud Foundry. The project, which was originally launched by VMware and Pivotal, became a vendor-neutral foundation in December 2014. Along with the «platinum members» such as Cisco, IBM or SAP, companies such as Google, Microsoft, Suse or HPE are also involved in the project – just like Swisscom is as a founding member of the foundation. The number of users of the platform who have also joined the alliance – for example the Allianz Group, Ford, Philipps or the VW Group – is also remarkable.

 

The aim pursued by the alliance: to develop an industry standard for Platform as a Service environments. As such, Cloud Foundry ensures interoperability: Services for cloud applications are expected to be able to be provided using a non-vendor-dependent and therefore uniform, straightforward user interface. «We want an open platform standard,» as Marco Hochstrasser, the Head of Cloud Platform Development at Swisscom and a member of the Board of Directors of Cloud Foundry, says. «We are therefore using the resources, expertise and input of this group of renowned IT companies and customers in order to develop an open-source standard together.» Swisscom has already been able to make a name for itself in the foundation – and was elected to the Board of Directors of Cloud Foundry in 2015. «This shows that we’ve got a finger on the pulse of the times, and are respected by the global community,» Hochstrasser explains. «We are extremely well positioned here, and our experience means we have a lot to contribute.»




«Cloud Foundry allows companies to operate a 10-year platform strategy.»


Marco Hochstrasser, Head Cloud Platform Development von Swisscom 


Above all, developers are expected to profit from the open-source standard – and this has always been the foundation’s main focus. Hochstrasser explains how developer-friendly the platform is: «Cloud Foundry users won’t, for example, have to know the IP address or the port. While this information is important for the platform itself, all the developers want is for their code to run.» This is also what the foundation’s philosophy is based on: «Here is my source code, run it on the cloud for me, I don’t care how.» Procuring resources or services will become a secondary activity for developers, who can dedicate their full concentration to the USPs of their solutions. The container-based architecture of Cloud Foundry also allows different program languages such as Java, nodejs, Ruby, .NET or Go to be run without problems.


Swisscom asserts itself

The major benefit for customers: Those who decide for a service provider that uses the Cloud Foundry standard won’t need to worry about proprietary lock-in. This is because the standard promises compatibility: «There might be other technologies on the market which are trendier, but they’re also volatile, and change very quickly,» Hochstrasser explains. «Cloud Foundry allows companies to operate a 10-year platform strategy. If at some point they should no longer be happy with their provider, then there are several other Cloud Foundry-certified distributions or providers available.»

The Cloud Foundry Summit is held every year both in Silicon Valley and in Europe . The members meet up at the summit and discuss the latest technological breakthroughs, as well as the further strategy for the standard. A who’s who of the IT industry, as Hochstrasser recently reported from the Valley: «Most providers such as Dell EMC, Cisco and so on are in attendance with the CTO or VP – just getting these together in one room is a logistical tour de force.» And Swisscom is playing a leading role: Cloud Foundry launched a worldwide training and certification program for software developers last March. The foundation used the occasion of the summit to announce that the Swisscom Application Cloud will be used to conduct these certifications. Swisscom prevailed against all the other providers. «We use the resources, expertise and input of this group of renowned IT companies and customers in order to develop an open-source standard for PaaS together.»  Marco Hochstrasser, the Head of Cloud Platform Development at Swisscom and a member of the Board of Directors of Cloud Foundry


Cloud Foundry Summit Europe in Basel

Cloud Foundry was holding the Europe Summit this year in Basel: On 11-12 October, developers, enterprises and organisations came together at the Congress Centre to compare notes on the current status and future of the Cloud Foundry standard. The programme at the Basel Cloud Foundry Summit included keynotes, a hackathon and a variety of specialist lectures, including one about cloud-native micro services. In addition, expertsreported on the standard’s latest update. Swisscom not only was attending the summit as a platinum sponsor, but was also holding a keynote speech with Dr Andreas Häberli, CTO of the dorma+kaba Group, which uses the Swisscom Application Cloud to develop new security and access solutions.






Enterprise Application Cloud


Swisscom’s Enterprise Application Cloud is based on the Cloud Foundry standard. The PaaS environment is used by companies to develop applications more quickly and with greater agility, and to have them up and running in Switzerland quickly and straightforwardly. The open-source Cloud Foundry standard allows companies to change from one provider to another without problems. When doing so, the platform is scaled and deployed accordingly within the shortest of times. This makes fast reaction times possible and guarantees companies the agility they need – while all data are secure and are kept in Switzerland.

 

> More infomation

Standard industriel pour PaaS





Cloud Foundry Foundation

Une alliance pour les applications dans le cloud


Comme il unifie les offres PaaS, Cloud Foundry est particulièrement intéressant pour les développeurs. La fondation regroupe, parmi ses membres, des grands noms du secteur informatique qui participent à la définition de ce standard de plateforme open source, à l’instar de Swisscom, dont la participation est un véritable succès.





Acteurs majeurs du paysage international des technologies de l’information, les groupes Cisco, IBM, Dell EMC, Suse ou SAP se livrent une concurrence acharnée dont l’enjeu sont les clients, les parts de marché  et au final la position de leader dans le business IT. Il peut être surprenant de voir ces mêmes entreprises collaborer et travailler conjointement sur de nouveaux standards de plateforme pour le développement logiciel moderne, et pourtant, c’est précisément ce qui se passe avec la Cloud Foundry Foundation. Le projet, lancé initialement par VMware et Pivotal, a été transformé en décembre 2014 en une fondation neutre vis-à-vis des fournisseurs. À côté des «Platinum Members», comme Cisco, IBM ou SAP, Google, Microsoft, Suse ou HPE participent également au projet de la même manière que Swisscom, en qualité de membre fondateur de la Fondation. Autre fait remarquable:le nombre des utilisateurs de la plateforme qui ont rejoint l’alliance par exemple les assurances Allianz, Ford, Philipps ou le groupe Volkswagen.

L’objectif de cette alliance est de développer un standard industriel pour les environnements «Platform as a Service». L’objectif de Cloud Foundry est d’assurer l’interopérabilité: les services destinés aux applications dans le cloud doivent être fournis à partir d’une interface indépendante du fournisseur, et donc simple. «Nous voulons obtenir un standard de plateforme ouvert», explique Marco Hochstrasser, Head Cloud Platform Development de Swisscom et membre du conseil d’administration de Cloud Foundry. «Nous utilisons, pour ce faire, les ressources, l’expertise et les inputs de ce groupe d’entreprises informatiques et de clients de renom, pour développer un standard open source commun.» Swisscom a pu se faire un nom au sein de la fondation et a été élue en 2015 à la direction de Cloud Foundry. «Ceci montre que nous sommes en avance sur notre temps et que nous sommes reconnus par la communauté globale», explique Marco Hochstrasser. «Nous avons ici un très bon positionnement et nous pouvons apporter une contribution importante en raison de notre grande expérience.»




«Cloud Foundry permet aux entreprises d’avoir une stratégie de plateforme s’inscrivant sur 10 ans.»


Marco Hochstrasser, Head Cloud Platform Development de Swisscom


Le standard open source profitera essentiellement aux développeurs, ce qui a toujours été la priorité de la fondation. Marco Hochstrasser explique que la plateforme est profitable pour les développeurs: «Les utilisateurs de Cloud Foundry ne doivent pas être obligés de connaître d’adresse IP ni de port. Ces informations sont certes importantes pour la plateforme elle-même, mais le développeur souhaite uniquement que son code fonctionne.» Ce qui correspond au crédo de la fondation: «Here is my source code, run it on the cloud for me, I do not care how». L’acquisition des ressources ou des services est secondaire pour le développeur, qui peut alors se concentrer pleinement sur l’USP de sa solution. L’architecture à base de conteneurs de Cloud Foundry permet d’exécuter, sans heurt, différentes langues de programmation comme Java, nodejs, Ruby, .NET ou Go


Swisscom s’affirme

L’avantage majeur pour le client: en optant pour un fournisseur utilisant le standard Cloud Foundry, il évite le risque de dépendre d’un fournisseur. En effet, l’intérêt du standard est d’assurer la compatibilité: «d’autres technologies disponibles sur le marché sont peut-être plus à la mode, mais elles sont également volatiles et évoluent très rapidement», explique Marco Hochstrasser. «Cloud Foundry permet aux entreprises d’avoir une stratégie de plateforme s’inscrivant sur 10 ans. S’ils ne sont plus satisfaits de leur fournisseur, ils ont à leur disposition plusieurs distributions ou fournisseurs certifiés Cloud Foundry.»

Le Cloud Foundry Summit qui a lieu une fois par an dans la Silicon Valley ainsi qu’en Europe, se tiendra cette année à Bâle. Ce sera l’occasion pour les membres de se rencontrer et de discuter des dernières avancées technologiques ainsi que de la stratégie du standard pour l’avenir. Une rencontre au sommet du secteur informatique, comme raconte Marco Hochstrasser, présent sur place, dans la Valley: «La plupart des fournisseurs comme Dell EMC, Cisco, etc. sont sur place avec leur CTO ou VP - rien que le fait de les réunir dans un lieu unique est une prouesse logistique.» Et Swisscom occupe le devant de la scène: Cloud Foundry a organisé en mars un programme de formation et de certification mondial pour les développeurs de logiciels. La fondation a annoncé, lors du sommet, que le Swisscom Application Cloud sera utilisé dans le monde entier pour la réalisation de cette certification. Cette solution l’a emporté sur tous les autres fournisseurs.






Swisscom Application Cloud


L’Application Cloud de Swisscom repose sur le standard Cloud-Foundry. L’environnement PaaS permet aux entreprises de développer plus rapidement et de manière agile et de faire tourner leurs applications plus rapidement et simplement en Suisse. Le standard Cloud-Foundry open source permet aux entreprises de passer sans problème d’un fournisseur à un autre. La plateforme évolue et est mise à disposition très rapidement. Ceci garantit des temps de réaction rapides et assure aux entreprises l’agilité requise, toutes les données étant gérées de manière sécurisée, en Suisse.

 

> Plus d'informations