Swift software development

Reach the market faster with new applications

A small and recently founded software company is looking for simple and cost-effective ways to be able to quickly launch future-oriented web applications on the market. Such a cloud solution in the form of a Platform as a Service (PaaS) should not only focus on confidential data storage, but must also be preferably based on open-source software, and the developers must provide a familiar environment.

Traditional software development

Up until now, the release dates for updates, patches and applications were set in stone, occurring on average twice a year. To ensure that a team is able to meet such a release date, a meticulous schedule is needed along with the necessary change requests, the function’s exact setup and timing with regard to the release.

Today: fast time to market

The Swisscom Application Cloud slashes the time-to-market for new applications. The supply of applications and updates has now given way to a continuous process that can be carried out as quickly and as frequently as the user wishes. In the pay-per-use approach, costs can be easily calculated and are based on the level of use. Thanks to the modern Swisscom data centres in Switzerland, data can be securely accessed in the application cloud at all times.

Développement rapide de logiciels

Plus vite sur le marché avec de nouvelles applications

Ce petit éditeur de logiciels récemment implanté sur le marché cherchait des solutions simples et avantageuses pour commercialiser rapidement des applications web d’avenir. Une telle solution cloud sous forme de PaaS (Platform as a Service) devait non seulement mettre l’accent sur la sécurité du stockage des données, mais aussi être largement basée sur des systèmes open-source et offrir aux développeurs un environnement familier.

Développement logiciel traditionnel

Jusqu’ici, l’introduction de mises à jour, patchs et applications dépendait de dates de release fixes, planifiées en moyenne deux fois par année. Pour qu’une équipe parvienne à faire passer des modifications dans le cadre d’une telle release, il fallait une planification minutieuse avec les demandes de modification nécessaires, la structure exacte de la fonction et le timing correspondant.

Aujourd’hui: un cycle de commercialisation rapide

Avec l’Application Cloud de Swisscom, le délai de commercialisation des nouvelles applications s’est fortement réduit. L’intégration des applications et des mises à jour s’est muée en un processus continu, qui peut être lancé aussi souvent et aussi rapidement que nécessaire. L’approche «pay-per-use» permet en outre un contrôle aisé des coûts, qui correspondent vraiment à l’utilisation. Au sein des centres de calcul modernes de Swisscom en Suisse, les données sont toujours stockées en toute sécurité dans l’Application Cloud.