Interview with Philipp Bielmann





Interview with Philipp Bielmann

“The path to the cloud starts with the right IT strategy.”


Companies need to react to different market conditions, new customer preferences and new technologies in an agile manner, while also developing the right business models. Many companies, however, shy away from embarking on a complicated and expensive exercise with an uncertain outcome. Philipp Bielmann, cloud expert at Swisscom, tells us how the leap into the digital age will succeed with the right cloud strategy.





Mr Bielmann, globalisation and digitalisation are bringing new challenges for the economy. Why are cloud solutions so important?


Philipp Bielmann: Specialist departments are demanding applications that can be adapted at shorter and shorter notice, often on an ad hoc basis, and for very specific problems. Solutions based on cloud services offer the highest level of IT agility. In particular, they allow scalable solutions to be developed and put into operation. In other words: if you leave the cloud out of the equation, you are in danger of missing the boat to the business world of the 21st century.


Often, cloud solutions cannot be set up in isolation, but rather existing systems need to be integrated. What do you need to pay attention to on the journey into the cloud?


The challenges can be best mastered by using a well-considered process. Central to this approach is a process that not only allows for purely technical considerations, but also existing processes and organisational aspects. Swisscom has therefore developed “Journey to the Cloud”, a model that works with a modular system of building blocks and service modules that can be combined. It provides support to companies from planning to the implementation of the cloud transformation by offering professional services.



Flyer “Journey to the Cloud”

Find your way to the cloud and make your company more flexible. The white paper will show you which steps are necessary to do so.

Augmented Reality wird die Art, wie wir mit Menschen und Objekten interagieren, in vergleichbarem Ausmass revolutionieren wie damals die Smartphones»



Philipp Bielmann

Specialised Sales



In the digital age, increasingly demanding customers need to be catered to faster and faster. New business models are needed in order to be able to react to market requirements. What role does the right cloud strategy play


Time-to-market is the watchword of the hour. The technologies in what is known as the “third platform” – this being cloud services, mobility, social networks as well as big data and data analysis – form the basis for innovation and growth. Cloud computing fulfils the requirements of an IT infrastructure that can be optimally scaled to meet current requirements at any time This means that internal processes can be designed to be more flexible and efficient, customer relationships can be improved and new sales opportunities opened up. A clear cloud strategy fills all the gaps in order to transport systems faster and more successfully into the cloud.


Many companies shy away from a transformation to cloud-based IT. The question of cost is often at the forefront. Who can even afford to take this journey into the future?


Based on our cloud assessment and our experience, we can make a considered analysis of all expenses and migration costs. When it comes to the cloud transformation, companies are well advised to choose standardised services and a partner with experience in comparable projects. Complex transformation projects can be implemented quickly and at the lowest possible expense. One-off solutions cobbled together without a clear plan, in contrast, can be extremely expensive and time-consuming.



Everyone knows that a journey should be well planned. What aspects need to be taken into account during the cloud transformation?


You always need to start by clarifying what you are aiming for. Where is the company currently positioned? Which processes can be digitised? The existing IT infrastructure is then analysed carefully and the most suitable deployment and delivery model is chosen. In order to extract the optimum from the opportunities offered by the cloud, the service framework integrates existing processes and organisational structures. This also includes transforming existing systems and applications.



“Journey to the Cloud” will take you on a step-by-step journey to innovative business solutions from the cloud.



Last but not least: which aspects speak in favour of Swisscom’s solutions?


Viewed as a whole, Swisscom offers an outstanding combination of innovative solutions from a single supplier, with extensive expertise, partnership-based customer relationships and the highest security and availability of the services offered. Our customers appreciate the locally based advice, and they attribute great importance to the fact that data in the Swisscom cloud is stored exclusively in Switzerland. Under the label “Professional Services”, we allow our customers to make optimum use of the cloud and to open up new potential for IT and the business as a whole.






This might interest you too


Journey to the Cloud Services

Design your IT of the future together with us in the cloud and guide your company towards digitisation step-by-step and at our own pace, without relinquishing any control of the processes.

Interview avec Philipp Bielmann





Interview avec Philipp Bielmann

« Pour aller dans le cloud, il faut commencer par suivre la bonne stratégie IT.»


Les entreprises doivent répondre de manière agile à l’évolution du marché, aux nouvelles attentes des clients et aux nouvelles technologies, tout en développant des modèles commerciaux adéquats. Cependant, de nombreuses entreprises craignent un exercice compliqué et cher présentant une issue incertaine. Philipp Bielmann, expert cloud chez Swisscom, explique comment réussir son passage dans l’ère numérique grâce à une stratégie cloud adaptée.





Monsieur Bielmann, la globalisation et la numérisation imposent de nouveaux défis à l’économie. Pourquoi les solutions cloud sont-elles si importantes?


Philipp Bielmann: Les départements spécialisés exigent des applications capables de s’adapter à un rythme de plus en plus rapide, souvent de manière ad-hoc pour des problèmes spécifiques. Les solutions basées sur les Cloud Services offrent dans ces cas-là la plus grande flexibilité dans le domaine de l’informatique. Elles permettent surtout le développement et l’exploitation de solutions évolutives. En résumé: en ignorant le cloud, on risque de se laisser distancer dans le monde des affaires du 21e siècle.


Les solutions cloud ne peuvent pas être créées à partir de rien, mais elles doivent être intégrées à des systèmes existants. Qu’est-ce qui est important lorsque l’on s’intéresse au cloud?


Les défis sont plus faciles à maîtriser avec une procédure bien réfléchie. Le plus important pour cela n’est pas seulement de prendre en compte l’aspect purement technique, mais aussi les processus existants comme les aspects organisationnels. Swisscom a donc développé un modèle «Journey to the Cloud», qui fonctionne avec des éléments modulaires combinables et des modules de service. Il aide les entreprises à planifier et à implémenter la transformation cloud avec des services professionnels.



Brochure «Journey to the Cloud»

Trouvez votre voie dans le cloud et offrez plus de flexibilité à votre entreprise. Le livre blanc vous explique les étapes à entreprendre pour y arriver.

Dans l’ère numérique, il faut apporter de plus en rapidement des services à des clients de plus en plus exigeants. Tout cela exige la mise en place de nouveaux modèles commerciaux afin de réagir aux besoins du marché. Quel rôle joue la stratégie cloud dans tout cela?


«Time-to-Market», tel est le mot d’ordre du moment. Les technologies de ce que l’on appelle la «troisième plateforme» – services dans le cloud, mobilité, réseaux sociaux ainsi que le Big Data et l’analyse des données – constituent la base de l’innovation et de la croissance. Le cloud computing répond aux exigences d’une infrastructure IT, qui doit être échelonnable à tout moment et de façon optimale pour réagir au besoin du moment. Cela permet de créer des processus internes plus flexibles et plus efficaces, d’améliorer les relations clients et de dégager de nouvelles opportunités de chiffre d’affaires. Une stratégie cloud claire assure toutes les bases pour transférer plus rapidement et avec succès les systèmes vers le cloud.


De nombreuses entreprises reculent devant le passage à une IT basée sur le cloud. Il s’agit souvent d’une question de coût. Qui peut bien avoir les moyens de se payer ce voyage vers le futur?


Grâce à notre assessment cloud et notre expérience, nous sommes en mesure de déterminer la charge et les coûts de la migration avec compétence. Dans la transformation vers le cloud, les entreprises gagnent à miser sur les services cloud standardisés et sur un partenaire ayant l’expérience de ces projets. Il est ainsi possible de mettre en œuvre rapidement et avec le minimum de charges les projets de transformation. Les solutions individuelles élaborées sans planification sont très coûteuses en temps et en argent.



Tout le monde sait qu’un voyage se prépare bien à l’avance. Quels aspects doivent être pris en compte pour la transformation cloud?


Fondamentalement, il s’agit d’abord de définir les objectifs à atteindre. Où l’entreprise en est-elle actuellement? Quels processus peuvent être numérisés? Enfin, on analyse soigneusement l’infrastructure IT existante et on choisit un modèle de déploiement et de livraison approprié. Pour tirer le maximum des possibilités du cloud, l’infrastructure de services doit intégrer les processus et les structures organisationnelles existantes. Cela comprend également la transformation de systèmes et d’applications existants.



«Journey to the Cloud» vous guide pas-à-pas vers des solutions business innovantes basées sur le cloud



Dernier point: quels sont les aspects les plus attrayants des solutions de Swisscom?


Dans l’ensemble, Swisscom propose une combinaison exceptionnelle de solutions innovantes, une expertise complète, une relation client basée sur un partenariat, les niveaux de sécurité et de disponibilité des services proposés les plus élevés qui soient, et le tout, auprès d’un seul fournisseur. Nos clients apprécient les conseils de proximité prodigués par des experts de la branche. Il est pour eux extrêmement important que les données du cloud Swisscom soient exclusivement conservées en Suisse. Avec ce que nous appelons les «Professional Services», nous donnons à nos clients les moyens de tirer au maximum parti du cloud et de générer de nouveaux potentiels pour l’informatique et les activités commerciales.






Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser


   

Journey to the Cloud Services

À l'aide de nos experts, adaptez l'architecture de votre Data Center aux exigences des TIC modernes et tirez profit d'une combinaison avec le Cloud computing.

Vers l'offre