New business model thanks to the Cloud





Success story

From the product to the services business


dorma+kaba relies on the Enterprise Application Cloud to develop new, high-availability access solutions with greater agility and bring them to market more quickly.




The dorma+kaba Group is one of the world’s leading providers of security and access solutions. The Group has been a pioneer in digitisation for years. With exivo, Kaba has launched an Internet-based access solution for small and medium-sized enterprises in spring 2016. exivo allows access systems to be planned, configured, ordered, and installed with ease; and rights can be assigned dynamically.


The solution, which is designed for mechanical as well as electronic applications, runs on a central platform. Sales partners and end users procure the required functions as Software as a Service. Patrik Eigenmann, Head of Digital Service Delivery EMEA/DACH, explains: “exivo is revolutionising our business model: away from the product towards the services business. This calls for all those involved to have a rethink, but it also provides opportunities.” At present, faults would primarily trigger customer contact. In the future, you could take a proactive approach, have direct contact with the customer and develop new services with the customer in mind. The focus is then not on new technical features, but on the security needs of the customers. For the first time, the partners, of which there are approximately 40, can provide their own services on the platform and secure recurring sales, for example by controlling escape routes themselves or directly providing fire safety measures.


Application development in the Enterprise Application Cloud

The security services provider is developing the new solutions in the Enterprise Application Cloud. The development team can concentrate fully on developing attractive application functions on the Platform as a Service (PaaS) environment. The Swisscom Cloud Service in a private environment takes care of all the inconvenient administration and configuration tasks for the customer. Thanks to PaaS, dorma+kaba achieves the required agility and releases new features on the market every eights week.



Tailored architecture and pricing model

A decisive factor for dorma+kaba is that the Swisscom PaaS environment is tailored to its own architecture. Andreas Häberli, CTO of the dorma+kaba Group, says: “Our developers speak the same language and we were able to influence the technical framework.” Swisscom uses modern software design methods, such as the functional breakdown of software into loosely coupled cloud-native microservices that can be scaled horizontally and adjusted with ease. Furthermore, with Cloud Foundry, Swisscom uses the de facto standard for cloud-native, open-source platforms.

Download: Whitepaper

"Application Cloud – runway to the digital age"

Here you can read why choosing a PaaS environment is strategically relevant for your company.





“exivo is revolutionising our business model: away from the product towards the services business. This calls for all those involved to have a rethink, but it also provides opportunities.”


Andreas Häberli, CTO dorma+kaba Group


Swisscom’s billing model is also persuasive. Andreas Häberli: “Swisscom simply provides clear, linear scaling pricing. This is the best fit for our business model and protects us from expensive hardware investments.” Data storage in Switzerland and security were also a crucial deciding factor. Small and medium-sized enterprises could hardly achieve the security level of a continuously managed cloud with their local networks, says Andreas Häberli, addressing potential security concerns that the SME partners and customers might have.




Mutual benefits

The partnership is beneficial to both sides. While dorma+kaba can rely on state-of-the-art Swisscom technology and expertise, Swisscom benefits from its industry expertise and can expand its own cloud offering. Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud at Swisscom Enterprise Customers, says: “As a traditional Swiss company, we share the same values, have the same drive for innovation leadership and want to offer our customers simple, inspiring and secure solutions. The collaboration ensures that a value-adding ecosystem of users, developers and providers emerges on the Swisscom Cloud.”




This might interest you too


   

Enterprise Application Cloud

Scale and implement innovative applications as needed within minutes and benefit from an extremely short time-to-market.

Zum Angebot

Nouveau modèle commercial grâce au Cloud





Success story

Passer des produits aux affaires de service


dorma+kaba mise sur l'Enterprise Application Cloud pour développer de nouvelles solutions d’accès ultradisponibles avec plus de souplesse et les introduire plus rapidement sur le marché.




Le groupe dorma+kaba est un fournisseur mondial leader de solutions de sécurité et d’accès. Il est fer de lance de la numérisation depuis de nombreuses années. Au printemps 2016, Kaba a lancé exivo, une solution d’accès basée sur Internet à destination des petites et moyennes entreprises. exivo permettra de planifier simplement un système d’accès, de le configurer, le commander, le personnaliser, l’installer, mais aussi d’attribuer les droits de façon dynamique.


Cette solution, conçue aussi bien pour des applications mécaniques qu’électroniques, fonctionne sur une plate-forme centrale. Les distributeurs et les utilisateurs finaux obtiennent les fonctionnalités souhaitées sous la forme du Software as a Service. Patrik Eigenmann, Head of Digital Service Delivery EMEA/DACH, explique: «exivo révolutionne notre modèle commercial: nous nous écartons du produit pour aller vers les affaires de service. Cela implique un changement de mentalité chez toutes les parties prenantes, mais c’est aussi porteur d’opportunités.» Aujourd’hui, ce sont avant tout les dérangements qui génèrent le contact avec la clientèle. A l’avenir, on pourra agir de façon proactive, on aura une relation directe avec le client final et l’on sera à même de développer de nouveaux services sur la base du client. Cela, en se focalisant non pas sur de nouvelles fonctionnalités techniques mais sur les besoins de sécurité des clients. Pour la première fois, les quelque 40 partenaires peuvent proposer leurs propres services sur la plate-forme et s’assurer d’un chiffre d’affaires récurrent, en contrôlant eux-mêmes les issues de secours ou en proposant directement des mesures de protection incendie.


Développement d’application dans l'Enterprise Application Cloud

Le prestataire de sécurité développe les nouvelles solutions dans l'EnterpriseApplication Cloud. Au sein de l’environnement Platform as a Service (PaaS), l’équipe peut se consacrer entièrement au développement de fonctions d’applications attrayantes. Le Cloud Service de Swisscom dans un environnement privé décharge le client de toutes les tâches laborieuses d’administration et de configuration. Grâce à PaaS, dorma+kaba dispose de l’agilité requise et entend lancer de nouvelles fonctionnalités à un rythme de huit semaines .



Une architecture et un modèle tarifaire parfaitement adéquats

Dans cette collaboration, l’adéquation de l’environnement Swisscom PaaS à sa propre architecture est essentielle aux yeux de dorma+kaba. Andreas Häberli, CTO du groupe dorma+kaba, déclare: «Nos développeurs parlent le même langage et nous avons pu influencer le cadre technique.» Swisscom mise sur les méthodes modernes de conception logicielle, comme la décomposition fonctionnelle des logiciels en microservices Cloud native reliés de façon souple, qui peuvent tous être redimensionnés horizontalement et adaptés aisément. De plus, Swisscom utilise Cloud Foundry, le standard de facto des plates-formes open-source Cloud natives.


«exivo révolutionne notre modèle commercial: nous nous écartons du produit pour aller vers les affaires de service.»


Andreas Häberli, CTO groupe dorma+kaba


En termes de modèle de décompte également, Swisscom sait convaincre. Andreas Häberli: «Swisscom propose des prix aisément compréhensibles et à évolution linéaire. Cela s’accorde parfaitement avec notre modèle commercial et nous évite des investissements dans du matériel onéreux.» La conservation des données en Suisse et la sécurité ont également été des aspects décisifs. Avec leurs réseaux locaux, les petites et moyennes entreprises ne pourraient guère accéder au niveau de sécurité d’un Cloud géré de bout en bout, précise Andreas Häberli, contrant ainsi les éventuelles réserves des partenaires PME et des clients dans le domaine de la sécurité.




Un profit réciproque

Ce partenariat profite aux deux parties. Tandis que dorma+kaba peut miser sur la technologie très moderne et le savoir-faire de Swisscom, Swisscom profite de l’expertise de dorma+kaba au sein de la branche et elle peut développer sa propre offre de Cloud. Marcel Walker,  Head of Network & Cloud chez Swisscom Enterprise Customers, déclare: «Dans notre rôle d’entreprise suisse de tradition, nous partageons les mêmes valeurs, nous aspirons à être le numéro un de l’innovation et nous voulons proposer à nos clients des solutions simples, inspirantes et sûres. A travers cette collaboration, il apparait un écosystème créateur de plus-value, composé des utilisateurs, des développeurs et des prestataires sur le Cloud de Swisscom.»




Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser


Enterprise Application Cloud

Faire évoluer et lancer en quelques minutes des applications novatrices, et profiter d’un time-to-market extrêmement court.