Smart tracking service based on LoRaWAN

LoRaWAN 

Mobiliar: On the road to digitalisation with a LoRaWAN-based tracking service


Interaction between insurance companies and their customers is often limited to events such as processing claims or paying the annual premium.

Mobiliar’s innovation management team wants to go a step further, which is why it is experimenting with LoRaWAN. It has developed FindMe, an innovative LPN-based tracking service for valued items.


Text: Actility/Tanja Kammermann, Images




Tanja W., 26, rides to work every day on her light-blue single-speed bike from Pfäffikon into the centre of Zürich. The bike is a British model with a nice leather saddle that she treated herself to in March this year. It wasn’t excessively expensive, but it’s one of her absolute favourite possessions.

Recently, one Monday morning when she wanted to ride to work, the bike was gone. It had been stolen during the night. After the initial shock, Tanja opened the FindMe app, where she could see a map showing her where to find her beloved bike. It’s all made possible by the small, concealed FindMe tracker. Thanks to the combination of Bluetooth and Low Power Network, she always knows where her bike is. 


Expansion of digital services

The innovation management team at Mobiliar developed FindMe as a preventive IoT service which gives customers a genuine benefit in recovering lost property and protecting and monitoring valued possessions. Thanks to the new Low Power Network, this means positive and regular interactions with the customer base are generated.


The first smart tracking service based on LoRaWAN

In 2014, Mobiliar established the Corporate Innovation team to investigate technologies and new business opportunities. The aim was to create new services to generate added value and regular interaction with end customers. The following year, this new unit focussed on tracking and location services, such as Track & Trace to protect personal property. In implementing a lean approach based on customer feedback, the team worked hand-in-hand with Swisscom. The first idea was a community-based tracking service. However, this turned out to be impractical in terms of both technology and functionality, so the Corporate Innovation team moved towards a strictly personalised solution. Having gained this insight, Corporate Innovation then decided to develop a user-friendly solution without a monthly fee, with a long battery life, and which could be flexibly used anytime and anywhere. As business and innovation partners, Swisscom’s specially commissioned team of IoT experts worked closely together with Mobiliar – from the prototype phase to the launch. “It’s our job as an ICT provider to help our business customers create innovations. In the case of Mobiliar, we realised that the potential of LoRaWAN together with the solution from our partner Abeeway would make the perfect combination”, says Roger Kaspar, Head of Sales for Internet of Things at Swisscom. “Actility helped us roll out the Swisscom LoRaWAN network and develop our own ecosystem based on this technology. This helped us meet the requirements of the first end users, for example Mobiliar.” Mobiliar was interested in using the national LoRaWAN network, which Swisscom introduced. “We are very happy with the support we have had from our technology partners. FindMe is the result of first-class IoT technology combined with our team’s expertise in digital innovation”, explains René Meier of Mobiliar.

Mobiliar asked Abeeway, the supplier of energy-saving GPS trackers, to supply 20 micro-trackers for testing purposes, whose performance immediately led to positive feedback and dozens more orders. Shortly afterwards, the project was approved by the company’s board of management and prepared for the market readiness phase. And so, in June 2017, the FindMe tracker was launched along with a special mobile app. Since its launch, the product has been sold several hundred times. “The tracking technology means we can protect valuable items in a completely new way – and that’s exactly what attracts most people”, says René Meier of Mobiliar.

Tanja found her bike again that morning, two kilometres away. The chain had slipped off when the thief was trying to get away, but otherwise the bike was in perfect condition. Tanja’s investment of 79 francs for the tracker has already paid off.



Collective innovation



Summary

  1. Digital customer experience
    FindMe has created a new digital experience on a user-friendly platform. The service provides Mobiliar with constant customer feedback and also generates opportunities for interacting with existing customers and even with new ones. This means the Corporate Innovation team has achieved its goal: consolidation of the customer base.

  2. Opening up new business models
    Mobiliar’s Corporate Innovation team are proud of the successful product launch, which confirmed that FindMe was suited to the Swiss market, offered at the right price and equipped with appropriate functions. FindMe is the embodiment of the new business strategies that follow Mobiliar’s digitalisation. The insurance company has invested millions of Swiss francs in innovative digital business models and recruiting young talent.

  3. Exploiting the potential of LoRaWAN
    What René Meier's teams did not know at the time was that the technology partnership between Swisscom and Abeeway would develop into a genuine adventure in co-innovation. FindMe is one of the first implementations to be based on the Swisscom LoRaWAN network. Abeeway trackers have a battery life of one year and offer precise location both indoors and outdoors at a speed that far exceeds conventional GPS, thanks to the patented Low-Power GPS technology.


LPN Experience Center

The top floor of the Swisscom shop at the Stauffacher junction in Zurich (Badenerstrasse 18) is dedicated entirely to the Low Power Network. SME and enterprise business customers can register for a guided tour. Interesting live demos and insights into many fascinating potential applications await. Interested? Contact Roger Kaspar.





Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Service de suivi intelligent basé sur LoRaWAN

LoRaWAN 

La Mobilière: passage au numérique avec le service de suivi basé sur LoRaWAN


L’interaction entre les compagnies d’assurance et leurs clients se limite souvent à des événements tels que les dommages ou le paiement de la facture de prime annuelle.

La gestion de l’innovation de la Mobilière souhaite faire un pas de plus, c’est pourquoi elle expérimente LoRaWAN. FindMe est né, un service innovant basé sur LPN pour suivre les objets qui nous sont chers.


Texte: Actility/Tanja Kammermann, Illustrations




Tanja W., 26 ans, fait tous les jours le trajet de Pfäffikon à Zurich, sur son vélo bleu clair monovitesse, pour se rendre au travail. Il s’agit d’un modèle anglais avec une selle en cuir élégante qu’elle s’est offert en mars de cette année. Il n’était pas excessivement cher, mais compte parmi ses objets préférés.

Il y a peu, un lundi matin, alors qu’elle était sur le point de se rendre au travail, elle ne trouva pas son vélo: il avait disparu. Quelqu’un le lui avait volé dans la nuit. Une fois le premier choc passé, Tanja a ouvert l’appli FindMe et a pu localiser sur la carte l’emplacement de son vélo préféré. C’est grâce au petit FindMe Tracker dissimulé que cela est possible. Du fait de la combinaison du Bluetooth et du réseau Low Power, elle sait à tout moment et partout où se trouve son objet préféré.


Élargissement des services numériques

Avec FindMe, l’équipe de la gestion de l’innovation de la Mobilière a développé un service IoT préventif qui offre aux clients une valeur ajoutée dans le domaine du Lost & Found, de la protection et de la surveillance d’objets précieux à nos yeux. Grâce au nouveau réseau Low Power, des interactions positives et régulières se créent avec les clients.


Le premier service de suivi intelligent basé sur LoRaWAN

En 2014, la Mobilière a créé l’équipe «Corporate Innovation» chargée d’examiner les technologies et les nouvelles opportunités commerciales. L’objectif était de créer de nouveaux services qui génèrent de la valeur ajoutée et des interactions régulières avec les clients finaux. L’année d’après, cette nouvelle unité s’est focalisée sur les services de suivi et de localisation: «Track & Trace» pour protéger des objets personnels. L’équipe a travaillé à la mise en œuvre d’une approche lean s’appuyant sur le feedback des clients, et ce, main dans la main avec Swisscom. La première idée était de créer un service de suivi basé sur la communauté. Ce dernier s’est révélé cependant peu pratique tant sur le plan technique que sur le plan de la fonctionnalité, mais il a toutefois conduit l’équipe «Corporate Innovation» dans la direction d’une solution strictement personnalisée. Grâce à ces résultats, «Corporate Innovation» a décidé de développer une solution conviviale sans forfait mensuel, avec une longue autonomie sur batterie et utilisable partout et à tout moment en toute flexibilité. En tant que partenaire commercial et de l’innovation de la Mobilière, l’équipe d’experts IoT de Swisscom, spécialement mandatée à cette fin, a travaillé étroitement avec la Mobilière, depuis la phase du prototype jusqu’à la commercialisation. «C’est notre tâche en tant que prestataire de TIC de soutenir nos clients commerciaux dans la réalisation d’innovations. Dans le cas de la Mobilière, nous nous sommes rendu compte que le potentiel de LoRaWAN associé à la solution de notre partenaire Abeeway fournirait la combinaison parfaite», rapporte Roger Kaspar, Head of Sales Internet of Things chez Swisscom. «Actility nous a soutenu dans le déploiement du réseau LoRaWAN de Swisscom et dans celui de notre propre écosystème autour de cette technologie. Cela nous a aidés à répondre aux exigences des premiers utilisateurs finaux, telle la Mobilière.» La Mobilière était intéressée par l’utilisation du réseau national LoRaWAN que Swisscom avait introduit. «Nous sommes très satisfaits du soutien apporté par nos partenaires technologiques. FindMe est le résultat de la technologie IoT de première classe combinée au savoir-faire de nos équipes dans le domaine de l’innovation numérique», explique M. Meier de la Mobilière.

La Mobilière a commandé chez Abeeway, le fournisseur de trackers GPS à faible consommation, 20 micro-trackers à des fins de test. Le feedback fut si positif que des dizaines de commandes supplémentaires ont suivi dans la foulée. Peu de temps après, le projet a été approuvé par la direction de l’entreprise et préparé pour la phase de viabilité sur le marché. En juin 2017, le tour était joué. Le FindMe Tracker a été commercialisé avec une application mobile spéciale. Depuis son lancement, le produit s’est vendu plusieurs centaines de fois. «La technologie du suivi nous permet de protéger des objets précieux de manière entièrement nouvelle, et c’est ce qui explique en grande partie son succès», constate René Meier (la Mobilière).

Tanja a retrouvé son vélo ce lundi matin à deux kilomètres. Hormis la chaîne qui avait déraillé alors que le voleur prenait la fuite, le vélo était en parfait état. L’investissement de 79 CHF dans un tracker a valu la peine pour Tanja.



Ensemble vers l’innovation 



Résumé

  1. Expérience client numérique
    FindMe a créé une nouvelle expérience numérique sur une plateforme conviviale. Le service offre une forte valeur ajoutée aux clients et crée par ailleurs des possibilités d’interaction avec les clients existants, voire avec les nouveaux clients de la Mobilière. La petite équipe de la gestion de l’innovation a donc rempli un premier objectif, à savoir consolider le nombre de clients.

  2. Recherche de nouveaux modèles commerciaux
    La gestion de l’innovation de la Mobilière est fière du lancement réussi du produit: la demande confirme que FindMe convient au marché suisse, qu’il est proposé au bon prix et qu’il est doté de fonctions appropriées.

  3. Exploitation du potentiel de LoRaWAN
    Ce que les équipes de René Meier ignoraient: le partenariat technologique entre Swisscom et Abeeway s’est transformé en une véritable aventure de co-innovation. FindMe est l’une des premières réalisations qui s’appuient sur le réseau LoRaWAN de Swisscom. Les FindMe Trackers se distinguent par leurs multiples applications possibles, un prix fixe et une autonomie sur batterie de jusqu’à 4 mois. FindMe continue d’être optimisé. D’ici à la fin de l’année, de nouvelles fonctionnalités seront mises en œuvre afin d’adapter encore davantage l’offre aux besoins des clients.


LPN Experience Center

L’étage supérieur du Swisscom Shop situé au Zürcher Stauffacher (Badenerstrasse 18) est entièrement consacré au Low Power Network. Les clients commerciaux PME et Enterprise peuvent s’inscrire pour une présentation. Vous pourrez assister à des démonstrations en live intéressantes et y découvrir de nombreuses possibilités d’applications tout aussi intéressantes. Cela vous intéresse? Contactez Roger Kaspar.





Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème