Meta navigation

Digital innovation methods





Innovation methods

No coincidence: experience meets creativity


New ideas and their successful marketing are of central importance for telecommunications. So that they are not purely a matter of coincidence, Swisscom works closely together with the Impact Hub innovation centre in Zurich. To find out how this works, we paid a visit to a workshop.


Hugo Vuyk




Almost nowhere is the significance of Zurich’s traffic hub more tangible than here: just a few metres from the Hardbrücke train station at the edge of the station’s track field. On the roof of the Impact Hub, the trains thunder across the Aussersihler Viaduct. This does not interrupt the creativity of the visitors – they excitedly exchange ideas or sit at their laptops deep in concentration.


New business ideas put to the test

This is also the case on Thursday, 13 August. In front of the entrance at 10 a.m., manager Johanna Stephan greets nine young entrepreneurs. They have submitted start-up ideas for the Fellowship ICT4good competition, which Swisscom is supporting. Johanna explains the day’s agenda, in English – some of the participants have only been in Switzerland for a short time, others come from the French-speaking area of the country.

At the same time, inside the viaduct’s arch, eight Swisscom managers are concentrating on documents and making notes. They are participating in a workshop to strengthen their business management skills. Today, the managers’ and the young entrepreneurs’ paths are crossing. The first group will make the latter’s ideas their own in order to present them in “reverse pitching”. A win-win situation for both sides, as conference leader Michel Bachmann explains: “For this task, the managers have to switch from the usual criticism mode to solution mode, while the young entrepreneurs see their business idea through different eyes.”




1/5 Reverse pitching: 1 hour of preparation, then a 5-minute presentation of the idea for a start-up and convince the participants. After questions comes the debriefing: what did people enjoy, what else would they have liked to hear? “The important thing,” says Michel Bachmann, “is that the feedback component is not linked to the word ‘but’, otherwise you immediately devalue the praise.”

2/5 Each Swisscom manager at the Impact Hub presented the participants’ ideas for the Fellowship ICT4good in their own way. Storytelling was a popular introduction to the topic.

3/5 With her start-up idea “Movit”, Laura Mählmann wants to help people with insufficient mobility or chronic pain. Her impression of the reverse pitching: “It expands your horizons when you hear about your own idea from another person. For me, new tips for marketing the app, for example via health insurance companies, were valuable.”

4/5 With a one-dollar microscope and image digitisation, Flavio Trolese wants to provide residents in poor countries and tourists with access to initial diagnosis. “For me, it was a bit disconcerting that our ideas were presented differently to the way we had envisaged. All in all, you feel very honoured by the presentation. And the story that the manager thought up brought a new quality to my idea.”

5/5 Swisscom manager Eva Lüthi is preparing for her performance of a reverse pitch. Her review the next day: “This was an extremely valuable experience. You learn to present a new topic within a short time and make an idea your own. I found it exciting that I also felt connected to the young entrepeneur’s idea throughout the course of the day.”

1/5 Reverse pitching: 1 hour of preparation, then a 5-minute presentation of the idea for a start-up and convince the participants. After questions comes the debriefing: what did people enjoy, what else would they have liked to hear? “The important thing,” says Michel Bachmann, “is that the feedback component is not linked to the word ‘but’, otherwise you immediately devalue the praise.”

From the tool to the transfer

On the next day of the workshop for the Swisscom managers, another tool is the focus: rapid prototyping. Lego figures, piggy banks, coins, modelling clay and marshmallows cover the tables. One group is tasked with creating a blog with these items. The second group has to present how they can convince the group management to release funds for new projects. Michel Bachmann explains the method: “Rapid prototyping is a playful method of visualising projects. The focus is not on the handicrafts, but on the process.” So the main topic is not the methods themselves, but the transfer of ideas within Swisscom.


1/5 Sometimes an outsider sees only a few aspects of a company, while the rest is hidden behind a wall. A blog aims to allow a better insight into the company.

2/5 If a utensil is missing from the table, eggs from the fridge are also used and given a new purpose as “Swisscom”.

3/5 For Swisscom manager Christian Schwarzer (pink shirt), rapid prototyping is not new: “To start with, you might feel like you’re back in nursery school, but the method works surprisingly well. The important thing is the discussion among the participants.” With a twinkle in his eye, he adds: “I can’t explain how half the marshmallows managed to disappear into thin air ...”

4/5 Good methods work with really simple tools, even if you are working in the world of high-tech topics. Post-it notes, felt-tip pens or building blocks bring the Swisscom managers and other Impact Hub customers forward.

5/5 Michel Bachmann, co-founder and Creative Director of the Impact Hub in Zurich, led the way through the workshop in a relaxed manner with a determined focus on the matter at hand. The Impact Hub Zurich, part of a global network, aims to make leadership and innovation possible. Michel’s summary: “We want to give happy coincidences a bit of a helping hand.”

1/5 Sometimes an outsider sees only a few aspects of a company, while the rest is hidden behind a wall. A blog aims to allow a better insight into the company.


For the Swisscom managers on the innovation team, work with the workshop at Impact Hub Zurich, which Swisscom supports, is not over. The hard work is still to come: three months for the transfer prototyping. And the Fellowship ICT4good competition will stretch over the next twelve months, until the winner holds a final presentation in August 2016.



Swisscom drives innovation forward here


Swisscom Business Campus Zurich


What opportunities does digitisation have in store for your company? We consider this question at the Swisscom Business Campus. You can develop your future business model by working together with our experts in co-creation workshops.

More informations


Impact Hub Zurich


Over 300 entrepreneurs, innovators and social entrepreneurs use the inspiring workspaces at the very central location at Impact Hub Zurich. In addition to networking, the start-ups are offered educational events and further training programmes.

More informations


La Werkstadt Biel


On the upper floors, project teams from a variety of companies work in intensive collaboration and over long periods of time according to the philosophy and methods of human-centered design. On the ground floor, we allow companies, managers, individual enterprises, students and lateral thinkers to take their first steps in the methods of human-centered design.

More informations


Digital Lab Lausanne EPFL


A competence centre for digitisation on the EPFL campus is the result of a strategic partnership between Swisscom and EPFL. The lab is a collaborative space that connects technologies, expertise and methods with EPFL research in order to drive the digital transformation of Swisscom customers forwards.

More informations




More on the topic

Méta navigation

Méthodes d’innovation numériques





Reportage en direct de l’Impact Hub

Pas de hasard: l’expérience rencontre créativité


Les nouvelles idées et leur bonne commercialisation sont vitales. Pour qu’elles ne soient pas que le fruit du hasard, Swisscom travaille en étroite collaboration avec le centre d’innovation Impact Hub de Zurich. Une visite au cours d’un atelier permet de se rendre compte du fonctionnement.


Hugo Vuyk




L’importance de Zurich comme nœud de communication est difficilement plus palpable qu’ici: à quelques encablures de la gare de Hardbrücke, au bord des voies ferrées de la gare centrale. Au-dessus du toit d’Impact Hub, les trains passent bruyamment sur le viaduc d’Aussersihler. Mais cela n’affecte pas la créativité des visiteurs, plongés dans leurs discussions ou sur leur ordinateur portable.


Les nouvelles idées commerciales au banc d’essai

Tel fut le cas, ce jeudi 13 août. Devant l’entrée, à 10 heures, Johanna Stephan, Program Manager, accueille neuf jeunes entrepreneurs. Ils ont soumis des idées de start-up lors du concours Fellowship ICT4good, soutenu par Swisscom. Johanna explique le déroulement de la journée. En anglais, car certains viennent d’arriver en Suisse, tandis que d’autres sont de Suisse romande.

Pendant ce temps, huit Swisscom Managers se concentrent sur des dossiers en prenant des notes. Ils participent à un atelier sur le renforcement du leadership. Aujourd’hui, les chemins des cadres et des jeunes entrepreneurs se croisent. Les premiers s’approprient les idées des seconds afin de les présenter en «Reverse Pitching». Une situation gagnant-gagnant pour les deux parties, comme l’explique Michel Bachmann, responsable de la réunion: «Cette tâche oblige les dirigeants à passer du mode critique répandu au mode solution, tandis que les jeunes entrepreneurs voient leur idée d’activité sous un autre angle.»




1/5 Reverse Pitching: une heure de préparation, 5 minutes de présentation pour présenter l’idée d’une start-up et convaincre l’assemblée. Après les questions de compréhension, débriefing: qu’est-ce qui a plu à qui, qu’est-ce qu’on aurait aimé entendre. «Il est important de ne pas associer la partie feed-back au mot ‹mais›, sinon les compliments perdent de suite leur valeur», explique Michel Bachmann.

2/5 Chaque Swisscom Manager a présenté les idées des participants du Fellowship ICT4good à sa façon. Le story-telling fut un moyen apprécié d’introduire le sujet.

3/5 Avec son idée de start-up «Movit», Laura Mählmann souhaite aider les personnes qui ont une activité physique insuffisante ou qui souffrent de douleurs chroniques. Son impression du Reverse Pitching: «Cela élargit l’horizon d’entendre son idée exprimée par quelqu’un d’autre. J’ai beaucoup apprécié les idées de commercialisation de l’appli, via les caisses d’assurance-maladie par exemple.»

4/5 A l’aide d’un microscope à un dollar et de la numérisation d’image, Flavio Trolese souhaite donner accès à un premier diagnostic aux habitants des pays pauvres et aux touristes. «J’ai trouvé étrange de voir notre idée présentée d’une façon différente de la nôtre. Au final, on se sent honoré par la présentation. Et l’histoire imaginée par le Manager a donné une nouvelle qualité à l’idée.»

5/5 Eva Lüthi, cadre chez Swisscom, se prépare au Reverse Pitch. Son avis, le lendemain: «C’est une très bonne expérience. On apprend à présenter un nouveau sujet en peu de temps et à s’approprier une idée. C’était intéressant de remarquer que je suis restée attachée à l’idée du jeune entrepreneur tout au long de la journée.»

1/5 Reverse Pitching: une heure de préparation, 5 minutes de présentation pour présenter l’idée d’une start-up et convaincre l’assemblée. Après les questions de compréhension, débriefing: qu’est-ce qui a plu à qui, qu’est-ce qu’on aurait aimé entendre. «Il est important de ne pas associer la partie feed-back au mot ‹mais›, sinon les compliments perdent de suite leur valeur», explique Michel Bachmann.

De l’outil au transfert

Le lendemain, les cadres de Swisscom se frottent à un autre outil: le Rapid Prototyping. Lego, figurines, tirelires, pièces, pâte à modeler et marshmallows couvrent la table. Le premier groupe doit construire un blog à partir de ces éléments. Le deuxième, indiquer comment il peut convaincre la direction du groupe de débloquer des fonds pour de nouveaux projets. Michel Bachmann explique la méthode: «Le Rapid Prototyping est une méthode ludique de visualisation de projets. Le point central n’est pas le bricolage, mais le processus.» Le grand thème, ce ne sont donc pas les méthodes en elles-mêmes, mais le transfert des idées au sein de Swisscom.


1/5 Parfois, de l’extérieur, on ne voit que quelques aspects d’une entreprise, le reste étant caché derrière un mur. Un blog doit permettre de se faire une meilleure idée de l’entreprise.

2/5 Il manque un élément sur la table? Il suffit de sortir les œufs du réfrigérateur et de les reconvertir.

3/5 Pour Christian Schwarzer (chemise rose), Swisscom Manager, le Rapid Prototyping n’est pas nouveau: «Au début, on peut avoir l’impression de retourner à la maternelle, mais la méthode fonctionne étonnamment bien. La discussion est importante.» Avec un clignement d’œil, il ajoute: «Ce que je ne m’explique pas, c’est comment la moitié des marshmallows a disparu de notre table sans laisser de traces.»

4/5 Les bonnes méthodes fonctionnent avec des outils très simples, même quand on évolue dans l’univers du high-tech. Post-it, feutres ou briques de construction font avancer les Swisscom Managers et autres clients de l’Impact Hub.

5/5 Michel Bachmann, co-fondateur et Creative Director d’Impact Hub à Zurich, a conduit l’atelier avec décontraction et efficacité. L’Impact Hub Zurich, rattaché à un réseau mondial, veut booster le leadership et l’innovation. En d’autres termes: «Nous voulons donner un coup de pouce au hasard.»

1/5 Parfois, de l’extérieur, on ne voit que quelques aspects d’une entreprise, le reste étant caché derrière un mur. Un blog doit permettre de se faire une meilleure idée de l’entreprise.


Pour les dirigeants de Swisscom de l’équipe innovation, le travail avec l’atelier au Impact Hub Zurich, soutenu par Swisscom, n’est pas terminé. Le gros du travail est à venir: trois mois pour le Transfer Prototyping. Et le concours Fellowship ICT4good se poursuit encore sur les douze mois suivants, jusqu’à ce que le gagnant fasse sa présentation finale en août 2016.



Ici, Swisscom fait avancer l’innovation


Swisscom Business Campus Zürich


Quelles opportunités la numérisation offre-t-elle à votre entreprise? Cette question sera abordée lors du Swisscom Business Campus. Au sein de workshops de co-création, vous élaborerez avec nos experts votre modèle commercial de demain.

Plus d'informations


Impact Hub Zürich


À l’Impact Hub Zurich, plus de 300 entrepreneurs, innovateurs et entrepreneurs sociaux utilisent des salles de travail inspirantes situées en plein cœur de la ville. En plus des opportunités de networking, les start-ups bénéficient de nombreux événements instructifs et de programmes de formation.

Plus d'informations


La Werkstadt Biel


Dans les étages supérieurs, les teams de projet de différentes entreprises travaillent ensemble de manière intense et sur de longues périodes en suivant la philosophie et les méthodes du Human Centered Design. Au rez-de-chaussée, nous offrons aux entreprises, cadres, entrepreneurs, étudiants et autres esprits créatifs un aperçu des méthodes du Human Centered Design.

Plus d'informations


Digital Lab, EPFL de Lausanne


Le centre de compétences dédié à la numérisation, situé sur le campus de l’EPFL, est né d’un partenariat stratégique entre Swisscom et l’EPFL. Le Lab réunit dans un espace collaboratif un ensemble de technologies, compétences et méthodes avec la recherche de l’EPFL, afin de promouvoir la transformation numérique des clients Swisscom.

Plus d'informations




En savoir plus sur ce thèmes