Swisscom Blockchain AG

Blockchain Interview with Daniel Haudenschild

«Blockchain technology key to industry and the workplace»


Swisscom is founding Swisscom Blockchain AG to further the development of blockchain applications in and for Switzerland. Their new CEO, Daniel Haudenschild, explains what the company can do and why they are doing it. 


Text: Matthias Niklowitz, Images: © Micha Riechsteiner , 21 september 2017




What potential does blockchain technology have from your point of view? 


Blockchain technology will revolutionise business and administration as we know it in the coming years. The reason for this is that it has never been so easy to access products, services or information from anywhere in the world. The Internet and digitalisation make all this possible. The administrative processes that run in the background, such as supply chains, payment flows and contractual relationships, however, are all very conventional still, and often extremely complex, sluggish and expensive. These procedures could be simplified if the parties involved were not forced to keep their own books and a joint database existed that all of them could access. Blockchain technology, which, in simple terms, is made up of distributed databases, could take over this role. All the subscribers would save their data redundantly and it would be backed up constantly.



Daniel Haudenschild, CEO Swisscom Blockchain AG



Why is Swisscom founding Swisscom Blockchain AG? 


We consider this technology to be a key supporting and enabling technology for a variety of industries. Blockchain technology is also a key topic for Switzerland as a location, because it allows us to play a leading role worldwide as an industry and workplace environment. By founding Swisscom Blockchain AG, we can help companies tap into the potential this technology has. At the same time, we are also introducing the highest possible professional standards to the industry.

Daniel Haudenschild

Until the summer of 2017, Daniel Haudenschild worked for EY for 20 years stationed in Vienna, Copenhagen, London and Zurich. He knows well the challenges faced by various industries and dozens of companies from his consulting work. Convinced that blockchain technology is the answer to many of these challenges, he accelerated developments with a team of blockchain specialists at EY Switzerland. Under his leadership, his team hastened the acceptance of EY Bitcoin as a means of payment, with all EY employees around the world now being furnished with a Bitcoin virtual wallet.

> Contact


«It allows us to play a leading role worldwide as an industry and workplace environment.»


How large will Swisscom Blockchain AG be by the end of 2017 or 2018? 


As large as we need to be to successfully complete multidisciplinary projects. Talented people with blockchain experience are in very high demand. But if we instigate ground-breaking projects, we will be able to convince them to join Swisscom Blockchain AG.

What is more, our work does not follow a consulting model, so the size of the new business we are going to grow cannot necessarily be derived from size of the workforce.


«Talented people with blockchain experience are in very high demand.»


Which segments or sectors provide particularly high potential do you think? 


We see very high potential in the financial services sector for providers, in the pharmaceuticals sector, in processing industries and in transport and logistics.


Are there any specific projects in the pipeline already?


Yes, we are currently involved in discussing initial applications with our customers. In concrete terms, we are already working on a digital C-share as a member of the digitalswitzerland network, as well as an initial attempt to create a blockchain solution for the commercial register.


«People will also find out that they can get paid for things that they previously didn't know they could earn money from.»


How will Swisscom customers benefit from Blockchain? 


Our customers will be able access resources that belong to a company which is capable of providing them with a full spectrum of services, ranging from the initial idea to the finished solution. All this will be based on the knowledge and experience housed in a large consulting firm, combined with the technological expertise of Swisscom engineers and an infrastructural environment that is very probably unique in the market. Swisscom is also committed to developing turnkey solutions, which is something we are accustomed to doing as a customer-focussed company to meet the needs of our customers.


Will the man on the street also become a stakeholder in all this in the long term? 


Probably. Processes are becoming faster and some products and services are also becoming cheaper. People will also find out that they can get paid for things that they previously didn't know they could earn money from.






Swisscom intensifies its blockchain activities


Swisscom has been researching and testing blockchain applications since 2015, including a solution for over-the-counter trading. Swisscom is founding Swisscom Blockchain AG to further the development of blockchain applications in and for Switzerland.

> Swisscom Blockchain AG


Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Swisscom Blockchain AG

Blockchain Interview avec Daniel Haudenschild

«La technologie Blockchain est importante également sur le plan industriel et comme lieu d’implantation»


Swisscom crée la société Swisscom Blockchain AG afin de continuer à promouvoir le développement des applications Blockchain en Suisse et pour la Suisse. Son nouveau CEO, Daniel Haudenschild, explique les raisons de cette création et ce qu’elle permettra de réaliser. 


Texte: Matthias Niklowitz, images: © Micha Riechsteiner , 21 septembre 2017




Quel est, de ton point de vue, le potentiel de la technologie Blockchain? 


La technologie Blockchain va révolutionner l’économie et l’administration au cours des années à venir. En effet, il n’a jamais été aussi simple pour accéder sans contrainte de temps et de lieu aux offres depuis le monde entier, qu’il s’agisse de produits, de services ou d’informations. C’est la promesse d’Internet et de la numérisation. Les processus administratifs sous-jacents comme les chaînes d’approvisionnement, les flux de paiement ou encore les relations contractuelles restent toutefois traditionnelles, et elles sont souvent très complexes, lourdes et coûteuses. Ces processus sont susceptibles d’être simplifiés pour peu que les parties prenantes ne soient pas toutes obligées de réaliser leur propre comptabilité mais avec une base de données commune qui soit accessible à chacun. C’est un rôle que peut assumer la technologie Blockchain, qui repose, en simplifiant beaucoup, sur des bases de données distribuées. Les données sont sauvegardées et sécurisées de manière redondante auprès de tous les participants. 



Daniel Haudenschild, CEO Swisscom Blockchain AG



Pourquoi Swisscom crée-t-elle la société Swisscom Blockchain AG? 


Nous considérons que cette technologie est très importante pour le soutien qu’elle apporte et les capacités qu’elle crée pour différentes industries. Par ailleurs, la technologie Blockchain est importante également pour la place de premier choix qui revient à la Suisse, à l’échelle mondiale, sur le plan industriel et comme lieu d’implantation. La société Swisscom Blockchain AG nous permet de soutenir les entreprises souhaitant exploiter cette technologie. Autre point: nous permettons à cette industrie d’accéder aux standards professionnels les plus élevés qui soient.

Daniel Haudenschild

Daniel Haudenschild a travaillé jusqu’en été 2017 pendant 20 ans pour EY à Vienne, Copenhague, Londres et Zurich. Son activité de conseil lui a permis de connaître les défis de différents secteurs et de nombreuses entreprises. Convaincu que la technologie Blockchain est la réponse à nombre de ces défis, il l’a mise en place au près de EY Suisse au sein d’une équipe de spécialistes Blockchain. Ceux-ci ont contribué sous sa direction à faire accepter par EY les Bitcoins comme un moyen de paiement et à doter l’ensemble des collaborateurs d’un porte-monnaie virtuel en Bitcoins.

> Contact


«Par ailleurs, la technologie Blockchain est importante également pour la place de premier choix qui revient à la Suisse, à l’échelle mondiale, sur le plan industriel et comme lieu d’implantation.»


Quel poids représentera Swisscom Blockchain AG d’ici fin 2017 ou fin 2018? 


Un poids aussi important que nécessaire pour pouvoir faire face à des projets générateurs de valeur ajoutée. Les talents ayant une expérience sur le thème Blockchain sont extrêmement recherchés. Nous pourrons nous assurer de leur concours pour Swisscom Blockchain AG avec des projets pertinents.

De plus: notre travail ne suit pas le modèle du consulting. De ce fait, le nombre d’employés ne reflète pas nécessairement le poids de l’activité que nous mettons actuellement en place.


«Les talents ayant une expérience sur le thème Blockchain sont extrêmement recherchés.»


Dans quels domaines ou secteurs le potentiel est-il particulièrement élevé? 


Nous considérons qu’il y a un potentiel très important dans les services financiers, dans le secteur pharmaceutique, dans l’industrie de la transformation, dans le transport et la logistique.


Y a-t-il déjà de premiers projets concrets? 


Oui, nous discutons actuellement avec nos clients au sujet de premiers cas d’application. Concrètement, nous travaillons au sein du groupement digitalswitzerland sur une action (C-Share) numérique et sur une première tentative de solution Blockchain pour le registre du commerce.


«Nous constaterons par ailleurs que les gens paieront pour des choses dont ils n’avaient pas conscience auparavant et qu’ils pourront gagner de l’argent avec cela..»


Quel sera le bénéfice pour les clients commerciaux Swisscom?


Ces clients peuvent accéder aux ressources d’une entreprise qui peut leur offrir un éventail complet, des premières idées jusqu’à la solution clés en mains. Cette offre repose sur les connaissances et l’expérience des grandes sociétés de consulting combinées à l’expertise technologique des ingénieurs de Swisscom et à un environnement d’infrastructure unique sur le marché. Par ailleurs, Swisscom encourage le développement de solutions clés en mains – étant une entreprise orientée clientèle, nous avons l’habitude de répondre ainsi aux demandes des clients.


Ces avancées seront-elles visibles un jour (à long terme) pour les gens dans leur vie quotidienne? 


Oui, les processus seront plus rapides, et différents produits et services seront également plus avantageux. Nous constaterons par ailleurs que les gens paieront pour des choses dont ils n’avaient pas conscience auparavant et qu’ils pourront gagner de l’argent avec cela.






Swisscom met l’accent sur ses activités Blockchain


Swisscom étudie et expérimente depuis 2015 sur les cas d’application de la technologie Blockchain, comme une solution pour le négoce hors bourse. Swisscom crée la société Swisscom Blockchain AG afin de continuer à promouvoir le développement des applications Blockchain en Suisse et pour la Suisse.

> Vers Swisscom Blockchain AG





En savoir plus sur ce thème