New business models, new job profiles

New business models, new job profiles

IoT revolution in the heating sector


Cultural shift at Walter Meier (Klima Schweiz) AG: The new IoT solution for the heat pump service is changing the organisation – right down to new job profiles.


Text: Urs Binder, images: © Luca Zanier,




The first remote diagnostician at Walter Meier is Andreas Schadegg. He’s taking on the new role in addition to technical support of the service technicians. “In addition to the actual remote diagnosis of heat pumps, I him helping with further development of the IoT solution – the rollout has just begun. This combination is interesting for me, allowing me to make something new happen for the company.”

In several cases Schadegg has been able to find a fault before the customer had noticed anything. “We were all really excited, something like at the birth of child, because we were able to identify and correct a problem at an early point in time.”

The background here is that the heating and air-conditioning specialist Walter Meier is now offering the new service “smart-guard” to its heat pump customers. Optimal operation of the heat pump is ensured by systematic monitoring via the IoT platform. In addition, remote maintenance often makes it unnecessary for a service technician to visit the site.



Concentrated heat pump expertise: Andreas Schadegg in the training room of Walter Meier.


New job profiles

At Walter Meier there are two new job profiles since the IoT rollout: The remote diagnostician monitors and controls the heat pumps over the Internet, analyses data, draws conclusions and supports the service technicians. He needs extensive knowledge about heat pump technology and several years of experience in the market. “It is a kind of service technician back-office service”, remarks Thomas Grolp, Head of Intranet and Internet at Walter Meier.

The second new job profile is diagnostics computer scientist: He is familiar with networks and protocols and ensures that the connection works end-to-end, from the heat pump to the analysis platform all the way through to the service dashboard of the remote diagnostician. He also creates training documents, has numerous administrative tasks and works closely with the remote diagnosticians.

According to Thomas Grolp, three to four remote diagnostic centres are planned throughout Switzerland in the first phase. Interest in the new positions within the organisation is great.



Thomas Grolp, Head of Intranet and Internet, is one of the driving forces behind Walter Meier’s IoT project.


Organic cultural shift

Walter Meier has implemented the change primarily as a technology-driven project. However, the transformation into a digitalised company also entails organisational consequences and ultimately requires a fundamental cultural shift.

From the service technicians to logistics through to the Sales department, the new service is affecting all levels of the company. For example, the service technicians have additional tasks during installation of the heat pumps – connecting the mobile network gateway, testing the antenna installation and conducting a test run of the IoT connection take about 15 minutes. The Sales team and Marketing need training – a new product of course has to be marketed.

According to experts, an “Industry 4.0” project absolutely requires a dedicated, interdisciplinary project team that covers the technical and organisational aspects and skills in equal measure and that is supported by management in doing so. Only in this way can technology and the organisation be holistically grasped and conveyed into the new age.



Andreas Schadegg is proud of his new task as a remote diagnostician – pictured here at the company entrance in front of the corporate logo.


The managers should also remain involved throughout the entire project term. In this way they can learn to deal with the new, more complex reality together with all that is uncertain and incalculable. At Walter Meier the idea for the new business model came from top management, and the Management Board is fully behind the path of the digital transformation.

However, “It would be presumptuous to say that we have a new corporate culture already”, says Thomas Grolp, but the enthusiasm to work digitally has been awakened: “The seedcorn has germinated, and it takes a certain amount of time until it becomes a tree. A shift in culture is a long-term process.” There are many ideas for other digital services that they want to manage in an integrated system. According to Grolp, this also corresponds to the strategy of the Management Board.






Everyone pulling together


The project has been implemented by Walter Meier with the continuous support of Swisscom – from concept draft to pilot phase through to operation of the analysis platform. Since the end of 2016, “smart-guard” has been available to the customers in an initial test region; the starting signal for all of Switzerland was given in March 2017.

“Given that we are in an industry sector that moves rather slowly, we have achieved a lot in the two years since the beginning of the project”, says Thomas Grolp with pride.

The idea of making the heat pump service more efficient through an IoT solution came from Service Division Manager Stéphane Nançoz. The project team is interdisciplinary, involving the IT organisation and the Finance department, which examines costs and potential for savings, as well as the Service organisation and Process Management: “Our service operates according to established processes. From the very beginning, we wanted to integrate remote maintenance harmoniously and not have it bypass the existing processes.”

A central figure in the team is the heat pump specialist. He has a very good picture of how service technicians work and enormous knowledge of heat pump technology. “This was crucial in defining which data from heat pumps is important for remote diagnosis. He was also involved in negotiations with the manufacturers – for example, adjustments to the heat pump software were necessary.”


Our portfolio: IoT solutions for all requirements


Our industry-independent IoT experts accompany you end-to-end in idea generation, development and implementation of new applications. In this way you can improve your processes, products and services, increase customer satisfaction and stand out from your competitors.

To IoT





More on the topic

Nouveaux modèles commerciaux, nouveaux profils professionnels

Nouveaux modèles commerciaux et profils professionnels

Révolution IoT dans l’industrie de chauffage


Évolution de la culture d’entreprise chez Walter Meier (Klima Schweiz) AG: une solution IoT d'entretien pour pompe s à chaleur transforme l’organisation et les profils professionnels.


Texte: Urs Binder, Images: © Luca Zanier,




Andreas Schadegg est le premier technicien de diagnostic à distance chez Walter Meier. En plus d'exercer ce rôle, il assiste les techniciens de service. «Je suis chargé du diagnostic à distance des pompes à chaleur et je m'occupe du développement de la solution IoT dont le rollout a tout juste commencé. Je trouve cette combinaison intéressante, je peux réellement faire bouger les choses pour l'entreprise.»

À plusieurs reprises, Andreas a réussi à détecter une erreur avant que le client ne la remarque. «On avait détecté un problème prématurément et on l’avait corrigé aussitôt – on était presque aussi enthousiastes qu'à la naissance d'un bébé!»

Le contexte: le spécialiste de chauffage et de climatisation Walter Meier offre un nouveau service «smart-guard» à sa clientèle dans le secteur des pompes à chaleur. Le fonctionnement optimal des pompes st garanti par une surveillance continue depuis une plateforme IoT. Et grâce à la télémaintenance, il n’est souvent plus nécessaire d'envoyer un technicien de service sur place.



Un savoir-faire solide en matière de pompes à chaleur: Andreas Schadegg dans la salle de formation de Walter Meier.


Nouveaux profils professionnels

Depuis le lancement de l’IoT chez Walter Meier, deux nouveaux profils ont émergé: le technicien de diagnostic à distance surveille et assure la gestion des pompes à chaleur par Internet. Il analyse les données, tire des conclusions et assiste les techniciens de service. Il lui faut de bonnes connaissances dans le domaine des pompes à chaleur, ainsi que plusieurs années d’expérience sur le marché. «C’est lui qui assure la logistique des techniciens de service», déclare Thomas Grolp, responsable Intranet et Internet chez Walter Meier.

Le second profil professionnel émergent est l’informaticien de diagnostic: il connait les réseaux et les protocoles et assure la bonne liaison entre les pompes à chaleur et le tableau de bord du technicien de diagnostic à distance via la plateforme d'analyse. De plus, il crée des documents de formation, assume de nombreuses tâches administratives et travaille en étroite collaboration avec les techniciens de diagnostic à distance.

D’après Thomas Grolp, trois ou quatre postes de technicien de diagnostic à distance sont prévus pour la première phase dans toute la Suisse. De nombreux collaborateurs de l'entreprise s'y intéressent.



Thomas Grolp, responsable Intranet et Internet, fait partie des rôles moteurs du projet IoT de Walter Meier.


Évolution organique de la culture d’entreprise

Walter Meier a réalisé ce projet de manière axée sur la technologie. Cependant, la transformation de l’entreprise en une société du numérique a des conséquences sur l’organisation elle-même et nécessite un changement de culture fondamental.

Des techniciens de service au département des ventes en passant par la logistique, ce nouveau service a un impact à tous les niveaux de l’entreprise. Par exemple, les techniciens de service doivent effectuer certaines tâches supplémentaires lors de l’installation des pompes à chaleur, qui durent environ 15 minutes: raccorder la passerelle de communication mobile, vérifier l’installation des antennes et contrôler la transmission IoT. L’équipe de vente et le service marketing doivent être formés, car il s'agit d'introduire un nouveau produit.

Selon les experts, l’essentiel pour qu’un projet «Industrie 4.0» soit un succès est d'avoir une équipe de projet interdisciplinaire dédiée et soutenue par le management, afin de couvrir un maximum de compétences et d’aspects techniques/organisationnels. C’est le seul moyen pour couvrir complètement les technologies et l’organisation afin de les transférer dans une nouvelle ère.



Andreas Schadegg est fier de son nouveau poste de technicien de diagnostic à distance. Le voici devant le logo à l’entrée de l’entreprise.


Les cadres doivent rester impliqués tout au long du déroulement du projet. Ils apprennent ainsi à gérer cette réalité nouvelle et complexe, avec toutes ses aléas et incertitudes. Chez Walter Meier, l’idée même d’un nouveau modèle commercial était venue du top management, et la direction s’est pleinement engagée sur la voie de la transformation numérique.

Par contre: «Il serait présomptueux de prétendre que nous avons une nouvelle culture d'entreprise», déclare Thomas Grolp. Mais l’enthousiasme vis-à-vis du numérique a été réveillé: «L’idée a germé dans les consciences, mais de là à ce que la petite graine devienne un arbre, cela va prendre un certain temps. Le changement de culture d'entreprise est un processus long.» Il y a un grand nombre d’idées de prestations numériques que l’on pourrait gérer au sein d’un système global. Et selon Thomas Grolp, cela correspond à la stratégie de la direction.






L’union fait la force


C’est avec le soutien inconditionnel de Swisscom que Walter Meier a pu donner vie à ce projet – de sa conception au lancement de la plateforme analytique, en passant par toutes les phases pilotes. Depuis fin 2016, «smart-guard» est offert aux clients dans une région d'essai. Le lancement dans l’ensemble de la Suisse a eu lieu en mars 2017.

«Le secteur industriel dans lequel nous évoluons est plutôt lent. Nous pouvons donc nous féliciter d'avoir accompli beaucoup de choses depuis le début du projet il y a deux ans», déclare fièrement Thomas Grolp.

Quant à l’idée de gérer de manière plus efficace l'entretien des pompes à chaleur à l'aide d'une solution IoT, celle-ci est venue du responsable de la division opérationnelle, Stéphane Nançoz. L'équipe de projet est interdisciplinaire. En plus du service IT et du département financier qui surveille à la loupe les dépenses et le potentiel d’économie, elle comprend l’organisation de service et la gestion des processus: «Notre service s'effectue selon des processus définis. Dès le départ, nous voulions que la télémaintenance soit intégrée au lieu d'être traitée séparément des processus existants.»

L’une des figures centrales de l’équipe est le spécialiste des pompes à chaleur. Il connait parfaitement les méthodes de travail des techniciens de service et dispose d’un grand savoir-faire dans cette technologie. «Ses connaissances étaient essentielles pour déterminer quelles données étaient importantes pour le diagnostic à distance des pompes. Il a même été impliqué dans les négociations avec les fabricants. Par exemple, il fallait adapter le logiciel des pompes à chaleur.»


Solutions IoT pour tous les besoins


Nos experts IoT indépendants du secteur vous accompagnent d’un bout à l’autre dans votre recherche d’idées, le développement et l'implémentation de nouvelles applications. Voilà comment améliorer vos processus, vos produits et vos services, augmenter la satisfaction de vos clients et vous démarquer de vos concurrents.

Vers IoT





En savoir plus sur ce thème