Data Driven Business

Smaller risks, bigger business

With SAP Predictive Analytics, Swisscom has not only reduced payment defaults of its mobile payment solution “Direct Carrier Billing” by 50 per cent. Thanks to a much better understanding of the customers and their needs, the offering is now also be continuously optimised for both the users and the e-shops.

3 may 2019

Data is the oil for digitalisation. And just like energy raw material, the information generated in companies via the many different channels must first be "refined" before it can be turned into fuel for the business. Swisscom has processed the reporting information from its mobile payment service with the help of predictive analytics and thus turned it into a value-added generator: The division of subscribers into target groups was improved significantly, the range of services and contracts offered to customers was individualised, marketing success increased through more targeted campaigns and - last but not least - the number of unpaid invoices was reduced by 50 per cent.

One of many service innovations

The online payment service Carrier Billing is one of many innovations that Swisscom is using to set itself apart from its competitors and open up new market areas. Swisscom customers can use it to pay for apps, games, music, movies or tickets in the largest online stores directly via their mobile subscription. A credit card or PayPal account are not needed.

 

The extremely simple payment method is popular among customers and e-shops alike. Users can pay for their purchases in a very convenient but also very secure way. They also have complete transparency over all purchases at all times via their monthly statements. The shops benefit from a modern payment solution with a minimal amount of integration work, and they also have fewer sales cancellations than with the much more complicated credit card transactions. What's more, they have the opportunity to conduct targeted campaigns via Carrier Billing, which can help to bring clientèle with money to spend into the store.

Payment defaults cost money – rigid rules too

The markets in which Swisscom is active are extremely dynamic. Even successful services such as Carrier Billing must therefore be further developed and optimised on an ongoing basis. One of the challenges facing the service is known to all companies that sell services and goods on account: a small proportion of the customers do not pay their invoices.

 

Traditionally, rule-based procedures are used to minimise payment defaults. They use the previous payment behaviour and information from specialised external service providers as a basis for making decisions. In doing so, they force customers into a rigid framework that is based solely on historic data. They are virtually unable to respond to current changes in the behaviour of individual customers and to new trends in certain customer segments.

 

What's more, the information from external service providers comes in the form of a black box, over which a company has no control and, furthermore, which does not take into account the peculiarities of its own business. This makes the matter all the more problematic, because not only unpaid invoices cost money, but also misjudgements by the system that prevent a purchase and thus sales.

Better results with predictive methods

Swisscom has now taken the risks of non-payers into its own hands and, based on SAP Predictive Analytics, has developed a system that enables accurate predictions of payment defaults based on current business activity. In doing so, Swisscom was able to build on the existing SAP reporting system and its data and also use the capabilities of the existing SAP HANA database. The daily payment default forecast was implemented in a business warehouse.

 

At the heart of the system is a model that dynamically adapts to the latest developments. It continuously learns from mistakes as well as from the right decisions, weights the various influencing factors and thus helps to understand the predictions much better. The model, which is automatically optimised, can also discover unexpected correlations that remain hidden even from the experts. To do this, the software has to interpret thousands of records. The results are then translated into easily understandable models that business managers can work with.

Swisscom specialists and business in close cooperation

The system was implemented in close cooperation between data and SAP specialists from Swisscom and business partners. First of all, a pilot was developed in a two-stage procedure. This also brought to light data quality problems such as duplicates, missing information or incompatibilities, representing another valuable result of predictive analytics projects.

 

In addition to the strong reduction in payment defaults, the specific results of the solution already achieved so far also include various improvements in the area of the offer. For example, shops can offer targeted personalised discounts for cross-selling, or Swisscom can adjust the individual spending limit of the customer via Carrier Billing as required. And this is just the beginning, because the algorithm and experience can be used in future to develop new offers or acquire new customers, and they are now also available to the other business units for similar applications.

Act now!

The digital transformation of the Swiss economy is in full swing. Around half of all companies expect significant changes. The success model of the future is Data Driven Business, and this means that a company records all information that arises in the course of its business activities or could be relevant to the company in any way, internally or externally, stores it securely, processes it carefully, prepares it quickly and analyses it comprehensively.

 

As partners, we support, empower and accompany our customers on their journey to becoming a Data Driven Business. Universal access and fast transportation, flexible storage, global processing by employees, rational processing by business applications, intelligent processing by AI, blockchain and mixed reality – Swisscom Enterprise Customers offers comprehensive and secure solutions.

 

> More on Data Driven Business

Download


Analytics and data are the key to measurably better solutions.



Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Whitepaper

Trends 2019: Data Driven Business, the stepping stone for success

A behind the scenes look at digital visions and the presentation of specific data-centred business solutions for Swiss companies. Insights from experts at PAC and Swisscom.



Whitepaper

IoT access technologies

This white paper highlights the characteristics of the key access technologies used to connect devices and reveals which technology is appropriate for which purpose.

Méta navigation

Predictive Analytics

Data Driven Business

Des risques moindres pour de meilleures affaires

Avec SAP Predictive Analytics, Swisscom a non seulement réduit de 50% les défauts de paiement de sa solution de paiement mobile «Direct Carrier Billing», mais aussi optimisé en continu son offre pour les utilisateurs et les e-shops grâce à la meilleure compréhension des clients et de leurs besoins.

3 mai 2019

Les données sont le pétrole de la numérisation. Et à l’instar de la matière première énergétique, les informations que les entreprises reçoivent sur les différents canaux doivent être tout d’abord «raffinées» avant de se transformer en carburant pour l’activité. A l’aide de Predictive Analytics, Swisscom a préparé les informations du reporting issues de son service de paiement mobile et en a fait un générateur de valeur ajoutée: la répartition des abonnés en groupes cibles a été nettement améliorée, l’offre de service et de contrat personnalisée pour les clients, le succès du marketing accru par des campagne plus ciblées et - dernier point, mais non des moindres - le nombre de factures impayées réduit de 50%.

L’une des nombreuses innovations en termes de service

Le service de paiement en ligne Carrier Billing est l’une des nombreuses innovations qui permettent à Swisscom de se démarquer de ses concurrents et d’exploiter de nouveaux segments de marché. Avec ce service, les clients de Swisscom peuvent payer les applications, les jeux, la musique ou les billets dans les grandes boutiques en ligne directement avec leur abonnement de téléphonie mobile. Plus besoin de carte de crédit ni de PayPal.

 

Cette méthode de paiement des plus simples est autant appréciée par les clients que par les e-shops. Les utilisateurs peuvent payer leurs achats en tout confort et en toute sécurité. Tous les achats sont par ailleurs indiqués clairement sur leur décompte mensuel. Les shops bénéficient d’une solution de paiement moderne, avec des charges d’intégration minimales, et constatent moins d’interruptions de transaction qu’avec les cartes de crédit, processus nettement plus compliqué. Ils ont en outre la possibilité de mener des campagnes ciblées via Carrier Billing qui amènent une clientèle aisée au store.

Les défauts de paiement sont coûteux – tout comme les règles rigides

Les marchés sur lesquels Swisscom agit sont extrêmement dynamiques. Aussi faut-il continuer de développer et d’optimiser en continu les services fructueux tels que Carrier Billing. Les entreprises qui vendent des services et des marchandises sur facture connaissent toutes l’un des défis liés à ce service: une petite part des clients ne paient pas la facture.

 

Des procédures réglementées sont en général appliquées pour minimiser les défauts de paiement. Comme base de décision, elles utilisent le comportement de paiement antérieur des clients et les informations fournies par des prestataires de services externes spécialisés. Elles contraignent ainsi les clients dans un cadre rigide et exclusivement historique. Elles ne peuvent pratiquement pas réagir aux modifications du comportement du client ni aux nouvelles tendances dans certains segments de clients.

 

À cela s’ajoute le fait que les informations des services externes représentent une boîte noire sur laquelle une entreprise n’a aucune influence et qui ne tient pas compte des particularités de la propre activité. Ceci est d’autant plus problématique que non seulement les factures impayées coûtent de l’argent, mais que les erreurs de jugement du système empêchent un achat et donc des ventes.

Des méthodes prédictives pour de meilleurs résultats

Swisscom a ainsi pris en mains les risques des non-payants et développé un système basé sur SAP Predictive Analytics qui permet de prédire avec précision les défauts de paiement à l’aide de l’activité actuelle. Swisscom a pu s’appuyer sur le système de reporting SAP existant et ses données, ainsi que sur les capacités de la base de données SAP HANA existante. La prévision journalière des défauts de crédit a été intégrée dans un Business Warehouse.

 

Le cœur du système est un modèle qui s’adapte de manière dynamique à l’actualité. Il apprend en permanence des erreurs tout comme des bonnes décisions, évalue les différents facteurs d’influence et permet ainsi de mieux comprendre les prédictions. Le modèle qui s’optimise automatiquement peut également reconnaître des cohérences inattendues que même les experts ne peuvent pas identifier. Pour ce faire, le logiciel interprète des milliers de jeux de données. Les résultats sont ensuite traduits dans des modèles compréhensibles avec lesquels les responsables Business peuvent travailler.

Les spécialistes de Swisscom et Business en étroite collaboration

Le système a été déployé en étroite collaboration avec les spécialistes de données et SAP de Swisscom et les partenaires du Business. Un test pilote a tout d’abord été élaboré dans le cadre d’une procédure à deux niveaux. Il a entre autres permis de révéler des problèmes de qualité de données, comme par ex. des doublons, des défauts ou des incohérences – c’est également un résultat précieux des projets Predictive Analytics.

 

En plus de la forte réduction des défauts de paiement, différentes améliorations dans le domaine de l’offre font également partie des résultats concrets déjà obtenus avec cette solution. Les shops peuvent par exemple proposer de manière ciblée des rabais personnalisés pour le cross-selling, ou encore Swisscom peut adapter si nécessaire individuellement la limite de dépenses du client via Carrier Billing. Ce n’est que le début, car l’algorithme et les expériences pourront être utilisées pour développer de nouvelles offres ou acquérir de nouveaux clients et ils sont d’ores et déjà à la disposition des autres unités d’affaires pour des cas d’applications similaires.

Agissez maintenant!

La transformation numérique de l’économie suisse bat son plein. Environ la moitié des entreprises s’attend à des changements sérieux. Le modèle de réussite de demain est Data Driven Business, ce qui signifie qu’une société saisit en interne ou se procure de manière externe, enregistre en toute sécurité, traite avec soin, édite rapidement et analyse en détail l’ensemble des informations qui sont utilisées dans le cadre de l’activité de l’entreprise ou qui peuvent être pertinentes pour l’entreprise sous quelque forme que ce soit.

 

En tant que partenaire, nous soutenons, formons et accompagnons nos clients sur le chemin qui les mène au «Data Driven Business». Accès universel et transport rapide, enregistrement flexible, modification globale par les collaborateurs, traitement rationnel par les applications métier, préparation intelligente par AI, Blockchain et Mixed Reality - Swisscom Enterprise Customers offre des solutions complètes et sûres.

 

> En savoir plus sur Data Driven Business

Télécharger


«L’analytique et les données sont déterminantes pour la création de solutions optimisées de manière mesurable.»



Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting



Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème

Whitepaper

Tendances 2019: Data Driven Business, le tremplin vers le succès

Nous jetons un coup d’œil, avec les experts du bureau PAC, dans les coulisses de la digitalisation et présentons des solutions concrètes menant à une activité centrée sur les données pour les entreprises suisses.



Whitepaper

Technologies d’accès IoT

Ce livre blanc illustre les caractéristiques des technologies d’accès les plus importantes pour la connexion d’appareils et indique quelle technologie est prédestinée à quelle utilisation.