Martin Kaufmann, CEO of Walter Meier AG, about IoT

Martin Kaufmann, CEO of Walter Meier AG, about IoT

“Failure is part of the plan”


Walter Meier AG is using IoT technology for a revolutionary business model. CEO Martin Kaufmann about the challenges on the road to digitalisation and why this path requires passion.


Text: Hansjörg Honegger, Images: Luca Zanier




Walter Meier AG is capitalising on the IoT, connecting new heating systems to the internet as a standard practice and utilising artificial intelligence when troubleshooting. Do you feel like a pioneer?


No. Start-ups are pioneers. We’re not even first movers. But what is true: We have already implemented a specific digitalisation project. This is in stark contrast to others who incessantly talk about digitalisation, but aren’t actually doing much. And we’re proud of what we’ve done.



But you are a bit of a pioneer in your industry, aren't you?


Heating apps have been around for a while now. But we don’t want to sell an app to our customers, but rather offer a useful service. Our customers won’t need to put their time and money into their heating system any more, because we’ll have cleared these problems out of the way for them – in the best case, without the user of the heating system even noticing.



Was customer convenience an important driver?


Definitely. It’s not about digitalisation or technology for them. We need to succeed in generating customer benefits.





IoT modules for all requirements

Walter Meier AG uses components of the modular IoT toolkit provided by Swisscom. Our IoT experts, who are not affiliated with a particular industry, will provide you with support through all stages of finding ideas, development and the implementation of new applications. This allows you to improve your processes, products and services, to boost customer satisfaction and to distinguish yourself from the competition.

> To the IoT toolkit


"It’s not about digitalisation or technology for them. We need to succeed in generating customer benefits."



You need a lot of passion to realise projects like this.


Absolutely. In our case, it’s our service manager who stands behind the project with endless passion.



But you also need a healthy dose of passion among the Management Board and even the Board of Directors as well.

Why is that?


Anyone who approaches a project like this with a business plan or a straightforward ROI calculation won’t end up doing anything, because the risk is too great. We ended up knocking our project on the head about three times, because the technical basis had changed altogether.



But the ROI is, at the end of the day, actually right.


No, for this project in particular it was so bad that we wouldn't have been able to pursue it at all. But I am more than convinced that we are betting on the future. Our Smart-Guard project in combination with the Swisscom IoT Cloud offers a trailblazing service.



Martin Kaufmann, CEO Walter Meier AG



Will the project remain a lonely beacon of hope, or will digitalisation send shockwaves through the company?


The Smart-Guard project has unleashed something. We are looking into the topic of digitalisation very intensely at present. Especially at the moment, because a fusion with the Tobler company is pending. We are currently working on a range of different issues: How can products and services be improved, or be accomplished, by means of digitalisation? And: What is the optimal way to digitalise business processes?



Was there a particular event that demonstrated the importance of digitalisation to you?


We were the first company in Switzerland to switch from paper reports to electronic reports back in 2001. That was revolutionary.



So it’s true: A pioneering company.


(Laughs) Yes, it’s true. We were really proud of it at the time. We processed 150,000 reports by hand, with several changes of media format. The pads needed for the reports alone cost us CHF 100,000 per year. Today, however, the challenge we are facing is transforming the technical possibilities into real services for our customers.



Why are you struggling with it?


We love complicated technology! But when it comes to products and services, at the end of the day it’s primarily a matter of straightforward, comprehensible offers. We now address these challenges in interdisciplinary teams that develop solutions, and it doesn’t matter if what they come up with flops every now and then.



So there’s no stigma to failure?


No, not at all! Development proceeds quickly, and you need to be adaptable. It's normal for things to not work out all the time.



That also happened during the Smart-Guard project. Were there moments in which you were tempted to bury the project altogether?


No, you need to show tenacity and make sure you remain flexible. We had a hard time with the idea of “never look back”, because we didn’t learn to work that way. But things are done differently today.



Martin Kaufmann is being interviewed


Engineers are used to working in clear-cut projects with specific milestones. That’s something that has become difficult in this environment.


Yes, it really isn’t that easy. But there are times in which you need to show you’ve got the courage to throw these principles overboard. Like you yourself said: Sometimes you need to be a pioneer.



The question is: Where to invest and where not to invest? How do you find the information that allows you to make the right decisions?


From a technical perspective, I rely heavily on my experts. My head of IT, or the service manager, for example, are extremely well informed. My responsibility is to realise new opportunities in a business case. There are so many terrific technical solutions out there, but only a fraction of them allow you to effectively earn money over the long term.



Your new Smart-Guard solution makes completely new job profiles necessary. Where will you find the corresponding experts?


We need experts in remote diagnosis, whom we train ourselves. They need to be heat pump specialists. Furthermore, we need people who monitor the IT landscape. For this, we’re following what young IT experts are doing. The third vocational group is proving difficult. We offer predictive maintenance and to do this, we need data analysts with expert knowledge of heat pumps. The fight for these specialists will be a fierce one.



"We are a Swiss company and we want to work with Swiss partners, that's simply who we are."




The new solution is being implemented by Swisscom. Of all the companies you could have worked with, what made you think of this service provider?


Swisscom has been our partner for years and years. We implemented the report solution that we talked about beforehand together with Swisscom. We are a Swiss company and we want to work with Swiss partners, that's simply who we are. Of course, the solution also made an impression on us too.



What’s next on the digitalisation trajectory?


We have formulated our ambitions clearly: We want to promote the digitalisation of our industry. The problem today is that no-one has energy efficiency in buildings under control. We will be solving this problem with Smart-Guard. I am convinced: If all heating systems in Switzerland could be optimally set, you could save 20 percent of the energy they use.



Martin Kaufmann is being interviewed


Digitalisation in the home isn’t just an issue for heating companies. Do you work together with other providers?


One of the biggest challenges when it comes to building technology are the lack of standards. There’s an initiative organised by well-known Swiss companies such as V-Zug, ABB, Schindler and Walter Meier, who are also involved in tackling this problem.



You talk about smart homes, which even includes entertainment electronics. Are you toying with the idea of using the heating system for central building automation?


Well, that might be thinking things too far. But yes: Every residential building has a heating system, and it seems obvious to use it for the building automation.







IoT modules for all requirements


Walter Meier AG uses components of the modular IoT toolkit provided by Swisscom. Our IoT experts, who are not affiliated with a particular industry, will provide you with support through all stages of finding ideas, development and the implementation of new applications. This allows you to improve your processes, products and services, to boost customer satisfaction and to distinguish yourself from the competition.

 

> To the IoT toolkit




More on the topic

Martin Kaufmann, CEO Walter Meier AG, à propos de l’IoT

Martin Kaufmann, CEO Walter Meier AG, à propos de l’IoT

«L’échec fait partie du plan»


La société Walter Meier AG utilise la technologie IoT pour un modèle commercial entièrement nouveau. Son CEO Martin Kaufmann s’exprime sur les défis à relever pour la numérisation et explique en quoi la passion est indispensable.


Texte: Hansjörg Honegger, Illustrations: Luca Zanier




La société Walter Meier AG mise sur l’IoT en raccordant par défaut à Internet les nouveaux chauffages et en utilisant l’intelligence artificielle pour la recherche des erreurs. Avez-vous le sentiment d’être un pionnier?


Non. Les startups sont des pionniers. Nous ne sommes même pas des first mover. Même s’il est vrai que nous avons mis en place un projet de numérisation. Contrairement aux autres, qui ne cessent d’évoquer la numérisation mais ne font pas grand-chose. Nous en sommes fiers.



Vous étiez sans doute déjà un pionnier dans votre secteur.


Les applications de chauffage existent depuis quelque temps déjà. Nous ne souhaitions pas vendre d’applications à nos clients mais offrir un service utile. Nos clients n’ont plus à se préoccuper des contraintes inhérentes à leur chauffage, nous leur évitons ces problèmes – dans le meilleur des cas sans que l’utilisateur du chauffage en soit conscient.



Le confort pour l’utilisateur était-il une motivation importante?


Précisément. Il ne s’agit pas seulement de numérisation ou de technologie. Nous devons parvenir à créer des avantages pour le client.





Composants IoT pour toutes les exigences

Walter Meier AG utilise des éléments empruntés aux kits IoT modulaires de Swisscom. Nos experts IoT indépendants du secteur vous accompagnent d’un bout à l’autre dans votre recherche d’idées, le développement et l’implémentation de nouvelles applications. Voilà comment améliorer vos processus, vos produits et vos services, augmenter la satisfaction de vos clients et vous démarquer de vos concurrents.

> Accéder au kit IoT


«Il ne s’agit pas seulement de numérisation ou de technologie.»



La mise en œuvre d’un projet comme celui-ci demande beaucoup de passion.


Absolument. Dans notre cas, il s’agit de notre directeur du service, qui soutient le projet avec énormément de passion.



Mais la passion doit aussi être présente dans la direction et le Conseil d’administration.

Pourquoi?


Si l’on aborde un tel projet avec un Business plan ou un simple calcul de retour sur investissement, on finit par ne rien faire car l’incertitude est trop importante. Nous avons dû remettre à plat notre projet trois fois chaque fois que le contexte technique était bouleversé.



Certes, le retour sur investissement est un point important.


Non, sur ce projet, il est mauvais à un tel point que nous n’avons pas été autorisés à le faire. Malgré cela, je suis entièrement convaincu que nous avons là un projet d’avenir. Notre projet Smart-Guard associé à Swisscom IoT Cloud assure un service modèle.



Martin Kaufmann, CEO Walter Meier AG



Le projet reste-t-il un cas isolé ou donne-t-il des impulsions pour encourager la numérisation, au sein de l’entreprise?


Le projet Smart-Guard a déclenché quelque chose. Nous nous consacrons à présent à fond à la numérisation. Tout particulièrement maintenant, car nous sommes sur le point de fusionner avec la société Tobler. Nous travaillons actuellement sur différentes problématiques: comment améliorer ou créer des produits et des services grâce à la numérisation? Autre point: comment numériser les processus commerciaux de manière optimale?



Y a-t-il un événement particulier qui vous a montré l’importance de la numérisation?


En 2001, nous étions la première entreprise suisse à passer du rapport papier au rapport électronique. C’était un changement radical.



En fin de compte, vous êtes une entreprise pionnière.


(il rit) Oui, c’est vrai, c’est quelque chose dont nous avons été très fiers. Nous traitions plus de 150 000 rapports à la main, avec plusieurs ruptures de médias. Rien que les blocs pour les rapports nous coûtaient 100 000 francs annuels. Aujourd’hui, le défi est de transformer les possibilités techniques en véritables services pour nos clients.



Pourquoi avez-vous autant de mal?


Nous aimons la technique quand elle est complexe! Mais au final, ce qui compte pour les produits et les services, c’est d’avoir des offres simples et compréhensibles. Nous réalisons à présent ces opérations dans des équipes interdisciplinaires développant des solutions mais qui peuvent aussi aboutir à un échec.



L’échec, n’est pas une tare?


Non, absolument pas. Le développement est rapide, il faut savoir s’adapter. Il n’y a rien de plus normal qu’il y ait parfois des loupés.

Cela s’est déjà produit avec le projet Smart-Guard.



Vous est-il arrivé de vous dire que le projet aurait dû être abandonné?


Non, il faut faire preuve de ténacité et rester très flexible. Nous ne sommes pas trop dans la logique «Never look back», car ce n’est pas ce que nous avons appris. Mais on ne peut pas faire autrement de nos jours.



Martin Kaufmann dans l'interview


Les ingénieurs ont l’habitude de travailler sur des projets bien cadrés avec des étapes claires. C’est devenu difficile dans ce domaine.


Oui, ce n’est pas simple en effet. Mais il faut parfois avoir le courage de se détourner de ces principes. Vous le disiez vous-même: il faut avoir un esprit pionnier.



La question est la suivante: où investir et où éviter de le faire? Comment vous informez-vous afin de pouvoir prendre les bonnes décisions?


Sur le plan technique, je fais énormément confiance à mes experts. Mon responsable informatique ou le directeur du service par exemple sont parfaitement informés. Mon rôle est d’appliquer les nouvelles possibilités dans un Business Case. Il y a de nombreuses solutions techniques géniales, mais celles qui permettent effectivement de gagner de l’argent sur le long terme sont très rares.



Votre nouvelle solution Smart-Guard fait appel à des profils professionnels complètement nouveaux. Comment trouvez-vous les spécialistes correspondants?


Nous avons besoin de télédiagnosticiens que nous formons en interne. Il faut un spécialiste des pompes à chaleur. Nous avons également besoin de personnes pour superviser les environnements informatiques. Cela concerne les jeunes spécialistes en TI. Le troisième groupe professionnel est plutôt difficile. Nous offrons un service de Maintenance prédictive et nous avons besoin d’analystes de données avec une spécialisation dans les pompes à chaleur. Ces spécialistes seront très demandés.



«Nous sommes une entreprise suisse et nous voulons travailler avec des partenaires suisses.»




La nouvelle solution sera mise en place par Swisscom. Comment avez-vous trouvé ce fournisseur?


Swisscom est notre partenaire depuis longtemps. Nous réalisons dès à présent avec Swisscom la solution du rapport que nous avions évoquée. Nous sommes une entreprise suisse et nous voulons travailler avec des partenaires suisses. Cela fait partie de notre philosophie. Bien entendu, nous avons été convaincus par la solution.



Comment envisagez-vous la suite de la numérisation?


Nous avons formulé des ambitions claires: nous voulons faire avancer la numérisation dans notre secteur. Le problème, aujourd’hui, est que personne ne maîtrise l’efficacité énergétique dans les bâtiments. C’est ce problème que nous résolvons avec Smart-Guard. Ma conviction est que, si tous les chauffages en Suisse étaient réglés de manière optimale, on pourrait économiser 20% d’énergie.



La numérisation dans le bâtiment est un sujet mais pas que pour les entreprises de chauffage. Y a-t-il une collaboration avec les autres fournisseurs?


L’un des grands défis dans la technique des bâtiments réside dans l’absence de standards. Il y a une initiative d’entreprises suisses de renom telles que V-Zug, ABB, Schindler et Walter Meier, qui s’intéresse à ce problème.



Vous parlez des Smart Homes, ainsi que de l’électronique de divertissement. Êtes-vous intéressés par les centrales domotiques pour le chauffage?


Je pense que ce sont des objectifs à long terme. Ce qui est clair, c’est qu’il y a un chauffage dans chaque maison. Il paraît évident de l’utiliser pour les applications domotiques.







Composants IoT pour toutes les exigences


Walter Meier AG utilise des éléments empruntés aux kits IoT modulaires de Swisscom. Nos experts IoT indépendants du secteur vous accompagnent d’un bout à l’autre dans votre recherche d’idées, le développement et l’implémentation de nouvelles applications. Voilà comment améliorer vos processus, vos produits et vos services, augmenter la satisfaction de vos clients et vous démarquer de vos concurrents.

 

> Accéder au kit IoT




En savoir plus sur ce thème