Transa CEO Daniel Humbel on digital leadership

Interview with Daniel Humbel, Transa CEO

“We have an organic hierarchy”


The Transa CEO compares his company organisation to nature. He sees employee development as the only really disruptive element in specialist retail and has completely new and successful approaches.


Text: Hansjörg Honegger, images: © Daniel Brühlmann, 30




In your opinion, how is the leadership role of a CEO changing in the era of digitisation?


For me, CEO is not a job, it’s a state of mind. We need to rethink the idea of hierarchy. The traditional power hierarchy is too rigid and slow, and it doesn’t give employees any room to manoeuvre. We want to work with people who are changing and developing.


Give us a specific example of how this is implemented at Transa.


For example, I don’t put together work groups based on hierarchy, but only on content and topic.

Daniel Humbel

The 40-year-old CEO of Transa has led a varied life. After primary school in Lebanon and secondary school in Lenzburg, he completed the Diplome de Commerce in Neuenburg. Then came the years of travelling around the world: gardener, cook, sailing instructor, secretariat and foreign office employee. He founded a number of companies and has been CEO of Transa since 2011.


People’s skills are what counts?


Yes, but also ambition, desire, interest and how the people interact.


In that case, you need to know your employees very well. Is this even possible at a company the size of Transa?


Does a structure like this also need middle management?



Wants to work with people who are changing and developing: Daniel Humbel.


Does a structure like this also need middle management?


Sure, it’s just a question of how the structure is experienced. It’s certainly possible for someone to have a hierarchical position but work in a different role for the most part. It’s a balancing act between old structures and new ideas about roles that one has to perform in one’s head.


This recipe doesn’t work in every company.


No, certainly not. But at Transa many people understand organically how processes are meant to operate.


Why is this the case?


Many of our employees spend a lot of time outdoors and experience natural processes at first hand. In this way they develop an intuitive understanding of organic hierarchy and natural organisation. With every “into the wild” experience, we learn how we are a part of something big and how our own body is continuously interacting with these existential processes. The body itself exhibits the most complex form of organisation in existence, and everything works in a wondrous way all by itself with incredible efficiency. We benefit directly from this resource of consciousness.


“For me, CEO is not a job, it’s a state of mind.”


So you are drawing an analogy between a company with employees with their own interests, abilities and motivations, and a body that functions without a hierarchy?


In nature, and therefore also within our bodies, there is a highly differentiated hierarchy. Or would you voluntarily assign the job that your liver does to your heart? Of course not, because you trust the competence centre that is your liver 100%, and you would never give your heart the task of “managing” the liver. With this example, one understands the radical difference between a power hierarchy and an organic hierarchy (or a hierarchy of skills or predispositions). Translated into the language of company organisation, this means that you cannot expect the same things from employees who are ambitious and want to pursue a career, for example, as from those for whom this is of no importance. These are interests that even run contrary to each other. In other words, a person who struggles somewhat with responsibility must be provided with a setting that matches their character and predispositions.


And how is this achieved?


That’s an interesting question. How do I activate this existential, natural organisational intelligence at my company? The answer is: nurture attentiveness, curiosity and fascination both for the natural processes outside the body and for the inner processes. The prerequisite for this is that as the head of the company I have to deal with my personal processes seriously as well as with those of my employees. Then everything works all by itself as if by magic, and incredibly efficiently (grinning). But one thing is clear. Companies have to become much faster and more agile. The market doesn’t wait for the people with power in the power hierarchy to react to changes.



In the age of digitisation, conventional hierarchies and leadership principles are not agile enough for Humbel.


What changes do you mean? New products or changes in purchasing habits?


The whole environment is changing very rapidly. Customers are changing, employees, all of society.


Triggered by digitisation.


Certainly, digitisation is changing everything – how people act and think, how they interact. Every single person is affected by this. This is a huge opportunity for an employer to go through this learning processes together with the employees, because people have to learn to deal with digitisation, in both the private and the public sphere.


“In nature, and therefore also within our bodies, there is a highly differentiated hierarchy. Or would you voluntarily assign the job that your liver does to your heart?”


You have high aspirations. Do your employees understand what you expect?


I haven’t announced my philosophy and stipulated that this is how everything has to work right now. This is a process of change that has to grow organically. To cite an example from nature: I can’t just tell a tree that it suddenly has to grow with different soil and half as much water. You have to experiment with how much soil you can change and still keep the tree healthy.


To stay with this image, have there been moments when you realised that you changed too much soil?


Yes, there have been moments when I was unsure about whether my approach was working. But there are very many people working with us who have the passion and ambition to make the Transa project work. Should things not be going so well, that’s when you find out whether this dedication is sustainable.


And if it isn’t?


Then it may be necessary to assign that person a new role or develop the processes further. We have to discuss this together.


But then the boss decides what happens?


Not necessarily. Usually the person recognises that something is wrong and tries to solve the problem. It’s an organic, interactive process.


Can a new role also mean at a different company?


When you’re making a long journey along your own personal route, there’ll be parts of that journey that you make with different fellow travellers. Basically, development must be possible – otherwise you have a blockade and nobody moves forward. Only when someone is able to develop their own story do they get into a flow that enables their potential to be realised. This is my big opportunity as an employer, to make this development possible for my employees.


“In nature, and therefore also within our bodies, there is a highly differentiated hierarchy. Or would you voluntarily assign the job that your liver does to your heart?”


How did you arrive at this leadership approach? Not from books, presumably.


No (laughing). Every person is made up of stories. Between the ages of 20 and 30, I gave myself the space to break with conventions and try out different ways of living. I lived in monasteries in India for a year, crossed the Atlantic as a sailor, pottered around the Caribbean as a cook and worked as a bike courier in Zurich. I usually had little or no money and no fixed goal. Travel was a great teacher, but also pantomime and jazz school.



“As a society, the way we work will have to be more organic, holacratic and integral.”


You run a large company and ultimately the numbers have to be right. Can you still be yourself?


If I can’t be authentic and be myself, then I’ve strayed from my personal path and lost my way. My work at Transa is a part of my journey through life, and as long as I can develop myself on this path and my talents and potential can be realised, I am motivated and productive and everybody wins. Transa is not a charitable organisation, so the bottom line must be right. But we need employees who can make their way in a complex, fast-moving world. Henry Ford once said: “Every time I ask for a pair of hands, they come with a brain attached ...” He didn’t want employees to think for themselves. Today we urgently need such people, and as I already said, to enable these people to realise their potential.


In other words, this is an economic advantage?


I would go even further – it’s the only possible way. In the age of digitisation, conventional hierarchies and leadership principles are not agile enough.


For employees in specialist retail, digitisation is primarily a threat. Online trade, self-scanning, whatever: jobs are disappearing. How can you prevent your employees from becoming defensive?


Our focus is on the needs of the employees: What do they need in order to work with passion and enthusiasm? For example, we have very flexible working-hour models. Each of our employees should be able to manage their life in the way that best suits them. If they want to go on an adventure holiday or get further education, they should be able to. We even have different pay models – more money or more holidays.


But this means a lot of work for HR.


Yes, of course. But we want to enable our employees to structure their own lives individually. This is actually the only really disruptive element in specialist retail that I can see: People want to develop themselves, and as an employer we have the opportunity to support this. This is where success comes from, not vice versa. Only in this way can specialist retail change in the long term.


Digitisation is not a threat?


No, quite the opposite. It’s a huge opportunity – for society too. Our existing system relies on power and control from above. With digitisation, this construct will no longer work. As a society, the way we work will have to be more organic, holacratic and integral.


Many people also see digitisation as a disadvantage. Being available at all times, for example. Do you switch your phone off when you’re out in the forest?


I find this question just as strange as the discussion about work-life balance. I don’t want to patronise my employees and prescribe when they have to turn off their phone and their mailbox. I’d much rather talk about what they need in order to deal with this maturely and autonomously, and to develop themselves. Then they can act and make decisions in the same way in their private and professional projects. I don’t tell anybody which route they are allowed to climb, because its much more effective just to support them. In this way, they can find out what they are capable of. This is fun, and you make a connection.




Transa

Transa Backpacking AG is a leading provider of outdoor equipment in Switzerland. Founded over 40 years ago as Trans-Sahara, the company now has branches in six German-speaking cities in Switzerland, with around 300 employees.





More on the topic

Le CEO de Transa explique le «digital leadership»

Interview avec Daniel Humbel, CEO de Transa

«Nous vivons une hiérarchie organique»


Pour l’organisation de son entreprise, le CEO établit des parallèles avec la nature et considère le développement des collaborateurs comme le seul élément disruptif dans le commerce de détail. Il suit des concepts révolutionnaires avec succès.


Texte: Hansjörg Honegger, Images: © Daniel Brühlmann, 30 juin




À votre avis, comment la fonction d’encadrement d’un CEO change-t-elle à l’ère de la numérisation?


Pour moi, la fonction de CEO n’est pas un métier, mais une attitude. Il faut repenser notre compréhension de la hiérarchie. Trop rigide et trop lente, la hiérarchie de pouvoir traditionnelle ne laisse pas assez de liberté aux collaborateurs. Nous voulons travailler avec des individus qui bougent et se développent.


Pouvez-vous nous donner un exemple concret de votre approche chez Transa?


Par exemple, je ne forme pas les groupes de travail de manière hiérarchique, mais uniquement en fonction du contenu et des sujets en question.

Daniel Humbel

Le CEO quadragénaire de Transa a eu un parcours très riche. Après l’école primaire passée au Liban et l'école secondaire à Lenzbourg, il obtient un Diplôme de Commerce à Neuchâtel. Lors des années de voyage qui suivent, il parcourt la moitié de la terre: en tant que jardinier, cuisinier, moniteur de voile, employé de secrétariat et collaborateur du service extérieur. Il fonde plusieurs entreprises pour finalement devenir CEO de Transa en 2011.


Par exemple, je ne forme pas les groupes de travail de manière hiérarchique, mais uniquement en fonction du contenu et des sujets en question.


Oui, mais aussi l’ambition, l’envie, l’intérêt et le mode d’interaction entre les membres de l'équipe.


Mais pour cela, il faut très bien connaître les collaborateurs. Est-ce encore possible dans une entreprise de la taille de Transa?


Je connais très bien la cinquantaine de collaborateurs qui travaillent dans l’administration. Je suis au courant de leurs situations personnelles et des histoires qui les lient les uns aux autres – et également à Transa.



Il souhaite travailler avec des individus qui bougent et se développent: Daniel Humbel.


Dans une telle structure, y a-t-il encore besoin de cadres moyens?


Bien sûr, il faut simplement savoir comment vivre la structure. Par exemple, il est tout à fait possible que quelqu’un ait une fonction hiérarchique mais assume en grande partie un autre rôle. Intellectuellement, il s’agit de faire un grand écart entre les anciennes structures et la nouvelle compréhension des rôles.


Cette approche ne fonctionne pas dans toutes les entreprises.


Non, sûrement pas. Mais chez Transa, de nombreux collaborateurs ont une compréhension organique du déroulement des processus.


Pour quelle raison?


Nos collaborateurs et collaboratrices passent beaucoup de temps en plein air, dans la nature. Ils peuvent donc éprouver physiquement les processus naturels. Cela leur permet de développer une compréhension intuitive de la hiérarchie organique et de l’organisation naturelle. À chaque fois qu’on vit une expérience «Plein air, pleinement» (le slogan Transa), on se rend compte qu’on fait partie de l’ensemble et que le propre corps interagit constamment avec ces processus existentiels. Le corps lui-même est la forme d’organisation la plus complexe possible. Comme par miracle, tout y fonctionne automatiquement et de manière incroyablement efficace. Nous profitons directement de cette ressource de conscience.


«Pour moi, la fonction de CEO n’est pas un métier, mais une attitude.»


Vous faites une analogie entre une entreprise composée de collaborateurs aux compétences, motivations et intérêts individuels et un corps qui fonctionne sans hiérarchie?


Dans la nature, et donc aussi dans notre corps, on retrouve une hiérarchie extrêmement différencée. Transmettriez-vous au cœur la tâche réservée au foie? Bien sûr que non, car vous faites confiance à 100 pour cent au centre de compétences qu’est le foie et ne confieriez jamais au cœur la tâche «d’encadrer» le foie. Cet exemple explique la différence radicale entre la hiérarchie de pouvoir et la hiérarchie organique (c’est-à-dire la hiérarchie des compétences ou des talents). Traduit dans la langue de l’organisation d’entreprise, cela signifie par exemple que vous ne pouvez pas attendre la même chose de collaborateurs ambitieux qui souhaitent faire carrière et d’autres pour lesquels cela n’a aucune importance. Ce sont des intérêts qui vont peut-être même à contre-courant. En d'autres termes: Une personne qui a du mal à prendre des responsabilités doit être placée dans un environnement qui correspond à son caractère ou à ses talents.


Et comment peut-on y arriver?


C’est là toute la question. Cette intelligence d’organisation existentielle et naturelle, comment puis-je l’activer dans mon entreprise? La réponse: cultivez l’attention, la curiosité, la fascination pour les processus naturels qui ont lieu à l’extérieur du corps, mais aussi pour les processus intérieurs. La condition à cette fin est d’aborder, en tant que chef, ses propres processus personnels, mais aussi ceux des collaborateurs de manière sérieuse. À partir de là, comme par miracle, tout marche automatiquement et de manière incroyablement efficace (il sourit). Mais une chose est sûre: Les entreprises doivent devenir beaucoup plus agiles et rapides. Le marché n’attend pas que les puissants dans la hiérarchie de pouvoir réagissent aux changements.



Selon Humbel, à l’ère de la numérisation, les hiérarchies et principes de gestion traditionnels ne sont plus assez agiles.


De quels changements parlez-vous? De nouveaux produits ou de nouvelles habitudes d’achat?


L’environnement entier change à grande vitesse. Les clients, les collaborateurs, la société, tout change.


En raison de la numérisation.


Bien sûr, la numérisation transforme tout: le comportement et la pensée des gens, tout comme leur manière d’interagir. Cela concerne tout simplement chacun d’entre nous. Vivre ces processus d’apprentissage ensemble avec les collaborateurs est une chance énorme pour un employeur, car les individus doivent apprendre à s’adapter à la numérisation, aussi bien dans le domaine privé que professionnel.


«Dans la nature, et donc aussi dans notre corps, on retrouve une hiérarchie extrêmement différenciée. Transmettriez-vous au cœur la tâche réservée au foie?»


Vous avez des exigences élevées. Vos collaborateurs comprennent-ils vos attentes?


Je n’ai pas annoncé ma philosophie en demandant que chacun fonctionne ainsi dès à présent. Il s’agit d’un processus qui doit se développer de manière naturelle. Pour nommer un autre exemple issu de la nature: Je ne peux pas demander d’un jour à l’autre à un arbre de pousser dans une autre terre et avec moitié d’eau. Il faut faire des tests et voir combien de terre peut être remplacée pour que l'arbre continue de se sentir bien.


Pour poursuivre cette image: y a-t-il eu des moments où vous vous êtes rendu compte que vous aviez remplacé trop de terre?


Oui, il y a en effet eu des moments où je n’étais pas sûr que mon approche fonctionne. Mais nous avons un grand nombre de collaborateurs qui manifestent la passion et l’ambition de faire avancer le projet Transa. Dans des phases où les choses iront un peu moins bien, nous verrons si cette volonté perdure.


Et si ce n’est pas le cas?


Il faudra peut-être attribuer un nouveau rôle à la personne concernée ou perfectionner les processus. Cela doit être clarifié dans le cadre d’un dialogue.


C’est alors le chef qui décide des mesures à prendre?


Pas forcément. Dans la plupart des cas, la personne se rend compte elle-même que quelque chose ne va pas et essaie de résoudre le problème. C'est un processus organique et interactif.


Un nouveau rôle peut vouloir dire aussi: changer d'entreprise?


Lorsque l'on avance, au cours d’un long voyage, sur son chemin personnel, il y a des étapes que l'on franchit avec d’autres compagnons de route. D’une manière générale, on doit pouvoir se développer, sinon on crée des étranglements qui bloquent les deux côtés. Un individu n'entre dans un flux qui lui permet de développer son potentiel que s’il peut développer sa propre histoire. C’est la grande chance de l’employeur: permettre aux collaborateurs ce développement.


«Chaque individu veut se développer, et en tant qu’employeur, nous avons la chance de soutenir les personnes dans cette démarche. C’est ça qui crée le succès, et non l'inverse.»


Comment êtes-vous arrivé à cette approche d’encadrement? Certainement pas en lisant des livres?


Non (il rit). Chaque individu se bâtit sur des histoires. Quand j’avais entre 20 et 30 ans, j’ai pris la liberté de sortir du moule et d’essayer différents modes de vie. J’ai vécu un an dans des monastères en Inde, j’ai traversé l'Atlantique en tant que matelot, j’ai parcouru les Caraïbes en tant que cuisinier et j’ai été coursier à vélo à Zurich. La plupart du temps, j’avais peu ou pas d’argent et aucune destination fixe. Mon maître d'apprentissage était le voyage, mais aussi l’école de pantomime et l’école de jazz.



«Notre société devra fonctionner de manière plus organique, holocratique et intégrale.»


Vous dirigez une grande entreprise. En fin de compte, les chiffres doivent tomber juste. Arrivez-vous encore à être vous-même?


Si je ne peux pas être moi-même et authentique, cela signifie que j’ai quitté mon itinéraire personnel. Mon travail chez Transa est comme une étape de voyage de ma vie. Aussi longtemps que je pourrai évoluer sur ce chemin en développant mes talents et potentiels, je serai motivé et performant, et toutes les parties prenantes en profiteront. Transa n’est pas une association caritative. À la fin, le compte doit être bon. Mais nous avons besoin de collaborateurs qui savent se repérer dans un monde complexe et rapide. Henry Ford a déclaré un jour: «À chaque fois que je demande pour une paire de mains, ils viennent avec un cerveau attaché...». Il ne voulait pas d’employés qui pensent par eux-mêmes. Aujourd’hui, nous avons un besoin urgent de ce type de personnes et, comme je l’ai déjà mentionné, nous devons surtout les rendre capables d’exploiter leur potentiel.


Pour être clair, il s’agit d’un avantage économique?


Je dirais même plus: c’est le seul chemin possible. À l’ère de la numérisation, les hiérarchies et principes de gestion traditionnels ne sont plus assez agiles.


Pour les collaborateurs du commerce de détail, la numérisation représente en première ligne une menace. Commerce en ligne, selfscanning, peu importe: des postes sont supprimés. Comment faites-vous pour éviter que vos collaborateurs développent une attitude défensive?


Nous nous concentrons sur les besoins des collaborateurs. De quoi ont-ils besoin pour travailler avec passion et enthousiasme? Par exemple, nous avons des modèles d'horaires de travail très flexibles. Chacun de nos collaborateurs doit pouvoir vivre sa vie comme il veut. Si quelqu’un souhaite partir en voyage d’aventure ou suivre un apprentissage, il doit pouvoir le faire. Nous avons même différents modèles salariaux: plus d’argent ou plus de vacances.


Mais cela crée beaucoup de travail pour le service RH.


Oui, bien sûr. Mais nous voulons permettre à nos collaborateurs de suivre leurs projets de vie individuels. En fait, c’est le seul élément disruptif que je peux reconnaître dans la vente au détail: chaque individu veut se développer, et en tant qu’employeur, nous avons la chance de soutenir les personnes dans cette démarche. C’est ça qui crée le succès, et non l'inverse. Et c’est le seul moyen de transformer le commerce de détail de manière durable.


La numérisation n’est pas une menace?


Non, au contraire. C’est une chance immense – pour la société aussi. Jusqu’à présent, notre système fonctionnait par le biais d’un pouvoir et d’un contrôle imposés. Avec la numérisation, ce concept deviendra obsolète. Notre société devra fonctionner de manière plus organique, holocratique et intégrale.


Beaucoup de personnes perçoivent la numérisation comme un inconvénient. La disponibilité permanente, par exemple. Est-ce que vous désactivez votre portable quand vous êtes en randonnée?


Cette question me semble tout aussi bizarre que la discussion sur le juste équilibre entre travail et vie privée. Je ne veux pas mettre les collaborateurs sous tutelle et leur imposer d’activer leur portable ou leur messagerie à tel ou tel moment. Je préfère discuter de ce qu’ils ont besoin pour développer une attitude mature et indépendante à ce sujet afin de pouvoir évoluer personnellement. C’est ce développement qui leur permettra d’agir et de décider dans leurs projets personnels ou professionnels. De même, je n’imposerai jamais un certain trajet à un partenaire d’escalade. Il est beaucoup plus efficace de le soutenir dans le choix de son propre trajet. Il a donc la possibilité de découvrir ce dont il se sent capable. C'est même une approche amusante qui crée des liens.




Transa

Transa Backpacking AG est l'un des principaux fournisseurs de matériel de plein air en Suisse. Fondée il y a environ 40 ans sous le nom Trans-Sahara, l’entreprise a aujourd’hui des filiales dans six villes suisses allemandes, employant environ 300 collaborateurs.





En savoir plus sur ce thème