Meta navigation

Big data





Big data

Understanding the present and shaping the future


The first cities in Switzerland have started using anonymised mobile network data to allow them to evaluate infrastructure projects better. The Future Cities Laboratory at ETH in Singapore is going a step further. It is using big data and a simulation of the entire urban population to optimise planning for complete infrastructure networks and neighbourhoods.


Daniel Meierhans




How should limited financial resources be used best? All major Swiss cities are facing the same challenges. The agglomerations continue growing. Density is increasing, new urban districts are being built, and an influx of inhabitants is transforming existing neighbourhoods. The transport infrastructure of the future needs to satisfy more than just the new mobility requirements. To ensure that the growth occurring at present remains sustainable, the quality of life enjoyed by inhabitants also needs to be improved in the increasingly compact city centres. For Kay Axhausen, the head of the Institute of Transport Planning and Systems at ETH Zurich, one thing is perfectly clear: “Infrastructure that won’t be fully utilised for another 40 years, as was the case in Switzerland in the 1950s when, among other things, the motorway network was planned with foresight, are no longer realistic today.”


"In order to be able to decide which of these cost-intensive projects make sense, those responsible at administrative level – and, in the final instance, the voters – depend on reliable data."


Data as a basis for investments worth billions

Specifically, there are projects in Zurich, Basel, Geneva and Lausanne currently being discussed, or on which work has already started, which amount to several dozen billion Francs in volume. Along with expanding the pedestrian and cycling networks, these also include new tram and commuter rail lines, the construction of new bypass roads, tunnels under the inner cities or the crossings above and below lake inlets. In order to be able to decide which of these cost-intensive projects makes sense, and how they are best implemented, those responsible at administrative level – and, in the final instance, the voters – need reliable data.


Mapping the dynamics of urban life

The city of Geneva recognised the potential that big data offers for urban planning projects like this back in 2011. The pilot project “Ville Vivant” convincingly demonstrates how realistically dynamic data from mobile phones are able to map the dynamics of urban life. The technology has meanwhile progressed even further. The first Swiss cities, such as Pully, are using the mobile network for fact-based transport planning. The main advantages of mobile phone movement profiles: They can create a practically complete map of mobility, data collection is comparably inexpensive, and the data are available with a minimum of delay.


Inaccurate surveys

In the past, the cities relied on surveys such as the federal Mobility and Transport microcensus. Surveys like this can only be conducted every few years due to their cost, and there are, by principle, inherent uncertainties associated with them. Both the questionnaire and random sampling have limitations. They also fail to reveal non-standard patterns of behaviour and new questions arising over the course of the analyses remain unanswered. Add to this that people, by nature, tend to give the most positive impression of themselves possible in response to the questions.


The uncertainties reflected in today’s transport models are correspondingly large. Anonymised and aggregated mobile phone data from the mobile network, in contrast, provide a practically exhaustive, and an up-to-date, representation of reality. “Comparing the previous models with our data reveals striking differences,” as David Watrin, who is responsible for security and intelligence products at Swisscom, determines.


Simulating each and every inhabitant

Just how great the potential offered by data analyses like this is, not only for transport, but for all areas of urban planning, is shown by the work pursued at the Future Cities Laboratory at ETH Singapore. In 2016, the city again leads the global smart cities ranking according to Juniper Research.


Transport engineers, architects, sociologists, energy experts, designers, development planners and modelling experts are all working together in the Future Cities Lab on solutions for the city of the future. To do so, they utilise sophisticated models such as MATSim Singapore (Multi-Agent Transport Simulation) in which the specialists working around Axhausen register overall mobility in the Asian city state.


Each of more than 5 million inhabitants is mapped in this simulation as a software agent with individual characteristics. These are sourced from the statistics available covering places of residence, workplaces and population structures, from the results of surveys, and from the user profiles of the mobile smartcards used in Singapore to automatically bill passengers travelling by public transport. “The many interdependencies between the different elements, when examined individually, quickly become overcomplicated. Using models allows us to understand them,” as Axhausen explains. 


Factoring in behaviour

The fact that the ETH researchers are not only simulating the entire mobility system in the MATSim model, but also the behaviour of the population for the first time, allows them to obtain important additional information. Among other things, they can estimate how passengers will react to a change of services. In Singapore, the researchers used the computer to simulate how a very long bus route, on which there are constant deviations from the timetable, can best be split up. By splitting the route into two sub-sections, not only the timetable could be stabilised. The improved service also allowed the line – as predicted in the models – to regain passengers that it had lost beforehand.


Functional living environments

Public and private transport that functions as smoothly as possible is not the only decisive criterion for an attractive city. Equally important are attractive pedestrian zones in which the neighbourhood can come to life. In this case, simulations can also make a decisive contribution to ensuring plans result in living environments that function in practice. How can overpasses and underpasses for roads best be integrated into a pedestrian network? Which type of streetscapes act as barriers to pedestrians? When are shops or streetside cafés necessary to attract passers-by? How should a park in the surrounding area be laid out so that it provides a space for people to rest and relax? The reactions of the virtual inhabitants show which variations within the overall interplay of the full urban ecosystem are highly promising, and which are unlikely to function.


Intervening at short notice...

At the moment, Axhausen sees the greatest benefits of big data in the opportunity to intervene in events at short notice: “You can identify changes immediately and therefore react promptly.” Specifically, the dynamic data from mobile phones allow traffic jams, or problematic crowd situations, among other things, to be identified at an early point in time and be predicted within a certain period of time. In Swiss cities, the way traffic lights are controlled can be improved, for example, as Watrin explains: “Our data don’t just register the main thoroughfares, as today's fixed count sensors do, but rather all roads. This makes the image of the traffic situation much more complete.”


...and make continual improvements

The fact that big data makes changes visible with immediate effect also gives urban planners another, highly effective instrument to use: In a similar way to how Google and other major website operators are today gradually improving the usability of new functionalities by means of real-time analysis, urban planners will be able to continually optimise infrastructure networks and neighbourhoods in future. The mobile network data quickly reveal which measures achieve the desired effect and which don’t, and also make changes in the use of urban environments visible much more quickly. Within the framework of the national research program “Big Data” (NFP 75), ETH is launching a corresponding project that should reveal how the data can also be used for long-term planning.


Improved transport planning in Pully

The community of Pully in the canton of Vaud is utilising aggregated mobile network data for transport planning. Four major traffic routes lead through the city – Pully is severely affected by transit traffic. In order to improve the traffic situation, to make accessing the city centre easier and to improve the quality of life for its approximately 16,000 inhabitants, Pully has joined forces with Swisscom to implement a project that functions as a role model. Working together on its development yielded a planning method for improved infrastructure and transport planning that makes flows of traffic clearly visible in their entirety on the basis of the mobile network data. For future applications, Swisscom is also working in close cooperation with higher education institutes in order to develop further simulation models.








More on the topic

Big data: Comprendre le présent et créer l’avenir





Big data

Comprendre le présent et créer l’avenir


En Suisse, les premières villes commencent à utiliser les données mobiles anonymisées pour évaluer les projets d’infrastructure. Le Future Cities Laboratory de l’EPF de Singapour va encore plus loin. Il utilise le big data et une simulation de la totalité de la population de la ville pour optimiser la planification de réseaux d’infrastructure et de quartiers entiers.


Daniel Meierhans




Comment utiliser au mieux les ressources financières limitées? Toutes les grandes villes suisses font face aux mêmes défis. Les agglomérations croissent. La densité augmente, de nouveaux quartiers apparaissent, l’afflux d’habitants transforme les quartiers existants. Les futures infrastructures de transport ne peuvent pas se contenter de répondre aux nouveaux besoins en mobilité. Afin que la croissance actuelle se maintienne de manière durable, il est également nécessaire d’améliorer la qualité de vie des habitants de centres-villes de plus en plus compacts. Pour Kay Axhausen, directeur de l’Institut de la planification du trafic et des systèmes de transport de l’EPF de Zurich, une chose est sûre: «Des infrastructures n’arrivant à saturation qu’au bout de 40 ans, comme les infrastructures surdimensionnées développées en Suisse dans les années 1950, notamment avec le réseau autoroutier, ne sont aujourd’hui plus envisageables.»


«Pour décider lesquels de ces projets coûteux sont judicieux, les responsables administratifs – et les citoyens – ont besoin de données fiables.»


Une base de données pour des investissements se chiffrant à plusieurs milliards

Concrètement, des projets de plusieurs dizaines de milliards de francs font actuellement l’objet de discussions ou sont déjà en cours dans les villes de Zurich, Bâle, Genève et Lausanne. Ils concernent, en plus du développement des réseaux piétonnier et cyclable, la réalisation de nouvelles lignes de tramway et de train de banlieue, d’autoroutes de contournement, de tunnels sous les centres-villes ou d’ouvrages d’art aériens ou souterrains de franchissement des lacs. Pour décider lesquels de ces projets coûteux sont judicieux et comment ils doivent être mis en œuvre, les responsables administratifs – et, en dernière instance, les citoyens – ont besoin de données fiables.


Représenter la dynamique de la vie urbaine

La ville de Genève a pris conscience du potentiel du big data pour les projets d’urbanisme de ce type dès 2011. Le projet pilote «Ville Vivante» montre de manière éloquente avec quel réalisme les données de déplacement des téléphones mobiles permettent de représenter la dynamique de la vie urbaine. Et la technologie a encore progressé depuis. Les premières villes suisses, comme par exemple Pully, utilisent le réseau mobile pour planifier le trafic sur la base de données factuelles. Les principaux avantages des profils de déplacement des téléphones portables: Ils fournissent une représentation pratiquement exhaustive de la mobilité, sont relativement peu coûteux à relever et sont disponibles extrêmement rapidement.


Enquêtes erronées

Jusqu’à présent, les villes devaient s’appuyer sur des enquêtes telles que le microrecensement «Mobilité et transports» de la Confédération. Ces enquêtes ne peuvent être réalisées qu’à plusieurs années d’intervalle, en raison de leur coût, et comportent fondamentalement une part d’incertitude. L’éventail de questions ainsi que l’échantillon sont limités. Les modèles de comportement les plus rares sont ignorés, et les nouvelles questions soulevées en cours d’analyse restent sans réponse. À cela s’ajoute le fait que les sondés ont naturellement tendance à fournir des réponses donnant une image positive d’eux-mêmes.


Tout cela se reflète dans l’important degré d’incertitude des modèles de trafic actuels. En revanche, les données anonymisées et agrégées fournies par le réseau mobile offrent une représentation pratiquement complète et actuelle de la réalité. «La comparaison de nos données avec les modèles précédents révèle des différences marquantes», ainsi que le constate David Watrin, responsable des produits de sécurité et de renseignement chez Swisscom.


Simuler chaque habitant

L’importance du potentiel des analyses de données de ce type, non seulement pour le trafic, mais pour tous les domaines de l’urbanisme, est montrée par les travaux du Future Cities Laboratory de l’EPF de Singapour. D’après Juniper Research, la ville figure à nouveau à la première place du classement mondial Smart Cities en 2016.


Au sein du Future Cities Lab, des ingénieurs de la circulation, des architectes, des sociologues, des experts en énergie, des designers, des spécialistes de l’aménagement du territoire et de la modélisation, développent ensemble des solutions pour la ville du futur. Ils utilisent pour cela des modèles sophistiqués comme MATSim Singapore (Multi-Agent Transport Simulation), dans lequel les spécialistes de Kay Axhausen saisissent toutes les données de mobilité de la cité-état asiatique.


Chacun des 5 millions d’habitants est représenté dans cette simulation sous la forme d’un agent logiciel doté de caractéristiques individuelles. Celles-ci proviennent des données statistiques disponibles sur les domiciles, les postes de travail et les structures sociales, de résultats d’enquêtes et des profils d’utilisateurs des Smartcards utilisées à Singapour pour facturer automatiquement l’utilisation des transports en commun. «Prises individuellement, les nombreuses interactions entre les différents éléments deviennent vite illisibles. Les modèles nous permettent de les comprendre», explique Axhausen.


Prendre en compte le comportement

En simulant dans le modèle MATSim non seulement l’ensemble du système de transport, mais également, pour la première fois, le comportement des habitants, les chercheurs de l’EPF obtiennent des informations supplémentaires essentielles. Ils peuvent notamment estimer comment les voyageurs réagiront à un changement de l’offre. À Singapour, les chercheurs ont par exemple effectué une simulation sur ordinateur pour déterminer comment une ligne de bus très longue, sur laquelle les horaires étaient systématiquement décalés, devait être scindée. Cette scission en deux lignes n’a pas seulement permis de stabiliser les horaires de bus. Grâce à l’amélioration du service, la ligne a également – comme la modélisation l’avait prédit – regagné les voyageurs qu’elle avait perdus.


Environnements fonctionnels

Une ville n’a pas uniquement besoin de transports publics et privés fonctionnels pour être attractive. La présence des zones piétonnes agréables, permettant le développement d’une vie de quartier, est au moins aussi importante. Ici aussi, les simulations peuvent constituer des outils décisifs pour garantir que les projets aboutissent à des environnements qui fonctionnent en pratique. Comment intégrer au mieux les passages routiers aériens ou souterrains dans un réseau piétonnier? Quels types de rues agissent comme des barrières à piétons? Quels sont les magasins ou les cafés nécessaires pour attirer les passants? Comment intégrer un parc dans son environnement pour qu’il puisse être utilisé comme îlot de tranquillité? Les réactions des habitants virtuels montrent, par l’interaction au sein de l’écosystème de la ville, quelles sont les variantes prometteuses et celles qui ont peu de chances de fonctionner.


Gérer à court terme…

Actuellement, Kay Axhausen voit le principal avantage du big data dans la gestion à court terme: «Il permet de détecter les évolutions immédiatement et donc de réagir rapidement.» Concrètement, les données de déplacement des téléphones portables permettent notamment de détecter rapidement les embouteillages ou les attroupements problématiques, et de les prévoir dans un certain délai. Dans les villes suisses, la gestion des feux de signalisation peut par exemple être améliorée, comme l’explique David Watrin: «Nos données ne comprennent pas seulement les capteurs de comptage actuellement installés dans les axes principaux, mais toutes les rues. L’image du trafic obtenue est donc beaucoup plus complète.»


…et optimiser en continu

Le fait que le big data rend les changements immédiatement visibles donne aux urbanistes un puissant levier supplémentaire: De la même manière que Google et les grands propriétaires de site améliorent étape par étape la convivialité des nouvelles fonctionnalités à l’aide d’analyses en temps réel, les urbanistes pourront à l’avenir optimiser en continu les réseaux d’infrastructure et les quartiers. Les données mobiles permettent d’identifier les mesures qui permettent ou ne permettent pas d’obtenir les effets escomptés, et les changements dans l’utilisation de l’environnement urbain apparaissent beaucoup plus rapidement. Dans le cadre du programme national de recherche «Big data» (PNR 75), l’EPF lance un projet ayant pour but de montrer comment également utiliser les données pour la planification à long terme.


Meilleure planification du trafic à Pully

La commune vaudoise de Pully mise sur la planification du trafic sur la base de données mobiles agrégées. La ville est traversée par quatre principaux axes de circulation – Pully souffre d’un trafic de transit important. Pour améliorer le trafic, faciliter l’accès au centre-ville et améliorer la qualité de vie de la population d’environ 16 000 habitants, Pully a réalisé avec Swisscom un projet exemplaire. Elles ont développé en commun une méthode d’amélioration de la planification des infrastructures et du trafic permettant de visualiser les flux de trafic dans leur globalité sur la base des données mobiles. Swisscom travaille également en collaboration étroite avec des établissements d’études supérieures afin de développer des modèles de simulations supplémentaires pour les futures applications.






En savoir plus sur ce thème