Digitalised-hospital-2027

Hospital efficiency

«We are putting all our effort into pursuing this vision»


The University Hospital of Zurich (UHZ) isn’t waiting for digitisation, it is driving it. This isn’t only for economic reasons, says Martin Matter, ICT director and member of hospital management.


Text: Roger Welti, Images: © Giorgia Müller, 21. August 2017




The «Digitisation of the health sector» is currently a hot topic. What’s it like being at the forefront of this transformation?


In comparison to other sectors, such as banking and industry, this transformation is only occurring with a few years’ delay in the health sector. This means it is currently proceeding with the corresponding dynamism. However, using IT to optimise hospital processes is nothing new. We’ve been doing this since we’ve had IT at the hospital.


Why do hospitals have more experience with this than other players in the health sector?


For a start, the potential we have is greater than average. At the hospital, we maintain round-the-clock operations for 365 days a year  and with maximum availability. This means that there are an enormous number of processes that are also being performed without interruption. The potential to keep questioning these procedures and continue improving them is correspondingly large.



«In the hospital, there are an enormous number of processes that are also being performed without interruption. The potential to continue improving them is correspondingly large.» (Martin Matter)


In order to save costs?


That is the second aspect. As a hospital, we need to operate between our obligation to provide services, and the list of tariffs defined for these services. We have correspondingly little room to influence the profits we make. Increasing the efficiency of our processes is just about the only leverage we have. And we exploit it too.


Has the federal law on electronic patient records (EPDG), which has been in force since last spring, been a catalyst for these efforts?


Yes, it certainly has. In the past, we concentrated on optimising our processes within the hospital. We're now dealing with a whole different dimension, and that’s why we’ve built up better networks between service providers and have now standardised, and thereby simplified, work processes.

Part of the largest eHealth project in Switzerland

The UHZ is one of the hospitals leading the way in shaping the establishment of the largest eHealth platform in Switzerland. Under the umbrella of the Axsana trustees and together with Swisscom Health, the cantons of Zurich and Bern are setting up a networking platform to allow use of electronic patient records and to structure data communication between service providers efficiently. The UHZ has been involved in this ground-breaking national eHealth project since the very beginning.


«Increasing the efficiency of our processes is just about the only leverage we have. And we exploit it too.»



Are you confident that this effect will bear fruit?


We are pursuing this vision with all our energy. However, no-one can currently say how quickly the desired effects will materialise. What is clear: Increases in efficiency must result in additional costs. The start-up funds totalling CHF 30 million provided by the federal government are unlikely to be sufficient. How further financing will proceed is currently being examined in different projects.



«In order for EPD to be successful, it is essential that patients’ experiences convince them of the benefits of eHealth in their everyday lives.» (Martin Matter)


The UHZ is actively working on the implementation of the EPDG despite this uncertainty. Why is it taking on this role?


With 44 clinics and institutes, we are the largest hospital in the Zurich canton. In 2016, we treated approximately 41,000 inpatients and counted more than 570,000 outpatient visits. If we exploit the potential for optimising administrative processes, this will have corresponding large effects. We intend to benefit from this as quickly as possible. That’s why it was immediately clear to hospital management that we shouldn’t wait until the EPDG has been implemented, and instead should lead the way.


What, specifically, are you promising?


We want to work together with other service providers to break down administrative barriers, which will allows us to make better use of UHZ capacity. Today we have bilateral agreements with all partners, for example. In the future, we will be able to structure administrative cooperation in an association comprised of all Swiss service providers. This will make us faster and will increase efficiency.


Could you provide an example?


Let’s take the discharge of a patient to a rehabilitation clinic. In future, we’ll be able to see at a glance the clinics in which an appropriate placement is available for this patient; we’ll be able to transfer him or her there quickly and in a straightforward manner. This helps us, the rehabilitation clinic and, of course, the patient as well.


Which other ways will the optimisations achieved by eHealth be tangible for patients at the hospital on an everyday basis?


In order for EPD to be successful, it is essential that patients’ experiences convince them of the benefits of eHealth in their everyday lives. This goes beyond the EPD, and is relevant for the hospital’s administrative processes in particular. The patient won’t have to provide basic data every time they go to a hospital, won’t have to wait as long, and will be better informed and better entertained when doing so. We are even considering showing how to get to where they will be treated on our premises by means of their smartphone.


«I think that a 10-year timeline is realistic. At the UHZ we’re likely to have introduced many compelling applications a lot earlier.»



So smart applications should convince patients of the benefits of eHealth?


Exactly. If we don’t succeed in doing so, then we will simply have two systems instead of one. We will tend to find that younger people will be inspired by eHealth, and others who will continue communicating with their doctor and hospital using analogue channels, as they did in the past. That would be very inefficient, and expensive.



Martin Matter, CIO University Hospital of Zurich


And how have the efforts to convince the hospital staff gone?


We are also working on this at the UHZ. We have a special process team that we’re sending around the entire hospital. The group analyses the current processes with teams and individual employees, and suggests optimisations that are now possible thanks to the innovative use of IT. Sometimes employees are a bit sceptical to begin with. However, once they experience how much easier it makes things, they are soon enthusiastic about it. We have, for example, standardised the schedule used to allocate patients to doctors and treatment rooms across all of our 44 clinics for the first time. This makes our daily work noticeably easier in one go.


When will patients and employees be able to experience the full potential of eHealth at the hospital, and be able to use it?


I think that a 10-year timeline is realistic. At the UHZ we’re likely to have introduced many compelling applications a lot earlier. However, it will take some time and persuasion before eHealth prevails throughout the health sector and before patients fully get on the bandwagon. Personally, I find it extremely exciting to experience and help shape this process. And I am fully convinced that the effort will pay off.



Martin Matter


Martin Matter has been the Director of ICT and a member of the UHZ hospital management board since 2014. Matter, who holds a degree in business economics, was responsible for ICT-related topics at Oerlikon Contraves and Sulzer Metco. He then worked for the canton of Aargau, most recently spending five years as the head of IT for Aargau. AT the UHZ, Matter and his team are continuing to develop the hospital’s information technology to ensure that it contributes to the safety and quality of diagnosis and treatment of patients.





More on the topic

La numérisation dans les hôpitaux 2027

L’efficacité à l’hôpital

«Nous poursuivons cet objectif par tous les moyens»


L’hôpital universitaire de Zurich (USZ) développe activement la numérisation, et pas uniquement pour des raisons économiques, explique Martin Matter, directeur TIC et membre de la direction de l’hôpital.


Texte: Roger Welti, Image: © Giorgia Müller, 21 août 2017




La «numérisation du système de santé» fait aujourd’hui l’objet de nombreuses discussions. Comment vivez-vous cette transformation, vous qui êtes en première ligne?


Cette mutation intervient dans le système de santé avec quelques années de retard par rapport à d’autres secteurs d’activité comme celui de la banque ou de l’industrie. La dynamique est donc actuellement importante. Mais le fait que des processus hospitaliers soient améliorés grâce à l’informatique, cela n’a rien de nouveau. Il en est ainsi depuis que l’informatique est entrée dans les hôpitaux.


Pour quelle raison les hôpitaux ont plus d’expérience dans ce domaine que les autres acteurs du système de santé?


Tout d’abord, le potentiel est plus important que la moyenne. En effet, nous travaillons 365 jours par an, 24 heures sur 24, et cela avec la plus grande disponibilité. Il y a donc un nombre important de processus qui sont également exécutés sans interruption. Il est d’autant plus important que ces procédures soient toujours remises en cause et améliorées.



«À l’hôpital, il y a un nombre important de processus qui sont également exécutés sans interruption. Il est donc d’autant plus important que ces procédures soient toujours améliorées.» (Martin Matter)


Et ainsi réaliser des économies?


C’est le deuxième point. En tant qu’hôpital, nous oscillons entre un mandat de prestations défini et une liste de tarif également définie pour ces prestations. Notre marge de manœuvre pour jouer sur nos rendements est donc faible. Augmenter l’efficacité de nos processus est presque le seul levier sur lequel nous pouvons jouer. Et évidemment, c’est celui que nous activons.


La Loi fédérale sur le dossier électronique du patient (LDEP) applicable depuis le printemps dernier favorise-t-elle ces efforts?


Oui, certainement. Jusqu’à présent, nous avons optimisé nos processus principalement dans l’hôpital. Maintenant, cela prend une nouvelle dimension. Il faut améliorer le réseau entre les prestataires, standardiser les processus et ainsi les simplifier.

Partie prenante du plus important projet eHealth de Suisse

L’USZ fait partie des hôpitaux en première ligne dans la construction de la plus grande plateforme de cybersanté de Suisse. Les cantons de Zurich et de Berne construisent ensemble sous l’égide de l’association Axsana et en collaboration avec Swisscom Health une plateforme de mise en réseau qui permettra d’exploiter les dossiers électroniques des patients et d’échanger les données efficacement entre prestataires. L’USZ participe depuis la première heure à ce projet de cybersanté novateur d’ampleur nationale.


«Augmenter l’efficacité de nos processus est presque le seul levier sur lequel nous pouvons jouer. Et évidemment, c’est celui que nous activons.»



Vous êtes confiant dans le fait que cet effet se réalisera?


Nous poursuivons cet objectif par tous les moyens. Mais personne ne peut dire aujourd’hui à quelle allure les effets escomptés se produiront. Ce qui est sûr, c’est que gagner en efficacité ne doit pas engendrer des coûts supplémentaires. Le financement initial de la Confédération de 30 millions de francs ne suffira certainement pas. Nous examinons actuellement comment financer le reste dans le cadre de différents projets.



«Pour que le DEP s’impose, il est vraiment nécessaire que les patients soient convaincus de l’utilité d’eHealth dans leur quotidien.» (Martin Matter)


Malgré ces incertitudes, l’USZ poursuit activement la mise en œuvre de la LDEP. Pourquoi?


Avec 44 cliniques et instituts, nous sommes le plus grand hôpital du canton de Zurich. En 2016, nous avons soigné près de 41 000 patients en stationnaire et plus de 570 000 patients en ambulatoire. L’effet est donc d’autant plus important si nous utilisons le potentiel offert par l’optimisation des processus dans l’administration. Nous voulons en profiter aussi vite que possible. Il était donc évident pour la direction de l’hôpital que nous n’attendrions pas avant de mettre en œuvre la LDEP mais que nous allions montrer la voie.


Qu’attendez-vous concrètement?


Nous voulons supprimer les obstacles administratifs qui se dressent dans le cadre de la collaboration avec les autres prestataires de service, de sorte qu’il serait possible d’utiliser encore mieux les capacités de l’USZ. Nous avons par exemple aujourd’hui des accords bilatéraux avec tous les partenaires. À l’avenir, nous pourrons organiser la coopération sur le plan administratif en réunissant tous les prestataires suisses. Cela nous permettra d’être plus rapides et plus efficaces.


Pouvez-vous nous donner un exemple?


Prenons le transfert d’un patient vers une clinique de rééducation. Si nous pouvons savoir à l’avenir en un seul coup d’œil dans quelles cliniques une place adaptée pour ce patient est disponible, nous pourrons l’y envoyer plus simplement et plus rapidement. C’est bien pour nous, mais également pour la clinique de rééducation et évidement pour le patient.


Quels autres effets de l’optimisation grâce à eHealth seront ressentis par les patients dans le quotidien à l’hôpital?


Pour que le DEP s’impose, il est vraiment nécessaire que les patients soient convaincus de l’utilité de eHealth dans leur quotidien. Cela va bien au-delà du DEP et concerne surtout les processus administratifs à l’hôpital. Le patient ne devra plus saisir à chaque visite à l’hôpital ses données de base, il aura moins de temps d’attente et sera mieux informé et diverti durant cette attente. Nous réfléchissons même à la possibilité d’afficher sur son smartphone l’itinéraire vers le lieu de traitement sur notre site.


«Je pense qu’il est réaliste d’envisager un objectif à 10 ans. À l’USZ, nous aurons déjà introduit de nombreuses applications qui auront pu convaincre bien avant.»



Des applications intelligentes devraient donc convaincre les patients de l’utilité d’eHealth?


Précisément. Si nous n’y parvenons pas, au lieu d’un système, nous en aurons deux. Cela signifie que nous aurons de plus en plus de jeunes gens qui seront enthousiastes à l’idée d’utiliser eHealth et d’autres qui continueront à communiquer comme aujourd’hui avec leur médecin et leur hôpital par le biais de canaux analogiques. Cela serait absolument inefficace et s’avèrerait coûteux.



Martin Matter, CIO Universitätsspital Zürich


Et qu’en est-il du personnel de l’hôpital, sont-ils déjà convaincus?


Nous travaillons également là-dessus à l’USZ. Nous avons un groupe de processus dédié que nous envoyons dans tout l’hôpital. Le groupe analyse les processus actuels avec les équipes et les différents collaborateurs et propose des améliorations qui sont envisageables grâce à l’utilisation innovante de l’informatique. Les collaborateurs sont parfois quelque peu sceptiques au départ. Mais lorsqu’ils constatent les améliorations obtenues, ils sont rapidement convaincus. Nous avons par exemple uniformisé pour la première fois la répartition des patients entre les médecins et les salles de soins dans nos 44 cliniques. Cela simplifie réellement la vie au quotidien.


À quel moment les patients et les collaborateurs percevront-ils le potentiel d’eHealth dans sa totalité et quand pourront-ils l’utiliser?


Je pense qu’il est réaliste d’envisager un objectif à 10 ans. À l’USZ, nous aurons déjà introduit de nombreuses applications qui auront pu convaincre bien avant. Mais cela prendra encore du temps et il faudra être convaincant avant qu’eHealth ne pénètre l’ensemble du système de santé et que les patients prennent le train en marche. Personnellement, je trouve extrêmement intéressant de pouvoir vivre cela et de contribuer à la mise en place. Et je suis persuadé que tous ces efforts ne seront pas vains.






Martin Matter


Martin Matter est directeur TIC et membre de la direction de l’hôpital de l’USZ depuis 2014. Avant cela, cet économiste d’entreprise diplômé a travaillé dans l’informatique auprès d’Oerlikon Contraves et Sulzer Metco. Par la suite, Martin Matter a été employé par le canton d’Argovie, dernièrement en tant que responsable informatique Argovie durant 5 ans. À l’USZ, Martin Matter et son équipe développent en continu la technologie de l’information de l’hôpital de sorte qu’elle participe à la sécurité et à la qualité des diagnostics et du traitement des patientes et patients.





En savoir plus sur ce thème