The electronic patient record tested in practice

Electronic patient record (EPR)

It won’t fail due to the technology


From the middle of 2018, it should be possible to open the first electronic patient records (EPR). The technology for this will be ready. The persons responsible at the Federation have assumed this based on the first comprehensive tests. 


Text: Roger Welti, Bild: Raphael Schaller Photography, ©eHealth Suisse,





A marathon of a different kind took place in the last week of September in Köniz near Bern that involved 1500 metres of cable and 100 starters in 16 teams from 4 countries. Perched together in the same room and with the same goal, they came together to thoroughly test the technology for the electronic patient record (EPR) for the first time.


The more tests, the more you find out

“Projectathon” was the name the organisers gave to the four-day gathering on the premises of the Federal Office of Public Health. The reference to a marathon was altogether justified. IT specialists from different manufacturers needed all their endurance and concentration during the extended tests. There weren’t many breaks either, because they wanted to find out as much as possible in the time available.

 

“We set up and ran the IT infrastructure for a community that will allow an EPR to be opened and enable all defined use cases in the future,” explains Tino Mahn, head of the ten-man team from Swisscom Health. A large number of use cases were then trialled with the teams from other manufacturers. These included authenticating patients or health professionals with absolute certainty, opening and managing records, testing access rights, and transferring documents between parties. In doing so, it was necessary to follow a precisely defined procedure in all cases. “A team of arbitrators monitored the tests and evaluated them,” states Tony Schaller, Technical Project Manager for the Projectathon.

 

The team judged whether the specified standards and what are called integration profiles had been complied with. These IHE profiles describe standards for data exchange in the healthcare sector. Since the standards that are currently available internationally could not fulfil certain requirements of the EPR, specific profiles had to be defined first prior to the Projectathon. Depending on the success of a test, the independent arbitrators judged it as either “verified”, “partially verified” or “failed”.

 

According to Tony Schaller, the main focus was on the interoperability of the systems and the exchange of experiences between the participants, and not the race to get as many tests verified as possible. This is the reason why the organisers did not publish a list of team rankings. And yet, “The number of successful tests is certainly a measure of how advanced our solutions for the EPR already are,” states Tino Mahn.

 

The communities

Digital data from patients relevant to their treatment is stored locally at doctors’ practices, hospitals and other service providers. The electronic patient record (EPR) gives the patients access to this data and allows them to determine who they want to make it accessible to. What are referred to as communities facilitate opening and managing an EPR. These communities are made up of health professionals and their institutions, such as associations or hospitals, and in some cases cantons. As a technology partner for communities, Swisscom is setting up the IT infrastructure required for the EPR in the cantons of Zurich, Schaffhausen, Bern, Solothurn and Basel, and also for the Principality of Lichtenstein.





Swisscom Health as a vehicle for knowledge

The performance by Swisscom Health was very positive. The stability and performance of the eHealth platform which Swisscom Health operates for the EPR was impressive in the 29 tests performed. Thanks to the agility of the team, tiny problems could be rectified on-site, so that the solution could be tested again. The independent judges ranked no less than 26 tests as “verified” and three as “partially verified”. As a result, Swisscom Health was involved in one sixth of all successful tests, and, out of the 16 participating teams, performed well above average. “The quality assurance for our EPR solution clearly achieved its goal,” emphasises Thomas Bähler, Head of eHealth at Swisscom Health. He went on to add, “Throughout the tests, we were clearly seen as a vehicle for knowledge, not only by the organisers, but also by the other participants.”


On the right path to certification

Project Manager Tony Schaller also gave the participants a good report. When one considers how little time the developers must have had from the time the executive right for the federal law on the EPR was published, the standard was high. Schaller is convinced that, “If introducing the EPR fails in the coming year, it will certainly not be because of the technology”.

However, before that happens, the Federation first has to certify the EPR communities. The Projectathon tackled important hurdles that need to be overcome for this to happen. “The good results we achieved in the Projectathon show us and our customers that we are well on the way to achieving certification,” states Thomas Bähler of Swisscom Health. In the coming months, all the participants will continue making progress in developing their solutions. And we may well meet up again in 2018, when the next Projectathon is expected to take place.


The Projectathon


The Federal Office of Public Health (BAG), IHE Suisse and eHealth Suisse held the EPR Projectathon in the last week of September 2017 in Köniz outside Bern. At the event, all stakeholders and organisations were able to test their IT systems interactively and against an EPR reference environment. This enabled them to prepare for the practical deployment of the electronic patient record, also with regard to subsequent certification in line with EPR law.








More on the topic

Test pratique du dossier électronique du patient

Dossier électronique du patient (DEP) 

Test pratique du dossier électronique du patient


À partir de la mi-2018, les premiers dossiers électroniques du patient devraient pouvoir être créés. Tout sera prêt sur le plan technique. C’est ce sur quoi tablent les responsables au sein de la Confédération à l’issue des nombreux premiers tests effectués.


Text: Roger Welti, Bild: Raphael Schaller Photography, ©eHealth Suisse,





Le marathon qui a eu lieu la dernière semaine de septembre à Köniz près de Berne fut un marathon d’un genre nouveau. 1 500 mètres de câble, 100 participants sur la ligne de départ répartis en 16 équipes de 4 pays différents. Tous étaient réunis dans une seule et même pièce, avec un objectif commun: tester pour la première fois sous toutes ses coutures la technologie dédiée au dossier électronique du patient (DEP).


Toujours plus de tests pour encore plus de résultats

«Projectathon», tel est le nom donné par les organisateurs à l’événement qui se déroulait sur quatre jours sur le site de l’Office fédéral de la santé publique. L’analogie à un marathon était tout à fait justifiée. En effet, les spécialistes IT de différents fabricants ont dû faire des efforts de longue haleine et être pleinement concentrés lors des nombreux tests effectués. Il n’y a eu que très peu de pauses, car il fallait arriver à un maximum de résultats dans les délais impartis.

«Nous avons mis en place et conçu l’infrastructure IT d’une communauté de référence ouvrant la voie, à l’avenir, à la création et à tous les cas d’application définis d’un DEP», déclare Tino Mahn, qui était à la tête de l’équipe de 10 personnes de Swisscom Health. Avec les équipes d’autres fabricants, une multitude de Use Cases ont ensuite été joués. Il s’agissait notamment de pouvoir authentifier des patients ou des professionnels de la santé sans équivoque, de créer et de gérer des dossiers, de tester des droits d’accès ou de transmettre des documents entre différents acteurs. À chaque fois, une procédure bien définie devait être respectée. «Une équipe d’arbitres était chargée de surveiller les tests et de les évaluer», explique Tony Schaller, chef de projet technique du Projectathon.

Ce faisant, l’on a évalué si les normes prescrites et donc lesdits profils d’intégration étaient bien respectés. Ces profils IHE décrivent les normes utilisées pour l’échange de données dans le secteur de la santé. Étant donné que certaines exigences du DEP ne pouvaient pas être satisfaites avec les normes internationales existantes, certains profils ont dû être définis avant le Projectacthon. Selon l’issue des tests, les arbitres indépendants leur ont attribué les mentions «verified», «partially verified» ou «failed».

Au premier plan figuraient l’interopérabilité des systèmes et l’échange d’expériences entre participants, et non la course au maximum de tests réussis, rapporte Tony Schaller. C’est pourquoi les organisateurs ne publient aucun classement des équipes. Et pourtant: «Le nombre de tests que nous avons réussis est bien sûr un indicateur du degré d’opérabilité de nos solutions pour le DEP», déclare Tino Mahn.

Les communautés de référence

Les données numériques des patientes et patients qui sont nécessaires au traitement sont disponibles de façon décentralisée chez les médecins, dans les hôpitaux et auprès d’autres prestataires de santé. Avec le DEP, les patients ont accès à ces données et décident qui peut les consulter. La création et la gestion d’un DEP sont assurées par ce que l’on appelle des communautés de référence, dans lesquelles se fédèrent des spécialistes de santé et leurs institutions (par ex. associations ou hôpitaux) ainsi que des cantons dans une certaine mesure. En tant que partenaire technologique, Swisscom met en place l’infrastructure IT requise pour le DEP pour les communautés de référence basées dans les cantons de Zurich, Schaffhausen, Berne, Soleure et Bâle ainsi que pour la Principauté du Liechtenstein.





Swisscom Health: un détenteur de savoir-faire

Le bilan de Swisscom Health est très positif. La plateforme eHealth pour le DEP exploitée par Swisscom Health a fait ses preuves dans les 29 tests effectués au total par sa stabilité et ses performances. L’on a pu rapidement déjouer les carences mineures et retester sur-le-champ grâce à l’agilité de l’équipe. En tout, pas moins de 26 tests ont été évalués de manière indépendante comme étant «verified» et trois comme étant «partially verified». Swisscom Health a ainsi pris part à un sixième de tous les tests effectués avec succès, se situant ainsi largement au-dessus de la moyenne parmi les 16 équipes participantes. «L’assurance qualité pour notre solution DEP a clairement atteint son objectif», souligne Thomas Bähler, responsable eHealth de Swisscom Health. Qui plus est: «Durant les tests, nous avons clairement été vus comme des détenteurs de savoir-faire, et ce, non seulement par les organisateurs mais aussi par les autres participants.»


En bonne voie vers la certification

Le chef de projet Tony Schaller donne également de bonnes notes aux participants. Le niveau était très élevé quand on pense au peu de temps mis à la disposition des développeurs depuis la publication du droit d’exécution de la loi fédérale sur le dossier électronique du patient (LDEP). «Le lancement du DEP l’année prochaine ne sera sûrement pas mis en péril par une défaillance technique», affirme M. Schaller d’un ton convaincu.


Avant cela, les communautés de référence du DEP doivent se faire certifier en premier lieu par la Confédération. Pour ce faire, il a fallu négocier des obstacles de taille lors du Projectathon. «Nos bons résultats au Projectathon nous montrent à nous-mêmes ainsi qu’à nos clients que nous sommes en bonne voie vers la certification», déclare Thomas Bähler de Swisscom Health. Ces prochains mois, tous les participants continueront d’avancer dans le développement de leurs solutions. Et une nouvelle rencontre sera peut-être prévue pour 2018. Ce sera en effet l’heure du prochain Projectathon.


Le Projectathon


La dernière semaine de septembre 2017, l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP), IHE Suisse et eHealth Suisse ont pris part au Projectathon DEP à Köniz près de Berne. Toutes les personnes et organisations intéressées ont pu y tester leurs systèmes IT entre eux et aussi par rapport à un environnement de référence DEP. Ils ont ainsi pu se préparer à une application pratique du dossier électronique du patient, y compris dans la perspective d’une certification à venir selon la LDEP.








En savoir plus sur ce thème