Column: How healthy are digitalised hospitals?



Gesünder mit E-Health


Column

Healthier with e-health


Yes, telemedicine, digital hospitals and robotic doctors are good for our health.


Michael Kurzidim (Illustration: Lisa Schweizer), 




Nobody likes being ill. As the famous saying goes, it’s better to be rich and healthy than poor and ill. And nobody would care to contradict this. However, thanks to major advances in medicine, guaranteeing optimal health care is becoming ever more challenging and, unfortu-nately, also increasingly expensive. Will we soon be heading towards class-tiered health care, providing top quality for some and only basic care for others? No. Digital e-health technology will help us gain con-trol of the dilemma between escalating costs and medical quality. Here are three examples.


Telemedicine – the digital GP

Medgate, which has its headquarters in Basel, runs the largest tele-medicine centre in Europe. Patients contact the attending physician by phone, Internet or the video system at more than 200 Swiss pharmacies with their symptoms. Photos – for example of skin or eye changes – are submitted in advance by e-mail or with the help of the Medgate app. One of the one hundred Medgate doctors then pre-pares a diagnosis and discusses therapy suggestions with the patient. Telemedicine services provide real relief in particular for older pa-tients in rural areas who find it difficult to get to the doctor. Medgate now provides up to 4,900 telephone consultations per day.


The digitalised hospital

Cardiance in Pfäffikon is the first fully digitalised cardiac clinic in Swit-zerland. Catheter procedures are performed ambulantly. Many pa-tients prefer to be able to go home after the procedure and recupe-rate in familiar surroundings. The hospital, in turn, can treat more patients as a result. An example from Germany: The Charité hospital in Berlin uses fast analysis technology for cancer treatment. Software compares thousands of patient histories to find the most promising treatment for an individual patient. The Charité has thus successfully squared the circle, as it were. Cancer treatments are becoming both cheaper and more successful.

Michael Kurzidim

has been writing for “Computerworld” for eight years, loves new technologies, and is convinced that technology makes the world a better place. He has been an ICT journalist for 25 years. Michael started off as a software developer and has a Master’s degree in philosophy and German/linguistics. In his private life, he is a pas-sionate cineaste, loves the Swiss mountains and, in the summer months, enjoys spending his time at the swimming pools around lake Zurich. He is also a fan of the German Bundesliga team Borussia Mönchengladbach.


Are we heading towards class-tiered health care, providing top quali-ty for some and only basic care for others? No. Digital e-health tech-nologies will prevent this.


Robotic doctors

Will we all soon be treated by fully automated, robotic doctors? Many patients respond to this with profound fear. Definitely not – I’m not letting any tin can touch me. However, experts admit that robots often operate with greater precision than humans. For example, the medical robot Da Vinci performs kidney surgery as well as colorectal and prostate cancer operations. However, it is controlled by a human. Medical professionals differentiate between robot-assisted surgery and fully automated systems. Robots that perform operations auto-nomously have – so far – failed to catch on.


The digital revolution

The digital revolution is not stopping short of the medical field, and all of us – doctors, hos-pitals, health insurers and patients – can benefit from this. However, this requires all patient data to be available in digitalised form. And that is the fly in the ointment, say those responsible for data protec-tion. To prevent patients from becoming “transparent”, the Swiss parliament has passed a federal law on the electronic patient record, which is to come into force in 2017. Patients will receive complete control of their data and can grant or refuse access rights to doctors, health insurance providers and hospitals. Theoretically, this will enti-rely eliminate data misuse.





Further Focus articles

Chronique: Quel est l’état de santé des hôpitaux numérisés?



Gesünder mit E-Health


Chronique

En meilleure santé avec E-Health


Oui, la télémédecine, les hôpitaux numériques et les médecins-robots sont bons pour notre santé, notre auteur en est convaincu.


Michael Kurzidim (Illustration: Lisa Schweizer), 




Personne n’aime être malade. Il est préférable d’être riche et en bonne santé que pauvre et malade, dit un proverbe populaire. Per-sonne ne saurait le contredire. Du fait des progrès considérables de la médecine, assurer une prévention optimale de la santé devient de plus en plus complexe et, malheureusement aussi, toujours plus cher. Nous dirigeons-nous prochainement vers une médecine à plu-sieurs classes, avec une qualité optimale pour les uns et des soins de base pour les autres? Non. Les technologies numériques de cyber-santé nous aideront à maîtriser le dilemme existant entre dérapage des coûts et qualité médicale. Trois exemples.


Télémédecine - le médecin de famille numérique

Medgate, domiciliée à Bâle, exploite le plus grand centre de télémé-decine d’Europe. En cas de problèmes de santé, les patients contac-tent le médecin traitant par téléphone, par Internet ou par système vidéo auprès de plus de 200 pharmacies suisses. Des photos, par exemple des altérations de la peau ou des yeux, sont envoyées préa-lablement par e-mail ou à l’aide de l’appli Medgate. L’un des cent médecins Medgate établit alors le diagnostic avec le patient et envi-sage des propositions de thérapies. Pour les personnes âgées dans les zones rurales en particulier, qui ont des difficultés à se rendre chez le médecin, ces services de télémédecine sont un véritable sou-lagement. Medgate compte aujourd’hui jusqu’à 4900 téléconsulta-tions par jour.


L’hôpital numérisé

Cardiance, à Pfäffikon, est la première clinique cardiologique de Suisse entièrement numérisée. Les interventions par cathéter sont réalisées en ambulatoire. De nombreux patients préfèrent pouvoir rentrer chez eux après l’intervention et guérir dans leur environne-ment habituel. L’hôpital, pour sa part, peut traiter davantage de pa-tients. Un exemple pour l’Allemagne: la Charité à Berlin utilise une technologie d’analyse rapide dans le traitement du cancer. Un logiciel compare des milliers d’historiques de patients et détermine ainsi la thérapie la plus prometteuse pour chaque patient. La Charité résout ainsi la célèbre quadrature du cercle. Les traitements cancéreux ont un coût inférieur et sont plus efficaces.

Michael Kurzidim

écrit des articles depuis huit ans pour le journal Computerworld. Enthousiasmé par les nouvelles technologies, il est convaincu que la technique peut contribuer à rendre le monde meilleur. Il est journaliste dans le domaine des TIC depuis 25 ans. A l’origine, Michael est développeur de logiciel et il dispose d’un master en philosophie et en germanistique/linguistique. En privé, c’est un cinéphile passionné, il aime les montagnes suisses et en été, on le trouve de préférence sur les plages du lac de Zurich. En outre, il est supporter du club de Bundesliga Borussia Mönchengladbach.


Nous dirigeons-nous vers une médecine à plusieurs classes, avec une qualité optimale pour les uns et des soins de base pour les autres? Non. Les technologies numériques de cybersanté permettront de l’éviter.


Médecins-robots

Seront-nous bientôt traités de façon totalement automatisée par des médecins-robots? A cette idée, de nombreux patients réagissent par un réflexe de peur. Pas question, je ne laisserai pas s’approcher de moi une telle blouse de métal! Les experts avouent cependant qu’un robot opère bien souvent plus précisément qu’un être humain. Ainsi, le médecin-robot Da-Vinci exécute des opérations aux reins, tout comme des interventions pour le cancer de l’intestin et de la pros-tate. Toutefois, il est encore piloté par un être humain. Les médecins distinguent la chirurgie assistée par un robot et les systèmes entiè-rement automatisés. Le robot opérant de façon totalement auto-nome ne s’est pas encore – jusqu’ici – imposé.


La révolution numérique

La révolution numérique franchit aussi le seuil de la médecine et nous tous – médecins, hôpi-taux, caisses maladie et patients – pouvons en profiter. A la condition cependant que toutes les données de patients soient disponibles sous forme numérique. Et c’est là que le bât blesse, disent les protec-teurs des données. Pour prévenir l’apparition d’un patient de verre, le Parlement a adopté une loi fédérale sur le dossier de patient élec-tronique, qui doit entrer en vigueur en 2017. La patiente ou le patient obtient un contrôle total de ses données, il peut accorder ou refuser des droits d’accès aux médecins, caisses-maladie et hôpitaux. L’utilisation abusive des données est donc – en théorie – totalement exclue.





Plus dʼarticles Focus