Pros and cons regarding electronic patient files





Electronic patient dossiers

4 critical questions to Economiesuisse and FMH


How does a health economist and supporter of the electronic patient dossier respond to the critical questions of an FMH representative? And vice versa?


Crafft, 




Electronic patient dossiers are playing a central role in the digitalisation of healthcare. They are therefore the subject of controversial debate. We asked two proponents of different standpoints to put their questions to the other side. The answers reveal clear differences, particularly in the priorities.


Dr. med. Urs Stoffel is a member of the FMH central board and in this capacity is responsible for the subject of e-health. According to Stoffel, many doctors have yet to be convinced of the benefits of the electronic patient dossier. For him, another decisive factor is that the doctors must be reimbursed for maintaining the dossiers.


"Maintenance of the electronic patient dossiers is very time-consuming.”


Dr. med. Urs Stoffel


brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal


Dr. Fridolin Marty is head of health policy at Economiesuisse. In his opinion, the electronic patient dossier brings almost nothing but benefits. On the one hand, the patient data is more complete. On the other, data protection with the new systems will be better than it is today, where a lot of data is sent unencrypted via e-mail.


“Data protection will improve with the electronic patient dossier.”


Dr. Fridolin Marty


brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal


One thing is certain: e-health solutions like the electronic patient dossier offer huge potential. For this to be exploited, doctors, the industry and, not least, the patients must play their part.





Digital health for a healthy Switzerland


Thanks to innovative ICT-based solutions from Swisscom, doctors, hospitals and insurance companies can save valuable time and money. Patients gain an insight into their data and profit from efficient collaboration between their service providers.


Go to the solutions




Further Focus articles

Pour ou contre le dossier électronique du patient





Dossier électronique du patient

4 questions critiques à Economiesuisse et FMH


Que répond un économiste de la santé et un défenseur du dossier électronique du patient aux questions cri-tiques d’un représentant de la FMH? Et inversement?


Crafft, 




Les dossiers électroniques de patients jouent un rôle central dans la numérisation du système de santé. Ce sujet controversé fait donc l’objet de nombreux débats. Nous avons demandé à deux représentants de positions différentes de répondre aux questions de l’autre partie. Les réponses présentent de nettes différences, surtout au niveau des priorités.


Dr med. Urs Stoffel est membre du Comité central de la FMH, où il est responsable du thème de la cybersanté. Selon U. Stoffel, de nombreux médecins sont encore à convaincre des avantages du dossier électronique du patient. Pour lui, il est également essentiel que les médecins soient dédommagés pour la gestion des dossiers.


«La gestion des dossiers électroniques de patients demande beaucoup de travail.»


Dr. med. Urs Stoffel


brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal


Dr Fridolin Marty est responsable de la politique de santé auprès d’Economiesuisse. Pour lui, le dossier électronique du patient ne présente pratiquement que des avantages. D’une part, les données du patient sont plus complètes. D’autre part, la protection des données offerte par les nouveaux systèmes est meilleure que celle d’aujourd’hui, où de nombreuses données sont envoyées par e-mail sans cryptage.


«La protection des données s’améliore avec le dossier électronique du patient.»


Dr. Fridolin Marty


brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal


Une chose est sûre: les solutions de cybersanté telles que le dossier électronique du patient recèlent un énorme potentiel. Pour pouvoir mettre celui-ci à profit, les médecins, l’économie et, finalement, les patients doivent apporter leur contribution.





Avec le Digital Health pour une Suisse en bonne santé


Les solutions novatrices de Swisscom basées sur la TIC font gagner du temps et de l’argent aux médecins, aux hôpitaux et aux assureurs. Les patients disposent d’un aperçu complet de leurs données et bénéficient de la collaboration efficace de leurs fournisseurs de prestations.

Accéder aux offres




Plus dʼarticles Focus