Study: ISG Provider Lens™ 2021

Sustained demand for cyber security services – with Swisscom leading the field

As companies remain under constant pressure from possible attacks, cyber security services are in high demand. So says the ISG Provider Lens™ study, which analysed Swiss IT security providers. There are many reasons Swisscom was named the leading provider of Managed Security Services in Switzerland.

Text: Andreas Heer, image: Adobe Stock, 21 July 2021

In the first half of 2021, the National Cybersecurity Centre (NCSC) registered around 25 percent more reports than in the previous six months. And the trend was already rising even then. Not only are the attacks becoming more numerous, their severity is also increasing. With extortion attempts involving threatened DDoS attacks or ransomware, which not only encrypts data but also publishes it if the ransom is not paid, CIOs and CISOs have plenty to keep them occupied.

Ensuring that the IT security measures remain up to date and able to deal with all forms of attack is a never-ending task. A process which, according to the ISG Provider Lens™: Cyber Security – Solutions & Services study, is made more difficult by the struggle to secure scarce investment budgets.

Managed Security Services are the answer

The security arms race is a rather uneven playing field. While cyber attackers are able to invest all of their energies in their criminal activities, corporate IT security managers are facing ever increasing obstacles. According to the authors of the study, they are hampered not only by tight budgets but also by the shortage of skilled staff and a lack of expertise.

 

This situation favours the outsourcing of IT security tasks to providers of cyber security services. After all, Managed Security Services (MSS) are budgetable and do not require high investment in IT security equipment or the hunt for scarce specialists.

Swisscom’s standing in the MSS field

In its current Provider Lens Study on the subject of “Cyber Security – Solutions & Services”, the international technological research and consulting company Information Services Group (ISG) compared various providers in Switzerland. The criteria included market relevance, breadth and depth of portfolio, strategy and vision, and degree of innovation.

“With its extensive range and its distinctive ‘Swissness’, Swisscom is the leading provider of Managed Security Services in Switzerland.”

ISG Provider Lens™ 2021

And, as in last year’s study, the authors ranked Swisscom as the leading provider of Managed Security Services in Switzerland. As well as Swisscom’s extensive range of services, the study also highlights the advantageous combination of manpower and automation and its ability, as a network operator, to detect security-related incidents at an early stage. As a further point in its favour, the study mentions the company’s proximity to customers with its Security Operations Center in Switzerland, and support provided in the national languages.

Graphic: Cyber Security Solutions & Services 2021

Alongside the extensive Managed Security Services, the study also investigated technical services such as integration and maintenance, and strategic consulting services. This took into account providers that do not focus only on their own products and offer “best of breed” solutions, with the authors giving Swisscom credit for their comprehensive range of products and services including robust technological partnerships and an in-depth understanding of the needs of Swiss companies. These factors also explain why the study also ranks Swisscom the Swiss market leader for Strategic Security Services and Technical Security Services.

 

Moreover, the Swisscom subsidiary United Security Providers (USP) also secured a lead position in Identity & Access Management (IAM) and Managed Security Services. In IAM, according to the study, it was the ‘Swissness’ of the USP solution that stood out in particular.

Switzerland-based SOC an advantage

Because of data protection regulations such as the GDPR or the forthcoming revised Swiss Data Protection Act (DPA), the location of a Security Operation Center (SOC) is increasingly important. This is because compliance with the statutory requirements must be guaranteed. However, it is not only large companies subject to local regulations that benefit from the SOC being based in Switzerland. According to the study, medium-sized companies also attach importance to having local security services – and are increasingly using them.

 

To deal with the quantity and complexity of attacks, says the study, the MSS providers must also remain innovative. And they must take proactive measures. Machine learning and artificial intelligence help to identify attacks at an early stage – and also to remain armed and ready for whatever cybercriminals come up with.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

Étude: ISG Provider Lens™ 2021

Demande constante de services de cybersécurité – Swisscom en leader

Les entreprises sont plus que jamais sous pression, d’où la forte demande en services de cybersécurité. Telle est la conclusion de l’étude «ISG Provider Lens™» sur les prestataires suisses de sécurité IT. Et qui, à différents titres, classe Swisscom comme le leader des Managed Security Services en Suisse.

Texte: Andreas Heer, image: Adobe Stock, 21 juillet 2021

Au premier semestre 2021, le Centre national pour la cybersécurité (NCSC) a enregistré environ 25% d’avis en plus par rapport au semestre précédent. Alors même que la tendance était déjà à la hausse. Mais si les attaques sont plus nombreuses, elles sont aussi plus perfides. Tentatives de chantage avec des menaces d’attaques DDoS ou des ransomware qui cryptent les données et peuvent aussi les divulguer si la rançon n’est pas versée: les CIO et les CISO n’ont donc pas fini de se tirer les cheveux.

L’adaptation constante des mesures de sécurité IT aux modèles d’attaque actuels est et restera une tâche à long terme. Un processus qui, selon les auteurs de l’étude «ISG Provider Lens™: Cyber Security – Solutions & Services», est compliqué par la lutte pour obtenir des investissements malgré des budgets serrés.

Managed Security Services comme alternative

La situation apparaît donc différente de part et d’autre des failles de sécurité. Tandis que les cyberattaquants peuvent y investir toute leur énergie à des fins criminelles, les responsables de la sécurité IT en entreprise se heurtent à des obstacles supplémentaires. Selon les auteurs de l’étude, cela concerne les budgets serrés, mais aussi la pénurie de spécialistes et le manque de savoir-faire.

 

Cette situation favorise l’externalisation des tâches de sécurité IT auprès de Cyber Security Services Providers. En effet, les Managed Security Services (MSS) sont calculables et ne nécessitent pas d’investir démesurément dans l’équipement de sécurité IT et la recherche des rares spécialistes.

Où se situe Swisscom en matière de MSS

Dans sa dernière étude Provider Lens consacrée à la question «Cyber Security – Solutions & Services», la société internationale de recherche et de conseil en technologie Information Services Group (ISG) a comparé différents prestataires en Suisse sur des critères variés, comme la pertinence commerciale, l’étendue et l’exhaustivité du portefeuille, la stratégie et la vision ou encore le niveau d’innovation.

«Avec son offre complète et sa Swissness bien marquée, Swisscom est le leader des Managed Security Services en Suisse.»

ISG Provider Lens™ 2021

Et comme l’année précédente, les auteurs ont classé Swisscom comme le leader des Managed Security Services en Suisse. Outre une offre complète de services, l’étude souligne également la combinaison gagnante de Swisscom en termes de main-d’œuvre et d’automatisation, ainsi que sa capacité à identifier très tôt les incidents de sécurité en tant qu’opérateur réseau. Autre atout de taille, l’étude met en avant la proximité client avec un Security Operation Center en Suisse et une assistance dans toutes les langues nationales.

Graphique: Cyber Security Solutions & Services 2021

Au-delà des Managed Security Services complets, l’étude a également passé en revue les prestations techniques, telles que l’intégration et la maintenance et les offres de conseil stratégique. Elle ne s’est pas uniquement intéressée aux prestataires se concentrant sur leurs propres produits, mais aussi à ceux offrant des solutions «Best of Breed». Les auteurs ont attesté l’aspect global de l’offre Swisscom, avec de solides partenariats technologiques et une compréhension approfondie des besoins des entreprises suisses. Ces facteurs contribuent à confirmer Swisscom également dans une position de leader des «Strategic Security Services» et «Technical Security Services» sur le marché.

 

La filiale de Swisscom United Security Providers (USP) est également parvenue à se placer dans le Top 4 pour les catégories Identity & Access Management (IAM) et Managed Security Services. Concernant l’IAM, la Swissness de la solution d’USP se distingue tout particulièrement selon l’étude.

SOC basé en Suisse, un vrai atout

En raison des dispositions relatives à la protection des données, notamment le RGPD ou la future révision de la loi fédérale sur la protection des données (LPD), l’emplacement d’un SOC joue un rôle majeur. En effet, les exigences légales doivent être garanties. Mais les grandes entreprises soumises aux réglementations locales ne sont pas les seules à profiter d’une implantation en Suisse. Selon l’étude, ce sont surtout les entreprises de taille moyenne qui attachent de l’importance aux Security Services locaux et qui y ont de plus en plus recours.

 

Toutefois, toujours selon l’étude, les prestataires MSS doivent rester innovants pour faire face au volume et à la complexité des attaques. Et prendre des mesures proactives. Le machine learning et l’intelligence artificielle sont autant d’outils qui aident à détecter les attaques à un stade précoce. Et à rester armé face à l’ingéniosité des cybercriminels.

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème: