Meta navigation

The path to collaboration without boundaries





Column: Pierre-Luc Marilley, Head of Workspace & Collaboration, Swisscom

The path to collaboration without boundaries


Will technology soon replace real-life encounters?


Computerworld




I vividly remember my first Blackberry. It was 1999 when the Blackberry ushered in a new era of cooperation. For the first time, you could send and receive emails and arrange appointments while out of the office. In today’s world, we’ve long become accustomed to the freedom of not being tied to a fixed workplace. Nothing documents the transformation better than a look inside a morning commuter train. Notebooks, tablets and smartphones are everywhere. People writing a quick e-mail, finalising a presentation or simply checking the news. I also use the time I spend travelling efficiently.


In fact, this snapshot of an early morning scene clearly reveals what employees are looking for from an employer. They want to choose freely when, where and with which devices they work. The flexible workplace is becoming ever more important, as digitisation and the generational change are reshaping the very foundations of the business world. For me, it’s everyday routine to communicate with my colleagues via chat for quick information, or take part in select meetings either online or by video conference. There’s no longer any need to waste time toing and froing between different locations, allowing me to use the time gained constructively in other ways.


More and more tools and platforms are becoming available for smart collaboration. Enriched by augmented reality, daily work routines are transforming into a completely new experience. For example with double robotics. In everyday parlance, this means a screen on wheels that lets you physically attend meetings without having to be there in person. Or holographic glasses that augment reality with digital objects. The boundaries between man and machine are becoming ever more blurred. But are these tools merely hype or actually the next revolution? They have one thing in common: they improve cooperation, give us the opportunity to flexibly choose our job location, and boost productivity. But if Work Smart is to be experienced proactively, it needs more than just the right technical solutions. The company must undergo a cultural transformation. Instead of racking its brains about choosing the correct tools, corporate management needs to have a clear idea about how the collaboration is to take shape. Because only a coherent vision will convince employees about the merits of networked communication and cooperation.


Pierre-Luc Marilley, Head of Workspace & Collaboration, Swisscom

Pierre-Luc Marilley is a member of the Management Board of Swisscom Enterprise Customers, where he heads the Solution Center Workspace & Collaboration. In this function, he is responsible for productivity and collaboration solutions with the aim of enabling business clients, their employees and end customers to collaborate better and more efficiently. His area forms the Competence Center for issues relating to new worlds of work at Swisscom.


What is your response
to this cultural transformation?

To make it easier to come to terms with cultural changes in your company, our experienced Work Smart Coaching team will support you with a full package of advice.

Register

More on the topic

La voie vers une collaboration sans limite





Chronique: Pierre-Luc Marilley, Head of Workspace & Collaboration, Swisscom

La voie vers une collaboration sans limite


Est-ce que la technologie moderne remplacera bientôt la proximité réelle?


Computerworld,




Je me souviens encore très bien du premier Blackberry. En 1999, le Blackberry lançait une nouvelle ère en matière de collaboration. Pour la première fois, il était possible de traiter ses e-mails et de coordonner ses rendez-vous en mode mobile. Nous sommes aujourd’hui depuis longtemps habitués à ne plus être liés à un poste de travail fixe. Rien n’illustre mieux l’évolution d’une époque que l’observation des passagers le matin dans les wagons. L’on y voit partout des notebooks, des tablettes et des smartphones, que ce soit pour traiter rapidement des e-mails, terminer une présentation ou tout simplement consulter brièvement l’actualité. Moi aussi, je fais partie de ceux qui utilisent efficacement le temps passé dans les déplacements.


Dans le même temps, le tableau qui s’offre à la vue tôt le matin met également en évidence les exigences des collaborateurs vis-à-vis des employeurs. Ils veulent choisir librement quand, où et avec quels appareils ils souhaitent travailler. Le poste de travail flexible ne cesse de jouer un rôle clé, car la numérisation et le changement de génération modifient fondamentalement le monde des affaires. Pour moi, c’est devenu naturel de chatter avec mes collègues pour échanger de brèves informations et de participer à des réunions soit en ligne soit par visioconférence. Les déplacements chronophages entre différents lieux appartiennent au passé et me permettent d’utiliser le temps gagné autrement.


Il y a de plus en plus d’outils et de plateformes de collaboration intelligente. Grâce à l’Augmented Reality, le travail au quotidien prend un tout nouveau visage. Double Robotics en est un exemple. En clair, il s’agit d’une machine équipée d’un écran et sur roues qui me permet de participer physiquement à des réunions sans être sur place. Les lunettes holographiques sont également un exemple illustrant comment des objets numériques peuvent élargir la réalité. Les frontières entre l’homme et la technologie sont de plus en plus floues. Mais ces outils sont-ils un simple effet de mode ou réellement la prochaine révolution? Ils ont tous une chose en commun: ils facilitent la collaboration, nous donnent la possibilité de choisir librement notre lieu de travail et augmentent la productivité. Pour que Work Smart puisse se vivre, il est toutefois nécessaire d’utiliser plus que de simples solutions techniques adaptées. Un changement culturel doit avoir lieu au sein de l’entreprise. Au lieu de s’inquiéter du choix des outils appropriés, la direction de l’entreprise doit avoir une idée claire de ce à quoi doit ressembler la collaboration. Car seule une vision structurée permet de convaincre les collaborateurs de l’intérêt d’une communication et d’une collaboration interconnectées.


Pierre-Luc Marilley, Head of Workspace & Collaboration, Swisscom

Pierre-Luc Marilley est membre de la direction de Swisscom Enterprise Customers et directeur du Solution Center Workspace & Collaboration. À ce poste, il est en charge d’élaborer des solutions de productivité et de collaboration destinées à améliorer et rendre plus efficace la collaboration entre les collaborateurs et les clients finaux. Son domaine constitue au sein de Swisscom le Competence Center pour toutes les questions relatives aux nouveaux mondes du travail.



Comment gérer le changement culturel?

La Work Smart Coaching Team expérimentée vous offre des conseils et un accompagnement complets pour faire face, sans grands efforts, aux changements de culture d’entreprise qui ont lieu au sein de votre société.

En savoir plus

En savoir plus sur ce thème