Workstream Collaboration: overview of communication tools

Team collaboration tools for companies

The tool jungle in the corporate world – which platform performs well?


Slack, Yammer, Microsoft Teams – what tools are available for company communication and how good are they?


Adrienne Fichter, 28




The business world has caught up with the private sector: The new social media for companies (technical term: enterprise social networking) are a booming market. They were designed to increase productivity, reduce the number of unnecessary e-mails and save time. Teams can communicate worldwide via these internal company networks and solve problems in real time. In the process, communication and project management elements are merging with each other more and more. This overview shows the most important collaboration tools available at the moment.


Slack

Slack appeared on the market during the heyday of chat services. Its messaging character is self-evident. As a tool, it’s especially popular with large companies and start-ups. This popularity is due to its intuitive usability and wide repertoire of emojis. Elements familiar from private chat on messenger apps such as WhatsApp can be used for playful communication in a business context.

The communication on Slack is organised individually in the form of channels. This means that each user sees a different user interface. The channels can be used for private, bilateral and even public conversations. The communication itself works similarly to Twitter, with references to profiles. Along with the option to upload files, notes and blog posts can also be stored. However, it is not possible to edit documents collaboratively. The platform is “open for all” as standard and can be used on all devices, and naturally as an app as well. The various Slack topic hubs are organised via sub-domains such as companyxy.slack.com.

One special feature is provided by Slackbots that can be programmed for small tasks. When specific key terms are used in the conversation, the Slackbot identifies itself and offers assistance. Slack is particularly suitable for small product groups, especially when fast, unbureaucratic communication is required. The customisable user interface and very efficient search function are valued highly by the community. This network has taken root among start-ups, informal groups and large companies.

However, Slack also has its size limits. If a large number of people are participating on one channel, things quickly become confusing. Debate threads are difficult to edit. Users who have been inactive for a longer period have to scroll back through the entire debate history. Also, while the platform does incorporate Skype, it is not connected to a larger ecosystem. With Slack, the reduction to core functions prevents the integration or extension to a project management tool such as Yammer or Microsoft Teams. Thus, Slack is not a real communication tool but rather a communication platform. It’s a relatively new social enterprise start-up financed by risk capital. The start-up earns its money via relatively expensive subscriptions. Under these conditions, the sustainability of the tool cannot be guaranteed.



Slack has similarities with messaging apps such as Whatsapp.


Yammer

Yammer is a company-internal and -external collaboration platform that has all of the usual functions of the social media world. This social network for companies was bought by Microsoft in 2012 for 1.2 billion US dollars. The Yammer platform started in 2008 and was heavily influenced by the newsfeed design of Facebook and other social networks.

Those familiar with the characteristics of the Facebook world will quickly find their way around Yammer. The company network is based to a large extent on the major social players, being made up of newsfeeds and groups. In Yammer, only administrators have configuration rights. A posting in Yammer is tagged with specific topics (Twitter terminology is used here) and can be addressed to specific groups or people; a file can also be added to it. Companies set up their own networks using a URL such as yammer.com/companyxy. As with Slack, Yammer users can be involved in multiple topic networks.

Yammer is mainly suitable for communication in large groups, for long-term projects and for professional integration in the existing infrastructure. Thanks to functions similar to those on Facebook, Yammer is also accessible to users without much digital experience. Microsoft has fully integrated the network into the Office 365 solutions.

In contrast to Facebook, it is not possible to edit a post that has already been published on Yammer. This means that if errors are detected, the post has to be deleted and entered again. Additionally, starting this year Yammer is no longer to be available as an independent application.



In Yammer tags are attached to posts.


Microsoft Teams

For a long time it looked as if Microsoft had missed the boat as regards communication tools for companies. Now, along with the integration of Yammer, the global player has also created a new solution in the Office 365 portfolio. And Microsoft is not merely offering a collaboration tool here – it wants to become the hub for all work activities within a company.

The core of Microsoft Teams consists of workspaces in which up to 999 people can participate. These workspaces are made up of file folders, the planning tool and a notebook. Microsoft Teams can only be obtained in the Office 365 complete package.

Microsoft Teams entered the market after Yammer and Slack and was immediately able to integrate their best features based on customers’ experiences. It also deploys an attractive, intuitive drag and drop principle. Discussion threads that have been missed can be retrieved easily. Microsoft Teams combines many features that are familiar from other platforms and optimises them. However, debate threads are only possible in the form of a sub-level.



Microsoft Teams provides what are known as workspaces for collaborating.


Cisco Spark

Cisco Spark is a messaging service in the product portfolio of the same name offered by US telecommunications service provider Cisco. As with Slack, the individual chats – whether in bilateral correspondence or group conversations – are organised into channels.

Spark is designed for working from multiple devices and locations. This can be seen in the tool’s smart notifications, for instance: When the app is open on multiple devices, the notifications are only sent to the devices on which it is also active. Spark also boasts a wide range of features: Aside from the chat function, it can also be used for video conferences or viewing shared screens. Spark also has a calendar tool that can be used to organise meetings. And there is a whiteboard function for sketching ideas in real time.

Cisco Spark handles 1-1 conversations exactly like group chats. While files can be uploaded and exchanged, they cannot be edited jointly. For these reasons, Spark is most suitable as a meeting tool for fixed groups. The whiteboard function in particular makes Cisco Spark a practical tool for meetings. Cisco also offers the Spark Board for precisely this purpose: The digital whiteboard is especially suitable for presentations and developing ideas together on a screen. The Spark Board is also integrated into the Cisco messaging solution, enabling groups in the conference room to develop ideas while those not present can follow what is happening on their device via the messaging app.



Cisco Spark is suitable for working from multiple devices.


Circuit

Circuit is a collaboration tool from German software company Unify. With Circuit the company aims to combine all of the popular communication and collaboration media within a single service – whether phone, video, screen sharing or messaging.

Circuit is used as a cloud service and is based on WebRTC: The communication and collaboration with employees takes place exclusively in the browser, without the need to install any clients on the computer. However, Unify also provides apps for mobile devices.

Even when Circuit is running on the browser, the sound and picture quality is consistently good – buffering and connection breaks are things of the past. Additionally, audio recordings of meetings can be made, files uploaded and screens shared. For Unify it is important to have a good workflow, whereby every function can be opened directly from every other one. The Circuit Enterprise Integrator enables Circuit to be integrated seamlessly into existing infrastructures such as traditional PBX telephone systems. Supplementary services such as box.com, Google Drive and Onedrive can also be integrated.



Circuit is browser-based thanks to WebRTC.


Beekeeper

With Beekeeper we have a Swiss company putting a collaboration solution on the market. This app is aimed at employees who don’t work at a desk, enabling internal communication in, for example, department stores or hotels where staff work on multiple floors. Additionally, employees without e-mail addresses can also be integrated into the network.

The user interface of Beekeeper is very similar to those of messaging apps like Facebook Messenger or WhatsApp. However, this tool offers not only real-time communication but also real-time analysis, with the creation and evaluation of employee surveys. Thus Beekeeper is also suitable for top-down or bottom-up communication, and provides HR staff in particular with an efficient means of keeping in touch with employees.


Beekeeper is particularly suitable for communication between HR representatives and employees.



Overview of communication tools




Swisscom offers a wide range of products and services that enable new, smart ways of working. Our Work Smart coaches will be happy to advise you and show you which tools are best suited to your company.

 

> Find out more


Preliminary discussion

Work Smart Coaching

Our coaches will provide you with help with establishing new ways of working and mastering cultural change.







More on the topic

Workstream Collaboration: aperçu des outils de communication

Outils Team Collaboration pour l’entreprise

La jungle des tools dans le monde de l’entreprise: que peuvent les plateformes?


Slack, Yammer, Microsoft Teams: quels sont les outils pour la communication d’entreprise et de quoi sont-ils capables? 


Adrienne Fichter, 28.




Après le plaisir social, place au monde des affaires. Les nouveaux Social Media pour l’entreprise (connus sous le terme Enterprise Social Networking) constituent un marché en plein essor. Ils ont été conçus pour augmenter la productivité, réduire le nombre d’e-mails inutiles et gagner du temps. Les équipes peuvent communiquer dans le monde entier sur ces réseaux internes à l’entreprise et résoudre des problèmes en temps réel. Les éléments de communication et de gestion de projet sont de plus en plus interdépendants. Cette vue d’ensemble montre quels sont les outils de collaboration les plus importants actuellement.


Slack

Slack est apparu sur le marché au moment d’essor des services de chat. Le caractère de messagerie est manifeste. L’outil est apprécié tout particulièrement dans les grandes entreprises et les startups. Cette popularité repose sur l’usabilité intuitive et le large répertoire d’Emojis. Les éléments connus à partir de l’entretien privé des applications Messenger comme WhatsApp peuvent être appliqués au concept professionnel pour permettre une communication ludique.

La communication sur Slack est organisée de manière individuelle sous forme de canaux. Ceci signifie que chaque utlisateur voit une interface différente. Les canaux sont utilisables pour des conversations privées, bilatérales mais aussi publiques. La communication à proprement parler fonctionne de la même manière que Twitter, en mentionnant des profils. Il est possible de transférer des fichiers et aussi d’enregistrer des notes et des billets de blog. Aucune édition collaborative des documents n’est toutefois possible. La plateforme est par défaut «open for all» et est aussi utilisable sur tous les appareils et applications. Les différents slack-hubs thématiques sont organisés dans des sous-domaines, par ex. entreprisexy.slack.com .

Les slackbots que l’on peut programmer pour de petites tâches constituent une caractéristique spécifique. Lorsque des mots-clés sont utilisés dans la conversation, le slackbot propose son aide. Slack est particulièrement indiqué pour les petits groupes de projet. Chaque fois qu’il est nécessaire d’échanger rapidement et sans bureaucratie. L’interface utilisateur individualisable et la fonction de recherche très efficace sont des caractéristiques très appréciées de la communauté. Le réseau s’est bien implanté auprès des startups, des groupes informels et des grandes entreprises.

Slack montre toutefois ses limites à partir d’une certaine taille. S’il y a un grand nombre de personnes qui participent à un canal, cela devient rapidement confus. Il est pratiquement impossible d’affiner les fils de discussions. Lorsqu’une personne est restée inactive pendant une longue période, elle doit faire défiler tout l’historique des discussions. Par ailleurs, même si la plateforme est interfacée avec Skype mais elle n’est pas intégrée à un écosystème plus important. La limitation aux fonctions essentielles empêche l’intégration de Slack ou son extension dans un outil de gestion de projet comme Yammer ou Microsoft Teams. De ce fait, Slack n’est pas un véritable outil d’intégration mais plutôt une plateforme de communication. Il s’agit d’une startup relativement jeune de type Social Enterprise financée en capital-risque. Cette startup se finance sur des abonnements payants et relativement coûteux. Dans ces conditions, la pérennité de l’outil ne peut pas être garantie.



Slack ressemble beaucoup à une application de messagerie comme Whatsapp.


Yammer

Yammer est une plateforme de collaboration interne et extérieure à l’entreprise, disposant de toutes les fonctions courantes du monde des médias sociaux. Le réseau social pour entreprises a été vendu en 2012 par Microsoft pour 1,2 milliards de dollars US. La plateforme Yammer a été lancée en 2008 et s’est fortement inspirée du design de newsfeed de Facebook et d’autres réseaux sociaux.

Les utilisateurs familiers des particularités de l’univers Facebook se retrouveront rapidement sur Yammer. Le réseau d’entreprise est largement inspiré du géant dans la catégorie des réseaux sociaux: il repose sur des newsfeeds et des groupes. Dans le cas de Yammer, seuls les administrateurs ont les droits sur les opérations de configuration. Une contribution dans Yammer est associée à des tags thématiques (on reprend ici la terminologie de Twitter). La contribution peut être adressée à des groupes ou des particuliers et comporter un fichier. Les entreprises mettent en place leurs propres réseaux en utilisant une URL comme yammer.com/entreprisexy. Les utilisateurs Yammer peuvent appartenir à plusieurs réseaux thématiques, comme avec Slack.

Yammer est particulièrement indiqué pour la communication dans des groupes importants, pour les projets à long terme et pour l’intégration professionnelle au sein d’une infrastructure existante. Les fonctions comparables à celles de Facebook rendent Yammer accessible même pour les personnes les moins expérimentées. Microsoft a intégré ce réseau dans ses solutions Office 365.

Contrairement à Facebook, Yammer ne permet pas l'édition d'une contribution déjà publiée. Ceci oblige à effacer et à réécrire les contributions dans lesquelles on aurait trouvé des erreurs. Depuis cette année, Yammer n’est plus disponible sous forme d’application indépendante.



Yammer permet d'accompagner les contributions de tags.


Microsoft Teams

Microsoft avait donné l’impression pendant un certain temps d’avoir manqué le passage aux outils de communication pour les entreprises. La société a créé entretemps sa propre solution intégrée à la famille Office 365, parallèlement à l’intégration de Yammer. Microsoft ne veut donc plus se contenter de proposer un outil de collaboration mais devenir une plaque tournante pour l’ensemble des activités de travail au sein des entreprises.

La solution Microsoft Teams repose sur des workspaces, dans lesquels jusqu’à 999 personnes peuvent participer. Ces zones de travail comportent des dossiers de fichiers, de l’outil de planning et d’un bloc-notes. Microsoft Teams est disponible exclusivement dans le pack complet Office 365.

Microsoft Teams a été mis sur le marché après Yammer et Slack, ce qui lui a permis d’intégrer les meilleures fonctionnalités issues des expériences des clients. Il est également remarquable grâce à son principe intuitif de glisser et déposer. Les fils de discussion qui n’ont pas été lus peuvent être consultés très simplement. Microsoft Teams intègre de nombreuses caractéristiques présentes sur d’autres plateformes mais en les perfectionnant. Il est possible par exemple de créer des fils de discussion situés à un niveau inférieur.



Microsoft Teams propose des «Workspaces» sur la collaboration.


Cisco Spark

Cisco Spark est un service de messagerie appartenant à la gamme de produits du même nom du fournisseur de services de télécommunication américain Cisco. De la même manière que pour Slack, les différentes discussions de chat – qu’il s’agisse de correspondances bilatérales ou de conversations de groupes – sont organisées en différents canaux.

Spark est conçu pour pouvoir être utilisé depuis plusieurs terminaux et sites, comme on peut le voir par exemple dans les notifications intelligentes de l’outil: lorsque l’application est ouverte sur plusieurs appareils, les notifications ne sont transmises que sur ceux qui sont actifs à cet instant. Spark propose par ailleurs de nombreuses fonctions. Outre la fonction de chat, l’utilisateur peut participer à des visioconférences ou utiliser le partage d’écran. Spark propose par ailleurs un outil d'agenda permettant d’organiser des réunions. Et la fonction de tableau blanc permet de noter des idées en temps réel.

Cisco Spark gère les conversations 1-1 de la même manière que les chats de groupe. Les fichiers peuvent être transférés et échangés mais ils ne sont pas modifiables par plusieurs personnes. Spark est ainsi plutôt indiqué pour les discussions dans des groupes bien définis. La fonction de tableau blanc de Cisco Park s’avère un outil pratique pour les réunions. Cisco propose précisément le Spark Board pour cette fonction: Le tableau blanc numérique est particulièrement indiqué pour les présentations et pour développer des idées en commun sur un écran. Le Sparkboard est également intégré à la solution de messagerie de Cisco: les groupes peuvent ainsi développer leurs idées dans la salle de conférence pendant que les personnes absentes suivent le déroulement sur l’application de messagerie de leur terminal.



Cisco Spark permet de travailler à partir de plusieurs appareils.


Circuit

Circuit est un outil de collaboration de l’éditeur de logiciels allemand Unify. L’entreprise souhaite que Circuit intègre tous les moyens de communication et de collaboration courants au sein d’un service unique tant par téléphone, vidéo, partage d’écran ou de messagerie.

Circuit s’utilise comme un Cloud Service et est basé sur le WebRTC: la communication et le travail avec les collaborateurs passent exclusivement par le navigateur, sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’installer de clients sur l’ordinateur. Unify est également disponible sous forme d’application pour les appareils mobiles.

Même si Circuit fonctionne sur navigateur, le son et l’image ont une qualité stable; les problèmes de mise en mémoire-tampon et les interruptions de communication appartiennent au passé. Par ailleurs, Circuit offre des fonctions d’enregistrements audio de réunions, de transfert de fichiers et de partage d’écran. Unify a mis l’accent sur la qualité du workflow: chaque fonction peut être ouverte directement depuis les autres. Le Circuit Enterprise Integrator permet d’intégrer Circuit dans les infrastructures présentes comme les autocommutateurs téléphoniques PBX traditionnels. Il peut s’interfacer également avec les services supplémentaires box.com, Google Drive et Onedrive.



WebRTC permet à Circuit de fonctionner en mode navigateur.


Beekeeper

Beekeeper est une solution de collaboration commercialisée par une entreprise suisse. Cette application s’adresse aux collaborateurs ne travaillant pas sur un bureau. Elle permet ainsi les communications internes par exemple dans des magasins ou des hôtels, dans lesquels les employés travaillent sur plusieurs étages. Les collaborateurs peuvent être intégrés au réseau même s’ils n’ont pas d’adresse e-mail.

L’interface utilisateur de Beekeeper rappelle les applications de messagerie comme Facebook Messenger ou WhatsApp. L’outil autorise la communication en temps réel ainsi que les analyses en temps réel: elle permet de créer et d’évaluer des sondages auprès des collaborateurs. Beekeeper est donc un outil de communication Top-Down ou Bottom-up et constitue, tout particulièrement pour les responsables du personnel, un moyen efficace de fidélisation des collaborateurs.


Beekeeper est utilisé essentiellement pour la communication entre les responsables du personnel et les collaborateurs.



Aperçu des outils de communication





Swisscom offre de nombreux produits et services permettant de nouveaux modes de travail intelligents. Nos Work Smart Coaches seront heureux de vous conseiller et de vous montrer quels sont les outils les plus adaptés pour votre entreprise.





En savoir plus sur ce thème