Interview with Jasmine Torfi, Head of Work Smart Coaching

Work Smart Coaching 

Work Smart connects generations


In today’s offices, up to four generations work side by side. Jasmine Torfi, Head of Work Smart Coaching at Swisscom, explains in an interview what needs to be taken into account.


The interview appeared in Sedus Insights in March 2018




Ms Torfi, what aspects have be taken into account when designing a working atmosphere that will promote collaboration between different age groups?


Two aspects are particularly relevant:

1. Including all generations and allowing them to contribute to the design process.

The office space should convey a homely feeling among people. They ought to be able to identify with the environment and feel at ease. For example, in conjunction with Facility Management, we designed and decorated the offices ourselves with our own department team. We equipped desks with castors in order to be more flexible, painted the walls and sprayed them to improve their appearance, and included plenty of wood and curtains. It’s certainly not something that you could do with every team, but it makes a considerable contribution to allowing people to identify with the office. This new office space is now very popular; all generations in the office are very pleased with them, as is top management.

2. Creating offerings and office space to satisfy different requirements.

For customers we support with our Work Smart Coaching, the most important thing is creating zones that promote communication and allow people to have a spontaneous exchange of views. This shortens the paths of communication and significantly increases the ability to innovate within the organisations. The collaborative zones are complemented with quieter areas known as silent zones, where people can retreat in order to work with fewer distractions.


You were one of the founders of the Future Work Experience Team and are responsible for Work Smart Coaching at Swisscom. What is the purpose of this team and what is its role in the company?


We have identified three fields of action at Swisscom: Work Smart as Swisscom content, product and service innovation and Work Smart Coaching. In each of these three areas there is a responsible pilot and a co-pilot. I myself am responsible for the Work Smart Coaching area. My task consists of establishing and anchoring new forms of work for our customers. The office space, technology, management and work culture are the main factors involved. At Swisscom, as early as 2010, the introduction of a new communications solution that linked everybody was the driver of cultural change. One of the factors was the removal of fixed telephones. Within Swisscom, a new collaboration platform was launched that had the aim of sharing knowledge, creating transparency and learning from one another. We call this plan our “open book culture”. Initial success in our own company led to our customers also learning about it. That is how we came to start offering Work Smart Coaching as a service. With our team, we have now accompanied over 70 companies through this process. Our third task is assisting with the introduction of new technologies to promote collaboration and communication. Lessons learned from these applications are fed back into the company, helping us to expand on our offerings.





You also developed “reverse mentoring”. How does it work and how can you get various generations involved in it?


The coaching process also involves younger employees helping their older colleagues with new technologies. For example, videos produced by the team can explain, in a simple way, how to handle digital tools. Cultural aspects are also conveyed by the younger generation in a natural and even playful manner.
Sometimes we also deploy staff on site in order to help with work and with handling new technology. They wear red jumpers, which makes them easy to recognise for people who are currently in need of support. Interestingly, we found out that the older generation is very open to being taught how to handle new digital devices by the younger generation. We arrange for young people to give presentations about new working methods and also give them responsibility for managing projects. For example, the manager of the Workspace & Collaboration department received reverse mentoring from one of our younger employees for a few weeks. One explained how Work Smart works, while the other conveyed a sense of what a management position is like. This enabled them to learn from one another and each was able to help the other develop.


What are the biggest challenges and opportunities offered by a multi-generational office? How do you handle the different expectations and demands from each generation when you are launching Work Smart concepts?


We are currently in a situation where particularly older employees often contact our team. Sometimes they are worried that their job can be done by a younger person and that they could therefore lose it. We are convinced, however, that everybody is unique within their own area. We often observe that older employees have particularly significant strengths in project management, while younger employees are very familiar with new technologies. We want to promote and build on these different strengths, regardless of an employee's age and origin. This allows us to deploy employees in an optimum manner in accordance with their abilities. We motivate employees to recognise and value others’ strengths instead of concentrating on differences. This produces an environment of trust in which people find the courage to overcome their inhibitions and develop curiosity.


What measures are required to enable all generations to benefit and how can the measures contribute to a feeling of well-being across the generations?


Social proof is the decisive factor. When implementing Work Smart, it is extremely important that the plan be represented, promoted and exemplified by management. Integrating various corporate departments such as IT, HR, FM and communication plays an important role. Another aspect is empowering young people and entrusting them with responsibility. We recently experienced how a CEO encouraged a young employee to help him formulate the company vision.

Openness to change and a readiness to also redefine the roles of young employees contribute to vertical integration. This opens up new perspectives and creates an environment that leads away from control and towards trust and transparency. Suitable office space offers opportunities for both young and old to converse and exchange ideas. New communities are developing thanks to these measures. At Swisscom, we also, by the way, have a virtual employee on our team called “Smartina”. She acts as a contact point and can provide advice and answers when questions arise about new working methods.



“Work Smart fosters entrepreneurship”



Jasmine Torfi

Head of Work Smart Coaching





Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Interview de Jasmine Torfi, Head of Work Smart Coaching

Work Smart Coaching 

Work Smart connecte les générations


Aujourd’hui dans nos locaux, jusqu’à quatre générations travaillent ensemble. Jasmine Torfi, Head of Work Smart Coaching chez Swisscom, explique dans cette interview tout ce à quoi il faut faire attention.


Paru dans Sedus Insights en mars 2018




Madame Torfi, quels aspects doivent faire l’objet d’une attention particulière en termes de cadre de travail afin d’encourager la coopération entre les différentes tranches d’âge?


Deux aspects sont tout particulièrement importants:

1. Intégrer toutes les générations et leur permettre de travailler ensemble.

Les bureaux doivent déclencher chez leurs occupants un sentiment d’appartenance. Ils doivent pourvoir s’identifier à l’environnement et s’y sentir à l’aise. Par exemple, après consultation avec le service de Facility Management, nous avons réaménagé et agencé nous-mêmes les bureaux avec notre propre équipe. Nous avons équipé les tables de roulettes pour plus de flexibilité, repeint et décoré les murs avec des bombes de peinture, utilisé beaucoup de bois et accroché des rideaux. Certes, ce n’est pas faisable avec toutes les équipes mais cela contribue fortement à la création d’une identité commune. Aujourd’hui, ces nouveaux locaux sont très appréciés, et sont non seulement utilisés par toutes les générations, mais aussi par le Top management.

2. Créer des offres et de l’espace pour les différents besoins.

Pour les clients que nous accompagnons avec notre Work Smart Coaching, il s’agit de créer des zones qui favorisent la communication et permettent aux gens de communiquer spontanément entre eux. Cela raccourcit les voies de communication et décuple considérablement la capacité d’innovation au sein des organisations. Les zones collaboratives s’accompagnent de zones plus calmes, dites zones silencieuses, dans lesquelles on peut s’isoler et se concentrer pour travailler.


Vous avez cofondé l’équipe Future Work Experience et vous êtes responsable de Work Smart Coaching chez Swisscom. Quel est le but de cette équipe et quel rôle joue-t-elle dans l’entreprise?


Chez Swisscom, nous avons défini trois domaines d’action: Work Smart en tant que contenu de Swisscom, Product and Service Innovation et Work Smart Coaching. Chacun de ces trois secteurs compte un pilote responsable et un copilote. Je supervise moi-même le secteur Work Smart Coaching. Mon travail consiste à établir et appliquer durablement de nouvelles façons de travailler avec notre clientèle. Les locaux, les technologies, le leadership et la culture de travail en sont les principaux facteurs. Chez Swisscom en 2010 déjà, le lancement d’une nouvelle solution de communication capable de connecter tous les individus a été le moteur du changement culturel. Cela s’est traduit, entre autres, par la suppression de tous les téléphones fixes. Au sein de Swisscom, une plateforme de collaboration a été lancée dans le but de partager les connaissances, d’apporter une certaine transparence et d’apprendre les uns des autres. Nous avons appelé ce projet la «culture Open Book». Les premiers résultats obtenus dans notre propre entreprise ont attiré l’attention de notre clientèle. Nous avons donc commencé à proposer le service Work Smart Coaching. Avec notre équipe, nous avons déjà accompagné plus de 70 entreprises dans ce processus. Dans un troisième temps, nous encourageons le lancement de nouvelles technologies qui favorisent la coopération et la communication. Les résultats obtenus dans les différentes applications sont retransmis à l’entreprise et nous aident à développer davantage nos offres.





Le concept dit du «Reverse Mentoring» a également été développé chez vous. En quoi consiste-t-il et comment parvenez-vous à y inclure les différentes générations?


Le processus de coaching fait également participer les jeunes collaborateurs qui aident les plus âgés à se familiariser aux nouvelles technologies. Par exemple, les vidéos autoproduites indiquent comment manipuler les outils de travail numériques en toute simplicité. Les aspects culturels sont également transmis par la jeune génération d’une manière naturelle et ludique.
Nous utilisons également les collaborateurs sur place pour les aider à travailler et à se familiariser avec les nouvelles techniques. Ils portent des pulls rouges et sont donc aisément reconnaissables pour ceux qui ont besoin d’assistance. Nous pouvons dire que la génération plus âgée se montre très ouverte quand il s’agit de se faire aider par les jeunes générations pour utiliser les nouveaux appareils numériques. Nous sensibilisons les jeunes aux nouvelles méthodes de travail et leur donnons la responsabilité de gérer des projets. Par exemple, le responsable du secteur Workspace & Collaboration a bénéficié pendant plusieurs semaines du «Reverse Mentoring» dispensé par l’un de nos jeunes collaborateurs: l’un expliquait comment fonctionne Work Smart et le responsable lui enseignait en quoi consiste un emploi dans le Management. Ils ont ainsi pu apprendre l’un de l’autre et s’entraider.


Quels sont les défis et opportunités majeurs d’un bureau multigénérationnel? Comment gérez-vous les différentes attentes et exigences des générations lors du lancement des concepts Work Smart?


En ce moment nous constatons que les collaborateurs et collaboratrices plus âgé(e)s cherchent souvent à être en contact avec notre équipe. Ils craignent parfois que leur travail puisse être effectué par des jeunes et qu’ils perdent ainsi leur emploi. Nous sommes cependant convaincus que chaque personne est unique dans son domaine. Nous constatons donc que les collaborateurs plus âgés ont des compétences marquées en gestion de projet, alors que les jeunes collaborateurs connaissent plutôt bien les nouvelles technologies. Notre objectif est de promouvoir et renforcer ces différentes compétences, indépendamment de l’âge et des antécédents. Nous utilisons ainsi nos collaborateurs de manière optimale en fonction de leurs capacités. Plutôt que de se focaliser sur leurs différences, nous encourageons les employés à reconnaître et à valoriser les compétences des autres. Nous instaurons ainsi un climat de confiance dans lequel les gens trouvent le courage de mettre de côté leurs inhibitions et de développer leur curiosité.


Quelles sont les mesures nécessaires pour que toutes les générations puissent tirer profit de ce système et comment peuvent-elles contribuer à un sentiment de bien-être perçu de génération en génération?


La preuve sociale est un facteur décisif. En ce qui concerne Work Smart, il est extrêmement important que ce projet soit représenté, encouragé et appliqué par la direction. L’intégration des différents secteurs de l’entreprise comme l’informatique, les RH, le FM et la communication joue un rôle important. Un autre aspect est l’autonomisation (Empowerment) et le transfert de responsabilités aux jeunes collaborateurs. C’est ainsi que nous avons vu récemment un CEO encourager une jeune collaboratrice à formuler avec lui la vision de l’entreprise.

L’ouverture au changement et la volonté de redéfinir les rôles des jeunes collaborateurs contribuent également à l’intégration verticale. Cela ouvre de nouvelles perspectives et crée un environnement moins dans le contrôle et davantage marqué par la confiance et la transparence. Des espaces adaptés offrent aux jeunes et aux moins jeunes la possibilité de discuter et d’échanger. Grâce à ces mesures, de nouvelles communautés se forment. Chez Swisscom, nous comptons également dans l’équipe une collaboratrice virtuelle appelée «Smartina», qui nous conseille et répond à nos questions sur les nouvelles méthodes de travail.



«Work Smart favorise l’esprit d’entreprise»



Jasmine Torfi

Head of Work Smart Coaching





Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème