Sharespace





Sharespace

Collaboration portal: One for everything and everyone


Smooth collaboration among employees is an important success factor for companies. Having one tool for information, documents and interaction is the key to this. But what opens the door to this in particular is cultural change.


Pedro Brägger, October 2016




Companies today put their faith in teams rather than lone wolves. They know that you get better results if employees from different disciplines team up. Several studies have shown that collaborative undertakings are more successful. The proof for this is provided by the oft-cited high-flyers from Silicon Valley such as Uber and Spotify. But how can employees work together efficiently? Especially in virtual teams where employees from different areas are working on a project at different locations, often no one has an overview, and collaboration is unproductive. Information does not reach all relevant persons, knowledge already acquired is lost, and experiences from previous projects remain unused. All this costs a company agility, innovative capacity and money.


Too few, too many and inadequate tools

Communication solutions can help – ones that organise information and communication. Without these, motivated employees know to help themselves: They use user-friendly applications and tools such as Dropbox or WhatsApp for company purposes. However, over the long term such behaviour inevitably leads to a shadow IT system in the company and is thus associated with a high risk in regard to security and loss of knowledge. There is also the legal risk, such as banking and insurance data that must remain in Switzerland.


Another problem is that each team uses its own tool for its various activities. This is understandable, because the applications are suitable for specific purposes. But such fragmentation is highly inefficient: The team members no longer have an overview, and accessing the information is tedious when they have to log on to each of the various portals. In addition, the potential of the individual applications is often not tapped, as a study by Pierre Audoin Consultants on the working environments in Swiss industry (2016) shows. In this study, most surveyed IT and business decision-makers reported additional work due to applications cannot interact with each other.


Another shortcoming of various tools is that users can hardly track the progress of information, do not know who edited what last, or are then constantly looking for the latest valid version. Multiple saved versions also occupy space on the servers. This leads to additional costs and also makes it harder to backup and restore the system.


The foundation for a panacea

Companies want to get this situation under control and are looking for a tool that meets the various needs. But why not start small and evolve with the company’s needs and projects? Initially, only one basic system with the fundamental features such as news publishing, communities, virtual workspaces and social media features (such as comments, likes and feeds) as well as secure and easy sharing of data with third parties is necessary. Other tools such as video, voice, chat and e-mail are then seamlessly integrated in this basic system – without users having to log in again and copy data.


What is crucial is the social media software, which is suitable as a basic system but nevertheless can be adapted to the different requirements. According to Gartner (2015), the tools from Microsoft are promising. They include a considerable range of solutions that can be used in the cloud and deployed at the customer site (on premise). Integrated in an ecosystem, features such as voice, data storage, internal and external collaboration, chat and e-mail can be combined – in a manner that is better than with other solutions.


It is of course the case that SharePoint cannot be used as easily and quickly as Skype for Business, for example. But if you develop the solution further so that the different features work together, an intuitive interface is created. This can be adapted to the diverse needs of the company. Ideally this creates a portal that combines intranet and collaboration, and on which communication, knowledge and information flows along all hierarchical lines. Teams, whether virtual or not, can communicate easily within workspaces using feeds or outside their communities using articles. If there are adjustments to projects and documents, employees receive automatic notifications on request. A document management system manages the versions of a document and allows different people to work on a document at the same time. Documents are e-mailed only as a link to the shared data storage and do not clog your mailbox. The latest SharePoint features ensure that links that are sent will still work if the document is moved to another location. The data remains in one place, preferably encrypted and protected, and is available on any device with a browser thanks to responsive design. Users always maintain an overview using dashboards. Such a portal makes it possible for employees to be more productive, to improve the quality of project work and to communicate more efficiently. That benefits both employers and employees.



Collaboration solution requires cultural change

The right tool for a portal is essential, but it does not lead to the aforementioned advantages by itself. Because no matter how intuitive and user friendly such a solution is: Employees need to know how they can use the solution, and they need to adapt their habits. They diligently share content in their spare time – such as cat videos on Facebook, photos of dinner on Instagram or beach selfies on Snapchat. But within the company, they usually are reluctant to share key findings from a project, a link to a relevant study or success stories from the reality of everyday business, let alone answer a question from a teammate so that others benefit.


If a company wants to roll out a portal that nurtures and facilitates communication and collaboration between employees, it must be aware that this will actually change the way that the company works. It means a major change in people’s habits and also requires a cultural shift.


Commitment

The vision for the new way of working must be strategically anchored, and it must be backed up by management.


Planning

It is a project which is to be well thought-out and coordinated over time.


Support

Employees are to be introduced to the new way of working and receive support when needed.


Establishment

The communications portal must be filled with life, and this requires great commitment especially at the beginning. This can be in the form of dedicated community management and be associated with measures such as newsfeed posts, video tutorials and live events.


Collaboration can undoubtedly lead a company to more innovation and quality, but it needs to be approached properly. It is worthwhile to Google the phrase “Why intranets fail”. Those who want to do it better consult experts and benefit from their experiences.




Mehr zum Thema

L'intranet social





L'intranet social

Collaboration: un portail pour tout et pour tous


Une collaboration irréprochable entre collaborateurs constitue un facteur de succès important pour les entreprises.La solution passe par un outil conçu pour les informations, les documents et l’interaction. C’est toutefois lechangement culturel qui ouvre les portes.


Pedro Brägger, Octobre 2016




Les entreprises misent aujourd’hui sur les équipes plutôt que surles caractères individualistes. Elles le savent bien: lorsque les collaborateursde différentes disciplines coopèrent, ceci donne demeilleurs résultats. Différentes études montrent que les entreprisesqui collaborent ont plus de succès. C’est ce qu’attestent leschampions de la Silicon Valley que sont Uber et Spotify. Mais commentles collaborateurs peuvent-ils collaborer de manière efficace?C’est précisément dans les équipes virtuelles, dans lesquelles lescollaborateurs issus de différents domaines et différents sites travaillentsur un projet, qu’il manque souvent un vue d’ensemble etla collaboration s’avère non productive. Les informations ne parviennentpas à toutes les personnes concernées, les connaissancesdéjà élaborées s’infiltrent et les expériences des projets précédentsrestent inutilisées. Pour l’entreprise, tout ceci a un coût en termesd’agilité, de capacité innovante et d’argent.


Des outils trop peu nombreux, trop nombreux et insuffisants

Le recours à des solutions de communication consistant à organiserles informations et l’échange peut s’avérer utile. À défaut, un collaborateurmotivé saura trouver une solution: il utilisera des applicationset des outils conviviaux comme Dropbox ou Whatsapp pour lesbesoins de l’entreprise. Ce comportement conduit toutefois inévitablementà long terme à une Shadow IT dans l’entreprise et comporteainsi un risque important en termes de sécurité et de perte de savoir.À ceci vient s’ajouter le risque juridique, par exemple concernant lesdonnées bancaires et d’assurance, qui doivent rester en Suisse.


Il existe un autre problème: chaque équipe utilise son propreoutil pour ses différentes activités. Ceci est compréhensible dansla mesure où les applications se prêtent à des objectifs spécifiques.Une telle disparité est toutefois extrêmement inefficace: lesmembres de l’équipe n’ont plus de vue d’ensemble et l’accès auxinformations est pénible lorsqu’ils doivent se connecter auprès desdifférents portails. Par ailleurs, le potentiel des différentes applicationsest souvent inexploité comme l’indique une étude de PierreAudoin Consultants, sur les environnements de travail dans l’industriesuisse (2016). La plupart des décideurs informatiques etcommerciaux qui y sont interrogés font état d’une surcharge enraison de l’impossibilité pour les applications d’interagir ensemble.


Autres faiblesse des différents outils: les utilisateurs ont de lapeine à suivre l’avancement des informations et ignorent qui atraité quel sujet en dernier ou ne cessent alors de rechercher ladernière version valable. Par ailleurs, les versions stockées à différents endroits occupent énormément d’espace mémoire sur lesserveurs. Ceci entraîne des coûts et complique également les opérationsde sauvegarde et de restauration du système.


Les bases pour une solution polyvalente

Les entreprises tiennent à garder la maîtrise de cette situation etrecherchent un outil couvrant les différents besoins. Pourquoi ne pascommencer modestement et se développer en continu au rythme del’entreprise, des besoins et des projets? Il n’y a besoin au départ qued’une base avec les fonctions essentielles comme le Newspublishing,les communautés, les espaces de travail virtuels et les Social Features(telles que les commentaires, les J’aime et les Feeds) ainsi quel’échange simple et sécurisé des données avec les tiers. Cette baseintègre alors de manière transparente d’autres outils tels que la vidéo,la voix, le chat et l’e-mail – sans que les utilisateurs soient obligésde se reconnecter et de copier des données.


L’élément décisif concerne donc le logiciel social, qui constitue labase, mais doit toutefois être ajusté en fonction des différentes exigences.Selon Gartner (2015), les outils de Microsoft sont prometteurs.Il s’agit d’un remarquable éventail de solutions utilisables tantdans le Cloud que chez le client (on premise). Intégrées à un écosystème,les fonctions telles que la voix, le stockage des données, lacollaboration interne et externe ainsi que chat et la messageriepeuvent être réunies – bien mieux qu’avec d’autres solutions.


Même s’il n’est pas possible d’utiliser Sharepoint de manière aussisimple et rapide que Skype for Business par exemple, la solutioncontinue à être perfectionnée de manière à permettre l’interactionentre les différentes fonctions et la création d’une interfaceintuitive. Cette dernière peut s’ajuster aux différents besoins dansl’entreprise. Ceci donne lieu, idéalement, à un portail intégrantIntranet et Collaboration, et sur lequel entrent en jeu la communication,les connaissances et les informations, le long de tous leséchelons hiérarchiques. Les équipes, qu’elles soient virtuelles ounon, peuvent communiquer de manière harmonieuse au sein desWorkspaces en utilisant des Feeds, ou bien hors de leur Communityau moyen d’articles. Lorsque les projets et les documents fontl’objet d’ajustements, les collaborateurs qui le souhaitent reçoiventune notification automatique. Un système de gestion desdocuments gère les versions d’un document et permet à différentespersonnes de travailler en même temps sur le même document.Les documents sont transmis par mail à l’aide d’un lien versle stockage de données partagé, ce qui évite d’encombrer la boîtede messagerie. Les données restent au même endroit, en étant depréférence chiffrées et protégées. Elles sont consultables depuistout appareil doté d’un navigateur, grâce au Responsive Design.Les dashboards permettent aux utilisateurs de conserver en permanenceune vue d’ensemble. Ce genre de portail permet auxcollaborateurs d’être plus productifs, d’augmenter la qualité dutravail de projet et d’échanger plus efficacement. Un atout pourles employés et les employeurs.



Une solution de collaboration nécessite un changement de culture

S’il est capital d’utiliser l’outil parfaitement adapté pour tout portail,ceci n’est pas suffisant pour apporter les atouts indiqués. Eneffet, peu importe le caractère intuitif et convivial d’une telle solution,les collaborateurs doivent savoir comment ils peuvent utiliserla solution et ils doivent adapter leurs habitudes. Certes, ilspartagent avec passion des contenus durant leur temps libre. Pourautant, ils ont généralement encore du mal à partager, au sein del’entreprise, des informations importantes sur un projet ou un lienvers une étude pertinente, sans parler de répondre à la questiond’un collègue de leur équipe afin d’en faire profiter les autres.


Lorsqu’une entreprise souhaite mettre en place un portail simplifiantet favorisant la communication et le travail d’équipe entrecollaborateurs, elle doit prendre conscience qu’elle devra changereffectivement sa manière de travailler. Ceci signifie un importantbouleversement des habitudes et s’accompagne nécessairementd’un changement culturel.


Commitment

La vision de la nouvelle manière de travaillerdoit être ancrée stratégiquement et le management doit s’impliquerfortement.


Planification

Il s’agit d’un projet qui doit être mûrement réfléchiet qui doit être soigneusement planifié.


Accompagnement

Les collaborateurs doivent être initiés à lanouvelle manière de travailler et doivent être soutenus si besoin.


Établissement

Le portail de communication doit être vivantpour stimuler l’engagement des collaborateurs, en particulierau début. Ceci peut passer par exemple par un CommunityManagement dédié et donner lieu à des mesures comme descontributions de Newsfeed, des instructions vidéo et des événementsen live.


La collaboration peut sans conteste favoriser l’innovation et laqualité dans une entreprise, mais cela nécessite une approcheadaptée. Cela vaut la peine de rechercher sur Google «Why intranetsfail». Pour éviter ces écueils, il est recommandé de faire appelà des experts et de profiter de leurs expériences.


En savoir plus sur ce thème