Work-Sport Balance in the Office

Work Smart

World championship skiing as a team event in the office


The skiing world championship delights sports fans but is a headache for IT and HR management. Occupational psychologists recommend using this major event as an opportunity to strengthen team culture within the company.


Jörg Rottweiler,




While the skiing world championship 2017 delights sports fans for two weeks and live streaming portals report record traffic figures – many HR and IT managers are walking through the office red-faced with frustration as they work out how to get a handle on sport-loving employees. As a survey shows, there is no panacea for this. The range of solutions ranges from great freedom to blocking – such as in major banks, the SBB and in many municipal and cantonal administrative offices. For example: “TV and video streams are blocked on the proxies of the city of Zurich for capacity reasons with only a few exceptions such as for communications staff,” explains Martin Otzenberger, Communications Manager, Organisation and IT, Zurich.


Networks at the limit

It's understandable. What could happen if users overdo it with streaming could be seen on 23 January 2014 when the networks of the St. Gallen cantonal administration and federal government nearly collapsed during an Australian Open match featuring Stan Wawrinka.


Despite this, the Federal Office for IT and Telecommunications is not planning on blocking streaming during the skiing world championship. “We'll monitor the load on the internet connections and intervene if the traffic load is impairing work. Otherwise the Federal Office for IT and Telecommunications issues no rules on Internet surfing. That is left to the individual administration units,” explains Sonja Uhlmann-Haenni, Director of Managerial Staff and Media Spokesperson at the Federal Office for IT and Telecommunications.

Public screening in the office: The legal situation

For public screenings in a private setting, it is sufficient if the private TV reception is registered with Billag Ltd.
A copyright fee is due outside of such private settings, for example in the office. This is regarded as having been paid if the company is registered with Billag Ltd for commercial TV reception and the screen diagonal is a maximum of three metres. Companies only intending to make such a screen available for the skiing world championship can enjoy the events live and legally with the public screening package from Swisscom.

Application examples
& functions


“We don't make any restrictions, we simply appeal to common sense. This has proven to work in the past.”


Daniel Piazza, Director of Company Communications (Central Swiss Power Stations)


Advantage for sporty superiors

Many companies such as Central Swiss Power Stations take a “sporty” approach to the skiing world championships. Daniel Piazza, Director of Company Communications: “We don't make any restrictions, we simply appeal to common sense. This has proven to work in the past.”


PwC Switzerland goes one step further. The company has enjoyed great success with its streaming infrastructure that is primarily used for internal communications and enables the simultaneous distribution of audio-visual communications to all 3,000 employees at 15 locations in Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Claudia Sauter, Head of PR & Communications: “It's taken on an exciting, encouraging life of its own. Many teams and entire locations organise public screenings for these communications and this helps boost team spirit.”


Carpe diem

Work psychologists know this effect. Prohibitions cause a lot of frustration and are difficult to implement – anybody who wants to follow the world championship can do so on their own smartphone. Instead public screenings promote internal networking, motivation and loyalty among employees. Therefore it can be worth using the skiing world championship 2017 as a test lab and finding out if public screening in your company aids team spirit. There has never been a better opportunity. As most decisions are taken between 12:00 and 14:00, the possible loss of working time is not too drastic. And the copyright fees for public screenings in the workplace are also not too high.




More on the topic

Work-Sport-Balance au bureau

Work Smart

Un Team Event au bureau pour les championnats du monde de ski


Les championnats du monde de ski réjouissent les amateurs de sport mais donnent la migraine aux responsables IT et HR. Les psychologues du travail recommandent d’utiliser les grands événements pour renforcer l’esprit d’équipe au sein de l’entreprise.


Jörg Rottweiler,




Lorsque la fièvre sportive sévit, comme prochainement pendant deux semaines à l’occasion des championnats du monde de ski 2017, les portails de transmission en flux continu en direct annoncent des niveaux d’utilisation record tandis que les responsables HR et IT parcourent les bureaux le visage rouge et se demandant comment maîtriser leurs collaborateurs un peu trop amateurs de sport. Il n’y a pas de recette miracle, comme le montre une enquête. L’éventail s’étend de la liberté totale au blocage comme dans les grandes banques, les CFF et de nombreuses administrations cantonales et municipales. Ainsi, «les streams TV/vidéo des proxies de la ville de Zurich, à quelques exceptions près (spécialistes en communication, etc.), sont bloqués pour des raisons de capacité» explique Martin Otzenberger, directeur de la communication du département Organisation et Informatique de la ville de Zurich.


Des réseaux saturés

De manière compréhensible. Car ce qui se passe lorsque les utilisateurs abusent de la transmission en flux continu a été montré le 23 janvier 2014, lorsque, pendant le match de Stan Wawrinka à l’Open d’Australie, les réseaux de l’administration cantonale de Saint-Gall et de la Confédération ont manqué de peu le collapsage.


Malgré cela, l'Office fédéral de l’informatique et de la télécommunication (OFIT) ne prévoit pas de blocage de la transmission en flux continu pendant les championnats du monde de ski. «Nous observerons et limiterons l’utilisation des connexions Internet si la charge de trafic porte atteinte à la capacité de travail. Sinon, l’OFIT n’émet aucune consigne concernant la navigation sur Internet. Nous laissons cela aux différentes entités administratives» déclare Sonja Uhlmann-Haenni, responsable de l'état-major de direction et porte-parole de l’OFIT.

Public viewing au bureau: Situation juridique

En cas de public viewing dans un cadre privé, l’enregistrement de la réception TV privée auprès de Billag est suffisant.
En dehors de la sphère privée – comme au bureau – une redevance de droits d'auteur est due. Elle est considérée comme payée si l’entreprise est enregistrée auprès de Billag pour la réception TV en entreprise (commerciale) et si la diagonale de l’écran ne dépasse pas trois mètres. Avec le pack TV Swisscom, les entreprises souhaitant installer un tel écran uniquement pendant les championnats du monde de ski seront de la partie en direct et en toute légalité.

Exemples d’application
et fonctions


«Nous n’imposons aucune restriction, nous en appelons au bon sens. Cette approche s’est avérée payante.»


Daniel Piazza, responsable de la communication d'entreprise chez la Centralschweizerische Kraftwerke (CKW)


Avantage aux supérieurs sportifs

De nombreuses entreprises, comme la Centralschweizerische Kraftwerke (CKW), abordent ces championnats du monde de ski de manière «sportive». Daniel Piazza, responsable de la communication d'entreprise: «Nous n’imposons aucune restriction, nous en appelons au bon sens. Cette approche s’est avérée payante.»


PwC Schweiz va encore plus loin. L’infrastructure de transmission en flux continu de l’entreprise qui sert principalement à la communication interne et permet la distribution simultanée de communications audiovisuelles à l’ensemble des 3000 collaborateurs répartis sur 15 sites en Suisse et au Liechtenstein, est une grande réussite. Claudia Sauter, Head of PR & Communications: «Des élans passionnants et réjouissants se sont produits: De nombreuses équipes et de nombreux sites organisent de manière autonome des séances de public viewing pour ces retransmissions, ce qui favorise l'esprit d’équipe.»


Profiter de la faveur du moment

Un effet que connaissent les psychologues du travail. Les interdictions créent une grande frustration et sont en outre très difficiles à faire respecter: Une personne voulant suivre les championnats du monde en direct peut toujours le faire sur son smartphone personnel. En revanche, vibrer ensemble devant un écran favorise la mise en réseau interne, la motivation et la loyauté des collaborateurs. C’est pourquoi les championnats du monde de ski 2017 pourraient être un «laboratoire» permettant de découvrir si le public viewing peut être bénéficiable à l’esprit d’équipe au sein de l’entreprise. C’est le moment ou jamais. La plupart des décisions étant prises entre 12h et 14h, l’interruption de travail éventuelle sera limitée. Et la redevance de droits d'auteur pour public viewing sur le lieu de travail reste raisonnable.






Comment gérer le changement de culture?


La Work Smart Coaching Team vous apporte accompagnement et conseils pour faire face, sans grands efforts, aux changements de culture d’entreprise qui ont lieu au sein de votre société.

En savoir plus




En savoir plus sur ce thème