Work Smart in the Federal Office of Information Technology

The BIT is a pioneering new ways of working

How Work Smart works


The Federal Office for IT and Telecommunications is a trailblazer in new ways of working within the Federal Administration. Work Smart coaching is an important element on the path to the future world of work.


Text: Urs Binder, images: © Manuel Zingg,





“Work Smart” is a part of everyday life for Carlo Dietiker. The man in charge of customer and quotation management at the Federal Office for IT and Telecommunications (BIT) does not even have his own office: “My office is a rucksack, a laptop, a smartphone and a wireless mouse”, explained Dietiker, who fulfils the role of Vice-Director at the BIT. He is very keen on flexible working and actively drives the conversion of the Federal Administration to new ways of working. He does this completely in line with the Federal Administration's “Mobile Working” partial strategy: While the Federal Personnel Office (EPA) is taking care of general conditions under labour law, in its capacity as the internal ICT provider for the Federal Administration as a whole, the BIT should provide the computer equipment – starting with the BIT itself.


Coaching in Skype for Business

A key prerequisite for the introduction of new ways of working is a standardised communications platform. To that end, the BIT uses Skype for Business. The solution is already widely used. According to Dietiker, hundreds of thousands of sessions take place within the Federal Administration each week. The Work Smart coaching provided by Swisscom is equally responsible for ensuring a high rate of acceptance: Making use of the reverse mentoring principle, Swisscom trainees acting in the capacity of “Work Smart Specialists” showed BIT employees how they could put Skype for Business to good use on an everyday basis within their workplace.


The new generation is coming

“The average age at the BIT is around 45. That is not necessarily the age group that will adopt new ways of working on their own initiative”, stated Dietiker. However, this is definitely not the case with younger employees, particularly trainees belonging to the Millennial Generation: “The youth of today exchange views in group chats, get solutions from YouTube, are used to working with one another and generally use completely different methods and tools.”



It therefore makes sense to also make use of reverse mentoring in our own organisation. “Swisscom has young Work Smart Specialists, and I wanted the same for the BIT.” Around a dozen BIT trainees were given the opportunity to attend two workshops to learn about the working culture at Swisscom, while at the same time working on specific projects for the BIT. “It really took off”, said Dietiker, “the participants found the workshops to be very good and felt that they had returned full of the Work Smart spirit.” It is expected that, in the future, they will bring this enthusiasm for the new world of work to older employees, as well as providing in-house training to further trainees to enable them to become ambassadors. Carlo Dietiker expects this to result in improvements in efficiency – and the BIT will be able to position itself as an attractive employer for young talent.

The BIT

The Federal Office for IT and Telecommunications is the ICT provider for the whole of the Federal Administration. In 2016, its contract volume amounted to 430 million Swiss francs. The BIT employs around 1200 people across two sites, located in Bern and Zollikofen; four fifths of those employees are IT professionals and technicians. The BIT provides its customers with ICT services throughout the entire value chain, from business analysis to operation of the solutions.


“The youth of today exchange views in group chats, get solutions from YouTube and are used to working with one another.”


Carlo Dietiker Head of Customer and Quotation Management, BIT


The ambassadors also play an important role during the establishment of the internal Work Smart community. Together with Work Smart coaches, the use of a digital and physical community is defined – a point of contact for employees that provides expertise and support with regard to the new ways of working. Direct consulting with Work Smart experts regarding the simple technical handling of Skype, SharePoint and other such programs is just as much a part of this as an online platform; this could perhaps take the form of a SharePoint workspace with supporting information concerning typical use cases for employees.


“The participants found the workshops to be very good and felt that they had returned full of the Work Smart spirit.”


Carlo Dietiker Head of Customer and Quotation Management, BIT


In addition, like many organisations, the BIT is suffering from a severe case of information overload. “There are a great many different tools in existence, and often we do not know where to find the information we are looking for.” That is why the Management Board tasked Carlo Dietiker with developing a new knowledge and collaboration platform. He wanted to ensure that the younger generation was heavily involved in this.


The sticking point of organisational culture

If you look at the FlexWork phase model used by the University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Northwestern Switzerland, the BIT working environment and ICT equipment are very well positioned. As a result, in the new “Black Pearl” BIT building in Zollikofen, a room concept involving open-plan offices, project rooms and hourly-assignable “think tanks” was implemented. Initial fears concerning privacy and nuisance noise or odours failed to materialise. Job satisfaction, measured by means of regular pulse surveys, has increased.



“However, technology and infrastructure develop significantly faster than culture. It does not stop with the provision of IT equipment and rooms”: this is one of the most important lessons learned from the Work Smart transformation to date. It is necessary to carry out a fundamental discussion of values. For example, this could address the fact that flexible working is equivalent to fixed working hours, regardless of the time and the day of the week. In that sense, as far as Dietiker is concerned, the process has only just begun at the Federal Administration.

 

In the future, the Vice-Director hopes to achieve a widely-supported Work Smart culture, barrier-free access to knowledge in accordance with the open book principle and a less pronounced hierarchy. The result will be a strong feeling of togetherness and, ultimately, improved quality and lower prices for the BIT’s customers. Thanks to Work Smart coaching and the internal Work Smart ambassadors, the foundation has now been laid for this.




Provision of Work Smart coaching at the BIT by Swisscom


  • Co-creation consulting with managers
  • Skype for Business training with floorwalking by Swisscom trainees
  • Training course to enable BIT trainees to become Work Smart ambassadors
  • Imparting of possibilities for new ways of working from a purely technical point of view




More on the topic

Work Smart au sein de l’Office fédéral de l’informatique

L’OFIT est précurseur en matière de nouvelles formes de travail

Comment fonctionne Work Smart


L’Office fédéral de l’informatique et de la télécommunication fait office de précurseur pour les nouvelles formes de travail au sein de l’administration fédérale. Le coaching Work Smart est un élément important dans le processus conduisant au monde du travail de demain.






Pour Carlo Dietiker, le «Work Smart» fait partie du quotidien. Le directeur du département de gestion de la clientèle et des offres de l’Office fédéral de l’informatique et de la télécommunication (OFIT) ne dispose pas de son propre bureau: «Mon bureau est un sac à dos, un ordinateur portable, un smartphone et une souris sans fil», déclare Dietiker, directeur adjoint de l’OFIT. Il est enthousiasmé par le travail flexible et promeut activement la transformation de l’administration fédérale pour la mise en œuvre de nouvelles formes de travail. Ce qui va dans le sens de la stratégie partielle «Travail mobile» de la Confédération: alors que l’Office fédéral du personnel (OFPER) s’occupe des conditions-cadres du droit du personnel, l’OFIT, en tant que fournisseur TIC interne, doit fournir les outils informatiques à l’ensemble de l’administration fédérale, en commençant par l’OFIT lui-même.


Coaching pour Skype for Business

L’un des piliers de base des nouvelles formes de travail est une plateforme de communication homogène. L’OFIT mise pour cela sur Skype for Business. Cette solution est déjà utilisée de manière intensive. Dietiker explique que des centaines de milliers de «sessions» ont lieu chaque semaine au sein de l’administration fédérale. Le coaching Work Smart de Swisscom contribue à cette bonne acceptation: selon le principe du mentorat inversé, les apprenants Swisscom, assumant le rôle de «Work Smart Specialists», ont montré aux collaborateurs de l’OFIT comment utiliser au quotidien Skype for Business de manière profitable à leur poste de travail.


La nouvelle génération arrive

«À l’OFIT, l’âge moyen est d’environ 45 ans. Ce n’est pas un âge où l’on adopte spontanément de nouvelles formes de travail», remarque Dietiker. Les nouveaux collaborateurs, et en particulier les apprenants de la génération des Millenials, sont très différents: «Les jeunes d’aujourd’hui communiquent par chat de groupe, vont chercher des solutions sur YouTube, sont habitués à travailler ensemble et emploient de manière générale des méthodes et des instruments très différents.»



Il était donc logique d’utiliser le mentoring inversé également au sein de l’organisation. «Les Work Smart Specialists de Swisscom sont jeunes et c’est exactement ce que je voulais pour l’OFIT.» Environ une demi-douzaine d’apprenants de l’OFIT ont eu l’opportunité, grâce à deux workshops, de découvrir la culture de travail de Swisscom et d’élaborer en parallèle des projets concrets pour l’OFIT. «Ça a fait clic», déclare Dietiker, «les participants ont beaucoup apprécié les workshops et nous disent avoir saisi l’essentiel de l’esprit Work Smart.» Cet esprit du nouveau monde du travail, ils doivent désormais le transmettre aux collaborateurs plus âgés et former d’autres apprenants en interne pour en faire des ambassadeurs. Carlo Dietiker en attend un gain d’efficacité – et un positionnement plus attractif pour l’OFIT, notamment auprès des jeunes talents.

L’OFIT

L’Office fédéral de l’informatique et de la télécommunication est le fournisseur TIC de l’ensemble de l’administration fédérale. Le volume des commandes était de 430 millions de francs en 2016. Les deux sites de Berne et de Zollikofen emploient environ 1200 collaborateurs, dont près de quatre cinquième d’informaticiens et de techniciens. L’OFIT fournit à ses clients des services TIC sur toute la chaîne de création de valeur, de l’analyse commerciale à l’exploitation de solutions.


«Les jeunes d’aujourd’hui communiquent par chat de groupe, vont chercher des solutions sur YouTube et sont habitués à travailler ensemble.»


Carlo Dietiker, directeur du département de gestion de la clientèle et des offres de l’OFIT


Les ambassadeurs jouent également un rôle important dans la création d’une Work Smart Community interne. En collaboration avec les coaches Work Smart, les avantages d’une communauté numérique et physique ont été définis – un point de contact pour les collaborateurs, leur apportant savoir et soutien pour tout ce qui concerne les nouvelles formes de travail. Le conseil direct par les experts Work Smart sur l’aspect purement technique de l’utilisation de Skype, SharePoint, etc., en fait partie, tout comme une plateforme en ligne, par exemple sous la forme d’un espace de travail SharePoint contenant des informations utiles sur les Use-Cases typiques des collaborateurs.


«Les participants ont beaucoup apprécié les workshops et nous disent avoir saisi l’essentiel de l’esprit Work Smart.»


Carlo Dietiker, directeur du département de gestion de la clientèle et des offres de l’OFIT


Comme de nombreuses organisations, l’OFIT souffre d’un flux d’informations trop important. «Il existe beaucoup d’instruments différents, et il est fréquent qu’on ne sache pas où trouver l’information que l’on recherche.» C’est pourquoi Carlo Dietiker a été chargé par la direction de développer une nouvelle plateforme de savoir et de collaboration. Il souhaite y impliquer fortement la nouvelle génération.


La culture de l’organisation comme point d’attaque

Si l’on considère le modèle de phases FlexWork développé par la Haute École Spécialisée de la Suisse du Nord-Ouest, l’environnement de travail et les instruments TIC de l’OFIT sont satisfaisants. Ainsi, un concept d’aménagement comprenant des bureaux ouverts, des salles de projet et des «Think Tanks» utilisables à l’heure a été mis en œuvre de manière systématique au sein du nouveau bâtiment «Black Pearl» de l’OFIT à Zollikofen. Les craintes initiales concernant le respect de la vie privée et les nuisances sonores ou olfactives n’ont pas été confirmées. La satisfaction au travail, mesurée par des contrôles réguliers, a augmenté.



Mais l’un des principaux constats du déroulement du processus de transformation Work Smart jusqu’ici est le suivant: «La technique et l’infrastructure se développent beaucoup plus rapidement que la culture. La mise à disposition d’outils informatiques et de salles ne suffit pas». Un débat de fond sur les valeurs est nécessaire. Par exemple sur la question de l’équivalence entre le travail flexible et les horaires enregistrés par pointage. Et ce, indépendamment de l’heure et du jour de la semaine. L’administration fédérale n’en est qu’au tout début, estime Dietiker.

 

Le directeur adjoint espère, à l’avenir, un large ancrage de la culture Work Smart, un libre accès au savoir selon le principe de l’Open Book, et une hiérarchie moins marquée. Il en résultera, selon lui, un plus grand sentiment d’appartenance, et au final, une meilleure qualité et des prix plus bas pour les clients de l’OFIT. Les fondations ont été posées avec le coaching Work Smart et les ambassadeurs internes Work Smart.




Coaching Work Smart à l’OFIT par Swisscom


  • Conseil de co-création avec les cadres
  • Formation Skype-for-Business avec floorwalking par les apprenants Swisscom
  • Formation des apprenants de l’OFIT pour devenir ambassadeurs Work Smart
  • Transmission des nouvelles possibilités de travail au-delà des aspects purement techniques




En savoir plus sur ce thème