Contact Temporary connections
Contact Temporary connections

Youth Olympic Games 2020

Private 5G network tested successfully at the 2020 Youth Olympic Games

As part of its partnership with the Lausanne 2020 Youth Olympic Games, Swisscom participated in the Innosuisse 5G-PROLIVE project, which aims to integrate all audiovisual equipment into a private 5G network during major events. This concept was demonstrated successfully during the event at the Villars site.

A private 5G wireless network to reduce the installation of audiovisual equipment at sporting events is now a reality. A demonstration held during the Lausanne Youth Olympic Games from 9 to 22 January 2020 has been hailed a resounding success. It brought together the partners OFCOM, EPFL, SRG SSR, the HEIG-VD (School of Management and Engineering in Yverdon), the Neuchâtel-based company NuLink and Swisscom. The demonstration ran from 17 to 22 January at the Villars site and was designed to completely replace wired audiovisual installations with a private 5G wireless network connecting all the production equipment at the venue.

«Equipping a sporting event such as the Winter Youth Olympic Games with a private 5G network offers considerable advantages - not only in terms of implementation, but especially in terms of sustainability.»

Jacques Bähler
Head of International Project Management

Ecological and economic benefits

A wireless network for major events massively reduces the amount of installation equipment transported and the manpower required. “At large sporting events, there can easily be around 40 lorries of equipment, including lots of cables. As well as heavy loads and more pollution, this also requires considerably more personnel. Our aim would be to send just the cameras, microphones, timing devices, and scoreboards, greatly reducing the number of colleagues, vehicles and containers to be moved,” explains Laurent Zwahlen, director of NuLink. This reduction in staff and equipment would result in substantial savings and lessen the environmental impact of such events. According to Jacques Bähler, a project lead at Swisscom, these tests show that a “wireless event” could be envisaged in the medium term with the installation of a private 5G antenna via SIM cards dedicated to this private network. “This prospect offers considerable advantages in terms of speed of implementation, and for sustainability in particular.”

Major tests at the Youth Olympic Games

With venues spread across two countries and 1,837 athletes from 79 nations competing in 81 events, the Youth Olympic Games provided an ideal platform to demonstrate the potential of this new technology that could revolutionise the world of sporting events in the future. The Villars site was chosen for infrastructure reasons.

1/6

2/6

3/6

4/6

5/6

6/6

1/6

Our services

Contact Lignes temporaires
Contact Lignes temporaires

Youth Olympic Games 2020

La 5G privée testée avec succès lors des JOJ 2020

Dans le cadre de son partenariat avec les Jeux Olympiques de la Jeunesse de Lausanne 2020, Swisscom participe au projet Innosuisse 5G-PROLIVE qui vise l’intégration de tous les équipements audiovisuels dans un réseau privé 5G lors de grands événements. Ce concept a été démontré avec succès en marge de l’événement sur le site de Villars.

Un réseau 5G privé sans fil pour «alléger» les événements sportifs en installation d’équipements audiovisuels, c’est possible. Une démonstration a été effectuée en marge des Jeux Olympiques de la Jeunesse de Lausanne, qui se sont déroulés du 9 au 22 janvier 2020, et l’opération a connu un franc succès. Cette démonstration réunissait dans un partenariat l’OFCOM, l’EPFL, la SSR, l’école d’ingénieur d’Yverdon, l’entreprise neuchâteloise NuLink et Swisscom. Elle a été réalisée du 17 au 22 janvier sur le site de Villars et avait pour objectif de se passer totalement d’installations audiovisuelles câblées grâce à un réseau 5G privé sans fil connectant tous les équipements de production déployés sur le site.

«Équiper un événement sportif tel que les Jeux olympiques de la jeunesse d'hiver d'un réseau 5G privé offre des avantages considérables - non seulement en termes de mise en œuvre, mais aussi en termes de durabilité en particulier.»

Jacques Bähler
Head of International Project Management

Avantages écologiques et économiques

Qui dit réseau sans fil sur de tels événements dit forte réduction du matériel à transporter pour l’installation des équipements nécessaires. Mais aussi moins de personnel impliqué. «Lors de gros événements sportifs, on compte aisément une quarantaine de camions de matériel, dont beaucoup de câbles, ce qui représente non seulement de gros chargements, davantage de pollution, mais aussi énormément de personnel mobilisé. L’objectif consisterait à n’envoyer que les caméras, les microphones, les outils de chronométrage, les tableaux d’affichage et réduire ainsi grandement le nombre de collaborateurs, véhicules et containers à déplacer», explique Laurent Zwahlen, directeur de NuLink. Cette diminution de personnel et de matériel permettrait ainsi des économies substantielles et réduirait l’impact écologique de tels événements. Selon Jacques Bähler, l’un des responsables du projet chez Swisscom, ces tests démontrent qu’un «Wireless Event» serait envisageable à moyen terme avec la mise en place d’une antenne 5G privée via des cartes SIM dédiées à ce réseau privé. «Cette perspective offre des avantages considérables au niveau de la rapidité de mise en place et surtout en termes de durabilité».

Tests d’envergure lors des JOJ

Avec des sites répartis sur deux pays, 1837 athlètes venus de 79 nations et concourant dans 81 épreuves, les Jeux Olympiques de la Jeunesse offraient une plateforme idéale pour démontrer les possibilités de cette nouvelle technologie qui pourrait révolutionner l’univers de l’événementiel sportif à l’avenir. Le choix s’est porté sur le site de Villars pour des raisons d’infrastructure.

1/6

2/6

3/6

4/6

5/6

6/6

1/6

Nos prestations