Contact Temporary connections
Contact Temporary connections

Sonova — Virtual Town Halls

  • brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
    brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
    brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
    brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Sonova is a leading provider of innovative hearing solutions. For Sonova’s management, it is important to maintain regular contact with over 14,000 employees around the globe, as easily and efficiently as possible. The company uses such tools as the live video platform Microsoft Teams and Hive Streaming for intelligent distribution of content within its company network. Sonova uses Swisscom’s managed services for its live streaming needs to ensure the quality and reliability of its broadcasts.

The challenge

Keeping a huge number of employees in over 100 countries regularly updated on the company’s goals and strategies is no easy task for internal communications. For Sonova, it is important that «information is not just something that employees receive; it should also enable them to understand and identify with Sonova,» explains Daniela Heiniger, the company’s Communications Manager. The medium of video is ideal for achieving this goal, as it creates a sense of closeness, authenticity and support. But which technology platform is best suited to this goal? And which partner can offer the most efficient solution for carrying out live broadcasts of town hall meetings, for example?

The solution

Sonova asked itself these questions and found answers in the form of Swisscom, Microsoft and Hive Streaming. «Microsoft Teams is already a well-established tool within our company, and is used to foster communication and collaboration,» explains Stephan Jola, Senior Content and Collaboration Specialist. So MS Teams Live Events was the logical choice for the distribution of live videos within the company, no matter where they were recorded, or on what equipment.


However, when live videos are viewed by thousands of employees within a company network at the same time, this can exceed the capacity of the available bandwidth, which can compromise the quality and reliability of the video stream and even peripheral systems. This risk was eliminated by integrating a peer-based enterprise content delivery network (eCDN) solution from Hive Streaming, which uses a smart system to ease the strain on bandwidth. Hive Streaming also creates extra added value by offering analysis tools to monitor video usage and network capacity.


As a local partner of Hive Streaming, Swisscom provided support for the integration of the eCDN solution and also works with Sonova employees to handle operational management of some live events, including audio and video production and direction within the Microsoft Teams platform.

The result

«Swisscom’s experience, flexibility and geographic proximity enabled us to carry out our first worldwide streaming event in a very short time.»

Stephan Jola
Senior Content und Collaboration Specialist, Sonova AG

Thanks to Swisscom’s support, Sonova can now make efficient use of existing tools – in this case, Microsoft 365 – while the smart eCDN solution from Hive Streaming also prevents spikes in the company network when it streams HD video. This has paved the way for further live events, which Sonova will use to further improve the way it informs employees worldwide about current developments and strategic decisions.

Our services

Contact Lignes temporaires
Contact Lignes temporaires

Sonova — Virtual Town Halls

  • brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
    brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
    brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
    brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Sonova est un fournisseur leader de solutions auditives innovantes. Son équipe dirigeante accorde une grande importance à l’organisation d’échanges réguliers avec ses 14 000 collaborateurs partout dans le monde et ce, de la manière la plus simple et la plus efficace qui soit. L’entreprise utilise, entre autres, Microsoft Teams comme plateforme vidéo en temps réel et Hive Streaming pour la diffusion intelligente des contenus sur le réseau d’entreprise. Elle mise sur l’offre Managed Services de Swisscom pour garantir la qualité et la stabilité des transmissions lors des séances de streaming en direct.

Le défi

Diffuser les toutes dernières informations relatives aux objectifs et à la stratégie de l’entreprise auprès de très nombreux collaborateurs dans plus de 100 pays est un défi de taille en termes de communication interne. Daniela Heiniger, Communications Manager pour Sonova, précise qu’il est essentiel que «les collaborateurs reçoivent les informations et puissent également les comprendre et en retirer un sentiment d’identification à Sonova». Le support vidéo est particulièrement adapté à cet objectif car il crée de la proximité, de l’authenticité et de la sympathie. Reste cependant à identifier la plateforme technologique la plus appropriée et à choisir les bons partenaires pour assurer des retransmissions en direct optimales, par exemple des séances de discussion ouverte ou «Town Hall Meetings».

La solution

Sonova a trouvé la réponse à ces enjeux auprès de Swisscom, Microsoft et Hive Streaming. Pour Stephan Jola, Senior Content & Collaboration Specialist, «Microsoft Teams est un outil qui a déjà fait ses preuves pour favoriser la communication et la collaboration dans l’entreprise». En toute logique, Sonova a donc choisi les Lives Events Microsoft Teams pour pouvoir diffuser des vidéos en temps réel dans l’entreprise, indépendamment des équipements utilisés ou du lieu de prise de vue.


Toutefois, l’accès à des vidéos en direct par des milliers de collaborateurs en même temps sur le réseau d’entreprise peut mettre à rude épreuve la bande passante disponible et porter atteinte non seulement à la stabilité et à la qualité du flux vidéo, mais également aux sous-systèmes. En réponse à ce risque, Sonova a intégré la solution Enterprise Content Delivery Network (eCDN) de Hive Streaming, qui utilise la technologie peer-to-peer pour soulager intelligemment la bande passante au niveau international. La solution Hive Streaming présente l’avantage supplémentaire d’inclure des outils d’analyse clairs concernant la consommation vidéo et l’utilisation du réseau.


En tant que partenaire local de Hive Streaming, Swisscom a mené à bien l’intégration de la solution eCDN et collabore avec les équipes Sonova pour la prise en charge opérationnelle de certains événements en direct. Ceci inclut la production audio et vidéo, ainsi que la régie sur la plateforme Microsoft Teams.

Le résultat

«L’expérience, la flexibilité et la présence régionale de Swisscom nous ont permis d’être rapidement prêts à tenir notre tout premier événement de streaming à l’échelle mondiale»

Stephan Jola
Senior Content & Collaboration Specialist, Sonova SA

Grâce au soutien de Swisscom, Sonova peut aujourd’hui tirer parti efficacement d’outils existants – en l’occurrence Microsoft 365 – et s’appuyer sur la solution intelligente eCDN de Hive Streaming pour diffuser des contenus vidéo haute définition en streaming sans surcharger son propre réseau d’entreprise. Les conditions sont donc réunies pour permettre à Sonova d’organiser de nouvelles expériences Live Event, de façon à communiquer encore plus efficacement son actualité et ses décisions stratégiques à ses collaborateurs partout dans le monde.

Nos prestations