Contact Temporary connections
Contact Temporary connections

Ypsomed – secure Enterprise Video Platform

Ypsomed is the world’s leading developer and manufacturer of injection and infusion systems for selfmedication. With a global network of production locations, subsidiaries and distribution partners, as well as around 1,600 employees worldwide, it is a challenge for the Group’s communications team to provide the relevant stakeholders with the right messages and via the most suitable communication channels. For some time now, the company has therefore been successfully relying on Swisscom’s secure Enterprise Video Platform for the management and transmission of its video content.

Video on the increase

Video is one of the current trends in corporate communications. No wonder, when the moving image, a medium that combines both information and emotion, is ideally suited for internal and external communications. With its wide range of application scenarios – from product videos to internal training videos, right through to investor relations live streaming – it also ensures greater efficiency throughout the company.

An alternative to YouTube

The volume of videos used at Ypsomed has also increased steadily in recent years. Initially, the company relied on YouTube for managing its videos, ‘with all its known disadvantages’, as Massimo Mercuriali, Marketing Communications Manager at Ypsomed, explains:

‘Admittedly, it puts your content on the second biggest search engine in the world, but, in return, you lose overall control of your own content, cannot replace existing videos with new versions without the URL changing, have to live with co-branding in the YouTube environment, cannot integrate videos seamlessly into the layout of your own website, etc.’ In short, an alternative solution was needed for video hosting. Online research and discussions amongst colleagues eventually drew Mercuriali’s attention to the secure Enterprise Video Platform (sEVP) by Swisscom and movingimage.

‘The potential of the platform is still far from being exhausted.’

Massimo Mercuriali
Manager Marketing Communications , Ypsomed Ltd.

More than 300 videos on the platform already

‘We are now using the platform for all corporate use cases: explanatory videos, product presentations, corporate films, HR, CEO statements and internal communications,’ enthuses the communications expert. The secure EVP, with its comprehensive functionality, easily outperforms the competition, particularly when it comes to handling videos for medtech products. Thanks to the configurable player, the Ypsomed promotional film, for example, can be integrated into the company website in a way that is seamlessly compatible with the corporate design.

Better organisation, control and security

The videos are managed by the four members of the online team. ‘We will continue to use YouTube, but only for promotional purposes,’ explains Mercuriali. Asked to summarise the reasons for his choice, he mentions, first and foremost, the organisation, control and security that have been significantly improved through the introduction of the Enterprise Video Platform. ‘The platform is extremely reliable and offers many more functions than we are currently using. We simply haven’t had enough time yet.

 

’Speaking about the potential for optimisation, Mercuriali mentions the embedding of videos directly via the movingimage API, instead of via the standard embedding solution. In addition to improved performance, a further advantage would be that metadata about the videos could be entered directly in the platform’s user backend and also be played on the website. But eLearning, live presentations and on-demand webinar recordings are also topics for the future: ‘The potential of the platform is still far from being exhausted.’

About Ypsomed

Ypsomed Holding Ltd., based in Burgdorf (Bern), is an internationally operating Swiss medical technology company. In 2018, Ypsomed had approximately 1,500 employees and generated a net income of around CHF 52 million with a revenue of CHF 466.1 million. Ypsomed Holding is listed on the SIX Swiss Exchange.

Our services



Enterprise Video Platform

Contact Lignes temporaires
Contact Lignes temporaires

Ypsomed – secure Enterprise Video Platform

Le groupe Ypsomed est le leader mondial du développement et de la fabrication de systèmes d’injection et de perfusion dédiés à l’automédication. Avec un réseau mondial de sites de production, de filiales et de partenaires commerciaux ainsi qu’environ 1600 collaborateurs dans le monde entier, la communication d’entreprise doit relever le défi de fournir aux acteurs concernés les bons messages via les canaux de communication appropriés. Depuis quelque temps déjà, l’entreprise fait confiance à Swisscom secure Enterprise Video Platform pour la gestion et la diffusion de ses contenus vidéo.

La vidéo progresse

La vidéo représente actuellement l’une des principales tendances dans la communication d’entreprise. Il n’y a rien d’étonnant à cela, car en tant que média qui concilie information et émotion, l’image animée est le support idéal pour une utilisation dans la communication interne et externe. Elle augmente également l’efficacité dans toute l’entreprise avec ses innombrables possibilités d’utilisation, de la vidéo de produit aux relations avec investisseurs en live-stream, en passant par les vidéos internes de formation continue.

Une alternative à YouTube

Ypsomed a aussi vu son volume de vidéos progresser constamment au cours des dernières années. L’entreprise s’est dans un premier temps appuyée sur YouTube pour la gestion de ses vidéos, «avec les désavantages que l’on connaît», comme l’explique Massimo Mercuriali, Manager Marketing Communications chez Ypsomed:

 

«Nos contenus sont certes sur le deuxième plus important moteur de recherche au monde, mais on en perd le contrôle total. Il n’est plus possible de remplacer des vidéos existantes par de nouvelles versions sans en changer l’URL, il faut accepter de vivre un comarquage dans l’environnement YouTube, il n’est plus possible d’intégrer parfaitement les vidéos dans l’affichage du site, et la liste est encore longue...» Autrement dit: il fallait trouver une alternative pour l’hébergement vidéo. Des recherches en ligne et des discussions avec des collègues ont attiré l’attention de Mercuriali sur secure Enterprise Video Platform (sEVP) de Swissom et movingimage.

«Le potentiel de la plateforme n’est de loin pas épuisé.»

Massimo Mercuriali
Manager Marketing Communications , Ypsomed SA

Déjà plus de 300 vidéos sur la plateforme

«Nous utilisons désormais la plateforme pour tous les cas d’utilisation d’entreprise: vidéos explicatives, présentations de produits, films d’entreprise, RH, déclarations du CEO et communication interne», sourit le professionnel de la communication. La sEVP surpasse la concurrence avec ses fonctionnalités complètes, en particulier en ce qui concerne les vidéos sur la manipulation des produits du secteur de la technologie médicale. En outre, il est par exemple possible d’intégrer le corporate design approprié dans le film promotionnel d’Ypsomed en toute simplicité sur le site Web de l’entreprise grâce au lecteur configurable.

Plus d’ordre, de contrôle et de sécurité

Les vidéos sont gérées par l’équipe Online qui est composée de quatre personnes. «Nous continuons à utiliser YouTube, mais uniquement à des fins promotionnelles», explique Mercuriali. Interrogé sur le bilan de l’opération, il évoque l’amélioration sensible de l’ordre, du contrôle et de la sécurité grâce à l’introduction de Enterprise Video Platform. «La plateforme fonctionne de manière extrêmement fiable et offre encore bien plus de fonctions que ce que nous utilisons actuellement. Nous n’avons tout simplement pas eu le temps de tout explorer jusque-là.»

 

Au niveau du potentiel d’optimisation, Mercuriali cite l’intégration des vidéos directement via l’API movingimage en lieu et place de la solution d’intégration standard. En plus d’améliorer les performances, cela présenterait aussi l’avantage de pouvoir saisir les métadonnées des vidéos directement dans la section back-end de la plateforme et de les diffuser aussi sur le site. Sans oublier d’autres sujets qui entrent en ligne de compte pour l’avenir, tels que l’e-learning, les présentations en direct ou les enregistrements de webinaires à la demande: «Le potentiel de la plateforme n’est de loin pas épuisé.»

À propos d’Ypsomed

Ypsomed Holding SA, dont le siège est situé à Burgdorf (BE) est une entreprise suisse de technologie médicale active au niveau international. En 2018, le groupe Ypsomed employait environ 1500 personnes. Il a généré un bénéfice net d’environ 52 millions de francs sur un chiffre d’affaires de 466,1 millions de francs. Ypsomed Holding est cotée à la bourse suisse SIX Swiss Exchange.

Nos prestations



Enterprise Video Platform