Title topic “ICT and innovation”

In competition with their own mentality

Swiss companies need to accelerate their development processes if they wish to avoid being overtaken by competitors. However, in the IT that is essential for agility, they are extremely conservative.

Daniel Meierhans

In a current study, Franz Brinken, CEO of the machine tool manufacturer Starrag, gets to the heart of the central challenges for the Swiss industry with a tangible comparison: “In Switzerland, the development, production and market launch of a machine takes up to five years. In Asia, these are on the market in a maximum of two years.” As a result, the study “Innovation – reinvented” by the consulting company Deloitte sees Swiss manufacturers as being under pressure. They need to accelerate their innovation processes and have the courage to take risks if they do not want to be overtaken by their global competitors.

 
Speed instead of absolute reliability

With this, Deloitte points out a development that not only affects Switzerland as an industrial location, but all globally active companies – in these markets, which have been increasingly volatile and even more fiercely competitive since the financial crisis, speed is becoming a key success factor. Within five years, a competitor can launch a solution that is perhaps not quite as good, but is less expensive. There is just as great a risk of the requirements changing fundamentally, for example if energy prices decrease or the customer segments in the recipient countries shift.

 

Ultimately, this confronts Switzerland with a mental challenge. Instead of absolute quality and reliability, there is increasing demand for a willingness to take risks and for flexibility. These properties are gaining additional significance because very few companies are still able to produce new products entirely independently. For specific expert knowledge, for example from IT, materials science or the interaction design, specialist development partners need to be consulted.

 

Focus on operations instead of change

The use of IT provides a perfect example of how much Swiss companies struggle with willingness to take risks and openness. “Only around ten percent of Swiss companies are using public cloud computing and even they are using it only to a modest extent. This indirectly shows that only very few companies have a cloud strategy,” observes Michael MacNicholas, Director Technology Advisory at Deloitte in Switzerland. According to the CIO Survey 2013 by Deloitte, in other industrial countries, in contrast, 23 per cent of companies are already using services from the public cloud.

1/4 The agendas of Swiss CIOs are dominated by operating and cost topics. Driving forward new digital business models only comes in fifth place. Internationally, the situation is precisely reversed. (Note: The response options were not exactly identical in the Swiss and international surveys)

2/4 Driving forward digital strategies has a low priority. This directly affects the possibilities available to IT to develop business innovations – the CIOs lack human and material resources.

3/4 Switzerland is among the countries with the highest IT spending per employee. Nevertheless, modern IT techniques are comparatively rarely used. Thus there is a risk – especially when it comes to the cloud – that we will fall behind in the area of innovative business models, too.

4/4 The Swiss CIOs point to data protection and legislation as external factors that are the main reason for the low level of cloud use. This is surprising as, today, many offers address precisely these issues.

1/4 The agendas of Swiss CIOs are dominated by operating and cost topics. Driving forward new digital business models only comes in fifth place. Internationally, the situation is precisely reversed. (Note: The response options were not exactly identical in the Swiss and international surveys)

The low cloud adaptation rate in Switzerland is an expression of a fundamentally more conservative attitude with regard to IT as compared to global competitors. While the CIOs of competitors place their main focus on the ability to implement changes as quickly as possible, in Switzerland maintaining operations is at the top of the priorities list. “However, this is also related to the fact that Swiss companies have built up comparatively high-quality and complex IT with a high degree of individuality,” MacNicholas relativises his statement.

«Instead of absolute quality and reliability, there is increasing demand for a willingness to take risks and for flexibility.»

Wait until drawbacks occur

In the past, Swiss companies have been spared a few overrated hypes with their reserved behaviour. However, now that the Internet of things, the 4.0 industry, big data, mobile commerce, bring your own device and other consumerisation technologies or an abruptly changing business environment are demanding increasingly rapid and, above all, flexible responses, such behaviour could soon become a drawback. According to MacNicholas, the ball is in the management’s court: «As our survey shows, the IT managers themselves would very much like to be active as innovation drivers. However, Swiss managers view IT above all as a service department and, in most cases, still do not fully recognise their innovation potential.»

Challenges in innovation

The study by Deloitte highlights how Swiss companies can react to the increasing pressure to innovate:

«Innovation reinvented»

Agility in IT

Agile IT covers the dimensions of flexibility and quality. Specifically, responses to new challenges should be fast (adapt core processes, continue developing software) and it should be possible to guarantee a high quality standard (fulfilling the functional requirements, service levels).

Agile IT

Further Focus articles

An interview with Sylvère Leu

«Customers don’t want innovation»

At Meyer Burger, Sylvère Leu steers the innovation capability. He does not personally chase every new development.

Expert interview

Get back control!

In the video, Swisscom cloud expert Eduard Modalek demands greater data control instead of shadow IT for companies.

Column by Andreas Von Gunten

The cloud computing rift

Many believe that there is only a small difference between cloud computing and classic IT – a fatal misjudgement.

Thème du titre «TIC et Innovation»

En concurrence avec sa propre mentalité

Si elles ne veulent pas être dépassées par la concurrence, les entreprises suisses doivent accélérer leurs processus de développement. Mais dans l’agilité de l’IT, elles sont extrêmement conservatrices.

Daniel Meierhans

Franz Brinken, CEO du constructeur de machines-outils Starrag, résume, dans une étude actuelle, l’un des défis centraux de l’industrie suisse par une comparaison solide: «En Suisse, le développement, la production et le lancement sur le marché d’une machine durent jusqu’à cinq ans. Les Asiatiques sont sur le marché en deux ans maximum.» L’étude «Innovation reinvented» – de la société conseil Deloitte voit aussi les constructeurs suisses sous pression. Ceux-ci doivent accélérer leurs processus d’innovation et avoir le courage de prendre des risques s’ils ne veulent pas être dépassés par leurs concurrents mondiaux.

 

La rapidité au lieu d’une fiabilité absolue

Deloitte se réfère ainsi à une évolution qui concerne non seulement la place économique suisse, mais aussi toutes les entreprises opérant au niveau international: depuis la crise économique, la rapidité est devenue un facteur de succès décisif sur des marchés de plus en plus volatils et rudement convoités. En l’espace de cinq ans, un concurrent peut lancer une solution peut-être pas aussi parfaite, mais en tout cas plus avantageuse. De même, le risque que les exigences se modifient, par exemple si les prix de l’énergie baissent ou si les segments de clientèle se décalent dans les pays acheteurs, est important.

 

Ainsi, la Suisse fait également face aujourd’hui à un challenge mental. Au lieu d’une qualité et d’une fiabilité absolue, le goût du risque et la flexibilité sont de plus en plus demandés. Ces caractéristiques revêtent une importance croissante parce qu’aujourd’hui, plus aucune entreprise pratiquement n’est en mesure de développer de nouveaux produits de façon totalement autonome. Pour le savoir-faire spécifique, comme dans l’informatique, les sciences des matériaux ou l’Interaction Design, il est indispensable de faire appel à des partenaires de développement spécialisés.

 

Une focalisation sur l’exploitation plutôt que sur le changement

L’emploi de l’informatique montre de façon exemplaire à quel point les entreprises suisses ont des difficultés à faire preuve de goût du risque et d’ouverture: «Seules 10% des entreprises suisses environ utilisent aujourd’hui le Public Cloud Computing, et ce uniquement dans un cadre très limité. Cela montre indirectement qu’elles ont au moins une stratégie Cloud», s’exclame Michael MacNicholas, Director Technology Advisory de Deloitte en Suisse. Dans d’autres pays industrialisés, 23% des entreprises utilisent déjà, selon la CIO Survey 2013 de Deloitte, les services du Cloud public.

1/4 Les priorités des CIO suisses sont dominées par des thèmes se rapportant à l’exploitation et aux coûts. Faire avancer de nouveaux modèles numériques commerciaux n’arrive qu’à la cinquième place. La tendance est inversée au plan international. (Les options de réponses n’étaient pas totalement identiques dans les sondages suisse et l'étranger.)

2/4 Faire avancer les stratégies numériques jouit d’une faible priorité. Cela se répercute directement sur les possibilités de l’IT de développer des innovations commerciales: les CIO manquent de ressources humaines et matérielles.

3/4 La Suisse compte parmi les pays qui affichent les plus fortes dépenses informatiques par collaborateur. Pourtant, les techniques informatiques modernes sont relativement peu utilisées. Dans le domaine du Cloud en particulier, notre pays menace donc de prendre du retard, en termes de modèles commerciaux innovants notamment.

4/4 Outre la protection des données et la législation, les CIO suisses citent un facteur externe comme principale raison de la faible utilisation du Cloud. Cela semble d’autant plus étonnant que de nombreuses offres s’attaquent justement à ces questions.

1/4 Les priorités des CIO suisses sont dominées par des thèmes se rapportant à l’exploitation et aux coûts. Faire avancer de nouveaux modèles numériques commerciaux n’arrive qu’à la cinquième place. La tendance est inversée au plan international. (Les options de réponses n’étaient pas totalement identiques dans les sondages suisse et l'étranger.)

Le faible taux d’adaptation du Cloud en Suisse reflète l’attitude plus conservatrice des Suisses, en comparaison avec les concurrents internationaux, en matière d’informatique. Alors que les CIO des concurrents s’efforcent principalement d’implémenter les changements le plus rapidement possible, le maintien de l’exploitation est, dans notre pays, en tête des priorités. «Mais cela est aussi lié au fait que les entreprises suisses ont mis en place une informatique relativement complexe et de haut niveau, avec un degré d’individualisation très élevé», relativise M. MacNicholas.

«Au lieu d’une qualité et d’une fiabilité absolue, le goût du risque et la flexibilité sont de plus en plus demandés.»

 
Attendre d’avoir un problème

Par le passé, les entreprises suisses se sont épargnées, par leur retenue, certains hypes surestimés. Mais si, maintenant, l’Internet des objets, Industrie 4.0, Big Data, Mobile Commerce, Bring your own Device et d’autres technologies de Consumerization ou un brusque changement de l’environnement commercial exigent des réponses de plus en plus rapides et, surtout, plus flexibles, cette attitude pourrait bientôt se transformer en un problème. La balle est maintenant dans le camp du management, affirme MacNicholas: «Comme le révèle notre sondage, les responsables IT eux-mêmes aimeraient jouer un rôle moteur dans l’innovation. Mais les directions suisses voient essentiellement l’IT comme un département de services et ne reconnaissent pas suffisamment, dans la plupart des cas, leur potentiel d’innovation.»

Défis dans l’innovation

L’étude de Deloitte montre la façon dont les entreprises suisses peuvent réagir à la pression croissante en matière d’innovation.

L’étude est uniquement disponible en anglais.

«Innovation reinvented»

CIO Survey

La situation de l’IT dans les entreprises suisses et où le bât blesse chez les CIO suisses.

L’étude est uniquement disponible en anglais.

Switzerland CIO Survey 2013

L’agilité dans l’IT

Une IT agile comprend les dimensions flexibilité et qualité. Concrètement, il s’agit de réagir rapidement aux nouveaux défis (adapter les processus clés, développer les logiciels existants) et de pouvoir garantir un standard de qualité élevé (remplir les exigences fonctionnelles, Service Levels).

Agilité IT

Plus d'articles Focus

Entretien avec Sylvère Leu

«Les clients ne veulent pas d’innovations»

Chez Meyer Burger, Sylvère Leu pilote la capacité d’innovation. Personnellement, il ne court pas après chaque nouveau développement.

Entretien avec un expert

Get back control!

Eduard Modalek, expert du Cloud chez Swisscom, réclame davantage de contrôle de données pour les entreprises au lieu d’une informatique de l’ombre.

Chronique d’Andreas Von Gunten

Le fossé du Cloud Computing

Nombreux sont ceux qui pensent qu’il n’y a qu’une petite différence entre le Cloud Computing et l’informatique classique. C’est une erreur d’appréciation fatale.