Wolf tests

Watertight for business and lifestyle

We tested the Samsung Galaxy S5 for business and personal use.

Peter Wolf

Large …

The display is comfortably large. However, this can lead to accidental activation of one of the buttons at the bottom edge of the screen with the ball of the thumb – either when reading in landscape format, when watching a video or while playing a game. It takes a while to get used to the perfect method of holding the device. 

... or small

Is your thumb too short or the display too large? In the settings under “Sound and Display”, you can activate “one-handed operation”, allowing you to reduce the displayed area by means of a quick swipe movement with the thumb from the edge of the screen to the middle and back. Then the navigation works as if you were holding a smaller smartphone. This is especially practical for operation with one hand. 


The keys make predictions

The virtual keyboard with the large keys attempts to predict what you are planning to write next. It gives suggestions for quick selection by tapping. The more you write, the better the prediction adapts to your style of writing. 


It’s best to take three

The finger print scanner can recognise up to three different fingers. Tip: As well as the index finger, scan in both thumbs so that you can also unlock the device with one hand. When reading in the thumb print, hold the device exactly as you will later to unlock it so that the thumb print is read in at a slight angle..

Communicate over short distances

An NFC (Near-Field Communication) reader is also included. This allows you to use all the possibilities that short-distance radio technology will some day provide. Be it activating and deactivating Bluetooth, light or WiFi, or location-dependent triggering of device actions or mobile payment using the smartphone. 

Don’t be afraid of water

The advantage of watertightness comes at a cost – slightly complicated handling when it comes to battery charging. The port cover needs to be opened before inserting the cable and carefully closed again after charging so that no water can get in. Here, it is worth investing in an inductive charging set so that the mobile phone can receive power without having to insert and remove the cable.. 


... and yet it’s still a mobile phone

The S5 is a fast, practical smartphone for business and personal use. Despite the very large display, it fits in the hand well enough to also be held to the ear as a mobile phone. 

Information and ordering

Further information on and ordering options can be found here:

Samsung Galaxy S5

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (49) has been involved with technology for as long as he can remember. For many years, he was a trend scout and social media expert at Ringier. He currenty works part time at e-research and thus came into contact with the Swisscom team in spring 2014. He also writes regular columns and app tests for various publications.

Wolf teste

Étanche pour le business et le lifestyle

Nous avons testé le Samsung Galaxy S5 pour un usage professionnel et privé.

Peter Wolf

0114_Ins_Wol_Bild_01
Grand…

L’écran présente une taille agréable. Il peut toutefois arriver que l’on active inopinément de la paume de la main l’une des touches situées au bord inférieur de l’écran – lors de la lecture au format paysage, du visionnage d’une vidéo ou d’un jeu. Il faut un peu de temps pour s’habituer à la parfaite prise en main. 

0114_Ins_Wol_Bild_02
… ou petit

Pouce trop court ou écran trop grand? Dans les «Paramètres», sous «Son et affichage», il est possible d’activer la «Commande d’une main», de sorte que le domaine affiché puisse être réduit en balayant rapidement le pouce du bord de l’écran vers le centre, en aller et retour. Et la navigation ressemble alors à celle d’un smartphone de plus petite taille. En cas de commande d’une seule main en particulier, c’est très pratique. 

 

Les touches jouent aux devinettes

Le clavier virtuel doté de grandes touches tente de deviner ce que vous souhaitez écrire. Il propose plusieurs possibilités à choisir rapidement d’un effleurement. Plus vous écrivez, plus la saisie prédictive s’adapte à votre style d’écriture. 

 

Trois d’un coup

Le scanner d’empreintes digitales reconnaît jusqu’à trois doigts différents. Conseil: en plus de l’index, scannez aussi les deux pouces afin de pouvoir débloquer l’appareil d’une seule main. Pour la lecture de l’empreinte du pouce, tenez l’appareil exactement comme vous le feriez ultérieurement pour le déverrouillage, pour que l’empreinte soit lue de façon un peu oblique.

0114_Ins_Wol_Bild_03
La radiocommunication sur de courtes distances

Un lecteur NFC est également disponible pour la Near-Field Communication. Il permettra ainsi d’utiliser toutes les possibilités offertes à l’avenir pour cette technologie de communication courte portée, qu’il s’agisse de l’activation ou la désactivation de Bluetooth, de lumière ou de WiFi, de déclenchement d’actions indépendamment du lieu ou du paiement mobile avec le smartphone. 

0114_Ins_Wol_Bild_04
Il n’a pas peur de l’eau…

L’avantage de l’étanchéité à l’eau se paie par un maniement un peu plus compliqué pour le chargement de l’accu. Le cache doit être ouvert avant l’introduction du câble et refermé soigneusement après le chargement, de sorte que de l’eau ne puisse y pénétrer. Il vaut ici la peine d’investir dans un kit de chargement inductif, pour que le téléphone reçoive de l’électricité sans qu’il soit nécessaire de brancher et débrancher le câble.

 

… et reste un téléphone portable

Le S5 est un smartphone rapide et pratique pour un usage profesionnel et privé. En dépit de son très grand écran, il se prend bien en main pour être tenu devant l’oreille en tant que téléphone. 

Infos et commande

Plus d’informations et possibilités de commande ici:

Samsung Galaxy S5

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (49 ans) est passionné de technique depuis qu’il est en âge de penser. Pendant plusieurs années, il a été trendscout et expert en réseaux sociaux auprès de Ringier. Il travaille aujourd’hui chez e-Research et a rejoint le personnel de Swisscom au printemps 2014. Il écrit également des chroniques régulières et des tests d’applis pour diverses publications.