Caught our eye

Good friends, a thinking e-bike and Lego as a prototype

01

Automation

The robots are taking over

Self-driving cars are just the start. Soon robots will be capable of building bridges by themselves or independently assembling computer boards, as the examples of the flying drones at ETH Zurich and the nimble minirobots from SRI International show.  At ETH Zurich's Flying Machine Area, autonomous drones fix ropes independently and

weave net-like structures. The flying robots also work excellently as a team. The latter is also a speciality of the microrobots from SRI International, which developed Apple’s Siri voice control, among other things. Dozens of little robots with speeds of up to 35 cm per second can be controlled independently of one another and incredibly precisely on a magnetic circuit board, allowing them to implement multistage production processes from A to Z together. The aim of the research projects supported by the research institute of the American military, DARPA, is to create fully automated, flexible microfactories, for example in the fields of computer electronics or chemical, medical and biological analytics.

The flying  ETH quadcopters in actionThe minibots work quickly and precisely

“Here we have the Stromer ST2 and the app that is used to control it. So, what can you do with it?” – “Well, everything really – find out how your bike is doing.”

«eBike News» Fahrradschau Berlin (youtube)

04

Crowdsourcing

The friends from next door are taking over

Swisscom Friends is an exciting project in several respects. The crowdsourcing platform shows how companies can use the knowledge of a broad population to provide its customers with optimal support from the neighbourhood for small operating and repair problems. In addition, it is a perfect example for cooperation between an innovative start-up and a future-oriented large enterprise. The community marketplace Mila, which Swisscom Friends is based on, was founded by Manuel Grenacher, who was honoured as Newcomer of the Year at the last Swiss ICT Award, among other things. In the current pilot phase, the Friends offering concentrates on the wider Zurich area. As of autumn, it is to be extended to all major urban areas. Fast expansion will be ensured not least by word of mouth, as the customer reactions have all been positive and enthusiastic up to now.

The Swisscom Friends help with everyday ICT problems

05

User interface

The screen is taking shape

Will 3-D always remain just an optical effect on a flat screen? MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) demonstrates – in an admittedly still roughly pixelated resolution – how computer displays could become truly three-dimensional and above all interactive. With the system, which is known as inFORM, you can use the Internet to balance balls, model designs or spatially present and modify complex data. 900 dynamic, height-adjustable plastic rods provide the third screen dimension. The screen information is projected onto the rods using a projector. Spatial information is collected using a Kinect sensor. The result is a fascinating rod ballet. Once the resolution is increased and the device dimensions made suitable for the desktop, such screens could conquer more than just the gamer world. For example, with this highly flexible user interface, teams could also refine designs together via the Internet or instructors could literally help learners grasp the function of virtually generated objects.

The 3-D rods dance here

02

M2M-Innovation

The e-bike that thinks in the cloud

With the ST2, Swiss e-bike manufacturer Stromer has created a worldwide innovation, in collaboration with the Swisscom M2M (machine-to-machine) Collaboration Center. The electric racer is networked with a mobile communications module and uses cloud intelligence for monitoring and control via smartphone. With an app, you can, for example, check the condition of the battery and motor, show the location or activate theft protection remotely and – if you want to release the bike for a friend – deactivate it again. And that’s just the start. Using the cloud, app and bike can continuously be upgraded with additional functions and new applications..

How to control the ST2 by mobile phone

03

Energy

Cooling the cloud with rain water

Computers get hot. Everybody who occasionally uses their laptop on their lap knows this. In conventional computer centres, cooling the computers consequently uses almost as much energy as the computers themselves. This means that for every watt of computing power, around 2 watts of electricity are required. With the new computer centre in the Wankdorf district of Berne, in which cloud services, among other things, will be operated as of the coming autumn, Swisscom is setting new benchmarks when it comes to energy efficiency – instead of 2, only 1.2 watts of electricity will be required per watt of computing power. This is made possible with innovative cooling technologies. For example, instead of using power-hungry cooling machines, the computer centre will be cooled using ambient air, which will be directed precisely to the heated areas of the computer infrastructure. On hot summer days, the innovative “free-cooling procedure” works with additional hybrid recoolers. These evaporate rain water collected in a cistern to cool the heated air.

Construction of the computer centre in the Wankdorf district of Berne in time lapse

06

3-D printing

A Lego turbo for 3-D printing

Today, 3-D printers can produce almost any object in almost any degree of accuracy. The major disadvantage: the more accurate the print, the longer it takes. The layered construction of even small components can take hours. A project at the Hasso Plattner Institute in Potsdam promises massively reduced printing times – with the help of Lego. Putting together the basic structure using the toy blocks means only the specific elements of a shape now need to be printed out. Of course, the concept can also be implemented using other construction elements in place of the studded plastic blocks. Such hybrid approaches are interesting for rapid prototyping, in particular.

     3-D-Printing meets Lego

En lumière

De bons amis, un vélo électrique qui pense et un Lego en prototype

01

Automatisation

Les robots prennent le relais

Les voitures qui conduisent toutes seules ne sont qu’un début. Bientôt, les robots seront capables de construire seuls des ponts ou d’équiper individuellement des circuits imprimés, comme le montrent les exemples des drones volants de l’EPF de Zurich et les Mini-Bots de SRI International. Les quadrocoptères autonomes de la Flying Machine Arena de l’EPF attachent eux-mêmes les fils et tissent des structures réticulaires. Les robots volants travaillent très bien ensemble. Il s’agit ici aussi d’une spécialité des microrobots de SRI international qui a développé entre autres Siri, la reconnaissance vocale d’Apple. Sur une carte imprimée magnétique, des douzaines de petits robots peuvent être commandés indépendamment les uns des autres et très précisément, pour travailler à des vitesses pouvant atteindre les 35 cm par seconde. Ils peuvent ainsi réaliser ensemble des processus de fabrication sur plusieurs niveaux de A à Z. Le projet de recherche soutenu par l’agence de recherche des forces armées américaines (DARPA) a pour objectif d’obtenir des micro-usines flexibles entièrement automatisées, p. ex. dans le domaine de l’électronique informatique ou de l’analyse chimique, médicale et biologique.

Les drones volants de l’EPF en actionLes Mini-Bots travaillent vite et bien

«Nous avons le Stromer ST2 et l’appli qui permet de le commander. Quel est l’avantage?» – «Et bien, vous savez tout sur l’état du vélo.»

«eBike News» de Fahrradschau Berlin (youtube)

04

Crowdsourcing

Les amis d’à côté s’en chargent

Swisscom Friends est un projet passionnant à bien des égards. Cette plate-forme de crowdsourcing montre d’une part la façon dont une entreprise peut utiliser les connaissances du grand public pour proposer à ses clients un support optimal venant du voisinage, même pour de petits problèmes d’utilisation et de réparation. D’autre part, elle est un parfait exemple de la collaboration entre une start-up innovante et une grande entreprise tournée vers l’avenir. La place de marché communautaire Mila, sur laquelle s’appuie les Swisscom Friends, a été fondée par Manuel Grenacher, notamment sacré Newcomer de l’année à l’occasion du dernier Swiss ICT Award. Durant la phase pilote en cours, l’offre Friends se concentre encore sur l’agglomération de Zurich. Elle sera étendue à tous les grands centres à partir de l’automne. Le bouche à oreille devrait assurer une diffusion rapide de l’offre, car jusqu’à présent, les clients se sont montrés intéressés voire enthousiasmés par cette solution.

Les amis Swisscom aident à résoudre les problèmes de TIC du quotidien

05

Interface utilisateur

L’écran prend forme

La 3D restera-t-elle un effet optique sur écran plat? Le MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) démontre, dans une résolution aux pixels encore grossiers, comment les écrans d’ordinateur pourraient devenir tridimensionnels et interactifs à la fois. Le système inFORM permet de tenir, via Internet, des balles en équilibre, de modeler des formes ou d’établir une représentation spatiale et manipuler des données complexes. 900 bâtonnets en polystyrène réglables en hauteur de façon dynamique créent la troisième dimension de l’écran. Les informations sur l’image sont projetées sur les bâtonnets au moyen d’un projecteur. Les informations spatiales sont saisies avec un capteur Kinect. Le résultat est un fascinant ballet de bâtonnets. Avec une résolution supérieure et des dimensions d’appareil compatibles desktop, de tels écrans risquent de conquérir rapidement l’univers des gamers. Cette interface utilisateur ultra-flexible permettrait par exemple à des équipes de peaufiner ensemble des projets par Internet ou à des instructeurs de faire littéralement «saisir» la fonction d’objets générés virtuellement.

La danse des bâtonnets en 3D  

02

Innovation M2M

Le vélo électrique qui pense dans le nuage

Avec son ST2, le fabricant suisse de vélos électriques Stromer a créé, aux côtés du M2M (machine-to-machine) Collaboration Center de Swisscom, une nouveauté mondiale. Le vélo de course électrique est interconnecté via un module de radiocommunication et utilise l’intelligence du Cloud pour une surveillance et une commande par smartphone. A l’aide d’une appli, il est ainsi notamment possible de consulter le niveau de batterie et de moteur, l’emplacement du vélo ou d’activer la protection anti-vol à distance et – si l’on souhaite prêter le vélo à une personne de confiance – de la désactiver. Et ce n’est qu’un début, car le Cloud permet aussi d’optimiser en continu l’appli et le vélo électrique au moyen de fonctions supplémentaires et de nouvelles applications.

Comment le ST2 peut être commandé par mobile

03

Energie

Refroidir le Cloud avec de l’eau de pluie

Les ordinateurs chauffent. Tous ceux qui utilisent de temps en temps leur ordinateur portable posé sur les cuisses le savent. Dans les centres informatiques traditionnels, le refroidissement des ordinateurs consomme quasiment autant d’énergie que les calculs à proprement parler. C’est-à-dire que pour chaque watt de puissance de calcul, il faut environ 2 watts de courant. Avec le nouveau centre informatique de Berne Wankdorf, qui abritera entre autres les offres de Cloud à partir de l’automne prochain, Swisscom fixe de nouveaux jalons en matière d’efficacité énergétique: un watt de puissance de calcul ne nécessitera plus que 1,2 watt de courant au lieu de 2. Des technologies de refroidissement innovantes rendent cette performance possible. Au lieu d’être refroidi par des machines frigorifiques énergivores, le centre informatique sera refroidi par l’air ambiant qui sera amené aux points précis de chauffe de l’infrastructure informatique. L’été, par forte chaleur, le nouveau «processus de Freecooling» sera renforcé par des aéroréfrigérants hybrides qui vaporiseront l’eau de pluie collectée dans un réservoir pour refroidir l’air chaud.

La construction du centre informatique de Berne Wankdorf en accéléré

06

Impression en 3D

Des Lego pour l’impression 3D

Aujourd’hui, les imprimantes en 3D sont capables de réaliser quasiment n’importe quel objet avec la précision souhaitée. Leur gros inconvénient: plus l’impression devra être précise, plus elle sera longue. La construction par couches d’éléments même petits peut prendre des heures. Un projet du Hasso Plattner Institut de Potsdam promet une forte réduction du temps d’impression grâce à l’utilisation de Lego. La structure de base étant assemblée avec des briques, il n’y a plus qu’à imprimer les éléments spécifiques d’une forme. Bien entendu, le concept peut être mis en œuvre avec d’autres pièces de construction que des Lego. De telles approches hybrides sont surtout intéressantes pour le Rapid Prototyping.

L’impression en 3D s’associe à Lego