Trend scout

Driver steers, car thinks

Automobile manufacturers are integrating smartphones into their onboard computer. Voice control and localised apps open up almost unlimited possibilities in the car – not least for advertising.

Beat Hochuli

“Hello phone, I’m starving! Where can I find a really good Italian restaurant in this area?” – “Hello, there isn’t one just around the corner – but I can guide you to Osteria della Mamma. There are no traffic jams on the way there.” – “OK, I know where that is. There’s no need to guide me. But you could read out my latest e-mails in the meantime.”


Car makers succumb to advances

If things were to go the way smartphone and car manufacturers imagine it, such intimate conversations between a driver and the on-board computer would soon become part of everyday automotive life. Following the rather amateurish creations of the past few years, Apple, with the iOS-controlled CarPlay, and Google, with the Android-based Open Automotive Alliance (OAA), are now getting really serious. The two IT giants both have the same thing in mind – they want to integrate their smartphone platforms as closely as possible into infotainment and even into the car manufacturers’ operating systems. They, in turn, have now dropped their previous reticence towards the advances from Silicon Valley.



Young drivers, in particular, want the same look and feel and the same practical apps in their vehicle as on their smartphone.

In the car is on the phone

The reason for this is as clear as it is simple: Mercedes, Toyota, Peugeot, GM and co. have invested huge sums of money in developing their own hardware/software consoles over the past few years and, in doing so, have moved away from their customers. This is because their clientele, particularly the younger members, is now made up primarily of iPhone and Android fans. And they want one thing in particular from their cars – the same look and feel and the same practical apps that they have learned to value as smartphone users.

"Intelligent voice assistants will fulfil a driver’s almost every wish via the hands free function"

Hands free – above all

With the new alliances, the doors to the nice, new automotive world have also opened for highly innovative app developers. Intelligent voice assistants, such as Siri from Apple and Cortana from Microsoft – yes, even Windows aims to find a place on the instrument panel via smartphones –, will fulfil a driver’s almost every wish via the hands free function. Only the operation via touchscreen, which is intended for all platforms, is likely to still lead to discussions when it comes to traffic safety. For now – because it can already be anticipated that in the course of development, everything will be handled with the help of the voice assistant, from selecting music to navigation and traffic reports, local info services and service apps of every imaginable kind.


Cars with cars and advertising according to size of your wallet

The best part of the story is that cars networked with smartphones can also communicate with one another. For example, if the sensors register black ice, they can warn the cars behind. Integrating smartphones into cars opens up lucrative and highly specific possibilities, including for for advertising. Those who are looking for something while driving want a solution as quickly as possible and are far less sensitive to prices. In addition, the make of car provides information on the size of one’s wallet..

Beat Hochuli

The author is a freelance ICT journalist. He observes the world of technology from Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia, where he has lived for several years.

Trendscout

Le chauffeur conduit, la voiture réfléchit

Les constructeurs automobiles intègrent les smartphones dans leurs ordinateurs de bord. Commande vocale et applis localisées ouvrent dans le véhicule des possibilités quasiment illimitées – également pour la publicité.

Beat Hochuli

«Allô Phone, j’ai une faim de loup. Où y a-t-il, dans la région, un bon restaurant italien?» – «Allô, pas tout près, malheureusement – mais je te guide jusqu’à l’Osteria de la Mamma. Il n’y a pas de bouchons pour y parvenir.» – «Ok, je sais où c’est. Tu n’as pas besoin de me guider. Mais lis-moi donc mes nouveaux mails pendant ce temps.»

 

Les constructeurs automobiles succombent aux avancées

Si l’on suivait totalement les idées des constructeurs de smartphones et d’automobiles, de tels entretiens intimes entre le conducteur et l’ordinateur de bord feraient bientôt partie du quotidien automobile. Après les bricolages plutôt dilettantes des dernières années, Apple s’y attaque maintenant sérieusement avec le CarPlay guidé par iOs, de même que Google avec l’Open Automotive Alliance (OAA) basée sur Android. Les deux géants de l’informatique poursuivent le même objectif: ils veulent intégrer le plus largement possible leurs plateformes smartphone dans les systèmes d’Infotainment et même dans les systèmes d’exploitation des constructeurs automobiles. Ceux-ci, de leur côté, ont désormais abandonné leurs réticences face aux avancées venues de la Silicon Valley.

 

0114_Tre_Tre_Bild_01

Les jeunes conducteurs en particulier souhaitent retrouver dans leur voiture le même Look & Feel et les mêmes applis pratiques que sur leur smartphone.

Dans la voiture, sur le téléphone

La raison est aussi claire que simple: au cours de ces dernières années, Mercedes, Toyota, Peugeot, GM et consorts ont investi des sommes astronomiques dans le développement de leurs propres consoles matérielles/logicielles, s’éloignant ainsi de leur clientèle. Car leurs clients, et surtout les plus jeunes, se composent essentiellement d’aficionados de l’iPhone et d’Android. Et ceux-ci veulent surtout une chose dans leur voiture: le même Look and Feel et les mêmes applis pratiques qu’ils apprécient en tant qu’utilisateurs de smartphones.

Les assistants vocaux intelligents combleront, au moyen de la fonction mains-libres, tous les désirs des conducteurs et des conductrices.

Parler librement – sur tout et rien

Avec les nouvelles alliances, les portes du beau monde automobile s’ouvrent aussi en grand aux développeurs innovants d’applications. Les assistants vocaux intelligents comme Siri d’Apple et Cortana de Microsoft – oui, Windows doit aussi conquérir le tableau de bord via les smartphones – combleront, au moyen d’une fonction mains-libres, tous les désirs des conducteurs et des conductrices. Seule la commande par écran tactile, prévue pour toutes les plateformes, devrait encore susciter de vives réactions concernant la sécurité du trafic. Mais l’on sait déjà qu’au fil du développement futur, tout se déroulera à l’aide des assistants vocaux: du choix de la musique aux annonces de bouchons, en passant par la navigation, les services d’info locaux et les applis de service en tous genres.

 

Des voitures avec des voitures et de la publicité selon le porte-monnaie

Le clou de l’histoire: les voitures reliées par smartphones peuvent communiquer entre elles. Si les capteurs détectent, par exemple, du verglas, ils peuvent en avertir les véhicules suivants. L’intégration des smartphones dans le véhicule ouvre des possibilités lucratives et hautement spécifiques, pour la publicité également. Ceux qui recherchent quelque chose en conduisant trouveront rapidement une solution et seront beaucoup moins sensibles au prix. De plus, le modèle automobile en dit déjà long sur la taille du porte-monnaie.

Beat Hochuli

L’auteur est journaliste indépendant spécialiste TIC. Il observe le monde technologique depuis Kota Kinabalu, Malaisie, où il vit depuis plusieurs années.