Wolf tests

How revolutionary design can improve your life

We tested the Samsung Galaxy Note Edge.

Peter Wolf

The first thing you notice about the Samsung Galaxy Note Edge is that the display falls over the edge. On one side, the display curves around the edge. This is not simply a technical gimmick, but also provides benefits in everyday life: for example, you can see important information even when holding the mobile phone sideways or when it is lying on the table in front of you with the flap closed.



Discrete information

Although the cover is closed, you are always informed about incoming messages while in a meeting, for example, without everybody noticing.


Direct access

Swiping with your thumb across the curved edge takes you to the most frequently used apps and information. In this way, the side display keeps the main screen free from notifications.


Card holder

Even though business cards are becoming digital and credit cards are being transferred to the mobile phone, you always need at least one card, be it a badge, fuel card, a business card you’ve received or even your own, so that an honest finder can return the device. The card holder in the protective case has room for two or three such cards.




Large display, large keys on the virtual keyboard – yet you still keep mistyping? The integrated pen, which is also suitable for drawing and making notes, can help you here. Extremely practical: if you forget to replace the pen when you’re not using it, the phone notices and reminds you to return it.




Among other things, the Gear S smartwatch from Samsung can be connected with the Edge via Bluetooth. This then works as an additional display for the smartphone, allowing the phone itself to remain in your pocket more often. In addition, the watch can be used as an external screen for the mobile phone camera, which leads to exciting selfies on the one hand and, on the other hand, also allows you to peer around corners.



The Edge is a smartphone in the fastest category, meaning you can use the full network bandwidth when making calls and surfing. And thanks to fast-charging technology, the smartphone is also charged again within the shortest time.


The Swisscom extra tip

Surf on the Swisscom mobile ultra-bandwidth network with the latest technologies 4G/LTE and 4G+/LTE advanced. With LTE and smartphones of category 6, you reach surfing speeds of up to 150 Mbit/s. With LTE advanced, you can even reach speeds of 300 Mbit/s. With the new technologies, it is also possible for many more customers to surf simultaneously using mobile without any loss of speed.

More information on the network

Win the revolutionary design

dialogue is giving away a Samsung Note Edge in black with 32 GB internal memory. Good luck!

Peter Wolf (50) has been involved with technology for as long as he can remember. For many years, he was a trend scout and social media expert at Ringier. He currenty works part time at e-research and thus came into contact with the Swisscom team in spring 2014. He also writes regular columns and app tests for various publications.

Wolf teste

Comment un nouveau design améliore votre vie

Nous avons testé le Samsung Galaxy Note Edge.

Peter Wolf

La première chose que l’on remarque sur le Samsung Galaxy Note Edge, c’est que l’affichage va au-delà du bord. Sur un côté, l’écran se courbe. Ce n’est pas seulement un gag technique, cette caractéristique offre des avantages au quotidien: elle permet ainsi de voir aussi des informations importantes quand on tient l’appareil par la tranche ou que celui-ci est devant soi sur une table clapet fermé.

 

0115_Ins_Wol_Bild_01
Une information discrète

Malgré le cache fermé, on est ainsi toujours informé des messages entrants lors de réunions par exemple, sans que tout le monde n’en ait vent.

 

Accès direct

En passant le pouce sur le bord arrondi, on accède aux applis et infos utilisées le plus souvent. L’affichage latéral libère ainsi l’écran principal au niveau des notifications.

 

Compartiment pour cartes

Même si les cartes de visites sont souvent numériques et que la carte de crédit intègre le portable: on a toujours besoin d’une carte ou d’une autre, qu’il s’agisse du badge d’entrée, de la carte de carburant, d’une carte de visite reçue ou de sa propre carte de visite, pour qu’une personne honnête puisse rendre à son propriétaire l’appareil retrouvé. Le compartiment pour cartes de l’étui de protection peut accueillir trois ou quatre cartes.

 

0115_Ins_Wol_Bild_02
Stylet

Un grand affichage, de grandes touches sur l’écran virtuel – mais malgré tout encore beaucoup de fautes de frappe? Le stylet intégré peut ici apporter son aide, également utilisable pour des dessins ou des esquisses. Fonction très pratique: si l’on oublie de replacer le stylet quand on ne l’utilise pas, le portable le remarque et demande sa remise en place.

 

0115_Ins_Wol_Bild_03
Accessoires

La Smartwatch Gear S de Samsung via Bluetooth, entre autres, peut être raccordée au Edge. Elle fonctionne alors comme un autre écran du smartphone, que l’on peut ainsi laisser plus souvent dans la poche. En outre, elle peut être utilisée comme un écran externe de l’appareil photo du portable, ce qui permet de prendre des selfies plus intéressants et de voir se qui se passe au coin de la rue.

 

Vitesse

L’Edge est un smartphone très rapide, c’est-à-dire que vous pouvez utiliser toute la bande passante lors que vous vous en servez pour téléphoner ou surfer. Et avec la technologie de charge rapide, il est toujours rechargé au plus vite.
 

Le conseil supplémentaire de Swisscom

Sur le réseau mobile ultra large bande de Swisscom, vous surfez avec les toutes dernières technologies 4G/LTE et 4G+/LTE advanced. Avec LTE, vous pouvez bénéficier de vitesses de navigation allant jusqu’à150 Mbits par seconde avec des smartphones de catégorie 6. LTE vous permet même d’atteindre des vitesses allant jusqu’à 300 Mbits par seconde. Avec ces nouvelles technologies, un nombre bien supérieur de clients peuvent surfer simultanément de façon mobile, sans devoir faire de concessions.

Plus d’informations sur le réseau

Gagnez un design révolutionnaire

dialogue tire au sort un Samsung Galaxy Note Edge noir avec 32 Go de mémoire interne. Bonne chance.

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (50 ans) est passionné de technique depuis qu’il est en âge de penser. Pendant plusieurs années, il a été trendscout et expert en réseaux sociaux auprès de Ringier. Il travaille aujourd’hui chez e-Research et a rejoint le personnel de Swisscom au printemps 2014. Il écrit également des chroniques régulières et des tests d’applis pour diverses publications.